AFL Player # 3: Darcy Parish

That highlights the great year Parish is having, but has nothing to do with my point.

Id suggest that Parish's first seven games are of the same standard as Hogan and Cripps in 2015.

But comfortably behind their form for the season, which is the point. Darcy just continuing what he is doing doesn't mean winning the RS is simply a given.

I don't think I can state my point any clearer. If you disagree with it, that's fine, but if you're not going to bother reading and understanding it, please don't reply to it.

Grabbed this from Blitz

FKM2TYN.gif

Young Zacky Merret gets knocked over by a North flog and comes straight in to look after his team mate.

The boy doesn't take crap from the oppo I love it.

But comfortably behind their form for the season, which is the point. Darcy just continuing what he is doing doesn't mean winning the RS is simply a given.

I don't think I can state my point any clearer. If you disagree with it, that's fine, but if you're not going to bother reading and understanding it, please don't reply to it.

When have i stated that Parish or anyone is a lock to win the Rising Star - How can Parish or any player be behind the form of Cripps or Hogan of season 2015, when only eight rounds have been completed - It's impossible for any player to have a better season with 8 games completed.

yep, the way he runs holding the ball with two hands after he picks it up. Looks like a ben cousins clone
Holy shit, I never noticed that, it's so true.

Grabbed this from Blitz

FKM2TYN.gif

Young Zacky Merret gets knocked over by a North flog and comes straight in to look after his team mate.

The boy doesn't take crap from the oppo I love it.
This was the first I saw of him for the game.
Every game he's niggling n bumpin blokes
He's going to annoy a lot of teams.

When have i stated that Parish or anyone is a lock to win the Rising Star - How can Parish or any player be behind the form of Cripps or Hogan of season 2015, when only eight rounds have been completed - It's impossible for any player to have a better season with 8 games completed.
Jade stated that for Parish to continue his current form he would be a lock for RS. I merely pointed out, based on Cripps last year that's not a reasonable claim. Now you have been arguing with me about it ever since about points that are completely irrelevant to what I said.

I really don't want to talk about it any further as I don't think the point was significant enough to deserve this much thread time and I'd much rather be talking about this superstar.

I told you very explicitly, if you're not going to read and understand what I wrote, do not respond. Yet you still haven't read it and you're still responding to it. Go away and stop wasting mine and other people's time.

With Clayton Oliver seemingly having a couple of quiet weeks, and Weitering gone for a while.
Who is his main competition for RS... Mills??

He only had his debut last round yeah? would have to play the rest of the season to be in contention I would think
First game with 30 or so touches, 16 contested. You're right, he'd have to string more impressive games to take the RS. A pool mishap is what prevented from playing earlier in the season.

Not saying its not impressive... coming in round 8 is certainly a setback for his RS hopes, plus the competitiveness of getting in and then holding down a spot in the GWS lineup could see him miss a few more. Meanwhile I'd expect Darcy to only be rested 2-3 times for the year... barring injury thats a solid season

Who seriously cares about the RS.

I wonder if we'll see another break for young Darcy later on in the year. The week off did him wonders.
I reckon he'll play up until the bye, have another 4/5 weeks after it and rest against either Adelaide or Geelong then play the season out.

I care, I just want Darcy to win the 10K, or whatever it is they receive. :p

In the grand scheme of things, the RS means diddly, obviously.

I don't mind the award and I think if Parish were to win it, it would be a wonderful thing to have on his career resume. But it's certainly not the end of the world if he's pipped either - we know that we have a super talent on our hands regardless.

A ni
I don't mind the award and I think if Parish were to win it, it would be a wonderful thing to have on his career resume. But it's certainly not the end of the world if he's pipped either - we know that we have a super talent on our hands regardless.
A nice precursor to his 4 brownlow medals and 5 norm smiths

Who seriously cares about the RS.

I wonder if we'll see another break for young Darcy later on in the year. The week off did him wonders.
clearly, almost everyone does.

It's always one of the most hotly discussed and emotional subject matter every single year, and not just on BigFooty. It's another symptom of the youth infatuation that drives people to over rate youngsters and draft picks over established players; and it's mainly because youth = hope, and youth is innocent and unblemished, and a blank canvass for you to project all your hopes and dreams on to - until in the vast majority of cases reality happens and new youth replaces them.

But point is, everyone cares about the RS. Hell, I mouth platitudes about how unimportant it is too, but I follow the debate and I really would love for Darcy to win.

clearly, almost everyone does.

It's always one of the most hotly discussed and emotional subject matter every single year, and not just on BigFooty. It's another symptom of the youth infatuation that drives people to over rate youngsters and draft picks over established players; and it's mainly because youth = hope, and youth is innocent and unblemished, and a blank canvass for you to project all your hopes and dreams on to - until in the vast majority of cases reality happens and new youth replaces them.

But point is, everyone cares about the RS. Hell, I mouth platitudes about how unimportant it is too, but I follow the debate and I really would love for Darcy to win.

I'd love for Darcy to win, but to be honest I think Weitering should if he can come back again and play enough games. Not many 18-year-olds KPPs can come in and play just as skillfully and consistently as he has. Even though it's still hard to do that as a mid, it occurs more often.

Having said that, that hasn't stopped me from making jokes to bluebagger mates about weitering getting a nomination after Parish, or the fact that weitering himself says Parish will win it.

Because I'm a colossal dick.

AFL Player # 3: Darcy Parish