Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

I'll never forget when JGTI got us across the line in the prelim with a busted shoulder and played really hurt, knowing he wouldn't play in the GF if we won. Tries his guts out every single week. Buys him about 10 years of credits in my book.

Oh boy, yeah nah, accepting mediocre form because someone did something brave 4 years ago isn’t going to fly if we wanna be successful again.

He’s been well remunerated, and he won a 2nd flag in 2020. We don’t owe him anything, he doesn’t owe us anything, move on man

I'll never forget when Royce Hart got us across the line with a buckled knee in the 1973 Preliminary Final against Collingwood and watched forlornly as the Tigers slipped to a six-goal deficit at half time. Coach Tom Hafey took a big risk by bringing Hart on at this point; Hart's inspirational performance in booting two goals lifted the Tigers to an amazing victory, thus underlining Hart's reputation as one of the truly great leaders in the game. In the 1973 VFL Grand Final, Hart dominated against Carlton, winning 19 possessions, seven marks and kicking three goals, even though his knee had improved only marginally since the previous week.
Hart played really hurt, knowing he would play in the GF if we won with still a stuffed knee and not only did he try his guts out every single week in seasons 1973-74 , but he played with great pain , skill, courage and determination. This should have given him about 10 years of credits in my book. 😂

Plenty of mediocre players have been traded for overs throughout the years - as a Richmond supporter you should know this better than anybody.:$
But how many have actually had their own supporters calling them spuds, while also expecting a top 30 pick in return.

At least Clinton King had a dip off the mark. JGTI doesn't win his own ball

adding a bit of mayo here, coz jack has been a solid player for us considering how cheap we got him as a kid and injuries from head to toe haven't helped.

but i couldn't resist
female version of jack graham in lane 4 ;)

adding a bit of mayo here, coz jack has been a solid player for us considering how cheap we got him as a kid and injuries from head to toe haven't helped.

but i couldn't resist
female version of jack graham in lane 4 ;)

LOL .... 'Online speculation said she that she was the niece of the senior vice president of the Somali Athletics Federation.'

Oh boy, yeah nah, accepting mediocre form because someone did something brave 4 years ago isn’t going to fly if we wanna be successful again.

He’s been well remunerated, and he won a 2nd flag in 2020. We don’t owe him anything, he doesn’t owe us anything, move on man
Anything except loyalty, you know that thing that helps to build teams and drive players to win flags.

Are you seriously suggesting players should be picked on “loyalty” grounds rather than output?

Because, no, that actually doesn’t win you flags.
lol are you seriously reading my post that way?

You said we don't owe him anything and he doesn't owe us anything, I disagree we owe a degree of loyalty to our players and our club, opposition players want to come to Richmond because they trust our club is loyal, we kept our coach in 2016 when many wouldn't have, that helped us win flags.

I'm not saying job for life loyalty but Richmond used to dispose of players and coaches like dirty bath water and it got us 37 years in the wilderness, loyalty helps win flags.

lol are you seriously reading my post that way?

You said we don't owe him anything and he doesn't owe us anything, I disagree we owe a degree of loyalty to our players and our club, opposition players want to come to Richmond because they trust our club is loyal, we kept our coach in 2016 when many wouldn't have, that helped us win flags.

I'm not saying job for life loyalty but Richmond used to dispose of players and coaches like dirty bath water and it got us 37 years in the wilderness, loyalty helps win flags.

You got confused then.

I’m saying we don’t owe him a place in the side based on something he did 4 years ago which is what the post I was replying to said.

You got confused then.

I’m saying we don’t owe him a place in the side based on something he did 4 years ago which is what the post I was replying to said.
lol I'm only confused as to why you think I'm confused.

You said "we don't owe him anything" I disagree, we still owe him a level of loyalty at the club, now that doesn't mean we owe him free games and as far as I'm concerned he is still getting games on merit.

See no confusion just different opinions.

I'll never forget when Royce Hart got us across the line with a buckled knee in the 1973 Preliminary Final against Collingwood and watched forlornly as the Tigers slipped to a six-goal deficit at half time. Coach Tom Hafey took a big risk by bringing Hart on at this point; Hart's inspirational performance in booting two goals lifted the Tigers to an amazing victory, thus underlining Hart's reputation as one of the truly great leaders in the game. In the 1973 VFL Grand Final, Hart dominated against Carlton, winning 19 possessions, seven marks and kicking three goals, even though his knee had improved only marginally since the previous week.
Hart played really hurt, knowing he would play in the GF if we won with still a stuffed knee and not only did he try his guts out every single week in seasons 1973-74 , but he played with great pain , skill, courage and determination. This should have given him about 10 years of credits in my book. 😂
The story goes that Graeme Richmond asked Hafey at half-time.

Why isn't Royce on? where Hafey, replied.
I am saving him for next week, to which Richmond said.
Well, you better hurry or there won't be a next week.

lol I'm only confused as to why you think I'm confused.

You said "we don't owe him anything" I disagree, we still owe him a level of loyalty at the club, now that doesn't mean we owe him free games and as far as I'm concerned he is still getting games on merit.

See no confusion just different opinions.

Dont try and argue with the nuffs mate. Would love to see them try and run down "the plodder" JGTI from their lounge chair

I'll never forget when JGTI got us across the line in the prelim with a busted shoulder and played really hurt, knowing he wouldn't play in the GF if we won. Tries his guts out every single week. Buys him about 10 years of credits in my book.
not being a smarty-pants but 90% of all well paid footballers would have done exactly what JGTI done on that day, even at suburban level 50% would have done it.

my opinion only of course but I reckon I'm on the money

not being a smarty-pants but 90% of all well paid footballers would have done exactly what JGTI done on that day, even at suburban level 50% would have done it.

my opinion only of course but I reckon I'm on the money
I have to disagree on that as it was a courageous effort and only a few blokes in that team could’ve done that.
He problem with JGTI is everyone around him has aged and slowed down or they’ve added plodders around him. So we can’t carry him anymore as he’s the biggest plodder of the lot. He’s become extinct now.

I have to disagree on that as it was a courageous effort and only a few blokes in that team could’ve done that.
He problem with JGTI is everyone around him has aged and slowed down or they’ve added plodders around him. So we can’t carry him anymore as he’s the biggest plodder of the lot. He’s become extinct now.
darren millane, wayne carey anthony stevens, jim stynes, dermie, vossy, nigel lappin and 100 others say hi....jacks shoulder wasn't busted at all..... brave for sure. fact is he gave himself a good chance of getting up for granny pulled out mid week. astbury, cotch, dusty, pickett, lynch and many others would have done the same in a heartbeat.
are we forgetting that Lynch just recently played with a busted foot and sadly that probably cost him 8 to 10 weeks of his recovery time. painkillers are just that painkillers they will take the edge off most extreme pain

darren millane, wayne carey anthony stevens, jim stynes, dermie, vossy, nigel lappin and 100 others say hi....jacks shoulder wasn't busted at all..... brave for sure. fact is he gave himself a good chance of getting up for granny pulled out mid week. astbury, cotch, dusty, pickett, lynch and many others would have done the same in a heartbeat.
are we forgetting that Lynch just recently played with a busted foot and sadly that probably cost him 8 to 10 weeks of his recovery time. painkillers are just that painkillers they will take the edge off most extreme pain
You mentioned some great names there TT. Never underestimate a true act of courage by anyone on a footy field.
im not a JGTI fan, but his courage that night helped us get to a GF and then win a premiership.
Show some respect and give the bloke some credit.

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received