Expansion 3rd South Australian Club

The State would need an economic boom to make it possible. Barely enough money in the State to support 2 clubs. There's a reason Port seeks money from China - because there's not enough corporate $ in Adelaide.

Build a nuclear waste dump in outback or discover diamonds in the Flinders and maybe it will happen

And even then, it would be Norwood and not a new team.
I doubt it would be a pre established SANFL side, it would be a side based in and on the South of Adelaide. Thats the only way id see it ever happening.

No, there is not the market for it. The AFL has crushed the support of the SANFL clubs, as such there is no club that would have a big enough dedicated supporter base to sustain a third club and would be reliant on drawing support from Adelaide.

The SANFL clubs have been relegated to irrelevance by the AFL, the two AFL clubs here have now polarised the market, and I cannot see where a third player could wedge their way in. Kind of like Australian politics.

We already have Port having to fight to be a financially successful club in SA. Throwing a third club into the mix would be a bigger financial drain than the Suns

Fold Gold Coast suns and have North Melbourne completely move and reinvent itself as the Tasmanian club. This would leave space for a 3rd SA team to join the mix, keep the comp even and solve the issue of not having a Tassie team.

Next two teams after that can be Darwin and a 3rd WA team.

Fold Gold Coast suns and have North Melbourne completely move and reinvent itself as the Tasmanian club. This would leave space for a 3rd SA team to join the mix, keep the comp even and solve the issue of not having a Tassie team.

Next two teams after that can be Darwin and a 3rd WA team.
Yay, another person who wants to steal someone else's team! If you want a 3rd SA team that badly, offer your own club up for the chop.

This problem is due to the AFL's shortsightedness when they brought in the Crows and Eagles. They should have brought in 2 each of the most powerful WA and SA teams at once and then left the door open for some merged versions of the other teams. By bringing in the Crows and Eagles at once, you made de facto state teams and then made it so there was no support base left for further expansion. From my very limited understanding of WA and SA footy, it does seem like SA had a fanbase that was more passionate about their local clubs, so if it had been the SA economy and not WA's that had boomed in the last 3 decades then it may be a different story.
Having a single club as massive as West Coast and no realistic way to fleece out that amount of support into extra games prevents the AFL getting some more broadcast money, however it's pretty much impossible to solve. There's been 35 years now of people supporting the Eagles, I highly doubt many of the old Perth/East Perth or other WAFL fans are going to jump ship if a merged Perth entity gets a call up to the big dance.

Port, Norwood, North Adelaide, South Adelaide or a merger of a few of them would have been great editions to the AFL.
Could a team which is based on an SANFL team or a conglomerate of some of them splitting games between Adelaide and Darwin work?

This problem is due to the AFL's shortsightedness when they brought in the Crows and Eagles. They should have brought in 2 each of the most powerful WA and SA teams at once and then left the door open for some merged versions of the other teams. By bringing in the Crows and Eagles at once, you made de facto state teams and then made it so there was no support base left for further expansion. From my very limited understanding of WA and SA footy, it does seem like SA had a fanbase that was more passionate about their local clubs, so if it had been the SA economy and not WA's that had boomed in the last 3 decades then it may be a different story.
Having a single club as massive as West Coast and no realistic way to fleece out that amount of support into extra games prevents the AFL getting some more broadcast money, however it's pretty much impossible to solve. There's been 35 years now of people supporting the Eagles, I highly doubt many of the old Perth/East Perth or other WAFL fans are going to jump ship if a merged Perth entity gets a call up to the big dance.

I totally agree. They should have honored Port Adelaide's initial bid, followed by Norwood who were some of the powerhouse teams at the time. AFL has never been a state v state league and never was meant to be, it was and should always be club v club. That's why we have separate State of Origin comps.

Bringing in the Crows in SA polarised a lot of fans from different SANFL clubs, and also South Australians who supported VFL clubs.

I actually really disliked how AFC tried to wear a replica SA State of Origin guernsey in their heritage rounds. You can't claim to be the club for all South Australians when there are already existing clubs and heritages for people to be in. The Crows are not the SA state team.

I can't speak for WA, but I guarantee that if a SANFL club joined the AFL the support would be enormous. There's already heaps of backlash against the AFC fielding a SANFL team, however, I don't mind as them being in the SANFL gives South Aussies a reason not to support them.

Could a team which is based on an SANFL team or a conglomerate of some of them splitting games between Adelaide and Darwin work?

Hate to say it but I think the only way for more SA teams to join the AFL would be to compromise on a merger. Norwood could possibly do it by itself but I doubt it.

After the AFC gained entry into the AFL, many of the SANFL clubs proposed mergers and went to Melbourne to make offers. The mergers were:

Norwood-Sturt
The Cartel (Made up of North Adelaide, Woodville-West Torrens, West Adelaide and Central District)
Glenelg-South Adelaide

In my opinion, I think these mergers actually make a lot of sense and could theoretically work. Would just need to get the support of the community and some big investors pump money into the clubs. Norwood-Sturt for example could become East Adelaide and Glenelg-South could be the 'Southern Panthers' akin to how Footscray Doggies rebranded themselves.

If they wanted to split games between Adelaide and Darwin similar to what North Melbourne and Hawthorn have in Tassie then I don't see anything wrong with that. But I think five of the Victorian clubs have allocated zones in the Northern Territory already.

I totally agree. They should have honored Port Adelaide's initial bid, followed by Norwood who were some of the powerhouse teams at the time. AFL has never been a state v state league and never was meant to be, it was and should always be club v club. That's why we have separate State of Origin comps.

Bringing in the Crows in SA polarised a lot of fans from different SANFL clubs, and also South Australians who supported VFL clubs.

I actually really disliked how AFC tried to wear a replica SA State of Origin guernsey in their heritage rounds. You can't claim to be the club for all South Australians when there are already existing clubs and heritages for people to be in. The Crows are not the SA state team.

I can't speak for WA, but I guarantee that if a SANFL club joined the AFL the support would be enormous. There's already heaps of backlash against the AFC fielding a SANFL team, however, I don't mind as them being in the SANFL gives South Aussies a reason not to support them.

Hate to say it but I think the only way for more SA teams to join the AFL would be to compromise on a merger. Norwood could possibly do it by itself but I doubt it.

After the AFC gained entry into the AFL, many of the SANFL clubs proposed mergers and went to Melbourne to make offers. The mergers were:

Norwood-Sturt
The Cartel (Made up of North Adelaide, Woodville-West Torrens, West Adelaide and Central District)
Glenelg-South Adelaide

In my opinion, I think these mergers actually make a lot of sense and could theoretically work. Would just need to get the support of the community and some big investors pump money into the clubs. Norwood-Sturt for example could become East Adelaide and Glenelg-South could be the 'Southern Panthers' akin to how Footscray Doggies rebranded themselves.

If they wanted to split games between Adelaide and Darwin similar to what North Melbourne and Hawthorn have in Tassie then I don't see anything wrong with that. But I think five of the Victorian clubs have allocated zones in the Northern Territory already.
Thanks for the insight. Adelaide has a much stronger connection with Darwin though so whatever cash and talent grabs those Melbourne (and Gold Coast) clubs are on would be lost pretty quickly if a SA team jumped on board.

As a South Australian who doesn't support Crows or Power one can only dream lol.

South Australian can most likely support a 3rd team but perhaps that would be the max it could support for a long long time.

If Norwood wanted the successful AFL bid, then some of the NGAs would have to be allocated to the new AFL team. There are 8 U18's affiliate teams divided by the Crows and Power so a new Norwood AFL can obviously take Norwood SANFL and perhaps South Adelaide and Sturt.

Realistically, the team would have to be a merger of some of the local clubs, but they could keep the name 'Norwood' because of its history and legacy while also being a completely new entity. New colours and even an animal nickname could be attached to the AFL side e.g. Norwood Falcons or something like that. The legacy and heritage of Norwood would be the essence of the club but it would very much be a new club.

This method would expand Norwood's suporterbase beyond the traditional heartland and the new club would be seen as an alternative to Port/Crows. It's also why I think Port AFL and Port SANFL should have never merged. South Aussies are good at making distinctions between their local fanbases and the AFL clubs.

If I had it my way, I would prefer South Adelaide to make the AFL bid, or a South-led merger team. SAFC has had a long and rich history and the southern part of Adelaide is quite unique. In recent times, SAFC has made strong moves to unite other South Adelaide sports clubs under their brand, such as the South Adelaide Netball Team and the South Adelaide Volleyball Team. The 'Panther' identity is quite strong in the South and would be a unique addition to the AFL.

South Adelaide is by no means the richest club, so it would require quite a bit of fan support and investment. Not winning a premiership over half a century as definitely held the club back, as well as internal politics.

The same argument presented for Norwood would be the same here for South, but unlike Norwood, South Adelaide would be able to retain their traditional heritage, animal mascot and hopefully without too much adjustment, colours.

Overall, funding is what's important. A 3rd SA team would need money poured into it and support from the fans. The club would also need to gain much more membership.

In 2022, Gold Coast has the least membership out of every AFL club with 21,422 members. According to a recent Norwood Redlegs report their membership is sitting around the 3k+ mark. No where near what is required for an AFL team.

Yeah Norwood v Port... from start when they huge supporter bases and an insane rivalry and history.

Then the other SANFL clubs merging together to make 3rd team.

That would of been epic.

I think Norwood would be the only strong contender for an AFL bid as they would be the most likely to ditch the Crows or Power in favor of supporting the new franchise.

Most Crows fans are either made up of young AFL fans or SANFL club fans (excl Port), Sturt in particular has a big presence in the Crows fandom.

Redlegs fans I reckon have the most loyalty to their brand. I'm always seeing f*#@ Crows up Norwood on their forums and social media whenever they play the reserves.

Yeah Norwood v Port... from start when they huge supporter bases and an insane rivalry and history.

Then the other SANFL clubs merging together to make 3rd team.

That would of been epic.

Why Norwood? Sturt had more supporters, and and had the more meaningful Port rivalry (helped by the fact they’re one step up the socioeconomic ladder from Norwood).
Glenelg are probably the third in that second tier of SANFL clubs who had/have good support, and might’ve worked as a stand-alone club in a parallel universe.

Why Norwood? Sturt had more supporters, and and had the more meaningful Port rivalry (helped by the fact they’re one step up the socioeconomic ladder from Norwood).
Glenelg are probably the third in that second tier of SANFL clubs who had/have good support, and might’ve worked as a stand-alone club in a parallel universe.
Nah, I've always seen Sturt as a mini-crows. At one stage they wanted to merge with crows and become their official reserves team in the SANFL.

They did not have a more intense rivalry with Port than Norwood. Norwood and Port have the oldest rivalry in South Australian football and historically were the two most powerful teams. Just look at their premierships. There's even a whole wikipedia article on the Norwood-Port rivalry.

Not sure how the socioeconomic ladder helps in relation to the Port-Norwood rivalry.

Glenelg have struggled in recent years but yes I agree that they historically have a good club.

I would have loved to seen a Glenelg-South Adelaide merger make it into the AFL as South Adelaide is my SANFL team and I want nothing but to see them win premierships and grow the southern community.

Well this is a complete rumour and I don’t think it’s true at all so please take it with a grain of salt, but maybe (just maybe) there is something going on in the background that could change the landscape of the AFL.

(I.e: 22 team competition by 2035 - TAS, NT, SA3, WA3)

But besides, the 3rd SA club that should enter the AFL is South Adelaide after all

Well this is a complete rumour and I don’t think it’s true at all so please take it with a grain of salt, but maybe (just maybe) there is something going on in the background that could change the landscape of the AFL.

But besides, the 3rd SA club that should enter the AFL is South Adelaide after all

If Norwood had stuck to the plan thirty years ago they could've already entered alongside Port.

What part of Adelaide is Norwood based in? Is it a region not touched as much by the Crows and Port? Would they potentially be able to draw similar crowds to what Port do?

Eastern suburbs.
I’m not sure if we would draw similar crowds to Port or not but even though we have only a few thousand lifelong members like myself that attend most weeks we do have a fair bit of support hidden in the community and they come out in good numbers for Grand Finals.
I do think a lot of our members are also members or the Crows, Port or other clubs too so would they drop them for Norwood in the AFL?
I don’t know the answer to that.
I think it’s pretty pie in the sky stuff anyway and can’t see it happening now

Expansion 3rd South Australian Club