Autopsy 2nd Elimination Final, 2023: St.Kilda v GWS *WEBSTER 150TH* *BATTLE 100TH*

Shattered.
Knew we'd get done (pessimism always present) but truly didn't expect the GWS domination I witnessed today.
Literally everything went right for them - the way they just walked the ball out of D50, gaining 30m's on EVERY kick in, complete domination with ball in hand today. Shame for a good season to end like that. Where the f*ck are we going to get midfielders to fix this mess?
Side note - a few itk rumour texts going around re: Membrey and it sounds incredibly serious. Crossing my fingers it's just a minor situation.
Don’t be.

Just remember, if it helps a little, Giants have played finals pretty regularly including a grand final not too many years ago and are more experienced - and of course more talented than us, as was plain to see.

Of course it was pretty disappointing that we let ourselves down in a few areas on the big stage, but the fightback was willing, rather than collapsing in a heap.

The experience at the G in front of a huge, partial crowd can’t be underplayed either. The youngsters have felt it and will want it again.

No guarantees of course, but a lot of hard work and hopefull a good score by list management team will move us further along.

Henry and Dow certainly a good start, not costing too much hopefully.

Indeed. And no better person to be managing us at this time than RTB.

But how was that Sharmanator?
Sure hope he plays on at the club next year…. 🤩
Cainsy gonna shout us all Kobe beef steak dinners and pints of Chimay Grand Reserve when his wagering on Coops being delisted pays off .. 😊

66k at the G shows we can have an impact for the AFL $$$ wise there's some serious untapped potential there.

Just need a period of success and the AFL gets themselves another big club.

AFL membership numbers in 2006:

38,038 - Collingwood
32,511 - Essendon
32,327 - St Kilda

We were just 200 from being the second largest club in Victoria. What could've been. I really don't know how Collingwood have managed to brainwash 100,000 members... were they offered free dental??

GWS were the better team, but did anyone else feel like everything went right for them yesterday? Especially in the second quarter the goals they piled on were either arsey shots or hacked kicks forward that landed/bounced perfectly for a fwd. And same in the third when we wrested momentum back, they'd pull a goal straight back from nowhere. Obviously the key issue there is the clearances, but I feel like on another day a few more of those would've been behind and we wouldn't have been quite so far on the back foot.

Or maybe I'm just still salty.
GF #1 2010 like with the low percentage stuff that went their way.

We fell into the 8 ?
We were never outside the 8 for the whole year 😂
Yep. All the other teams conspired to let us end up there. 🙄

Sure a few results fell our way - that’s life.
We put ourselves in a strong position early, and the rest, as they say, is history.

Beat every single team below us, bar the Crows.
Beat the Blues and the Giants and Sydney away.
We finished exactly where we deserved to be.

Hayes at CHB interests me.

He one grab marks.

Imagining adding that intercept game for us 🤤
Think we’re forgetting the Coff.
Hope he stays - I’m still bullish on him. By all accounts he looks like a man now.

GWS were the better team, but did anyone else feel like everything went right for them yesterday? Especially in the second quarter the goals they piled on were either arsey shots or hacked kicks forward that landed/bounced perfectly for a fwd. And same in the third when we wrested momentum back, they'd pull a goal straight back from nowhere. Obviously the key issue there is the clearances, but I feel like on another day a few more of those would've been behind and we wouldn't have been quite so far on the back foot.

Felt that way. Just seemed they pulled goals out of their asses at every opportunity whilst we had to work for ours. Its just footy though, some days you just cannot miss no matter what and others you hit the post from the goal square.

That’s exactly how I felt watching it. The bounce just went their way. They were very lucky plus they got at least four goals as a direct result of poor umpiring.

I hate overpaying for KPBs so would definitely not pay up big for one but you also have to have one. Caminiti could be a decent option. He's a very good mark and he's good at the pressure game and reasonably quick. Hurts players that get in his way too.
And not sure we can have King, Hammer and Sharman all up forward , they already get in each others way , Hammer could be the Jake lever type

Sorry Tassie , i think its salty, the pies do it every week , its called class and ATM we are just lacking a bit

Every time we lose Max cops it. He almost singlehandedly dragged us back into the game just before half time. He is playing through a serious shoulder injury. He had to deal with a forward leader being withdrawn the day of the game with a serious issue. He got very little from the umpires and basically had a man hanging off him at every contest.

Max is the least of our worries. It is exhausting having to see him cop it after every loss.
no one said anywhere ever that Max was the reason we lost, and I haven't seen Max cop it at all this year. Roma has had his BOG(for us) game endlessly analyzed and the second a few things about Max's game are suggested as areas to improve, suddenly he's being blamed for the loss..... get a grip

it's exhausting seeing Max's fanbois refuse to see there are some very simple and basic fixes to his game.
There is nothing wrong with saying Max has a lot to work on, while also being a good player.
Some of his chase/ pressure efforts were genuinely embarrassing yesterday. Some of his marking yesterday was really poor, especially when he tried to take marks on his chest instead of with outstretched arms which allowed the defender to spoil.
He also had some amazing marks and was double teamed at times and still kicked 3. His kicking for goal has improved significantly.
At present Max is good to very good. I would be disappointed if he doesn't become great.
See this is as much as he was criticized
He was getting in good spots but they were shutting his space down and Taylor was punching everything out that he got his hands to. We sat down at ground level and when he was up our end you could see he's trying, just couldn't find space or time. That is a very good defensive unit. Against a lesser opponent he probably marks another three balls inside 50 and his return probably looks much better. To me the smalls were shown up today. Butler and Higgins don't offer enough offensive threat in Bulter's case and defensive pressure in Higgins' case. Snags is a real almost player.
no doubt but it's also true what's been said
he's grappled because he is stationary so often
he gets marks spoilt because he tries to chest mark a lot
he also doesn't regularly place pressure on the backmen and his body language at times is very poor.

he was still our 2nd best fwd today and the highest scorer, that doesn't make the aforementioned critiques any less pertinent.

And not sure we can have King, Hammer and Sharman all up forward , they already get in each others way , Hammer could be the Jake lever type
They need to have more time playing together to get some synchronicity. Sharman and Hammer can also head up on the wing.

Yep. All the other teams conspired to let us end up there. 🙄

Sure a few results fell our way - that’s life.
We put ourselves in a strong position early, and the rest, as they say, is history.

Beat every single team below us, bar the Crows.
Beat the Blues and the Giants and Sydney away.
We finished exactly where we deserved to be.
Agree. We were clearly behind the top 4 teams. Carlton and the Giants were the two teams that emerged in the second half of the year from mid table. Arguably two of the best performed teams post bye rounds. So for them to claim top 6 spots (at a minimum) was a fair and probably expected outcome. Together with the Crows we were the best of the rest.

Autopsy 2nd Elimination Final, 2023: St.Kilda v GWS *WEBSTER 150TH* *BATTLE 100TH*