Player Watch #30: Reece Conca

Anyone who says he CAN'T play are just disgruntled supporters looking for everything and anything to complain about.

The facts are this;

Should we have taken him with pick 6? No
Would've he been picked if we didn't take him? Of course
At his best, is he a worthy AFL footballer? Bloody oath
Is he injury prone? Unfortunately yes
Has he shown he can play decent footy? My word he has.
Does he have flaws in his game? Yes (kicking, lack of goal kicking and injuries)

All in all, he's a bloke who can definitely play at the highest level. He hasn't set the world on fire and unfortunately he's injury prone but if he can get past the injuries, his tackling and pressure ability is paramount for our team.

I for one am glad he's staying, as long as it's a 1 year contract because if he can't get on the park next year then he has to go. I'm happy to give him one more year to get back to that 2013 form.

I really just want Conca fit. If he can't be fit then get him contributing in some other capacity. He can still add improvement to our team, whether he's on the field or not.

Basically he is paid to play football on the field, if he can't do that through fitness/desire he should be gone.

Anyone who says he CAN'T play are just disgruntled supporters looking for everything and anything to complain about.

The facts are this;

Should we have taken him with pick 6? No
Would've he been picked if we didn't take him? Of course
At his best, is he a worthy AFL footballer? Bloody oath
Is he injury prone? Unfortunately yes
Has he shown he can play decent footy? My word he has.
Does he have flaws in his game? Yes (kicking, lack of goal kicking and injuries)

All in all, he's a bloke who can definitely play at the highest level. He hasn't set the world on fire and unfortunately he's injury prone but if he can get past the injuries, his tackling and pressure ability is paramount for our team.

I for one am glad he's staying, as long as it's a 1 year contract because if he can't get on the park next year then he has to go. I'm happy to give him one more year to get back to that 2013 form.

Mate I came on here to say exactly what you have stated. We could win a premiership and some blokes on here would still find time to piss on something.

Conca can play. No doubt in my mind when fit he is a good player. Unfortunately for him and the team, he's always injured. I'm all for a one year contract.

I really am looking forward to next year:

Deledio for a full season
Yarran on a wing
Prestia 30 hard ball gets in the middle
Conca fit and in the mids rotation
McIntosh providing heaps of run on the outside

yes I'm a glass half full type of guy

Seems to me people are not arguing that he is a top player but a decent or good ordinary player as the great JD would say.

In a purely factual sense what do we have ? 6 yr 24yo, 80 game player who has been injury prone whose overall performances are best described as average.
For a mid statistically he is probably below average.
17.8 disposals, 3.4 tackles 3.3 clearances, 6.1 c/p's. with few i/50's, goals or rebound.

Opinion based imo he
Is not a good kick under pressure.
Injury prone speaks for itself.
Lacks consistency. Albeit he has played some really good games has more than his share of poor ones and the norm is somewhere in between.
Lacks awareness.I see this all the time in him although on the odd occasion he shows he knows what is around him
Brain fades are common totally dumb at times.
lacks pace especially if he needs to play outside mid role.
Lacks a proper motor.
Lacks genuine size and strength.

Imo he lacks the attributes to play outside but the trouble is he does not do well enough or often enough the inside things to become a really good player and the stats back up this observation.

The trouble with Reece and so many of our players they cannot be relied upon to consistently play good footy. This lack of consistency happens because of the weaknesses in their game.
6yrs in injuries or not its the flaws in his game and the lack of consistent performance that makes me think we should be aiming for better.

Seems to me people are not arguing that he is a top player but a decent or good ordinary player as the great JD would say.

In a purely factual sense what do we have ? 6 yr 24yo, 80 game player who has been injury prone whose overall performances are best described as average.
17.8 disposals, 3.4 tackles 3.3 clearances, 6.1 c/p's. with few i/50's, goals or rebound.

Opinion based imo he
Lacks consistency. Albeit he has played some really good games has more than his share of poor ones and the norm is somewhere in between.
Lacks awareness.I see this all the time in him although on the odd occasion he shows he knows what is around him
Lacks a proper motor.

Imo he lacks the attributes to play outside but the trouble is he does not do well enough or often enough the inside things to become a really good player and the stats back up this observation.

The trouble with Reece and so many of our players they cannot be relied upon to consistently play good footy. This lack of consistency happens because of the weaknesses in their game.
6yrs in injuries or not its the flaws in his game and the lack of consistent performance that makes me think we should be aiming for better.
Summary:

Mediocre :D

Opinion based imo he
Lacks a proper motor.

Agree 100%, but unfortunately there are plenty of players who need to be cut before Conca goes

Reading between the lines, we thought we had an opportunity to trade him out but looks like we wouldn't have got enough for him to bother cutting him

Went past Conca's Italian restaurant in Vic Park (Perth) today and saw him leaving his parent's store with 3 large pizza's

Definitely Carb loading IMO

Expect a huge season in 2017

Went past Conca's Italian restaurant in Vic Park (Perth) today and saw him leaving his parent's store with 3 large pizza's

Definitely Carb loading IMO

Expect a huge season in 2017

Nahhhhhhh...that's a light snack for reecey boy...Carb loading only happens when he's on the Lasagne Meat Ball Platter followed by the 40 yard spaghetti suck...

If he is to stat then it needs to be as a forward. Has the smarts to play this role and can tackle. His injuries are a concern but if played forward I reckon his body will cope better. Nek minit he is at Freo in part of the Fyfe trade....

Opinion based imo he
Lacks a proper motor.

Thanks mopey as you've just elaborated on why he's worth nothing on today's market .
People saying Conca is in our best 22 maybe right and if they're right then that tells all of us where we are placed as a team.

9 games in the last two years.Even limped off in an Eliminatiin final once.

If all goes well, the club should pencil him in for 5 next year.

Welcome home, Fatty Kaboobah !
Pass the gravy and give him three.

Im pretty confident that he will be on a very very low salary next year

Vickery $400k
Chaplin $400k
Maric - reduce
Conca - reduced
Lemon - traded

We going to have a bit of cash to throw around,Wouldnt be suprised if Martins contract is done early with a big very big 1st year on it paid in 2017

Player Watch #30: Reece Conca