40! F*** it's dawned on me. COME ON TIGES!!

I'm 40 next year . 40! The last time we were any good I was 30!
The last time we made a GF I was 11!!!
We have played in 2 finals series since I was 11 and next year I'm 40!!!!
Come on you good things.
What does it mean to you?
How old were you?
Are you lucky enough to have seen Richmond when they were the shit?
If not you Kids are in for a treat and I can't wait to join in. It's coming......

mate at least you saw us in a GF, i was born the year after we got there last time.

When we do finally get up and win one i am gonna drink melbourne dry

i was born 2 months after our 1980 grand final win

I only have memory of us making the finals twice.

I have been to two finals we lost, and never seen us win even a finals game live, despite watching us live around 350 times +

In 2001 i was backpacking around europe and missed all our finals campaign

Talk about hard luck

i was born 2 months after our 1980 grand final win

I only have memory of us making the finals twice.

I have been to two finals we lost, and never seen us win even a finals game live, despite watching us live around 350 times +

In 2001 i was backpacking around europe and missed all our finals campaign

Talk about hard luck

You're a champ astro. Be even sweeter for you.

Far too close to 50 to admit, but at least seen '73, '74 and '80. And unfortunately just happened to be in Brisbane for 2001 Prelim. Been far too long between drinks for the Tigers.

Hoping the drought will be broken at least by 2012.

Been waiting since 80 to celebrate!.... 14 years old when we won our last flag, absolutely loved it!! though i could'nt really go out and get hammered and enjoy it?.... thought it would happen again in 82:(...guess what? still waiting:confused:

When I was a kid in 1978 I was a Melbourne supporter.

Dad could never take me to the footy with his efforts to run his own business so a family friend invited me to the football to watch his team Richmond take on my lowly Melbourne.

Watched Richmond smash the Demons and the friend asked if I wanted to keep going with him even though it would be his beloved tigers each week. I did and it just made sense to barack for the Tigers, the team of the guy who allowed me to see regular football games.

I remember wondering if it was less charachter to start barracking for a top team. Boy how wrong can you be.

I reckon it was an image of Sheedy walking down the race on that day looking like he had been run through the mill that had me moving to the Tigers. Loved them early. There was something about them.

1992 kid. Two finals series in my lifetime - and one we were on holiday in Fiji.
Live for the day we are still in contention come mid August.

We are all young here. I'm 19. I feel sorry for the fellas who are about 40. The best times I remember were the streak we had before Brown broke his leg. I had to keep pinching myself thinking how good are we now. Then I went to the game he broke his leg and I felt like shit knowing our season was over. The 2008 streak and the defeat of Carlton that round 1 was my most recent good memory. Good times are going to come though. We have too many good kids.

I'm the worst case. I started barracking for the tigers when I switched on the tv in 1982 at half time in the grand final. I liked the look of yellow and black and they were winning so I chose them. We all know what happened in that second half and what has happened for the last 28 years :cool: From a family of 8 only 1 of my brothers(oldest) followed footy, so I didn't catch on until I was about 7 when I started kicking the footy in the street with him So I missed the good years. I am an omen and should be blamed for the last 28 years :D. We've made the finals twice and missed it 26 times since 1982. It's unbelievable really. In that time most clubs have made it about 10 times in that period. Some have made it 15 or 20. Even Fitzroy have made it a few more times and they disappeared in 1996 i think lol

Here's the finals appearance after 1982 for each club. Did the final 8 come in 1987 for a couple of years then change to the final 6 for 2-3 years then back to the final 8 again? I know if was the top 5 who made the finals before that :cool:

ess-19
haw-18
west coast-18
carl-17
syd-16
north-16
geel-15
foots-15
coll-13
melb-12
adel-11
st kil-10
bris-10
port-7
fitzroy-4
frem-3
rich-2

...dammm...wish i was 40 again...

...vague memories of a toothlesss sheedy playing his last game in a granny and taking a speccy against a very strong north side...

...we were better...

...now i have trouble remembering where i parked the car at the 'g'...

Far too close to 50 to admit, but at least seen '73, '74 and '80. And unfortunately just happened to be in Brisbane for 2001 Prelim. Been far too long between drinks for the Tigers.

Hoping the drought will be broken at least by 2012.
Same for me, except I wasn't in Brisbane in 01. Been there for the good times and have suffered through the bad times. Looking forward to the day the drought breaks, if people think it was horrible this year when the Pies won it they are in for a shock when we win it.

I'm 40 next year . 40! The last time we were any good I was 30!
The last time we made a GF I was 11!!!
We have played in 2 finals series since I was 11 and next year I'm 40!!!!
Come on you good things.
What does it mean to you?
How old were you?
Are you lucky enough to have seen Richmond when they were the shit?
If not you Kids are in for a treat and I can't wait to join in. It's coming......

Relax Rodney.... 40 is the new 30, so techincally you haven't lost anything and you are back to where you started from when we were good.

Born in 82

Became a Richmond supporter because my step dad started taking me to the G on a regular basis in 87. Fell in love with Michael Mitchell. I suppose he just stood out more than other players to a kid. Pretty sure I was there the day he took the mark when he was standing on a players shoulders. Although most of my memories from then have warped into a blur.

[YOUTUBE]C9Tm5XknOag[/YOUTUBE]

Was there in 95 when we beat Essendon and will always remember Gary Odonnell's reaction after the game when he knelt on the ground with arms out in distress. Loved it.

Missed 2001 as I was out bush on an Army exercise. Wasn't too worried as I thought we would play off in plenty more...

Cannot wait for the Tigers to be up the top again. I'm a school teacher and cop it massively on monday mornings from a lot of the kids. Been telling them for ages that football success is cycular. Just hope that the cycle turns when those same kids are still in school.

...man everytime i see that mitchell video it makes the hair on my neck stand up....

...what an electrifying player....what a mark!!!

...what a prodigious indigenous talentous playous!!!

...if...if he was playing today...sigh....

Born in 83 & had the choice at age 4 to barrack for the Tiges and live under the same roof as my family, or live somewhere else. Now my 18 month old has the same dilemma.

Remember 95 just, will never forget beating Carlton in 01 and before my Nan passed away last year (Richmond matriarch of the family) she told me to hang in there as it will all be so worth it one day.

I'm hanging!

Man I turn 24 on this Tuesday and only vividly remember 95 but remember 01 pretty clearly! I agree though the Tiges need to get a wriggle on for my sake! Gettin old now! The grey's aren't far off now!

Was 8 when we were last in the grand final and my only memory of it is getting my face rubbed in the sandpit by a bunch of Carlton supporters on the day before the game. Must have suppressed the memories of the following Monday.

Since then, the only joy was the 1995 finals. In 2001, I was living in Thailand and got no coverage.

40! F*** it's dawned on me. COME ON TIGES!!