Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones

Fact is until now we are doing a nice cleanup and just picked out an assistant coach that merited a senior position. Keep in mind we are looking for a team that can have a tilt at the premiership. So far we have:
OUT
CCJ (3rd Ruck or 3rd tall forward)
Chol (4th Ruck or 3rd tall forward)
Houli (replaced internally by Rioli).
Astbury (IN Tarrant as a free agent)
Naish

We retain our 6 picks in the first 3 rounds and should have another pick or two coming for Chol and CCJ but if we have to make CCJ walk its no big loss.

Internally with chol and CCJ going we give clean air to Ryan and colina. No loss.
Tarrant is a like for like with astbury (no loss) but also means we can let Garth go (another crack at a draftee), with Miller and biggie the cover down back. Houlis spot is riolis, and Naish just hadn't made it. We can probably cut 2 or 3 others that we don't think will make it and get about 6 top 50 draftees in as well as maybe trade some draft picks this year for 2022 picks. This isn't list building gents, its art!

Mate, again all you are doing is spouting stats.

Stats that clearly contradict your points, along with more than enough footage included for you to work out you were wrong. You can't argue with the footage (or just admit you're wrong), so you launch into an irrelevant, off-topic segue instead.

The bloke you reckon was a "constant liability in marking contests" is clearly shown in the footage out-marking McInerney 1:1 twice. Versus ZERO times he was out-marked by him. In other words, the contested marking you choose to pretend was a "constant liability", was actually a distinct advantage for us against Brisbane's #1 ruck - a bloke 5cm taller and 13kg heavier.

In other words, you couldn't possibly be more wrong.

Also, why would Fullarton and Daniher’s marks matter? They played up forward, as did Chol for most of the game. Which by my calculations puts them at opposite ends of the ground.

You begin arguing that I don't watch games, while being apparently oblivious to who Brisbane's 2nd and 3rd ruck options are? Who do you think rucked when McInerny was on the bench?

Chol played 56% game time, Nank played 70%. It's pretty simple maths - over half of Chol's game time was spent in the ruck. Getting all those hitouts and being our 2nd highest clearance player...y'know...those things you'd like to pretend didn't happen?

The talls who were at Chol‘s end of the ground (Payne and Andrews) did however combine for 17 marks.

Please underline, bold and increase the size of those stats too if used in your reply!

Sadly for you, stats include contested marks these day, you might want to consult those more closely before you try basing a hastily put together argument on them.

Of those 17 marks, 4 were contested. (sometimes it's a polite public service to underline and bold things when responding to people who you suspect tend to miss a lot)

Of course, this entirely undermines your assertion that key defenders were turning Marbs into a "constant liability" in and of itself, but I'm not done yet.

Unless you want to argue Brisbane thought Chol was such a threat that they moved Andrews/Payne off Lynch/Reiwoldt and onto him because he's a more dangerous forward, would you like to take a guess who they took those contested marks on? Maybe you can take them to task for being a "constant liability" in the air?

There is an example of a very brief period when Lynch was on the bench and Andrews did actually line up on Chol, but that ended with Chol leaving him in his dust (Andrews gives up mid-chase) and ends in another goal for Marbs (as seen in the footage I posted), so I guess you'll be dodging that inconvenient fact too?

IMO it'll go down like this:
Richmond ask for pick 20: North reject.
North offer pick 38: Richmond reject.
For both clubs to get it done and save face/keep it amicable, Tarrant (who is going anyway and won't net any compo North are interested in) will be added to the deal as a sweetener, and final result will be
North offer Tarrant + 38 for CCJ: Tigers accept.

Speaking of Norf

Anyone hear what Boomer has been up to? Hahahahahahaah

ShinBONER spirit all right. What's wrong with that club and guys cheating on their wives or bashing them?

Scum... get off our board, we're the Reigning back to back Premiers, they're the Reigning wooden spooners. Then we got one of their 'Kanga Kanga Kanga Roo Roo Roo' squad members come and tell us we're salty ??

GTFO of here

Loving how the norf supporters are up and about in the trade / draft period with their rebuild
must be so exciting to have pick #1

I remember the days we had all the carlton supporters here when they had
#1 - Marc murphy
#1 - bryce Gibbs
#1 - Mathew Kreuzer
#1 - Jacom Wietering
#1 - Sam Walsh

Its all about winning culture and winning flags
Norf will always be a minnow club that just make up numbers and play in tassie to pay rent

I'll be happy when we stop commenting and CCJ thread moves right down (And I realise that my comment moved the thread right back up)

IMO it'll go down like this:
Richmond ask for pick 20: North reject.
North offer pick 38: Richmond reject.
For both clubs to get it done and save face/keep it amicable, Tarrant (who is going anyway and won't net any compo North are interested in) will be added to the deal as a sweetener, and final result will be
North offer Tarrant + 38 for CCJ: Tigers accept.

The outcome is not ideal in reflecting CCJs value, however as part of a bundle along with Chol's compensation and our present third rounders it may prove invaluable.

We could offer that bundle to Footscray for their first and not touch either of our seconds. With a draft hand of 7, 15,18, 26,28 as long as we don't do anything stupid like Geelong, the possibilities are endless. Upgrading, trading into next years draft or just damn well just using them there and then.

5 picks in the top thirty of a draft for a dynasty team is unheard of. Walk into the draft with a hand like that and it'll be 'Coleman-Jones who?'

Loving how the norf supporters are up and about in the trade / draft period with their rebuild
must be so exciting to have pick #1

I remember the days we had all the carlton supporters here when they had
#1 - Marc murphy
#1 - bryce Gibbs
#1 - Mathew Kreuzer
#1 - Jacom Wietering
#1 - Sam Walsh

Its all about winning culture and winning flags
Norf will always be a minnow club that just make up numbers and play in tassie to pay rent

I’ve read some bizarre commentary on this board over the last week, but this is right up there.

Finishing 18th sucks (I’m sure you can remember the feeling), however I don’t think anyone wouldn’t be excited at the prospect of having pick 1.

I’ve read some bizarre commentary on this board over the last week, but this is right up there.

Finishing 18th sucks (I’m sure you can remember the feeling), however I don’t think anyone wouldn’t be excited at the prospect of having pick 1.
Winning 3 flags in 4 years have wiped any bad memories i have ever had

The excitement and enthusiasm about having pick #1 and pick #1 is extraordinary from the norf supporters in every thread we are hearing them defend JHF and have even heard him being compared to Buckley Danferfield and some even saying he is even better FMD

Then we have them all over the drafts board taking any player available in the PSD and how the have the PSD and what they can do with the PSD
Ohh did i mention Norf have the 1st pick in the PSD

Now we have you and your 'friends telling us our compo will be effected by Tarrant - Wow

I wish you the best of luck in your clubs persuit to out perform carltons achievements in reaching the pinnacle of number #1 drft picks and number #1 PSD picks.

GO NORF - to tassie

Stats that clearly contradict your points, along with more than enough footage included for you to work out you were wrong. You can't argue with the footage (or just admit you're wrong), so you launch into an irrelevant, off-topic segue instead.

The bloke you reckon was a "constant liability in marking contests" is clearly shown in the footage out-marking McInerney 1:1 twice. Versus ZERO times he was out-marked by him. In other words, the contested marking you choose to pretend was a "constant liability", was actually a distinct advantage for us against Brisbane's #1 ruck - a bloke 5cm taller and 13kg heavier.

In other words, you couldn't possibly be more wrong.

You begin arguing that I don't watch games, while being apparently oblivious to who Brisbane's 2nd and 3rd ruck options are? Who do you think rucked when McInerny was on the bench?

Chol played 56% game time, Nank played 70%. It's pretty simple maths - over half of Chol's game time was spent in the ruck. Getting all those hitouts and being our 2nd highest clearance player...y'know...those things you'd like to pretend didn't happen?

Sadly for you, stats include contested marks these day, you might want to consult those more closely before you try basing a hastily put together argument on them.

Of those 17 marks, 4 were contested. (sometimes it's a polite public service to underline and bold things when responding to people who you suspect tend to miss a lot)

Of course, this entirely undermines your assertion that key defenders were turning Marbs into a "constant liability" in and of itself, but I'm not done yet.

Unless you want to argue Brisbane thought Chol was such a threat that they moved Andrews/Payne off Lynch/Reiwoldt and onto him because he's a more dangerous forward, would you like to take a guess who they took those contested marks on? Maybe you can take them to task for being a "constant liability" in the air?

There is an example of a very brief period when Lynch was on the bench and Andrews did actually line up on Chol, but that ended with Chol leaving him in his dust (Andrews gives up mid-chase) and ends in another goal for Marbs (as seen in the footage I posted), so I guess you'll be dodging that inconvenient fact too?
Highlights aren’t exactly going to show him getting out marked now are they?

Anyway, I’m not gonna continue an argument with a bloke who loves himself as much as you obviously do.

Enjoy watching Chol play in the Suns 2’s next year.

The most up and about I’ve seen you guys since the Dusty to North thread.

Edit: Excluding the Gaff to North thread.

Carn Richo, we've got two Josh Kelly threads.

There's a bit of heat between the two groups we've not seen since Dusty (in fairness, the only one we really missed but he wouldn't have been happy anyway if he crossed) but let's be honest, it's a kid looking for guaranteed time and a good kid will get time in the bottom side (and a nice mentor in Goldy). Meanwhile we've got a beloved veteran heading back the other way who we can't give a premiership to. Maybe he'll find it with you, at his best you'll be closer to getting him there.

I think the involvement of Tarrant in any trade will be negated with free agency opening earlier. Wouldn't be surprised if that paperwork is filed hour one. If we get compo, fine, but from what I see any Chol compo is pretty moot anyway with your fleet of picks this year, if it's affected in any way.

For CCJ I was chatting about this with one of your esteemed posters earlier and if we were five or six spots higher on the ladder we'd probably just hand over the second and be done, unfortunately our shit season makes the 2nd rounder too valuable. The good thing is I reckon our clubs are on good terms and while we may posture and start low (pick swap or something) we'll end up on 38 or something next year. It won't be a wholesale win for the selling side but there's too many hurdles for that to happen anyway. Sending to the PSD makes no sense for either club. Either way I think these two deals (Tarrant and Coleman-Jones) will be the earliest ones down, no point either club holding off. You'll want to try and accumulate your picks into something earlier before another club strikes and we'll want to see what we can shake out of other clubs like we did with Stephenson last year.

Carn Richo, we've got two Josh Kelly threads.

There's a bit of heat between the two groups we've not seen since Dusty (in fairness, the only one we really missed but he wouldn't have been happy anyway if he crossed) but let's be honest, it's a kid looking for guaranteed time and a good kid will get time in the bottom side (and a nice mentor in Goldy). Meanwhile we've got a beloved veteran heading back the other way who we can't give a premiership to. Maybe he'll find it with you, at his best you'll be closer to getting him there.

I think the involvement of Tarrant in any trade will be negated with free agency opening earlier. Wouldn't be surprised if that paperwork is filed hour one. If we get compo, fine, but from what I see any Chol compo is pretty moot anyway with your fleet of picks this year, if it's affected in any way.

For CCJ I was chatting about this with one of your esteemed posters earlier and if we were five or six spots higher on the ladder we'd probably just hand over the second and be done, unfortunately our sh*t season makes the 2nd rounder too valuable. The good thing is I reckon our clubs are on good terms and while we may posture and start low (pick swap or something) we'll end up on 38 or something next year. It won't be a wholesale win for the selling side but there's too many hurdles for that to happen anyway. Sending to the PSD makes no sense for either club. Either way I think these two deals (Tarrant and Coleman-Jones) will be the earliest ones down, no point either club holding off. You'll want to try and accumulate your picks into something earlier before another club strikes and we'll want to see what we can shake out of other clubs like we did with Stephenson last year.
Honestly the best post from a Noth Supporter i have read in this entire period
If more of your posters were this reasonable we wouldnt be as pissed off and react like we/i have

But when just about every noth poster comes here and other threads and mentions PSD in their 3rd breath it really doesnt paint them in a good way which understandably gets a reaction accordingly. Cheers TFW

Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones