Autopsy 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda

Think a Prelim is a bit beyond us at the moment. Injuries, personnel, experience, luck all conspired against us. But with all that, we somehow stayed in the game. We fought it out. I'm proud of the boys for that.

Should prove to be great experience and motivation for the future. I think Richmond are kidding themselves if they think they're going further. We played poorly and nearly crept up on them. Hope Port put the cleaners through them.

Good recruiting off season and and another solid pre-season should see us hit next year a more accomplished team. Go Saints!

FMD when the game was there to be won the Tigers snagged some freakish goals where as we missed some sitters. It could have been a closer contest but they were definitely the better side.

I thought we missed Long’s campaigner factor & of course we missed Paddy & Carlisle.

Moving ahead to next year we need to improve our bottom six. Sinclair, Lonie, Kent, Marsh, etc are hard workers & battle on but they are not the future. Clark, Battle, King, etc will continue to improve.

Onwards & upwards!

In the end they got the jump on us and we were chasing bums after that.

So proud we didn't just roll over after being 5 goals down at half time. We easily could have.

Won't focus on the negatives, I'll leave that to others. So... the positives:

Clark amazing. His composure is something to behold. Showed he is a big game player

Roma fought hard. Missed his brother in arms in Paddy but worked his guts out. Especially in the 1st half. Ran out of gas in the 2nd

Coff was solid. Again took some nice intercept marks

Wilkie very composed.

Steele held his own in the middle. Much more impactful than last week

Winx has the tools to tear a final apart when he gets some more help and some more meat on his bones

Very proud of our year. Thank you Saints. You made it fun
Think you missed Ross. Thought he was our best tonight. Never gave up and showed why he’s won 2 bnf’s

So proud of the boys. We never Look like winning tonight let’s be fair but a wonderful season.

I’m so absolutely proud of this team. Coming from 14th last year to finish sixth and then follow that up with an amazing win against a quality team. Our future looks incredibly bright with a great core group, some incredible young players showing a bit and finally some real leaders in lethers and Ratts.

We might have lost tonight but at least it was to a bloody good team. And we took it right up to them.

I haven’t been filled with as much pride for this team in over a decade. #redwhiteandblackforever

Drew level with them after half time.

Just so proud of the way we've gone about it. Didn't let anyone down tonight. Was disappointing of coruse but I'm glad most of us here can see the clear positives. We are building and building well. Another pre-season into King Clark Coffied we will be incredible.

Disappointing to go down by 5 goals but we were in it more than the scoreboard suggests. Still an attractive proposition to new players.

Ad hard as it was to see us dominated in centre clearances, ultimately poor kicking vost us any chance. Too many easy shots missed.

What i would like to see is:

- Roma is generally good around the ground but was down tonight. His ruckwork is also below par. Hopefully that develops but i personally prefer him forward and second ruck so hopefully paddy has a year or two left, then we are able to develop or trade in a number one ruck
- We were smashed in the midfield. We definitely need a boost. Caldwell would be amazing for the future but we aren't far away now and i wouldn't be opposed to a quick fix for a year or two until some youth develops (on top of caldwell). Higgins is a very good footballer and i hope we are balls deep.
- Battle needs to be played permanent forward. He is a natural forward and helps Max. We can play king membrey, battle and marshall or ryder resting forward
-Max needs to spend the summer working in his set shot kicking. He threatens to take the game by the scruff of the neck but it is demoralising when he misses so many gettable ones. If he can sort that out, he could be anything

All in all, pretty proud of the year. We are young, we had a lot of new faces, and we have performed on the big stage. Pretty positive about the years to come

1 scoring shot less suggests we had no issue winning & moving the ball. 4 of our best 22 out with Battle on one leg too.

Very proud of the boys. Could have given up when they got 5 goals up & lost by 10.

And Oh yeah... **** Richmond and **** the dayglo maggots.

Not me

Not surprised by the result, thought we'd get soundly beaten. Lots of outs, Tigers are a better side, it's ok to lose to a better side.

So excited for the next couple of years, clearly have something building. Can't win the flag at the first time of asking.
It was a great year
We missed so many easy shots at goal
We have plenty to look forward to
As good as we have been this year we have so far to go

wrapt with the year, well-done Saints, but gee, a few were super poor, its clear we need more all over the ground.

hate to pick on 3 blokes but Marsh is akin to a headless chook, Hill needs to learn that body contact is permissible and that Ross should never EVER kick into the fwd 50

and geez the umps O M G reckon we were denied 4 50m penalties EASY not to mention all the others

Agree with some other comments too in that I don't think I've ever felt this positive after a loss.

Hope we can all see the bigger picture. Exciting next few years...looking forward to the journey!

Frustrating but not gutted. Nah... don't feel gutted. That's the old Saints. Feel bad, feel sorry for ourselves, make excuses...

**** that.

We fought to the last minute and matched intensity with the best team in the comp in a cut throat final.

We did that with all of Battle, King, Clark, Coffield, Paton & Howard being super young and inexperienced.

Nail our half chances like Bolton and Edwards did for them & we are right in it.

We are going to have another massive off season.

No reason we can't win it all next year.

In the end they got the jump on us and we were chasing bums after that.

So proud we didn't just roll over after being 5 goals down at half time. We easily could have.

Won't focus on the negatives, I'll leave that to others. So... the positives:

Clark amazing. His composure is something to behold. Showed he is a big game player

Roma fought hard. Missed his brother in arms in Paddy but worked his guts out. Especially in the 1st half. Ran out of gas in the 2nd

Coff was solid. Again took some nice intercept marks

Wilkie very composed.

Steele held his own in the middle. Much more impactful than last week

Winx has the tools to tear a final apart when he gets some more help and some more meat on his bones

Very proud of our year. Thank you Saints. You made it fun

I reckon Seb was best on ground tonight. Rated Coff's overall game more than Clark's but Clark's highlights look so outstanding.

It was a great year
We missed so many easy shots at goal
We have plenty to look forward to
As good as we have been this year we have so far to go
Plenty of upside. Level with reigning premiers after half time. 14th to 6th. Playing with a lot of our best 22 out tonight. We are looking good mate.

Autopsy 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda