Preview 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda - Metricon Stadium, Friday 9th October, 7:50PM AEDT

Who Wins?

• Tigers

Votes: 52 48.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 55 51.4%

Thank you for articulating my thoughts so well. It always makes me cringe when I see this type of incel terminology used.

The subconscious message is that one needs to assert one's masculinity - like the bloke who buys a big powerful car for reasons unrelated to the amount of space or power he actually needs.

I mean I know this is a forum and it's a bit of a sausage fest but still, Jesus I'm just here for the footy, not to join in with some online remasculation ceremony.
Crucification, one cross each line in the left

Given the situation this would be up there with our greatest ever wins. I think we'll lose but can definitely make a case for why we can win.

Whatever happens I'm so happy with the year we've had. Told you guys for years that things change in footy very quickly, to go from 14th to 6th and 2 wins from a Grand Final is an unbelievable step up.

Go Saints

Can we stop the circle jerk guys? :p

Bring on the footy!
Pretty much what I was expecting, except Hind over Savage. Happy for Sav to get his shot, he was good when he filled in earlier in the year.
I don’t think Marsh will actually play as a key defender... Riewoldt will kill him. Maybe Wilkie plays tall and Marsh takes Dusty when he rests forward.

So keen for the boys to give it a crack, get on a roll and they can get the job done. Will need to play all 4 quarters to get the victory tho!

The difference-maker for me is Rowan Marshall. If he can break open the game, I don't he's played as the lone ruck for a long time since Paddy came back in, and that's where he's got a huge advantage. He's very fresh in terms of playing in the ruck, we know how good he is in the air, and especially when he goes forward. Nanks, he looks bit cooked. He might out body Marshall a bit, but he won't have the same impact around the ground.

I genuinely look forward to seeing how Marshall is after all this time working with Ryder this season, I hope he plays a ripper.
Agreed, he doesn;t even need to win the ruck. At his best he was getting 20 + touches 5+ tackles and 5+ long clearing clearances. That is his game. He and who ever second rucks will help us by essentially acting as second midfielders.

Logical ins but it is a downgrade on all three who went out

Fingers crossed for something special!

Not really that much of a "downgrade". Firstly, Savage for Long is pretty much 50/50. Ryder would normally be a huge loss but this game won't be won or lost in the ruck and Marsh will add some speed. Battle will cover Carlisle's loss. It's a horses for courses selection.

I reckon the only way we beat them is to spread fast and run. If it gets into an inside battle of strength it's going to be played on their terms. We have got to use our long kicking to space. If they get tackles on us they will clear the ball too fast for us to keep up.

If we focus on playing our brand of football, and work to disrupt theirs ... anything is possible.

Maybe time for another "If it bleeds, we can kill it" moment in the AFL timeline ...

Good changes. Feel happy for Savage, has toiled away through many hard years and been a really solid player for us. Hope he plays a blinder. For Marsh to get back from his battles and play a final is huge as well. And in Battle, another of our young guns tastes finals action.

Really pumped for tomorrow night. I'm not confident, but I just can't wait to see our side again and this is our greatest challenge. We have won games against the odds all year, I believe we can win this if we play our best football. Can't wait.

Not really that much of a "downgrade". Firstly, Savage for Long is pretty much 50/50. Ryder would normally be a huge loss but this game won't be won or lost in the ruck and Marsh will add some speed. Battle will cover Carlisle's loss. It's a horses for courses selection.

Yeah definitely not a huge step back I'd rather have the other 3 no doubt. Maybe Battle for Carlisle is an upgrade but because they have Riewoldt and Lynch I'd rather Carlisle.

The ruck is an interesting one. If we had Ryder I would of said we could win it there, but now its pretty even. Surprised they dropped Chol rather than trying to stretch us in the ruck with Roma our only real option. Does Marsh pinch hit?

Yeah definitely not a huge step back I'd rather have the other 3 no doubt. Maybe Battle for Carlisle is an upgrade but because they have Riewoldt and Lynch I'd rather Carlisle.

The ruck is an interesting one. If we had Ryder I would of said we could win it there, but now its pretty even. Surprised they dropped Chol rather than trying to stretch us in the ruck with Roma our only real option. Does Marsh pinch hit?
Marshall rucked alone in Rd 4 and was actually beaten by Nankervis. But we still won the game by 26. So the ruck is not so important here. We won that game with speed and that's what we will need to do again.

I think we will see the following:

*Martin midfield*
Howard on Lynch
Wilkie on JRoo
Battle on Caddy

*Martin forward*
Howard on Lynch
Wilkie on Martin
Battle on JRoo

Ross tags Cochin
Geary tags Houli

Balta on Membrey
Grimes on Butler
Astbury on King
Broad/Vlastuin loose

Will be up to Marsh to really work hard to ensure the Tigers spare is under enormous pressure at all time.

I really like how we match up TBH. Just need to execute under pressure.

I think we will see the following:

*Martin midfield*
Howard on Lynch
Wilkie on JRoo
Battle on Caddy

*Martin forward*
Howard on Lynch
Wilkie on Martin
Battle on JRoo

Ross tags Cochin
Geary tags Houli

Balta on Membrey
Grimes on Butler
Astbury on King
Broad/Vlastuin loose

Will be up to Marsh to really work hard to ensure the Tigers spare is under enormous pressure at all time.

I really like how we match up TBH. Just need to execute under pressure.
Caddy isn't playing

Marsh named in defence and Battle named up forward but who knows if they start that way, they could start Marsh up forward and Battle in defence.

The good thing about them is they can both play at either end so if it isn't working Ratts can swap them around, likewise Geary and Savage can play in defence or up forward so can be swapped around.

Richmond don't have that versatility, they can't swing Lynch, Riewoldt or Rioli into defence and swing Grimes, Astbury or Houli up forward.

Caddy isn't playing

Oh?

I missed that. Even better then! They have gone super defensive in selection so I think if we can turn up the heat and put the scoreboard pressure on we will have a very good shot.

Abbott named as first emergency is interesting. Late in for Battle who doesn't come up 30 minutes before bounce?
The position of the emergencies doesn’t mean anything. Without the two rucks in the side, I imagine Abbott is just there in case something happened to Marshall before the game.

Nah not your typical situation and there is no issues with Marshall. Guess we shall find out soon enough.