Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones

Thanks for volunteering to serve as an outstanding example of exactly whay I'm talking about.

McInerney took ZERO marks in that match. ZERO. Fullarton took one mark. Daniher took three - none of them were on Chol.

So which Brisbane player was making Chol a "constant liability in marking contests?" Who was taking all these marks in contests which Chol 'couldn't halve?'

The one(s) in your horribly biased imagination?

Chol took four marks - four times as many as Brisbane's entire ruck division - and as anyone who bothers to watch can see in the highlights above, two of them he jumped all over McInerney and smashed him in a direct 1:1 aerial contest.

He was "terrible outside of the goals" - yet he had a dozen hitouts with numerous to advantage as shown in the highlights above, was our 2nd highest clearance winner and had 6 contested possessions. In 56% game time.

Added to that, just in the highlights above, he out-bodies McInerney numerous times in ruck contests and kicks a goal directly from out-bodying Payne at the top of the goalsquare, yet you claim he is "knocked out of the contest incredibly easily."

As I said above, the people who are determined to direct abuse at him no matter what he does - even including games where he is a clear match-winner and picks up a Brownlow vote - will just invent their reasons if there aren't any to find here in the real world.
Well argued. Hard to disagree

And you’ll be politely told that 38 or a future 3rd will do.

I think we may well play hard ball to make a point. If North value him enough to offer him 4 to 5 years they'll be prepared to trade for him. They aren't big footy types there. CCJ has asked for a trade, not to walk to the PSD. I highly doubt North are going to waste their reputation on this. North clearly rate him better than 38 as I doubt they'd sign pick 38 for 4 years. He isn't worth 20 though, hence it'll be something in the middle, however they get there. Tarrant will probably come into the trade as well as Tigers won't want to impact any potential Compo for Chol.

The fact that Dimma said he’s a required player and we’ve put a lot of work into him tells me we won’t accept unders and wish him well like we did with Butler and Markov. We aren’t difficult to deal with at the trade table so we will only want what we think is fair, will be interesting to see how it plays out. Not sure what North are like to deal with but we will soon find out.

I think we may well play hard ball to make a point. If North value him enough to offer him 4 to 5 years they'll be prepared to trade for him. They aren't big footy types there. CCJ has asked for a trade, not to walk to the PSD. I highly doubt North are going to waste their reputation on this. North clearly rate him better than 38 as I doubt they'd sign pick 38 for 4 years. He isn't worth 20 though, hence it'll be something in the middle, however they get there. Tarrant will probably come into the trade as well as Tigers won't want to impact any potential Compo for Chol.

See this is where the rationale breaks down. The thought that because we’ve offered him 4Y that we’d be willing to pay more then we need to via trade. It’s just not correct.

CCJ has been identified as an OOC player that wants out. We’ve offered him a contract that’s overs what he’s worth to get him to come across. The fact it’s favourable from a trade leverage perspective, is further justification of the contract. North will agree to trade Tarrant to not affect your Chol compo.

The relationship between the two clubs will remain amicable - both are taking “required” players from the other.

See this is where the rationale breaks down. The thought that because we’ve offered him 4Y that we’d be willing to pay more then we need to via trade. It’s just not correct.

CCJ has been identified as an OOC player that wants out. We’ve offered him a contract that’s overs what he’s worth to get him to come across. The fact it’s favourable from a trade leverage perspective, is further justification of the contract. North will agree to trade Tarrant to not affect your Chol compo.

The relationship between the two clubs will remain amicable - both are taking “required” players from the other.

oh well I guess that’s that then.

Pick 38 and just leave it at that.

If North say no, after we got him at 20 - with years of development. We make it as hard as possible and let him walk via PSD.

Gotta let clubs know we aint gonna be taken advantage of.

Pick 38 is slightly unders, Pick 20 slightly over.

May get a couple of swaps here and there and may get a Pick 30 or something

North will agree to trade Tarrant to not affect your Chol compo.

Jesus Christ you guys really have no idea about how Compo works

North dont have to agree to trade tarrant he is a unrestricted free agent and just walks
The Chol compo wont be effected as Tarrant points would be just about 0

Richmond can structure tarrants contract so its only #200k a year with $5000 match payments so the base salary is only $400k over 2 years and at 32 years of age on the contract on offer he has no compensation value - e.g Waite who was younger on a bigger contract got no compo

Isaak Smith was on a much bigger deal $600k range and he was one of the Hawks higher paid players and didnt cross over for peanuts whilst still playing at his best. Ablett and Taylor retiring facilitated that and he was younger.

But lets just assume there are points that would effect it , Chol is 24 years old going on a 4 year deal on $400k with maximum points for age
Rory Atkins on the same amount and 2 years older received a end of 2nd round compo which today would be #38 and if it was pulled back it would be a 3rd rounder that would be #45

Not a massive difference

But it is extremely funny how the plebs on your board are having so much fun getting Cj / Brander as well as 15 other players on the PSD
I suppose the 'LOSER' culture is so deeply ingrained that thats the only satisfaction that a supporter base of such an insignificant club like Norf tassie has in this millennium.

Ohh and also pick #1..

Norf are now the K-mart Carlton

North dont have to agree to trade tarrant he is a unrestricted free agent and just walks

Richmond can structure tarrants contract so its only #200k a year with $5000 match payments so the base salary is only $400k over 2 years and at 32 years of age on the contract on offer he has no compensation value - e.g Waite who was younger on a bigger contract got no compo

Isaak Smith was on a much bigger deal $600k range and he was one of the Hawks higher paid players and didnt cross over for peanuts whilst still playing at his best. Ablett and Taylor retiring facilitated that and he was younger.

But lets just assume there are points that would effect it , Chol is 24 years old going on a 4 year deal on $400k with maximum points for age
Rory Atkins on the same amount and 2 years older received a end of 2nd round compo which today would be #38 and if it was pulled back it would be a 3rd rounder that would be #45

Not a massive difference

But it is extremely funny how the plebs on your board are having so much fun getting Cj / Brander as well as 15 other players on the PSD
I suppose the 'LOSER' culture is so deeply ingrained that thats the only satisfaction that a supporter base of such an insignificant club like Norf tassie has in this millennium.

Ohh and also pick #1..

Hawks traded for Hartigan to ensure it didn’t hurt their compo. Richmond will want to do the same with Tarrant. For someone with such a “thorough” understanding of how the system works, you shouldn’t need to have that explained. You will want to trade, which we will facilitate to help both parties.

A lot of other dribble in your post, even after you edited it, it’s still for the bin.

Not a massive difference

Ohh and also pick #1..

The salt is strong with this one.

Just some advice, don’t snort the bath salts, just bath in them.

The salt is strong with this one.

Just some advice, don’t snort the bath salts, just bath in them.

You do realise you're claiming Richmond supporters have 🧂 the club whose most recent squad is one premiership away from totalling 100 years of your clubs history.

When ummmmm ... you're on our board, explaining how our clubs are going to negotiate with one another.

Like htf do you know what's gonna happen???? 😅

Let's just wait and see and stop with the Big Footy amateur hour fantasy trades 😃

Hawks traded for Hartigan to ensure it didn’t hurt their compo. Richmond will want to do the same with Tarrant. For someone with such a “thorough” understanding of how the system works, you shouldn’t need to have that explained. You will want to trade, which we will facilitate to help both parties.

A lot of other dribble in your post, even after you edited it, it’s still for the bin.
Everything i have read from you deserves to be in the bin. Maybe you get your brains trust to work out how a nearly 33 year old on min chips gets a compo pick FMD

Kyle Hartigan was 28 years old what is the relevance ???

I wonder if you’ll always act like a smug self righteous campaigner whenever anyone has the temerity to have an opinion contrary to your own.
As for your condescending little rant I played footy in 3 different states over 17 years and am a life member of a couple of clubs so I reckon I’m entitled to my own opinion.
Chol is no great loss and while occasionally shows a glimpse is not irreplaceable at senior AFL level.
Sorry if that hurts precious but I’m sure you’ll learn to deal with it on forum where we cast our thoughts.

Of course you're entitled to your opinion, just as I'm entitled to disagree with it on what you (rather ironically) rightly point out is a public forum.

Neither bizarrely choosing to advertise your 'football credentials' or resorting to insults in lieu of a factual counter-argument will change what the footage shows - that you're wrong.

Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones