Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

My Daughter's friend from Primary school her family are big donors at Carlton and her dad has done scouting for them for about 15 years. Used to see him all the time but still catch up a few times a year. This guys a straight shooter.

I remember the figures cos I remembered it as Stuart Maxfield (27) x Craig Lambert (4). Heaps of 💩 players out there getting overpaid on promise. Us and North bumped Hamish Hartlett up to $800k cos we were desperate for a doozie. Tigers were paying Conca $600 and the swap for a homesick Gaff fell over cos they pissed themselves that he was getting that. Polecs probably still getting $750k to play Xbox. Graham would be on $600k or not much less. Which is a joke when Vlastuin, Grimes would never been paid as much as the near uaeless plodder.
.... near useless plodder.

It doesn't matter what we think all that matters is what is. Paddie Dow and Cam Rayner were both extended 3 years $2mil deals before playing a single practice match. Don't know what year they're at or if extended again but that put them on $666k for years 3-5.

Rayner would be lucky if gets extended again on $400- $450k. Dow would be lucky if his next contract is $150-$200k. I'm only assuming but imagine Graham and or his manager were told Hopper and Taranto are in Sonsies here your not progressing in the mid queue you're 3 steps back now. We overpaid you. You didn't deliver so your next contract justifiably will be SFA. He's hardly gonna go to Port saying I've been getting $600k so with cost of living increases I want $630k.

He was plan B in case Horne Francis fell over. Unluckily for us it went through cos now we've got a 1 dimensional plodder who amazingly for a bloke in his prime who plays near the action is rarely in top 10 best players. He's dined out on the 2017 GF and would be lucky if he's improved 10% overall on his small sample sized debut year.

Funnily enough everytime I bagged him as useless last year a dozen fanboys would defend him and get personal in their responses. Finally even the die hards have realised after 7 years he's borderline useless. Although someone will post some bullsh1t image of his average km's, repeat sprints.... etc. I still reckon in a 1 on 1 training drill I'd run him down and get away from him 8/10. I'll take pick 60 to move him on. About all he's worth now.
harsh but fair, you won't get a skerrick of an argument about that from me.

Some nastiness here, directed towards a Richmond life member…Always disappointing, but particularly from newbies/trollers…This guy set up our first flag, and his arm was hanging off to get us to the 2nd…He may leave one day, but with respect and as a Tiger…
have always thought the 2 games he has been most heralded for have been overrated because of a mixture of luck (right place at right time when you have one of them games everything goes perfect) see nick duigan link
and the other being a brave soldier and playing with excruciating pain to help the team out. magnificent (tiger hero) but not much else career wise

I think we've found our next coach ... Rioli2Rioli.
Face it, the bloke is NEVER wrong on Richmond and he is more than a wealth of info of all things AFL and Tigerland.
Very presumptuous to not think that most of us think what you post - and there's plenty of it as you contribute about one third of all posts in most threads - absolute rubbish.
But no, like your mate, you think everyone thinks you and he are always right!
Sad!
Whats sad is that on an internet forum i have made such an impact on your life

maybe you should borrow some cash from your girlfriend and pay to have me banned for a day
sweet dreams sunshine and keep reading and learning

have always thought the 2 games he has been most heralded for have been overrated because of a mixture of luck (right place at right time when you have one of them games everything goes perfect) see nick duigan link
and the other being a brave soldier and playing with excruciating pain to help the team out. magnificent (tiger hero) but not much else career wise
I can appreciate that point of view, and JG may be running out of gas…
But I like a folk-lore tale, more than the actual career… And Jack, he’s already in it…

Seriously WTF is up with this guy? 25 years old and has not developed at all. His best games were years ago, he's gone backwards in what should be his prime years.

Had hopes of him maybe being a captain one day when he was 19, now he's borderline delist or trade for a nothing pick material.

Half way through the last he was sitting on 6 touches. Got a cheap 1-2 a toe poke and blew it out to 11 touches. I've been saying for years he's useless. Sonsie needs games pumped into him. Graham played a great game in 2017 GF that shoulder injury is overblown as all fu@k and done SFA in 7 years. Trigger clause my arse he's useless, fat and runs as though his boots are made of concrete. DELIST!

giphy.gif

Said it at the time, we'd rue not letting him go to Port when his value was as good as it was ever going to be.
He's a good three or four cogs below last year, with value dipping by the week.
It's a great story - a flag after half a dozen games and all, but he's average to fair and while I didn't think it possible, he's got slower.
Fully expect him to be dropped on effort if we are fair dinkum.

Half way through the last he was sitting on 6 touches. Got a cheap 1-2 a toe poke and blew it out to 11 touches. I've been saying for years he's useless. Sonsie needs games pumped into him. Graham played a great game in 2017 GF that shoulder injury is overblown as all fu@k and done SFA in 7 years. Trigger clause my arse he's useless, fat and runs as though his boots are made of concrete. DELIST!

Then he went into the midfield. Surprise, surprise he found some of the footy.

He had a dog of a day along with many team mates but I question anyones understanding of footy if they point to how many disposals said players gets while playing a role like the high half forward position when we couldn't get our game plan going at any stage of the game. Couldn't win it at the coal face which meant the only time we had the ball was in our own defence where we were under pressure and constantly had dump kicks out of defence or long down the line where we had no marking targets.

A disciplined player sticks to his role regardless of his own game in the hope that we do get the game on our terms are able to get the ball moving with forward handballing chains.

He had a dog of a day along with many team mates but I question anyones understanding of footy if they point to how many disposals said players gets while playing a role like the high half forward position when we couldn't get our game plan going at any stage of the game. Couldn't win it at the coal face which meant the only time we had the ball was in our own defence where we were under pressure and constantly had dump kicks out of defence or long down the line where we had no marking targets.

A disciplined player sticks to his role regardless of his own game in the hope that we do get the game on our terms are able to get the ball moving with forward handballing chains.

What a load of horse shit. My point was the stats flattered him as 2 of his last possessions were junk time garbage. An unnecessary one two and a toe poke that went a foot.

This isn't the 80's where forwards can starve in a poor team because the ball doesn't get within 50m of their position that they're glued to. I question anyone who hasn't noticed AFL has been a rolling maul for 20 years like u9's where 32 out of 36 players are within a kick of the pill within 10 seconds of the centre bounce. (Why do ya think the stupid 6-6-6 rule was brought in?)Played his role pigs ass!

Taranto's worst game was tonight where he was tagged and it's still a better performance than Graham's had in 3 years. He's a complete nothing player who's been over rated his entire career. 2017 gf was his 5th? Game and he hasn't ever got close to playing that well ever since.

Said it at the time, we'd rue not letting him go to Port when his value was as good as it was ever going to be.
He's a good three or four cogs below last year, with value dipping by the week.
It's a great story - a flag after half a dozen games and all, but he's average to fair and while I didn't think it possible, he's got slower.
Fully expect him to be dropped on effort if we are fair dinkum.
Port didn't want him & saw JHF wanted to come with much more talent, We should push Graham out the door imo tough decisions need to be made.
He played a great GF in 2017 but we need to admit it he isn't going to be the player we thought.

With the greatest respect, he went into the midfield late, an hour after the Lions had iced the game and had turned off.
A few cheap ones late means absolutely nothing and I'm sure if some Brisbane player did the same thing in a heavy loss you'd be saying the exact same thing.
Yes, he had plenty of mates last night, but he was ultra-poor and dished up way below what is expected of a seven-year player - and a player that some, probably including you, have at various times along the way touted as a future captain.
He's not a captain's bootlace and the day we have our best 22 or close to it, he's not in the team.

Should be rightly lauded for his performance in 2017 and a finals in '19 but is now totally useless. Doubt any club would take him but, again, a major part of our golden era. Thanks, JGTI.
Tackling was the one thing he had & he doesn't even have that anymore if you look at his numbers.

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received