Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED

I didn't think there was anything much in this until I heard that Wayne Campbell was the other person sitting there dining with Dusty …

I still don't think he leaves though. I genuinely believe that he wants to play 300 with us.
Veteran AFL journalist Caroline Wilson believes a Dustin Martin move to Sydney “is on” with the Harbour City club considering a mega-trade for the Richmond superstar.

Earlier this week Nine’s Sam McClure reported there was “a very large chance” Martin would not be at Tigerland past this season.

He never left when other clubs offered him way more money, he never left when his dad died or he lost a kidney, he never went to Sydney when it was supposed to be 'on'. It's a wonder that when Dusty went and stayed with Serena Williams they didn't report that he was giving up footy and taking up tennis.

This Gold Coast situation has a slight feeling of Deja Vu to it. If, and I mean IF dusty does go to the Gold Coast, it would be similar in some respects to the Geelong situation back in 2010, when both Bomber Thompson & Gary Ablett left.
We all know what followed the following season.
We finished 12th :huh:

Does anyone really believe that after 10 years refusing to be part of the media circus Dusty is suddenly going to agree to be an ambassador at the Suns. No way. As for the meeting between Dusty and Dimma, does anyone thing that Dusty wouldn't catch up with Dimma when he was in the GoldCoast. Dimma coached him for ten years and supported him when he lost his father. The media are taking a small fact and them concocting a fantasy around it. Let's just wait and see.

Well ... I mean ... he was the Bonds underwear ambassador.
Whi, involved about as much as being a GCS amabassador will.
A photo shoot here and there, a public appearance or two, and then back to onfield matters.
Australia has literally 100 ambassadors to different countries - how many of them do you hear from?
Here's some of them - Barry O'Farrell, Glenn Miles,
Gary Gray, Catherine raper, Gita Kamath, Margaret Twomey, david Yardley, Emily Luck, William Costello, Kevin Rudd.
I bet you know one of them and when do you ever hear him talk about the US?
Ambassador means nothing, but it helps with the pay.

I’m in two minds, a head vs heart situation

Heart says * that Dusty should stay but my head thinks it could be a great opportunity to help set up this next phase we are entering by getting back into the 1st round and/or getting a talented young player

Win/win for me

Prefer for him to stay but wouldn’t be a complete loss if we went and as others mentioned this year works better because he is still under contract Vs next year he could walk for nothing back in return

Dusty's leaving legacy, give the club he dominated the comp with a chance to rebuild quickly and smack these dirty pies back into reality.

He never left when other clubs offered him way more money, he never left when his dad died or he lost a kidney, he never went to Sydney when it was supposed to be 'on'. It's a wonder that when Dusty went and stayed with Serena Williams they didn't report that he was giving up footy and taking up tennis.
Things change I’m not 100% confident he remains , I am Confident tho that if he splits we will do very well out of
Not often triple norm smith medalist in AA squad form is avail and contracted , we can write our own ticket

I mean I want him to stay

But if we humour for a moment that at some stage he plans to go

Would we not be better attempting to facilitate it this year? He is contracted, on mega bucks

With these two factors, should we agree to pay some of his salary in a move, we have much more leverage in a potential trade

Otherwise he plays 300 for us next year (awesome admittedly), then walks for nothing in 2025

Another thing to consider with Dusty spotted meeting Dimma on the Gold coast is his manager Ralph Carr. He's played this game before. Dusty doing a tour of GWS before a contract renewal and Carr watching a norf game in Hobart before his last contract deal. It's how Carr operates, publicise interest from other clubs before his contract renewal. Obviously Dusty needs to perform next year but it could all be smoke and mirrors to push the price on what most likely will be his last contract if he stays.

I’m in two minds, a head vs heart situation

Heart says * that Dusty should stay but my head thinks it could be a great opportunity to help set up this next phase we are entering by getting back into the 1st round and/or getting a talented young player

Win/win for me

Prefer for him to stay but wouldn’t be a complete loss if we went and as others mentioned this year works better because he is still under contract Vs next year he could walk for nothing back in return
If we get someone good in return or good draft picks, would welcome it. Champion Richmond player, regardless of what happens.

Would we not be better attempting to facilitate it this year? He is contracted, on mega bucks

With these two factors, should we agree to pay some of his salary in a move, we have much more leverage in a potential trade

Otherwise he plays 300 for us next year (awesome admittedly), then walks for nothing in 2025
If they are poaching let them pay his celery , if we are facilitating I’m ok with paying some, if he comes back and says I met with Judas and Campbell and they have convinced me to go they can pay the lot

But what’s he expected to earn in his next contact for following couple years?

He ain’t getting 1.4m again is he

As if gold coast don’t do everything they can to get dusty there for next season if he asks to go there
What? Gold coast aren't gonna pay 1.4 m a year for a 33 year old turning 34 in 2025 .

And mate we would pay just as much money as gold coast can for the years after next year anyways. You do realize he is more valuable for us than he is to gold coast.
This guy is a Richmond legend. You don't let these guys go. Get it through your head.Gold coast can't afford 1m plus a year, you guys are really cooked.

He's not leaving next season or the seasons after that, he will finish his career here

What? Gold coast aren't gonna pay 1.4 m a year for a 33 year old turning 34 in 2025 .

And mate we would pay just as much money as gold coast can for the years after next year anyways. You do realize he is more valuable for us than he is to gold coast.
This guy is a Richmond legend. You don't let these guys go. Get it through your head.Gold coast can't afford 1m plus a year, you guys are really cooked.
Yeah I know they aren’t paying 1.4 in 2025.. that’s my point

And I think you’re underestimating what Dusty would mean to the Gold Coast popularity and financials

And dusty is still so ****en good.. might be this good for 2-3 more years still you dunno

Purely hypothetical based on the unlikely scenario of Martin to Suns, but I think a fair deal for all could look something like this:

Dusty and Richmond 2023 2nd and 3rd round picks(roughly picks 30 & 45 if we took them to the draft, but worth more points than that to the Suns as they would likely use them early before the picks have been shuffled back too far.) Richmond pays all or most of Dusty's 2024 salary.

For

Suns 2023 pick 4(likely slides to 5 or 6) and Suns 2024 2nd round pick - expected value around pick 30.

That would probably * our 2024 finals chances, but give us something like picks 5, 9, 29 and 30 across the next 2 drafts.
That's the best balanced of the more plausible trade scenarios I've seen. If the Dusty trade DID happen, I reckon that's what it would look like.

But I still highly doubt any trade will happen, at least before the end of next season.

I would really like Richmond to offer Dusty a contract extension right now though.

The AFL will subsidise his wage. He's a huge name in football and would be huge for marketing the game up there. AFL will pay him an ambassadors role to do a couple of ads, put his face on a few billboards etc
But the $1.4M for 2024 still has to be accounted for. Not even the corruption of the AFL could "disappear" a million dollars from the salary cap of the Suns without some serious kickback from the football fraternity.

Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED