Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025

Slightly off topic but Caddy a minor improvement on mac/Ellis! I can't remember Caddy losing a one on one contest on his wing. He is clever and hard footballer who uses it well and sets up others. Of course lacks a yard in pace for a wingman, but his ability to do the right thing every time he gets separates him from the other two by quite some way. Good in the air as well which is very handy. I would think he will strap up this season a bit lighter to help his running game. Big year I reckon.
Not going to get into these type of debates as it seems to cause a lot trouble having a differing outlook on some players worth..
just my opinion but Caddy has similar problems to McIntosh and has been one of the most over rated players we have had.Just an opinion but i think theres not a lot of difference between Caddy and McIntosh when it comes to playing on a wing.I reckon we would get just as much if not more by playing others there.

I suppose we will ultimately agree to disagree.

Not going to get into these type of debates as it seems to cause a lot trouble having a differing outlook on some players worth..
just my opinion but Caddy has similar problems to McIntosh and has been one of the most over rated players we have had.Just an opinion but i think theres not a lot of difference between Caddy and McIntosh when it comes to playing on a wing.I reckon we would get just as much if not more by playing others there.
I suppose we will ultimately agree to disagree.
I’ll have to disagree with you too, Caddy is a gun, top tier forward pocket player....but can play wing well too.
one on one Elite.
kicking Elite.
footy smarts excellent.
mongrel Elite.
assists excellent.
seriously what more can you ask for?

Slightly off topic but Caddy a minor improvement on mac/Ellis! I can't remember Caddy losing a one on one contest on his wing. He is clever and hard footballer who uses it well and sets up others. Of course lacks a yard in pace for a wingman, but his ability to do the right thing every time he gets separates him from the other two by quite some way. Good in the air as well which is very handy. I would think he will strap up this season a bit lighter to help his running game. Big year I reckon.
Caddy is a threat to the scoreboard and I reckon thats why Kmac got dropped before the 2018 finals and Ellis didn’t play in them.
2017 we were unpredictable with the smalls and the chaos, 2018 wasn’t a big change after the bye last year Dusty spends more time fwd, we get Jack back in and the oppo knows what they have to do (but can’t) Caddy comes in and it’s another scoring option.
Ellis played every game and thats where I think maybe Kmac might get another shot cause if nothing else everyone on the team knows what he’s going to do and you can’t have everyone taking the game on all the time.

McIntosh never loses a one-on-one. I reckon he could've stepped in and did what Caddy did on the wing no worries. He found himself in the twos to work on his versatility. Caddy had already done that.

At worst, nothing is lost if Kmac steps straight in to Ellis' role on the wing
love makka, his main problem now is that in our well oiled machine, he is probably now our biggest fumbler and ball butcher, dusty, sheds and prestia can butcher it on occasions. but they never ever fumble and their playmaking is elite. makkas a massive goer and durable but it looks he's around 21-26 in the mix. but happy if he can have a blinder of a season and hold his spot.

Caddy is a threat to the scoreboard and I reckon thats why Kmac got dropped before the 2018 finals and Ellis didn’t play in them.
2017 we were unpredictable with the smalls and the chaos, 2018 wasn’t a big change after the bye last year Dusty spends more time fwd, we get Jack back in and the oppo knows what they have to do (but can’t) Caddy comes in and it’s another scoring option.
Ellis played every game and thats where I think maybe Kmac might get another shot cause if nothing else everyone on the team knows what he’s going to do and you can’t have everyone taking the game on all the time.
History is blurring a bit. 2018 Kmac played finals. Actually kicked 3 goals in 2018 semi final. 2019 he got dropped to the VFL for re education

I’ll have to disagree with you too, Caddy is a gun, top tier forward pocket player....but can play wing well too.
one on one Elite.
kicking Elite.
footy smarts excellent.
mongrel Elite.
assists excellent.
seriously what more can you ask for?
thats all good,be a boring old world if we all agreed on everything. As i said im not going to get into a debate on this but i think Caddy has been pretty average his whole career apart from a couple of seasons. Imo he had his best season when at Geelong.

Interesting article in the news today where Brandon Ellis says he was told half way thru the yr that his services were no longer required.

Yet he played in the finals in front of McIntosh on a wing.
I think if McIntosh had of got some offers last yr he too would be gone. And i think it dumb not to play someone who was going to be around for yrs to come instead continuing to play someone they knew who would not.

Disagree on your last point
Best team should be named for any given game especially the grand final

Ellis was the best player for the job according to the coaching staff so he played
What he was doing the following season is irrelevant
Our afl side is for winning games and flags and the vfl side is for development

Interesting article in the news today where Brandon Ellis says he was told half way thru the yr that his services were no longer required.

I think if McIntosh had of got some offers last yr he too would be gone. And i think it dumb not to play someone who was going to be around for yrs to come instead continuing to play someone they knew who would not.

I find it almost impossible to believe Ellis was told his services would no longer be required. More like the club knew they valued him at a much lower salary than the market and they told him realistically he was better to seek other options. Richmond FC might value Ellis highly enough to offer $350k x 3 seasons, and McIntosh enough to offer $250-300k x 2 seasons. They rated Ellis better for the job at hand and played him. The market values Ellis at $550k+ x 5 years and McIntosh at $250-300k x 1-2 seasons, so Ellis goes and McIntosh stays, simple as that. Ellis was surely in no danger of delisting if no other club wanted him so saying his services were no longer required is just not accurate.

No club just gets to keep their best 40 odd players every year and get rid of the weakest 6-8 or whatever amount. Clubs get priced out of their own players, even Collingwood whose accountant is so artistic he should be nominated for the Archibald Prize. They had to trade Aish out last trade period.

Why does that come as no surprise? Credit to him though for maintaining the professionalism. A few rational heads in here said as much, that what he (his Manager) was looking for was never going to be on the table at Richmond, AND ON THAT BASIS his services were no longer in Richmond's plans. The worst kept secret kept unfinalised by professionalism all round. Win / Win.

Richmond FC might value Ellis highly enough to offer $350k x 3 seasons
I thought he was on big money, like 550-600k, and he could keep earning that sort of coin elsewhere. But we need the space, as much as we love him.
350k x 2 would have been about what we were offering him, I would have thought.
I was surprised last year when Kamdyn was dropped. I thought he was playing well.

Kmac not in my 25. 2019 flag team 21. Then squeezing him out of wing I'd like to see small fwds/backs/mids rotating through that wing: add Stack, Graham, Ross, , RCD, Balta. Then I'd be trying good disposers like Egg & Naish more. I reckon Kmac has hit his ceiling. He is probably 28th I reckon. For injury emergency use only. Which happened last year so I am not writing him off.
Yep I agree he’s slipped down the rankings. A little to do with drop off in form but more to do with the overall improvement of our list.
I don’t think Kmac has been bad but he’s stagnated allowing others to leapfrog him.

Yep I agree he’s slipped down the rankings. A little to do with drop off in form but more to do with the overall improvement of our list.
I don’t think Kmac has been bad but he’s stagnated allowing others to leapfrog him.

Yep, for some reason some equate that to form drop also - our list and application to roles just gets better!

Good player to have on the list Kmac. Depth wins you GF’s it’s a great position to be in when you pick your best 22 and can’t fit 6-8 solid AFL standard players in.

I reckon Ellis was told that the kids were coming for his spot and he was no longer guaranteed a firsts spot. Told him he is better than VFL and to have a look around for a better paying club. Not told 'P off, you're not good enough'. They played him to win a GF. He did his job quite well. He produces a lot more than KMac. If KMac can get back to his best the spot is his. But Turner, Naish, Stack, etc are also in contention. If they use the Ross, Graham combo in the middle that move Cotch outside a bit more, with Marlion playing the inside/outside mid as well, we end up moving very good players towards the wings. I can see Stack playing on the wing, cause other spots are take. Or we might be planning on rotating George, Dan, Stack etc on the wing. Plenty of reasons for the Tigers to see Brandon as best 22 in 2019, but not the future.

thats all good,be a boring old world if we all agreed on everything. As i said im not going to get into a debate on this but i think Caddy has been pretty average his whole career apart from a couple of seasons. Imo he had his best season when at Geelong.
When Richmond recruited Caddy I was horrified. Did not want him. However, his 17 and 18 seasons were fantastic and his form in big games late in the season was top notch. At critical moments in the Brisbane and Geelong finals he won contested ball and was a major contributor when the game was in the balance. I have always been a Kmac fan but Caddy has out performed him. I do not know what all the debate is about. Form and injury will determine who plays and I think both these players will have large roles to play. I hope our youth develops enough to force them both out. We would become even more formidable.

Caddy's best season of his career was 2018. Not at Geelong.

I find it almost impossible to believe Ellis was told his services would no longer be required. More like the club knew they valued him at a much lower salary than the market and they told him realistically he was better to seek other options. Richmond FC might value Ellis highly enough to offer $350k x 3 seasons, and McIntosh enough to offer $250-300k x 2 seasons. They rated Ellis better for the job at hand and played him. The market values Ellis at $550k+ x 5 years and McIntosh at $250-300k x 1-2 seasons, so Ellis goes and McIntosh stays, simple as that. Ellis was surely in no danger of delisting if no other club wanted him so saying his services were no longer required is just not accurate.

No club just gets to keep their best 40 odd players every year and get rid of the weakest 6-8 or whatever amount. Clubs get priced out of their own players, even Collingwood whose accountant is so artistic he should be nominated for the Archibald Prize. They had to trade Aish out last trade period.
I thought he was on big money, like 550-600k, and he could keep earning that sort of coin elsewhere. But we need the space, as much as we love him.
350k x 2 would have been about what we were offering him, I would have thought.
I was surprised last year when Kamdyn was dropped. I thought he was playing well.
Ellis had been on good money of 500~600 but in 2020 he was offered less by RFC. It seemed like the Suns better offer was on table early. Ellis took the offer. He is a dual premiership player. Good career already. We have depth in that area so absolutely no loss to us.

“I was pretty shaken up and upset when I was told,” Ellis told the Gold Coast Bulletin.

The midfielder admitted it was tough being told he was no longer required by his former club halfway through last season.

Its in the Gold Coast Bulletin and you can find it here

Ellis would have been told he was still a required player but would be taking a pay cut, or big offers elsewhere would not be matched. business is business and tigers decision makers and brando and his family and management all handled it beautifully.

Carlton acted like clowns and probably could have had Butler and Brando and change, but instead they got Jack Martin at an inflated price which is sure to upset a few Bluebagger players who would be playing for peanuts.

Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025