Player Watch #41 Sam Banks

The way we use our wings requires them to hold their width on the outside. However sometimes, when our inside mids are beaten they are required to move inside and try to win or at least halve a contest so the oppo can't clear the ball easily.

Right now Banks can't do that part of the wing role. We trialled him inside a few weeks ago and he barely touched the ball and the midfield unit were badly beaten. I'm hoping with a bit more size he can develop his contest work because he has got a lot of elite attributes like you say (leadership, kicking, decision making).
I’m not sure which game you’re referring to when he played as an inside mid? I’ve watched him fairly closely and he’s been mainly wing and on the weekend was playing off the backline.

I think just by looking at raw stats from VFL footy last year and his first 7 games this year he’s putting together a lot of consistent solid football.
Personally I think he’s ready for a chance a senior level.
Played 24 games at VFL level so far and going at about 17 touches a game. It’s enough to gain a debut imo.

This links a little reminder of a couple of very classy goals from last year.

I’m not sure which game you’re referring to when he played as an inside mid? I’ve watched him fairly closely and he’s been mainly wing and on the weekend was playing off the backline.

I think just by looking at raw stats from VFL footy last year and his first 7 games this year he’s putting together a lot of consistent solid football.
Personally I think he’s ready for a chance a senior level.
Played 24 games at VFL level so far and going at about 17 touches a game. It’s enough to gain a debut imo.

This links a little reminder of a couple of very classy goals from last year.

Was the Dogs game earlier in the year. We started the game with Banks and Green in the midfield in the first half and both players were badly beaten. We were forced to put Ross back in there in the second half and him and Street turned things around for us.

The game where toby mclean had 47 touches and 17 clearances… 😅

Yeah he did go through the middle that day…I thought he wasn’t too bad but I don’t think he was asked to play as an inside mid by any means. Kicked a couple aswell. Wasn’t that bad.

Avoiding body contact can be interpreted in a lot of ways.

In what way are you suggesting Sonsie and Banks avoid body contact? Because in a few ways I’ve noticed with Tyler Sonsie that he’s chosen to handball over his head rather then take a tackle or turn his body to take a tackle. I don’t classify this as soft but a bad habit
probably a good habit, to get rid of the ball before getting crunched and getting done incorrect or HTB.
Give him a couplea years to put a few kgs on - still a kid, not there to go body to body at this stage, but needs to grow out of it progressively

Isn't that the game where Bradtke, Biggie and Tarrant went down injured early? Dow didn't play plus a few others. We had no choice but to throw them in the midfield, there was no one else. I wouldn't read too much into that game.

Geez your right about the nonsense that absolutely invades these threads...and your quickness in response to highlighting such nonsense...and bringing it all to the attention of BF!...well done you sir!
Really ought to change your avatar name to 'highlighter'...the highlighter for the blind!

View attachment 1688819

See the point I was trying to make in regards to Robbie Flower...and in my haste...yes I'll agree it was a tad laboured and could be, could, be construed as a slur on Robbie Flower's Footy prowess, which was not my point, no sir...not my point! And that some posters may need the obvious spelled out to them...A by B by C into D...cos...well...it may get me into trouble on here if I speak bluntly and plainly enough in my description of their thick as a 2 be 4 wooden obtuseness!

The point of the post...and here lays the nub/knot of it all...was that Robbie Flower...champion footballer that he was soft(imo and not meant as a slur!)...as in an outside player...a very skilled outside player...not a hard physical argy bargy extractor of the footy like say a Cripps and/or a Selwood...but you sir in your wisdom choose to read it's point in a completely opposite way...

View attachment 1688839View attachment 1688842
Wow you are sober ..................... Finally

Far superior ball user than the two players you have mentioned there.
Sam also has a much better football brain and great leadership qualities the those two.

I’m not disagreeing that Sam needs to start getting his hands dirty at times at contests. But I don’t know if you’re fully grasping the difficulties that have come along with his role he has played at VFL level.

He has a huge upside and his skills by foot and decision making is slowly setting him apart at the reserve level.
Just from stuff i read before his draft

Banks was captain of just about every team he has played for until drafted and was always seen as a very good outside player and area's of improvment have always been his inside game and size. He played against men at the age of 15/16

He is not soft and is mainly outside as was Bellis & Houli early days
But some people consider outside players that dont have a great inside ball winning ability to be soft.

Cant change their opinions so why bother and just let them talk their sh!t and ignore it as they most likely sleep with lights on.

Had one of his best games of the year on Saturday.
Didn’t get a lot of it but once again was extremely high quality when he did. Patrolled the ground and was a composed presence every time he had it.

Has leadership written all over him and I think he will make his debut this week.

Exciting prospect and as composed with the ball as any draft pick we’ve had for while.

I think people often confuse soft with a lack of strength. Pulling out of contests is soft and I dont recall seeing too many of these actions from anyone in any AFL team.

*, the last one I remember was Pickett 2 weeks ago, it looked soft as butter but we all know he aint.

No such thing as a SOFT AFL player IMO
Yeah and some of these kids don't have mature bodies yet. I was watching Judson Clarke the other week, he looks to have the body of a 14 year old. Wouldn't call him soft though.

I think a lot of the commentary around this kid being soft is ridiculous. He was playing against men as a kid and was always captain for a reason. This isn't the days of Jack Dyer and Mopsy Fraser FFS's. If 90% of AFL players played suburban footy they'd be considered somewhat soft. We need quality users to get on the end of the inside bulls like Taranto to put some polish on our F50 entries. This kid has bided his time done everything they've asked him and I'm backing him to be the reason Kamden gets rissoled end of year.

Besides he's been drinking the same spring water as the immortal Royce Hart:

"Whitefoord, a suburb of just 60 people, lies in the heart of Tasmania. Few links between this rural part of the state and inner-Melbourne immediately spring to mind, however, this small community has a strong connection to the Richmond Tigers Football Club.

Sam Banks, who hails from the region, will soon find himself in the big smoke, selected by the Richmond Football Club with pick 29 in the 2021 NAB AFL Draft. He follows in the footsteps of Australian Football Hall of Fame Legend Royce Hart, also from Whitefoord, who put together a storied career in the yellow and black, booting 369 goals from 187 games".

For those of you who've never been this is what the Whitefoord local dam looks like. Apparently Balmey had Royce start shipping the water over to him a few years ago for his tea to dunk his Tim Tams in.

95076ab7171c6f242f35222380e4d263

blonde-mud.jpg

Probably his most impressive performance in the vfl last week. Went from Menadue to a possible future Deledio overnight.
im actually having more hope for this kid than Clarke and Dow. Dow to me will be delisted and Clarke I’m happy to give another year.
I just cannot see this kid not making a AFL career TI

Tassie kid thats been a leader all his life and captained at every level
Knows how to football and has skills and agility and is smart enough to play the game

Been unlucky with injuries and he needs more beef on his frame but will be a player
Wingman if ever i have seen one

I think a lot of the commentary around this kid being soft is ridiculous. He was playing against men as a kid and was always captain for a reason. This isn't the days of Jack Dyer and Mopsy Fraser FFS's. If 90% of AFL players played suburban footy they'd be considered somewhat soft. We need quality users to get on the end of the inside bulls like Taranto to put some polish on our F50 entries. This kid has bided his time done everything they've asked him and I'm backing him to be the reason Kamden gets rissoled end of year.

Besides he's been drinking the same spring water as the immortal Royce Hart:

"Whitefoord, a suburb of just 60 people, lies in the heart of Tasmania. Few links between this rural part of the state and inner-Melbourne immediately spring to mind, however, this small community has a strong connection to the Richmond Tigers Football Club.

Sam Banks, who hails from the region, will soon find himself in the big smoke, selected by the Richmond Football Club with pick 29 in the 2021 NAB AFL Draft. He follows in the footsteps of Australian Football Hall of Fame Legend Royce Hart, also from Whitefoord, who put together a storied career in the yellow and black, booting 369 goals from 187 games".

For those of you who've never been this is what the Whitefoord local dam looks like. Apparently Balmey had Royce start shipping the water over to him a few years ago for his tea to dunk his Tim Tams in.

95076ab7171c6f242f35222380e4d263

blonde-mud.jpg
Mate, you’re on absolute fire of recent 🔥🔥🔥

Knows how to football and has skills and agility and is smart enough to play the game

Been unlucky with injuries and he needs more beef on his frame but will be a player

Should be playing or are we waiting for Tassie to come in first lol.

I liked they way he’s built up from last year and looks a promising type so let’s hope he can get passed all those niggles and injuries and get a good finish to the season.

Player Watch #41 Sam Banks