Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025

When I read the coaches' interpretations, I realise I watch modern football but understand maybe 1/2 of what is really going on. If RFC can be winning flags with the 22 it puts on the park each week I'll reserve criticism of selections. I have players that I like, but whoever runs out there in our colours gets my support.
Ellis not resigning with us in 2020 but playing out the year was professional modern sport. If he was best available then he gets picked. Although I still reckon RFC telling any player they weren't required 1/2 way through a season is unusual.
If selectors value Kmac's tank, then he gets selected on the Ellis wing. I'm hoping during the year we get a look at some youth.

I’ve heard some of it first hand. Swahili. It’s not like when I played footy, that’s for sure. And you’re right, so much of the game plan involves actions that don’t include getting the footy. It does require selflessness but as mentioned in the book, the inner circle rate these actions, and higher than most of the stats the media rack up.

Na he was kissed on the you know what and has always been a spud.Clearly not best 22 and with horrid deficiencies.They finally woke up to it.

You dont know any of that just more excuses for a dud.
Fact he was told his services were no longer required that from the horses mouth. He also said the news upset him and shook him up.

The club probably did it so he had time to shop himself around. At the end of the day Carlton wisely pulled out and there was only gcs left who were desperate for any old mature hack.

Imo he should not have been getting games if he was no longer required not as if he was going to be hard to replace.
don't you mean you got it from the horses arse ;)

Nope horses mouth. What bit dont you understand. when ellis comes out and says he was told mid way thru the yr that his services were no longer required, or the bit when he says he was pretty shaken up and upset by it. Oh i get it you think he was telling fibs.

Thats coming from the person who would know, what him being on the recieving end of the message and all.
Na i reckon horses mouth or in this case Elliss mouth is quite apt dont you agree.;)

With just a small bit of reasoning it certainly looks like he had no idea it was coming and had no intentions of going anywhere hence he was shaken up and upset.

Disagree on your last point
Best team should be named for any given game especially the grand final

Ellis was the best player for the job according to the coaching staff so he played
What he was doing the following season is irrelevant
Our afl side is for winning games and flags and the vfl side is for development
What about you ? do you think he was the best player? or do we all just go along with what the club says and does. You know what bud it may come as a shock to you but they dont get every single thing right. :oops:

Its also not the end of the world to talk about what they do get wrong although you wouldn,t know it around here.

What about you ? do you think he was the best player? or do we all just go along with what the club says and does. You know what bud it may come as a shock to you but they dont get every single thing right. :oops:

Its also not the end of the world to talk about what they do get wrong although you wouldn,t know it around here.
To play that wing/half back role on the day I 100% believe Ellis was the correct choice on the day given the other choices were Kmac, Naish, Egg, Turner and Kmac assuming we are selecting a player who plays the same position

The other Options were either to inexperienced or just not as good as Ellis imo

Seriously why post, your saying MC got it wrong?

The team that won the GF by 15 goals. Why bother, seriously you should put your hand up at the other 17 clubs bc you are obviously a visionary.. Im sure they would pay heaps for your insight just to perfect the 0-5% they get wrong so you could correct them!

You do realize they pick the best team not best individual players? He was part of the best team available that won a GF by 15 goals. Simple enough?

To play that wing/half back role on the day I 100% believe Ellis was the correct choice on the day given the other choices were Kmac, Naish, Egg, Turner and Kmac assuming we are selecting a player who plays the same position

The other Options were either to inexperienced or just not as good as Ellis imo
Well the proof is in the pudding then isnt it. He had a howler of a day one of the worst games you will see fmd he was running around like a headless chook always running past a contest or always just too late to get to a contest. Yeah he sure ran hard just about the most ineffective running you will ever see.You know what thats what he does in most games but hey he sure covered the ground lol.

The old they have a role to do really is just an excuse and its about the only argument thats thrown up to justify this hack.

On top of that a miserly 11 disposals, only 2 contested, not one one percenter, no tackles, no rebounds, just 1 inside fifty and you think that was the correct choice for a bloke playing wing half back.Or just perhaps like a fair few people were saying he should not have got a game and the club got it wrong.

Seriously why post, your saying MC got it wrong?

The team that won the GF by 15 goals. Why bother, seriously you should put your hand up at the other 17 clubs bc you are obviously a visionary.. Im sure they would pay heaps for your insight just to perfect the 0-5% they get wrong so you could correct them!

You do realize they pick the best team not best individual players? He was part of the best team available that won a GF by 15 goals. Simple enough?
lol not just me did you ever see the Ellis thread it didnt go 300 odd pages because everyone agreed with the the clubs decision to play ellis.
Of course the mc got it wrong they through the yr they made lots of poor decisions It is total head in the sand nonsense to insist they didnt or that we should not talk about it.

Fmd i really hope those in charge have a heavy focus on what we do wrong as thats the only way we can keep improving.
Seriously why post thats quite apt for you.Ironic that applies more to you than me and you cant see it. If you dont like talking about the whole picture why come on a footy forum where people will disagree with ya.

Well the proof is in the pudding then isnt it. He had a howler of a day one of the worst games you will see fmd he was running around like a headless chook always running past a contest or always just too late to get to a contest. Yeah he sure ran hard just about the most ineffective running you will ever see.You know what thats what he does in most games but hey he sure covered the ground lol.

The old they have a role to do really is just an excuse and its about the only argument thats thrown up to justify this hack.

On top of that a miserly 11 disposals, only 2 contested, not one one percenter, no tackles, no rebounds, just 1 inside fifty and you think that was the correct choice for a bloke playing wing half back.Or just perhaps like a fair few people were saying he should not have got a game and the club got it wrong.

lol not just me did you ever see the Ellis thread it didnt go 300 odd pages because everyone agreed with the the clubs decision to play ellis.
Of course the mc got it wrong they through the yr they made lots of poor decisions It is total head in the sand nonsense to insist they didnt or that we should not talk about it.

Fmd i really hope those in charge have a heavy focus on what we do wrong as thats the only way we can keep improving.
Seriously why post thats quite apt for you.Ironic that applies more to you than me and you cant see it. If you dont like talking about the whole picture why come on a footy forum where people will disagree with ya.
The proof in the pudding? That would be a scoreline of 80 points in favour of Richmond. Who knows how the MC rate players. But they aren't looking at supercoach stats. There is no way Ellis wasn't going to be selected. You play Ross instead of Pickett or Kmac for Broad. Woul have been the only change. Yeah Soldo and Ellis might have quiet games but the form of the 24 players vying for selection was good. Just having a look at
Kmac at training, he and every player bar Nank & Graham is fully fit. I'm glad Ellis has taken the offer at the Suns. Cos we have so much depth it's ridiculous. The only ones fumbing anything were a couple of the draftees. We all have favourite players but the MC know what they're doing. 2 flags in 3 years
One thing the MC don't do well is rest players. I'll be more worried if we have a good run with injury.

The proof in the pudding? That would be a scoreline of 80 points in favour of Richmond. Who knows how the MC rate players. But they aren't looking at supercoach stats. There is no way Ellis wasn't going to be selected. You play Ross instead of Pickett or Kmac for Broad. Woul have been the only change. Yeah Soldo and Ellis might have quiet games but the form of the 24 players vying for selection was good. Just having a look at
Kmac at training, he and every player bar Nank & Graham is fully fit. I'm glad Ellis has taken the offer at the Suns. Cos we have so much depth it's ridiculous. The only ones fumbing anything were a couple of the draftees. We all have favourite players but the MC know what they're doing. 2 flags in 3 years
Lol again. No ones saying the MC dont know what they are doing, where was that said? their your words .
Your right 2 flags in three yrs says they do know what they are doing, and they have got MOST things right NOT ALL. Thats not hard to comprehend is it. It is more accurate than just saying they got everything right and didnt make a mistake thats for sure.

Are you saying you cannot differentiate between the team winning by 80 points and the actual contribution and performance of the players in the team.By the way i dont look at super coach or any other nonsensical stats based games.

Playing Ellis was a mistake IMO not just in the g/f but from the moment they told him his services were no longer required half way thru the yr.
It did take games away from others and it took valuable finals experience away from someone who is still at our club.

We can go around in circles and debate weather he was best 22 or not but with out a doubt we would have won all of OUR games weather he was in the team or not and imo probably would have got more out of others.
He had a pitiable g/f and it wasnt the first time he had been so poor in finals.

I would not have hesitated in bringing in Ross an 18 yr old how good would that experience have been for him going fwd.Based on what we got from Ellis both Ross and McIntosh would have been better options.

Makes it really hard for Kaps now...

Already out of best 22 at the end of last year, and I can't remember anyone similar struggling to geta gig in the ones who comes back to make a difference after a long injury setback during the season

There's never a good time for an injury but preseason is about as least bad as you can hope for. Fortunately KMac has access to the best rehabilitation team in the competition as well as the support of his team mates. Hopefully he just stays positive and focuses on what the Club tells him he needs to do to return to the AFL side.

Got the syndesmosis. Looks like a minor case of it.

The guy is underrated in my book. You know what you get with him, running machine, fat side-no reward team man. It’s when he’s asked to play other roles it doesn’t work in my book. Maybe a tagging role in the future but I love the bloke and the effort he gives.

I understand the “romance” around naish but at this stage he has shown nothing at present Macca has him covered by the length of the Flemington straight

LOL he was way down on his norm the first two finals and was literally putrid in the G/F. And his norm is not that great.

Common sense says they do get selections wrong and they dont always pick best 22 players.

Common sense says he was not worth keeping and they knew it from half way thru the yr. they did have plenty of options and they chose not to
utilise them.
Instead gifting a total soft hack games in front of more deserving players who would be far better for the experience and finals exposure and would probably have given more than him.

Did they get it wrong well simply put yes imo. Im not one of those head in the sand supporters who thinks they get every single thing right.
Ellis in the team or out of it from half way thru the yr would not have changed a thing. Imo better to play players we knew were going to be around than a fringe player who we knew wouldnt be.
What game did you watch?

I understand the “romance” around naish but at this stage he has shown nothing at present Macca has him covered by the length of the Flemington straight

Except for that fact Macca is currently has an injury and if Naish or any of the other young guns manages to settle themselves into the side during the early part of the season it will be very difficult to swap them back out barring an injury

I’m not suggesting that Macca plays with an 8njury , but to say that Nash is a “ gun” or going to be a “ gun” on what he has shown so far is a stretch, we all want a kid from a Past player to succeed, but at this stage the jury is out on Naish, he has shown no more than Raines, Bourke and others

Attended training this morning and other than KM everyone looked sharp.
However I was reliably informed by staff KMacs injury is not serious.
He injured the same ankle 3 years ago which required a titanium band around a lower bone.
That band actually minimised the impact of the hit last week and is expected back in 2-3 weeks.

Good news as I have a lot of time for this bloke.

Attended training this morning and other than KM everyone looked sharp.
However I was reliably informed by staff KMacs injury is not serious.
He injured the same ankle 3 years ago which required a titanium strap around a lower bone.
That strap actually minimised the impact of the hit last week and is expected back in 2-3 weeks.

Good news as I have a lot of time for this bloke.
Awesome news, glad he’ll be in the mix come round 1. Reckon he’ll establish himself as best 22 again this year

Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025