Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

People have short memories. 3 goal hero in the 2017 gf and showed stunning courage to play out the game in last years finals series. Thered a thing called loyalty. This young man deserves better than what he is getting from some of our supporters who just want play trade manager all day on football forums.
Nothing but respect for Graham, but reckon others are in front of him, simple as that.

Can't believe how short people's memories are
Jack Graham's form at the end of 2019 is easily best 22, there's no reason he can't get back to that and improve further
With Cotch close to the end, we need Graham to help fill that leadership and physicality void in the midfield
Just look at how much more an in form Graham impacts games when Cotchin is out of the team

Jack Graham's form at the end of 2019 is easily best 22, there's no reason he can't get back to that and improve further
With Cotch close to the end, we need Graham to help fill that leadership and physicality void in the midfield
Just look at how much more an in form Graham impacts games when Cotchin is out of the team

graham and ross- graham by the lenght of the fleminnton straight

There is room on the list for both, Ross still has a couple of years needed to get his fitness up to AFL level, especially to build up his strength to consistently play inside

It's half time in a future grand final. It's us (again) v them. We are down by a couple of goals. One of the oppos best mids Lachie Neale ? Paddy Dangerfield/Duncan ? Boak/Wines ? Adams/Treloar? Coniglio/Kelly ? Bont ? whoever ! (love em or hate em there's always going to be a somebody) ripping us a new one/getting off the chain/killing us out of the middle/looking like he's going to influence the outcome...maybe it's someone you least expect..

The game and the flag are in danger of slipping away. We've seen it happen...many a time...

Dimma is pulling his hair out and us, the fans are screaming to shut the guy down FFS !

There's ONE bloke on our list who would get given that job. One.

And knowing Jack Graham the player, he would shut that oppo flog down, swing the game with a tackle or a shepherd, or a smother...because that's what he does...it's why he's so valuable.

How many flags do we want this bloke to win for us before he gets some respect from his own supporters ?! Some of us see it. Some of us are maybe padding out our fantasy stats and raging against the role players. He only gets it 12 times ! Spud. Delist.

Slow ? Yep. As slow as Diesel was ? That slow huh ? Broken shoulder. Yep. Goes off stays off ? Nah. Plays out the game anyway making sure we have our full rotations IN A PRELIM !

Un-athletic ? Yep. Sure. Must be a draught horse to be such a favourite of the coaching staff and list managers. After all what would they know ?? Sometimes it's worthwhile to weigh up what we know and what THEY know. A couple of premierships at the winningest club in the land is what they know.

Past it at what 21 or 22 ? Yep, no good football left in this bloke in his early 20s. He's cooked isn't he ?

Trade bait ? TRADE BAIT ?

Give it a rest.

No seriously. Give it a rest.

The only way this kid goes home is if he wants out or we can't afford him.

Fully fit he is one of the best young defensive mids in the game. Why ? Because he has those intangible qualities that so many lack. Courage. Leadership. Self sacrifice. Belief.

Jack Graham is a natural footballer, not a bloody Olympic sprinter or 400m high hurdler. He's a footballer's footballer. Ask Neil Balme.

Hang on, what do you mean there's no fantasy football or sportsbet category for "defensive mid with great courage" ??

Perhaps some here value 30 or 40 around the back, chip it sideways meaningless possessions or Dangerdump kicks into the F50 over a dozen hard earned ones, a split lip or a black eye and a shut down job that swings a game. A big game. Maybe just the biggest game.

Not me.

Give me a Jack.

Graham that is. Tackling machine.

I wrote something here around about 2016 I think about not caring if we ever win another flag, I'd just like to see us become the most feared tackling team in the comp because to me, that meant you were having a dip and surely that would lead to greater honours in the end. If only I knew...

If you don't believe me about meaningless possessions, ask Trent Cotchin what a difference changing his own game meant to this club. How he feels now about racking up 30 odd "classy" possessions...in a loss...after loss, after loss...

Or perhaps go back to half time in that future grand final and ask Dimma who he turns to...

"Fridge, I have a job for you mate"

I think what they do is rotate the players for the overall system.
Dimma always refers to the overall structure of the team, a player among the second tier players can come in at any moment.
It also unsettles opposition teams in planning.

I'll back Ross to be a much better player than Graham.
These kind of posts really annoy me, I really don’t know why we’ve all of a sudden seen form of rivalry created by the fans with the opinions on Ross and Graham and who’s better.

Why does it matter who becomes the better player? Every successful side has multiple tough inside midfielder. I want both Graham and Ross to be able to develop alongside each other and become quality AFL players.

These kind of posts really annoy me, I really don’t know why we’ve all of a sudden seen form of rivalry created by the fans with the opinions on Ross and Graham and who’s better.

Why does it matter who becomes the better player? Every successful side has multiple tough inside midfielder. I want both Graham and Ross to be able to develop alongside each other and become quality AFL players.
Reacting to Cairo's post a few above that states Graham is better than Ross by the length of the Flemington straight. You can have a discussion about where a player is sits in the order of in this case midfielders without bagging one or another. Stated above that I have nothing but respect for Graham, just that he sits in the unenviable position of having to compete in a star studded midfield with a host of developing midfielders and there are only so many spots. And he has only one position, defensive mid, if that is even a position. Would be great to see his game develop and force his way back, but not easy to do.

Ross's first 5 games were outrageous... His injury then us telling him to trim down and train as a HBF has worked against him this year.
Definitely- pretty serious ankle/foot injury has really hindered his progress.
I wonder if that was the reason he dropped all that weight to help get over that injury because nothing else makes sense he is never going to make it as a hb it’s inside mid or bust.
Imo we can’t judge him on what he does this year. Seen enough in 2019 to keep the faith. This guy also has amazing leadership qualities could be a future leader of our club,

Arsendon ? Bogelaide Crows ? He’d be crazy to go to either of those basket cases. Freeze the Fridge at Richmond !

I like Jack Graham and wouldn't shop him, but if oppo clubs are asking the question then you have to weigh it up. ****, he would be weighing it up too.

Premiership players sell at a premium (except when traded to St Kilda), and he's long off being a RFA so if they want to offer a first round then run the numbers on it.

Are his shoulders shot?

Arsendon ? Bogelaide Crows ? He’d be crazy to go to either of those basket cases. Freeze the Fridge at Richmond !

No way we give him away to Essendon for sfa- give em some of their own medicine at the trade table.
Balmy just on SEN and was asked about Graham - said that we try and accommodate player moves.

Maybe its because they both have first names as surnames ;) hahaha

No way we give him away to Essendon for sfa- give em some of their own medicine at the trade table.
Balmy just on SEN and was asked about Graham - said that we try and accommodate player moves.

Townsend, Tippenwoody and a first round pick for graham.

Would love him to stay and his best form is best 22. He can lack a bit of consistency though and can go missing badly in his worst games.
With question marks on his longevity due to his shoulders and a bit of lack of pace, we would be negligent as a club if we just matched any offer he got. We have to look at his offer vs what we might get in a trade. Hope he stays but I trust in the club to do the best thing for the club and the player.

From a leadership point of view he’s exactly what Adelaide need. I can see why they would chase him considering the leadership void there and Graham’s Premiership success.
Could see him in the captain role.
Geez it’d be a big call to go to Adelaide though. You’d be kissing goodbye finals footy for the next 5 years

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received