Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED

Just because he doesn't talk in front of a camera and microphone doesn't mean he doesn't talk to people, there seems to be alot of smoke this time. Not sure if a move is really feasible but it seems a genuine possibility
Could also be just a smoke machine?
1692684894179.png
McClure brings it up yearly in one of his clickbait articles, one day he might actually be right, I doubt its this year.

Get over what, 37 years of hell.

Nah, not quite.

Shape up or ship out, we are here to win premierships
Huh ? Yeah and that's why he left , because he couldn't get through to them anymore, what's your point , you're talking about winning flags when you wanna trade out our only decent fwd , and our most barest line too, you're cooked lol

One of the many fond memories that comes to mind randomly. Was at the 2017 qualifying final vs Geelong. The members singing ‘Oh Dustin Martin you’re the love of my life, oh Dustin Martin I’ll let you shag my wife, oh Dustin Martin I want your neck tattoooos’

If he leaves I’ll be off the lot

Barbara Dunkelman Flirt GIF by Rooster Teeth
channel 9 smile GIF by Married At First Sight Australia
200.gif

Bolton's goal was better, I thought... but still, voted! :)
Agree
Bolton’s definitely better imo
Pretty weak nominations as well
The only thing that made Dusty’s impressive was the fact he went for a cheekside instead of around the body snap

Still a nice goal but yeah
Bolton’s a lot better

My interpretation of bonanza would be getting lots of really good players for cheap.

And getting reamed would be a kin to getting a pineapple shoved in your butthole whilst not wanting to have a pinapple shoved in your butthole.
What a post!

Why would anyone put a $50 up your butthole lol
I reckon everyone on here would cop the below leaving with a quick shrug and a fair enough as long as we got fair compensation, but Dusty is in a different stratusphere to those 3 in terms of standing at our club.
Best and Fairest year by Dusty tbh and he is going to be better again next year. Give him a 3 year extension now, make him Captain, and watch us win another premiership before he is done.

What a post!

Why would anyone put a $50 up your butthole lol

Best and Fairest year by Dusty tbh and he is going to be better again next year. Give him a 3 year extension now, make him Captain, and watch us win another premiership before he is done.

Na Dusty isn’t the type of player that needs to shoulder the burden of the C and all the extra meetings, media, PR, recruits living with him, organising player dinners and all that other busy workoff field stuff that comes with it

Plus the extra on field burden of a list that is going to be losing a lot of experience and playing a lot of younger players that will be needing on field coaching as well

Just let Dusty continue in his current role and keep playing the best footy he can

That’s just old school under 16s footy thinking where just because he’s our best player we should make him captain when the role involves a lot more nuance than just playing well on gameday at afl level

We need to look at a younger candidate for the C that can grow with the role and embrace the full responsibilities it comes with Taranto or Baker much better candidates or even Ross in a few years

Na Dusty isn’t the type of player that needs to shoulder the burden of the C and all the extra meetings, media, PR and off field stuff that comes with it

Just let Dusty continue in his current role and keep playing the best footy he can

That’s just old school under 16s footy thinking where just because he’s our best player we should make him captain when the role involves a lot more nuance than just playing well on gameday at afl level

We need to look at a younger candidate for the C that can grow with the role and embrace the full responsibilities it comes with Taranto or Baker much better candidates or even Ross in a few years
Dusty ain't a kid no more, he is a grown man bro. He is the boss now. When you are the boss you do the meetings because people do what you say.

It is about time he put McClure and the filthy 'I just make things up because I ain't a real journalist' media in their place instead of running away to Gold Coast to hide away.

Give Em the Don't Argue Dusty

Dusty ain't a kid no more, he is a grown man bro. He is the boss now. When you are the boss you do the meetings because people do what you say.

It is about time he put McClure and the filthy 'I just make things up because I ain't a real journalist' media in their place instead of running away to Gold Coast to hide away.

Give Em the Don't Argue Dusty
So you want Dusty to be captain because the media is proposing that he is going to move up north and to spite them

I guess that is absolutely sound logic and in the best interest of the club and it’s future :think:

He can still be vocal in meetings and “be a boss” but without all the extra responsibility and scrutiny that comes with it

Na Dusty isn’t the type of player that needs to shoulder the burden of the C and all the extra meetings, media, PR, recruits living with him, organising player dinners and all that other busy workoff field stuff that comes with it

Plus the extra on field burden of a list that is going to be losing a lot of experience and playing a lot of younger players that will be needing on field coaching as well

From the outside I like Baker. But the inside people will know how they work holistically. Some of the best captains aren't great players.

I reckon Grimes is on the slide and maybe staying as captain could be a problem. I love him, but he isn't what he was. And I worry about Nank as sole captain - he bleeds yellow and black and leads with vigour. But he gets banned and injured regulalry. And some of this acts are reckless and not leaders.

Interesting to see what happens for 2024.

People really get worked up over nothing. I couldn't careless, if Dusty stays, he remains a Richmond all-time great, if Dusty leaves, he still remains a Richmond all-time great.

Won't change history and doesn't take away our flags, flags are all I care about. Went 37 years without seeing one and was beginning to think it was never going to happen again. Just like Hardwick, some people get their knickers in a twist that he is coaching a different team, who gives a s**t his time with us was done.

It's all sentimental BS, you all realise if Dusty stays, he is never going to have a one last game at the "G" day to say goodbye, if our supporters know Dusty he will just retire in the off season and walk away.

I do NOT want to see Martin carried off in his 300th on the shoulders of Touk Miller and Brandon Ellis, with Dimma in a Gold Coast shirt smiling and clapping him off. And for what? A draft pick in the late 30’s?

GTFO if anyone is supportive of that BS.

I do NOT want to see Martin carried off in his 300th on the shoulders of Touk Miller and Brandon Ellis, with Dimma in a Gold Coast shirt smiling and clapping him off. And for what? A draft pick in the late 30’s?

GTFO if anyone is supportive of that BS.

Dusty isnt going anywhere, people having a sook about nothing.

Plus you would get B.Ellis & M.Chol to carry him off with Dimma using a tissue to dry his eyes.

Martin is going nowhere in 2024. Club will make $5m profit from his 300th and retaining him on the list - huge crowd at his 300th game, memberships (imagine how many members don’t renew if Dusty leaves on the back of Cotch and Jack?), 300th memorabilia etc….. Not in a million years are we giving up our best player (who is under contract) and $5m for a mediocre draft pick.

End of 2024 if he requests a trade the club will facilitate it. But they won’t in this off-season. There’s just no upside for RFC.

Regardless , GC need draft picks for academy kids, they are zero chance of giving away any picks worth our consideration for Martin. And a year after off loading Bowes and pick-7 in a salary dump they’re in the market for a $1.3m 32yo? Its just not gonna happen unless we pay half his salary ..:. which isn’t going to happen …(read point 1 above).

Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED