Past #32: Jacob Edwards - drafted w/ #1 in '20 MSD - delisted end '23 w/ 0 NM games & 0 NM goals

yeah I don't get why it takes these kids so long to fill out....my 16yo kid has stacked on 8 kgs in a month and he's only 5'11. Eating me out of house but hitting the gym, and no doubt using his older brothers license to get in the pubs probably helps.
Because our fitness program is shithouse.
Kids at other clubs don't take that long either

The point is that we knew Edwards was going to be a long term project when we drafted him and some posters are writing him off way too early.

The question is whether drafting skinny kids as ruckman it is still worth the long term investment when there is a plethora of serviceable ruckman traded each year that are ready to play.

I can understand if they are displaying superstar attributes, but if they are only ever going to reach a certain ceiling, why wait 4 years when you can snap up someone ready to go fairly consistently each draft period?

I think there were 5 ruckman traded last year?

I’m not against Edwards and understand the path he is on, but I can see both sides of the argument.

He would want to start to get fitter and put on some size this off-season so he can make an impact in the VFL in 2023 to show that he is starting to develop.

The question is whether drafting skinny kids as ruckman it is still worth the long term investment when there is a plethora of serviceable ruckman traded each year that are ready to play.

I can understand if they are displaying superstar attributes, but if they are only ever going to reach a certain ceiling, why wait 4 years when you can snap up someone ready to go fairly consistently each draft period?

I’m not against Edwards and understand the path he is on, but I can see both sides of the argument.

He would want to start to get fitter and put on some size this off-season so he can make an impact in the VFL in 2023 to show that he is starting to develop.

No it's not.
But we still continue to bring in 'development' kids instead of filling needs.

yeah I don't get why it takes these kids so long to fill out....my 16yo kid has stacked on 8 kgs in a month and he's only 5'11. Eating me out of house but hitting the gym, and no doubt using his older brothers license to get in the pubs probably helps.

If Edwards hit Sushi Train with my 10 year old a couple of times a week, he'd be 90kg in no time...

The boy can fair dinkum mung... I feel your pain.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Probably due to the amount of Kms they are running each week doesn’t help.

Because Tom Campbell's ceiling is obvious. Ceglar, Darcy Fort those sorts of players are limited and will continue on the merry go round. We have some ruckmen on the list so there is no issues with Edwards. He is still 19!

Edwards was drafted for what he could become, not what he is. And by the club's admission they viewed this year as his 1st year proper at the club. It could be 4 to 5 years before he is a senior footballer, but the club and most others believe he has the capacity to develop into a very good footballer. Question, would you rather Andrew Phillips now or De Koning in couple years? Pretty obvious answer

If Edwards hit Sushi Train with my 10 year old a couple of times a week, he'd be 90kg in no time...

The boy can fair dinkum mung... I feel your pain.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
There is a lovely Uyghur restaurant not too far from me. I go there once every couple of weeks and have to lose 3kg after each time. I reckon Edwards can make an effort going there once a week, fair dinkum. He'd have to polish a bottle of scotch or vodka with a couple of mates as part of the experience for this to work though.

Nothing wrong with taking a kid with Edwards’ upside. If he doesn’t pan out, go and get a ready to go, albeit limited stop gap.

You can‘t sit on the bottom and look to fill your team with C graders.

Because Tom Campbell's ceiling is obvious. Ceglar, Darcy Fort those sorts of players are limited and will continue on the merry go round. We have some ruckmen on the list so there is no issues with Edwards. He is still 19!

Edwards was drafted for what he could become, not what he is. And by the club's admission they viewed this year as his 1st year proper at the club. It could be 4 to 5 years before he is a senior footballer, but the club and most others believe he has the capacity to develop into a very good footballer. Question, would you rather Andrew Phillips now or De Koning in couple years? Pretty obvious answer

I’m not saying I’m against having Edwards on the list or criticising a 19yo ruckman who has probably played 20 games of competitive footy in 3 years. In fact, I’ve openly discussed that we should also have a developing tall forward and defender on the list at all times coming through and learning their craft. I just don’t know if Edwards justifies the investment as he was overlooked in the draft and recruited as a rookie so the ceiling you are talking about might be a lot lower than a first round elite talent junior that justifies the time? I think it’s foolish to compare Edwards to the De Koning situation as one was a 1st round pick and the other was a rookie selection? What happens if after 4 years of development Edwards turns into an Andrew Phillips type? What happens if you invest 4 years into Edwards only for him to be average? You can get average ruckman every year in trade week that are ready to play a role?

The point I was making was that most clubs have atleast 4 ruckman on a list with only 1 or 2 playing regular senior footy. This means that developing ruckman are starved of opportunity and seem to be on the lookout for increased opportunities AFTER they have done the hard yards and done their apprenticeship. This is highlighted by our recruitment of CCJ last year that had spent a few years developing and when ready to play, started looking elsewhere. It just seems to be a lot more prevalent now the ruck ‘merry go round’ each off season and the availability of so many ruckman that are ready to play.

What happens if Edwards comes on next year and then says, I don’t want to be behind Xerri or CCJ so I’ll look for another club for more senior opportunities? Defeats the purpose of the investment at the moment with the current ruck landscape, and seems to be more magnified with rucks than other KP talls?

Let’s hope Edwards rips the VFL apart next year, earns a contract on the primary list and we are all happy!

Nothing wrong with taking a kid with Edwards’ upside. If he doesn’t pan out, go and get a ready to go, albeit limited stop gap.

You can‘t sit on the bottom and look to fill your team with C graders.

Is it fair to expect a player selected as a rookie in the MSD to ever be anything more than a C grader?

Let’s just remember he was overlooked in the national draft a few months earlier by every club so there may not be the upside you speak of?

Is it fair to expect a player selected as a rookie in the MSD to ever be anything more than a C grader?

Let’s just remember he was overlooked in the national draft a few months earlier by every club so there may not be the upside you speak of?

COVID kind of ruined his previous season and I believe he had a growth spurt.

I get the need for instant gratification, but go the potential before you resort to the shitmen.

Don't stress about Edwards... that MSD draft was a one and only, the only reason we had a pick to use was because our recruiters had the foresight to understand the season was lost to Covid and some talent was going to present that never had a shot. He was a universal number one, there was no other in that draft. At that, he's a rookie listed player and somebody we were told was three years away minimum from any impact, he's been on our list 18 months.

I’m not saying I’m against having Edwards on the list or criticising a 19yo ruckman who has probably played 20 games of competitive footy in 3 years. In fact, I’ve openly discussed that we should also have a developing tall forward and defender on the list at all times coming through and learning their craft. I just don’t know if Edwards justifies the investment as he was overlooked in the draft and recruited as a rookie so the ceiling you are talking about might be a lot lower than a first round elite talent junior that justifies the time? I think it’s foolish to compare Edwards to the De Koning situation as one was a 1st round pick and the other was a rookie selection? What happens if after 4 years of development Edwards turns into an Andrew Phillips type? What happens if you invest 4 years into Edwards only for him to be average? You can get average ruckman every year in trade week that are ready to play a role?

The point I was making was that most clubs have atleast 4 ruckman on a list with only 1 or 2 playing regular senior footy. This means that developing ruckman are starved of opportunity and seem to be on the lookout for increased opportunities AFTER they have done the hard yards and done their apprenticeship. This is highlighted by our recruitment of CCJ last year that had spent a few years developing and when ready to play, started looking elsewhere. It just seems to be a lot more prevalent now the ruck ‘merry go round’ each off season and the availability of so many ruckman that are ready to play.

What happens if Edwards comes on next year and then says, I don’t want to be behind Xerri
or CCJ so I’ll look for another club for more senior opportunities? Defeats the purpose of the investment at the moment with the current ruck landscape, and seems to be more magnified with rucks than other KP talls?

Let’s hope Edwards rips the VFL apart next year, earns a contract on the primary list and we are all happy!

Sorry PP, 'justifies the investment.' He's currently a rookie spot. Yeah, he does justify. And if not prepared to develop your own talent the draft would be one round long.

As for Edwards, better judges than me suggested he would have been a 1st round pick if we didn't take him at the MSD, so I'm happy with the de Koning example. Finally, we put the hard yakka in and Edwards wants out we have turned a mid season rookie spot into a likely 2nd round pick. That's how list management works. Anyway, I'll leave it there as I can see this one going round in circles.

Still at least two years away.

Yep, he’s got that neck sorted and now he can get the rest of his body working.

No real reason not to give him all the time he needs.

Don't stress about Edwards... that MSD draft was a one and only, the only reason we had a pick to use was because our recruiters had the foresight to understand the season was lost to Covid and some talent was going to present that never had a shot. He was a universal number one, there was no other in that draft. At that, he's a rookie listed player and somebody we were told was three years away minimum from any impact, he's been on our list 18 months.
What about Jai Newcombe? Would've been funny to shark Hawthorn's Box Hill pipeline like that

Past #32: Jacob Edwards - drafted w/ #1 in '20 MSD - delisted end '23 w/ 0 NM games & 0 NM goals