Player Watch #38: Tristan Xerri - signed thru '29 - 2024 All Australian squad member - runner up '24 SBM

I remember questioning Goldy early in his career. I got that totally wrong. The notion "big men take time" has some merit.
Rightly or wrongly, he has 2 more years on his contract. We need to persist with him for at least next year I reckon.

But at the moment, his wheels are spinning. 100%.

He's had a few games at VFL level against decent opposition where he has absolutely tore it to shreds from a ground level/follow up perspective, which gives the suggestion that he may have some Tom Hickey grinder-type potential in him.

16 touches, 28 hitouts, 2 tackles, 6 clearances vs Coburg this year (first game back from injury, managed TOG I believe)
29 touches, 31 hitouts, 7 tackles, 11 clearances vs Williamstown this year
36 touches, 27 hitouts, 6 tackles, 8 clearances vs Essendon VFL last year
26 touches, 21 hitouts, 5 tackles, 7 clearances vs Southport last year

I'd bet they're holding out hope that he can translate this^^^ to AFL level at some stage, but clearly that hasn't happened yet and we all wonder whether it will. The thing he has in his favour is how injury-prone he's been, which leaves the question of what he could be with a decent run and some confidence in a half-decent side.
I went out to Box Hill in 2021, in a season when a 100 point loss in the VFL was pretty much par for the course. Box Hill duly won by more than 100, and Xerri rucked one out against Ceglar (decent opposition as you mention) and Ned Reeves. In one passage of play Xerri took a contested mark in D50, worked forward and took another contested mark in F50, and converted.

Jury still out imo, but not as a second tall forward option as he's having to do at the minute.

I remember questioning Goldy early in his career. I got that totally wrong. The notion "big men take time" has some merit.
Rightly or wrongly, he has 2 more years on his contract. We need to persist with him for at least next year I reckon.

But at the moment, his wheels are spinning. 100%.

Ah yes but Goldy had to push through against Hamish to get a chance

X is getting games based on potential and not performance

Ah yes but Goldy had to push through against Hamish to get a chance

X is getting games based on potential and not performance
I think he's getting games based on the cupboard being otherwise totally bare. We need SOMEONE to be a second ruckman because Goldy can't shoulder the load anymore, and who else are we going to pick? Edwards and Free, totally out of the question. CCJ maybe a little bit closer but also hasn't been up to it. Comben had looked good as a second ruckman but he's injured. Greenwood? Looked good against West Coast in round 1 but against actual AFL standard ruck combinations he'd get flogged. McKay and Larkey are probably big enough to take some ruck contests but we need them in their current positions.

He's had a few games at VFL level against decent opposition where he has absolutely tore it to shreds from a ground level/follow up perspective, which gives the suggestion that he may have some Tom Hickey grinder-type potential in him.

16 touches, 28 hitouts, 2 tackles, 6 clearances vs Coburg this year (first game back from injury, managed TOG I believe)
29 touches, 31 hitouts, 7 tackles, 11 clearances vs Williamstown this year
36 touches, 27 hitouts, 6 tackles, 8 clearances vs Essendon VFL last year
26 touches, 21 hitouts, 5 tackles, 7 clearances vs Southport last year

I'd bet they're holding out hope that he can translate this^^^ to AFL level at some stage, but clearly that hasn't happened yet and we all wonder whether it will. The thing he has in his favour is how injury-prone he's been, which leaves the question of what he could be with a decent run and some confidence in a half-decent side.
Think we should get behind Xerri. If we saw a young ruckman playing these types of games in VFL we would be screaming to have him. He is very different to Goldy, aggressive, physical< less skill. He missed around 12-14 weeks in the middle of the year, that kills his year. For him to be competing now at the end of this year is a bonus. Kicked 2 against West Coast when forward. Would have loved to see him clunk a couple on Saturday but regular playing and training will help this a lot. Believe he is definitely our number 1 ruckman going forward and confident if he is injury free he will improve bigtime. He will be our Nankervis. Get him to 50 games and he will be vital for us.

I'm not convinced but we definitely need to give him a full year as the no. 1 to see what we have.
But at the same time I would draft a young athletic ruck to develop away in VFL, unless they rate Edwards, which appears unlikely.

We go all-in for Reg Grundies.
Sorry X.

I mean, I’m sure you care heaps about what a 39 year old dude who never footy at any mentionable level played thinks about you. But you’ve got concrete hands! I want to believe in you but I also wanted to believe in the Easter bunny at one stage. ‘Til I grew out of it and realised that was ridiculous.

Sorry X.
Grundies all the way.

Cut It Out No GIF by Texas A&M University

Thought X showed something that Q tbh
Well he did. Just took a while to get going. Perhaps that's what the saying is for ... big men take time. Idk.

Player Watch #38: Tristan Xerri - signed thru '29 - 2024 All Australian squad member - runner up '24 SBM