Miller is quite mobile. Hugo could play back/wing too. But lets have a look at the Banks kid uninjured at the right time. Got a bit of the ball. 23 disposals.Bank's has done nuffin to warrant a call up agin the Wobbles!
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Miller is quite mobile. Hugo could play back/wing too. But lets have a look at the Banks kid uninjured at the right time. Got a bit of the ball. 23 disposals.Bank's has done nuffin to warrant a call up agin the Wobbles!
They played him mostly in the centre in the VFL last week.Anyone know how this kid is going?
They played him mostly in the centre in the VFL last week.
Bit of a tough gig. Jordan Sweet was dominating the ruck for Footscray and they had plenty of older hard-bodied midfielders.
Think he looked a lot better when he shifted back to the wing.
Like most young players - has plenty of nice moments but can have a very quiet quarter here and there as well.
No way...I believe they threw him in the middle to help improve his contested game. Reckon he'll debut later in the year.
No way what?No way...
No way is he going in that first side in that under nourished state!No way what?
No way is he going in that first side in that under nourished state!
Anyone know how this kid is going?
I agree the link ups often fall over and this makes it a famine for some players. But a guy like Campbell overcomes this he is a class above i implore you to watch him a gun that we will be laughing about picking up on the cheap in years to come. Green also is Baker Mk2 but wit better foot skills, Banks is meh very vanilla.The wing at VFL level is so difficult to get noticed. Reckon it’s a staple of Morris’ write up each week ‘worked hard to get open but we didn’t use him as much as we should’.
VFL level is extremely scrappy and ball use to the wings as a result isn’t as often at the highest level, making it hard to use his full skills.
One of those that will play better at AFL level than VFL level. Needs to get physically a bit better but ball use and decision making are very good; as is his aerobic running capacity.
Hopefully gets a chance in the middle to late part of the year.
I agree the link ups often fall over and this makes it a famine for some players. But a guy like Campbell overcomes this he is a class above i implore you to watch him a gun that we will be laughing about picking up on the cheap in years to come. Green also is Baker Mk2 but wit better foot skills, Banks is meh very vanilla.
Kaleb Smith looks promising tooI agree the link ups often fall over and this makes it a famine for some players. But a guy like Campbell overcomes this he is a class above i implore you to watch him a gun that we will be laughing about picking up on the cheap in years to come. Green also is Baker Mk2 but wit better foot skills, Banks is meh very vanilla.
Is Banks 187 cm.? So a point of difference with half our list.Get your point, but all three play different positions from what I have watched.
Campbell looks like he’s been fitted for a half forward role, and Green right now is a back flanker, but think he may ultimately be an inside midfielder. Outside of the Doggies game, looks like Banks is being groomed for a wing position.
Think all of them have a future at AFL level. I don’t necessarily disagree that the ceiling of Campbell and Green is higher than Banks, but ‘vanilla’ players still have a role to play at AFL level.
Generally in the VFL the wings don’t get used as much as the competition is such that there are often greater numbers at the contest (especially for non-AFL affiliated side) and so the corridor and especially ‘dirty’ ball are more common. Means that flanks are ironically more around the ball than wingers are. Especially RFC wingers who generally either hold their width or fold back to be a +1 or +2 in defence.
Admittedly I’m most excited about Campbell and probably Green ahead of Banks, but I am not writing Banks off at all just yet.
Steely Green was disappointing on sat.It is nice that he is a tassie product and all the romance that goes along with that and that he captained every team that he every played in. Shifter says he is a star. Reality is he is not showing anything much at all. Physically immature and doesn't get a lot of it but has ok skills I'm calling a bust already he just wont be able to play in the big league.
Now if you want prospects then Seth Campbell and Steely Green are rippers watch out for them they will leapfrog Banks. That Campbell will be a bloody star for us mark my words.
Sorry mate i meant the general level of VFL and the mess it sometimes presents. Seth overcomes it well, not that he is wing material, I am thinking he will be very damaging as that forward type think Nathan Brown, smaller version of Fritch.Get your point, but all three play different positions from what I have watched.
Campbell looks like he’s been fitted for a half forward role, and Green right now is a back flanker, but think he may ultimately be an inside midfielder. Outside of the Doggies game, looks like Banks is being groomed for a wing position.
Think all of them have a future at AFL level. I don’t necessarily disagree that the ceiling of Campbell and Green is higher than Banks, but ‘vanilla’ players still have a role to play at AFL level.
Generally in the VFL the wings don’t get used as much as the competition is such that there are often greater numbers at the contest (especially for non-AFL affiliated side) and so the corridor and especially ‘dirty’ ball are more common. Means that flanks are ironically more around the ball than wingers are. Especially RFC wingers who generally either hold their width or fold back to be a +1 or +2 in defence.
Admittedly I’m most excited about Campbell and probably Green ahead of Banks, but I am not writing Banks off at all just yet.
Haven't seen him playing seniors yet, if he is this draft might be better than the previous. Campbell, Green, Smith, Young how good !Kaleb Smith looks promising too
Had his hands full that is for sure but can play.Steely Green was disappointing on sat.
No current season stats available
This kids been listed as an Emergency a handful of times this year and last. Fu@ken play the kid. I think a lot of fans are gonna be shocked to see a player who can accurately kick either side of the body in a Richmond jumper. I can't remember one since Leon Cameron. Make him sub who cares just play him and give him a block of 5 games without threat of being dropped on the back of one quiet game. This kid is versatile can play back, mid, fwd anywhere but ruck or KP. He's good overhead and a nice size at 6ft2, with great forward craft. I'm backing him to serve up better efforts than Ralphsmith, Clarke and Cotchin so play the bloody kid ASAP! Anyone who hasn't seen it in U18's he kicked a goal from the center circle out of the ruck that probably went further than Malcolm Blight's.
Sonsie?This kids been listed as an Emergency a handful of times this year and last. Fu@ken play the kid. I think a lot of fans are gonna be shocked to see a player who can accurately kick either side of the body in a Richmond jumper. I can't remember one since Leon Cameron. Make him sub who cares just play him and give him a block of 5 games without threat of being dropped on the back of one quiet game. This kid is versatile can play back, mid, fwd anywhere but ruck or KP. He's good overhead and a nice size at 6ft2, with great forward craft. I'm backing him to serve up better efforts than Ralphsmith, Clarke and Cotchin so play the bloody kid ASAP! Anyone who hasn't seen it in U18's he kicked a goal from the center circle out of the ruck that probably went further than Malcolm Blight's.