Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED

This was posted on OER today (herald sun) .

Read into it what you will.

Dustin Martin’s manager Ralph Carr has begun gauging interest in his player with rival clubs despite the likelihood the Richmond legend will retire or play out his career at Punt Rd.

Martin has expressed to teammates that while he is still enjoying his time at Richmond his motivation to train and play no longer reaches the heights of the club’s premiership years.

Martin can no longer train with the same intensity
as he battles soft-tissue complaints including the calf issues that have seen him miss two games this year.

Carr told the Herald Sun in March he and Martin would sit down at year’s end to consider the unrestricted free agent’s future.

Clubs are aware they would likely have to offer him a two-year deal on good money well above $500,000 a year and at this stage have reservations about that kind of contract.

They are aware Martin is mentally fatigued and wonder if he can find that fire in the belly as he turns 33 next month.

Retirement comes quick. If any of that is true then the writing is on the wall. 34 next year, lost the hunger and motivation. As much as I wish it could go on forever he’s not the same player and he knows it. No shame hanging them up it’s one of the best footy careers in modern afl history. Doesn’t get better from here.

Happened really quickly for Shedda, I thought he’d play into his mid 30s (as a small forward) but he hit the wall really quickly.
Dusty is a loyal person, think he’ll play out his contract and pull the pin.

a mid year hang up would be incredibly disappointing, if the urge is to move on finishing the contract is more the Dusty style.
would off loved another season.. but leaning towards a end of year retirement from the game.

Hearing Dusty may not make it through to the end of the season. There's a possibility he'll get through his 300th and hang up the RFC boots immediately. He'll then do a season or two up north. He, like I and most others would be, needs a change after 15 years at the same place. If this is correct, he has, in my book, earned the right to go out on whatever terms he wants.
Yeah I've heard similar, from a very reliable source, extremely close to Dustin.

CARR GAUGES INTEREST

Dustin Martin. Picture: Getty Images

Dustin Martin’s manager Ralph Carr has begun gauging interest in his player with rival clubs despite the likelihood the Richmond legend will retire or play out his career at Punt Rd.

Martin has expressed to teammates that while he is still enjoying his time at Richmond his motivation to train and play no longer reaches the heights of the club’s premiership years.

Martin can no longer train with the same intensity as he battles soft-tissue complaints including the calf issues that have seen him miss two games this year.

Carr told the Herald Sun in March he and Martin would sit down at year’s end to consider the unrestricted free agent’s future.

Clubs are aware they would likely have to offer him a two-year deal on good money well above $500,000 a year and at this stage have reservations about that kind of contract.

They are aware Martin is mentally fatigued and wonder if he can find that fire in the belly as he turns 33 next month.

Vice-captain Liam Baker’s strong preference is believed to be a trade to West Coast, instead of Fremantle.

Hearing Dusty may not make it through to the end of the season. There's a possibility he'll get through his 300th and hang up the RFC boots immediately. He'll then do a season or two up north. He, like I and most others would be, needs a change after 15 years at the same place. If this is correct, he has, in my book, earned the right to go out on whatever terms he wants.
I was at the pub in Clematis the other day and ran into my mate Cliff who's always right with his footy goss. Confirms your goss. his sister's cousin is an apprentice hairdresser doing Carr's secretary's hair the other day She over heard bits of her talking on the phone to someone. Saying "Brisvegas, not Las Vegas ya idiot." "Yeah nah, no casino there"
the secreatary responded;

"I don't know what to pack, fack me you lived there for a year in 2020 don't you remember."

Must have been talking about Jupiter's at Broadbeach. Swings the "Northern destination club" decision to the Suns clearly.

If he retired at 300 games, Richmond would not be obliged to payout the remaining contract.
AFL players get paid out in full the last year of their contract. George quit start of the season, got paid out the last year. Dusty gets paid out for the 2024 season.

RFC have salary cap for that.

300 games is a milestone can be played anywhere. Dusty been 15 odd years at the one club, with insane recent success, RFC, is a rare club within a club. KB, St Francis, Jack R, Sheds.

Quit right now, like Grigg, get RFC a mid season pick, rest and start 2025 at a new club on 295 games

His form and fitness have declined this year. Still OK though

I feel we will offer him another year, If oppo clubs see him as worth the risk cest la vie

Herald Sun reporting that Ralph Carr has started gauging interest from rival clubs about Martins value and interest in acquiring his services should he decide to leave Richmond. They speculate that it would require a 2 year deal in excess of $500k a year.

IMO I think this is a tactic by Carr to get a value for Martin so that he can go to Richmond with a figure that he knows other clubs are willing to pay to try and get us to pay a similar amount. I'm of the opinion that he will retire at seasons end as he has nothing left to prove and the hunger just doesn't seem to be the same.

300 games is a milestone can be played anywhere. Dusty been 15 odd years at the one club, with insane recent success, RFC, is a rare club within a club. KB, St Francis, Jack R, Sheds.

Quit right now, like Grigg, get RFC a mid season pick, rest and start 2025 at a new club on 295 games

His form and fitness have declined this year. Still OK though

I feel we will offer him another year, If oppo clubs see him as worth the risk cest la vie
you really want to see Dusty play game #300 in another clubs colours?
his milestone is OUR milestone
we picked him, raised him, loved him..

you really want to see Dusty play game #300 in another clubs colours?
his milestone is OUR milestone
we picked him, raised him, loved him..
I responded to a point about retirement/pulling the pin at the 300 game milestone.

Games played record continues after players move club. milestone can be achieved anywhere.

Or if he's unmotivated better to:

In my ignorant opinion

I feel we will offer him another year, If oppo clubs see him as worth the risk cest la vie.

Player Watch #4 Dustin Martin GOAT and King of Punt Rd - OFFICIALLY RETIRED