AFL Player # 3: Darcy Parish

It’s a long season and much can happen.

Who else feels like his development isn’t where it should be?

He just doesn’t the tools for the job & is perhaps being played out of position.

Someone was always going to be dislodged by Shiel, guess it’s him at this stage. Guelfi’s development doesn’t do him any favours

At the end of the day I want to win flags. I’m not here to be mediocre. He doesn’t do anything for me and I am happy he isn’t in the side.

Just saying.....
Wanna chat about Guelfi again?

The team were so crowded around the ball, hand balling a metre to flat footed players. Bad structure not completely parish’s fault. Coaching of this team is very poor. First few games tells you all about structure

Happy to back him in but right now I would be absolutely laughing if we could get Sier from Collingwood for him. Darcy probably thrives in their system and we finally get someone at least projected to be half decent in the middle. Obviously too early to be talking about it but if both stay on the outer at their current clubs...

2781414-graph-with-downward-trend.jpg

Is there anything more certain than Parish becoming exactly the player he was projected to be if he goes to a Collingwood or Geelong?
One of the things that really stood out Thursday night to me was the job Collingwood have done on Aish.
a year in their system, and Parish would be rated one of the top kids on an AFL list.

His problem isnt his talent. 2016, he was a silver lining along with Merrett.
Then we opted for the returning seniors in his place in 2017
Then we recruited Smith
Then we recruited Shiel

We took a small pure midfielder with a top 5 pick, then proceeded to make him redundant with our trade strategy
The only way it would have worked out would have been to play him ahead of Zaka over that time.

Time is still there. There are 3 midfield spots up for grabs when you consider we currently line up with Zaka, Myers and Langford in there.

One of the things that really stood out Thursday night to me was the job Collingwood have done on Aish.
a year in their system, and Parish would be rated one of the top kids on an AFL list.

His problem isnt his talent. 2016, he was a silver lining along with Merrett.
Then we opted for the returning seniors in his place in 2017
Then we recruited Smith
Then we recruited Shiel

We took a small pure midfielder with a top 5 pick, then proceeded to make him redundant with our trade strategy
The only way it would have worked out would have been to play him ahead of Zaka over that time.

Time is still there. There are 3 midfield spots up for grabs when you consider we currently line up with Zaka, Myers and Langford in there.

I think the free ride he got in 2016 has hurt his development. Got a lot of games and he was pretty much just chasing kicks like juniors. The only rules that year where play and have fun. Here we are today and he is struggling to get the balance in his game right. Could also say the same about Merrett to a degree.

I got why Woosha did that in 2016. If you're gonna lose, just go out and get a good taste of AFL.
Zero expectation or weight. His performance in the Rd2 win over Melbourne was heart warming. It looked like we had nailed an early pick and landed an elite talent.

At the same time, Oliver was barely finishing games.
A mate of mine tells me a story he heard at a Dees president lunch. McCartney took a list of names to Oliver. It was extensive (30 or so). He asked him what they were.
Oliver's reply was "these are the guys ahead of me"
Macca's response was "these are your teammates that think you're a ********"
He broke out the next season.

This would never happen at Essendon
For one, everyone is too nice
For another, the list of players who'd have a right to think that way is very short.

Parish, Langford, Laverde add to a long line of kids we fail to develop properly.

I got why Woosha did that in 2016. If you're gonna lose, just go out and get a good taste of AFL.
Zero expectation or weight. His performance in the Rd2 win over Melbourne was heart warming. It looked like we had nailed an early pick and landed an elite talent.

At the same time, Oliver was barely finishing games.
A mate of mine tells me a story he heard at a Dees president lunch. McCartney took a list of names to Oliver. It was extensive (30 or so). He asked him what they were.
Oliver's reply was "these are the guys ahead of me"
Macca's response was "these are your teammates that think you're a ********"
He broke out the next season.

This would never happen at Essendon
For one, everyone is too nice
For another, the list of players who'd have a right to think that way is very short.

Parish, Langford, Laverde add to a long line of kids we fail to develop properly.

Laverde and his injuries failed to give them a chance to under develop him but I tend to agree with theme you are going with. To let you in on one thing with Langford. I was at the club not long after we moved to Tulla having the tour and there was a board sitting in one of the rooms with players name tags and possible future positions and the Langford tag was at CHB. Two years later he was being trained as a big bodied midfielder, most likely because we only had David Myers.
The McCartney thing does not surprise me. He got the arse from the Dogs for being too hard arse for their group but that was how he was. Too bad we did not get too keep him for longer.

That might be a problem but it doesn't have much to do with his inability to physically impact the contest.

Broken tackles, firing away handballs so quickly (to avoid body contact he can't absorb) he hardly hits targets.

He was at his best when he had a bit of space because he is a neat kick of the ball and quite creative/has good vision.

That's not to say he's soft, I would not even consider accusing him of "shirking the issue". He is not an effective inside player at this stage, hardly AFL standard.

That might be a problem but it doesn't have much to do with his inability to physically impact the contest.

Broken tackles, firing away handballs so quickly (to avoid body contact he can't absorb) he hardly hits targets.

He was at his best when he had a bit of space because he is a neat kick of the ball and quite creative/has good vision.

That's not to say his soft, I would not even consider accusing him of "shirking the issue". He is not an effective inside player at this stage, hardly AFL standard.

I go back to before that draft and initially I was in the Parish camp before changing my mind and going with Curnow / Francis as my prefered duo and one reason was I was worried about Parish being under sized and taking time to develop. In saying that I did say I expected Curnow could play some midfield which has not happened either although I did say Francis was never going play some midfield time like was suggested as he really had no idea at all.
So yes I agree one of his issues is he does lack core strength for lack of a better description.:thumbsu:
Also agree his best games have been when he has played more outside cutting through the zone with his pace.

Its his 4th season. It takes lots of mids about 5-6 seasons to get the body, power and running to start generating 25 touches per week.

A lot of the Geelong mids of yesteryear like Kelly, Corey and even Ablett only started really going at about the 5-6 year mark.

I'm still hopeful this will be the case for Darcy. We just need to make sure we get him proper game time and keep developing him.

I go back to before that draft and initially I was in the Parish camp before changing my mind and going with Curnow / Francis as my prefered duo and one reason was I was worried about Parish being under sized and taking time to develop. In saying that I did say I expected Curnow could play some midfield which has not happened either although I did say Francis was never going play some midfield time like was suggested as he really had no idea at all.
So yes I agree one of his issues is he does lack core strength for lack of a better description.:thumbsu:
Also agree his best games have been when he has played more outside cutting through the zone with his pace.
i was in the Oliver/Francis camp, then the Curnow/Francis camp, then Oliver/Curnow
Really couldn't tell what Melbourne were gonna do until closer to the draft

Had we gone the Curnow route, we likely would have tried for Ed at some point. And i reckon the blues would have let him go.
Not a bad outcome.

I was sold on what i saw of Parish early on though. Only 50 odd games in over 3 years. He has plenty of time if we persist and keep him out on a wing.

I've got no issue with the club's decision to draft Parish and then Francis at 5 or 6 regardless of how they turn out because they were quite unanimously the best available in those respective positions in the 2015 draft and those positions were the two we needed most at the time, Parish as a midfielder and Francis as a KPD. The issue is what happened after that, and playing both guys out of position to fill needs at AFL level instead of letting them develop their craft in the reserves with a clear plan of what they need to learn and where they need to get to.

The 2016 draft was the ****-up. McGrath will be a decent enough player but he was in no way the player we should have taken.

Was ok and had his moments but he's very lucky Francis decided to pump a footy into Hurley from two metres away and Langford/Guelfi forgot a game was on in the same match that he went full space cadet and let Parker stroll in for a goal after marking.

I've got no issue with the club's decision to draft Parish and then Francis at 5 or 6 regardless of how they turn out because they were quite unanimously the best available in those respective positions in the 2015 draft and those positions were the two we needed most at the time, Parish as a midfielder and Francis as a KPD. The issue is what happened after that, and playing both guys out of position to fill needs at AFL level instead of letting them develop their craft in the reserves with a clear plan of what they need to learn and where they need to get to.

The 2016 draft was the ****-up. McGrath will be a decent enough player but he was in no way the player we should have taken.

Don’t agree on the McGrath call he can still very well be the best player in that draft. His style is going to take a few years.

AFL Player # 3: Darcy Parish