Past #50: Ben Brown - Traded to Melbourne with 2020 #28 + 2021 R4 for 2020 #26 #33 + 2021 R4(Bris) - 130 gms / 287 gls - thanks Ben

I tend to think he is a bit of a downhill skiier at times. I wouldnt be wanting to have the house on him when things were tight.
I'm the same.

Flat track bully imo

No way would I pay the prick 1M per season.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

No one starting to think that the public clipping of him a mere couple days after he lost a child had anything to do with this?

I said at the time from the outside looking in that that controversial people management style had the potential to create discontent and 'lose' players. And I am not just talking about Ben. I've been part of a few clubs where a coach says or does something to a club favourite that makes a fair chunk of the playing group empathise with that person.

It sounds like there's a number of factors coming into play, the contract negotiations not going to Ben's liking, Rhyce's alleged game plan not being suited to him, and potentially even a personal rift.

The thing is, we are in what is officially year one of Rhyce's tenure and seen:

1. Worst injury toll in memory, after an apparent (probably needed, admittedly) flogging during the pre-season
2. Apparent rifts with certain high profile players
3. No identifiable game plan
4. 3 wins, and only percentage off the wooden spoon.
5. A backflip from "we're finals bound" to "the list is sh*t and we need to cull it then rebuild".

I'm concerned. If Higgins requests a trade I'm even more concerned. I know people have faith in Brady to steer the ship but the jury will also remain out on him for a few years. I'll leave it until the end of next year to re-assess my thoughts on Rhyce as a coach but it's fair to say that after last year, I did not expect his first season to go like this. If it results in a premiership then it's a price I'm willing to pay. That's a big 'if', though.

Well, I'm even more concerned now.

Did the club have a choice? They had a frank discussion with Brown and then his manager went and leaked it to the media.

If Brown wants to be annoyed with someone, Adam R is the one handing out crap advice for a management fee.

Think you missed the point.

I was commenting on our public declaration being a way of stating he is “on the market” - ie coaxing all interested buyers in - rather a weakening move.

Putting aside thoughts on whether we should be shopping Ben around, have we effectively declared he's "on the market" in auction terms?

We might figure removing any doubt about our intentions will coax out more buyers.
Word gets out anyway and can be more damaging if it’s perceived as an inside leak. I reckon the club has made this a focus, explains the quick and decisive delistings.

First post in a few years to rant!!

Firstly - I love the NBA. Who do I support? No one. Teams are just the colours of their uniforms. The best part about footy is feeling you're apart of something and watching those kids you recruit develop into men. Our best player of the previous 3 years has a bad year? Bye!

Secondly - "he's 27 and we won't win anything in three years so might as well trade him for what we can get" Yeah you know who said the same thing? Griffin in 2015. And it was said about Jack Reiwoldt too in 2016. You don't know what's around the corner, especially in three years time.

Thirdly - well he should have taken 3x750. Oh please. That was a lowball offer and we all know it. At the start of this year he was the best forward in the comp, or least in the top 3. They all command seven figures. Now, I don't know at what point we pulled that, early May or late August.

If we land a great trade for him then fine I can live with it. But I just can't see any scenario where that happens.

How long did Brown have to sign the deal?

When was it pulled?

With covid pushing list numbers down, overall cap numbers down etc etc, he/ramanaukas is a dickhead to not sign...

He'll probably end up taking 4 x 550k lol

Its not Bradys 1st rodeo, Rama forgot that and got ****ed...

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

The more I think about this, the happier I am with the approach from the club.

Brady has made an emphatic statement that our list management decisions will not be played out by the media as it has in previous years.

We have long been a bargaining tool used by agents to get better deals for their players, to the point that its pretty much a running joke around the league.

F*** that.

Just in the past few days we have seen the difference:
Z Williams, reported that we had a bigger deal on the table than Carlton and were snubbed. The club was quick to clarify that was incorrect.
T McDonald, apparently we were hunting him to replace Brown. Again, quickly explicitly denied by the club.
B Brown, Rama started leaking details to the media, to try and drum up interest and mitigate his colossal f*** up in not signing our deal. The club immediately release a statement detailing exactly what our position is with Ben.

We've essentially sent a message to the dumbass footy media community. You will know North's intentions when we tell you, and until then consider every player agent as full of s***.

I cant remember the last time Brown played a good game in muggy conditions, he needs to play in dry conditions to be most effective.
a side that plays under the roof is where he would be best, GC not so much.
ssshhhhhhhh don't tell them that.

Hypothetical situation where we land superstar talent from another club to fill the salary cap? I don't think the club deserves our faith on that one...
With a massive amount of DFA this year, marginal players can only expect base pay.....the alternative is joining civilian life. I believe list cuts, covid etc, is going to drive a big wedge between star pay and rank and file player pay. Clubs who have a lot of highly payed players will struggle to keep them all together. I think there's never been a better time to have a cleanout and rebuild.

It’s interesting that 2 of the clubs supposedly interested are the ones that have the young king as their FF. Obviously seeing the Larkey BB Type combo as beneficial.

Yeah, even if he did nothing except present a lead he's going to demand oppositions best defender(s). Damn hard to man him and King up at the Suns. Quality small forwards should have a field day too, Rankine etc. At the Lions, Hipwood might actually start to deliver on some of his potential with pressure taken off, or guys like Rayner just drop into space created, or Cameron swoops on the ball coming off the marking contest. Proven key fwd, and very unlikely to win a premiership without one. Lions fans here just don't get that.

The more I think about this, the happier I am with the approach from the club.

Brady has made an emphatic statement that our list management decisions will not be played out by the media as it has in previous years.

We have long been a bargaining tool used by agents to get better deals for their players, to the point that its pretty much a running joke around the league.

F*** that.

Just in the past few days we have seen the difference:
Z Williams, reported that we had a bigger deal on the table than Carlton and were snubbed. The club was quick to clarify that was incorrect.
T McDonald, apparently we were hunting him to replace Brown. Again, quickly explicitly denied by the club.
B Brown, Rama started leaking details to the media, to try and drum up interest and mitigate his colossal f*** up in not signing our deal. The club immediately release a statement detailing exactly what our position is with Ben.

We've essentially sent a message to the dumbass footy media community. You will know North's intentions when we tell you, and until then consider every player agent as full of s***.

Bang on the money!

With a massive amount of DFA this year, marginal players can only expect base pay.....the alternative is joining civilian life. I believe list cuts, covid etc, is going to drive a big wedge between star pay and rank and file player pay. Clubs who have a lot of highly payed players will struggle to keep them all together. I think there's never been a better time to have a cleanout and rebuild.

Wasn’t there talk of upping the cap?

Think you missed the point.

I was commenting on our public declaration being a way of stating he is “on the market” - ie coaxing all interested buyers in - rather a weakening move.

Not sure it is, some teams who might not have been considering bringing in Brown could be added to the mix. Also, for those teams near the top, the one who adds Brown will seriously bolstered their premiership aspirations (and thereby weaken those of the teams around them).

Auctions bring potential buyers and create competition raising prices, it's why real estate agents do it.

Not sure it is, some teams who might not have been considering bringing in Brown could be added to the mix. Also, for those teams near the top, the one who adds Brown will seriously bolstered their premiership aspirations (and thereby weaken those of the teams around them).

Auctions bring potential buyers and create competition raising prices, it's why real estate agents do it.

Arggh mate, that is exactly what I've already said in both posts!

It's what the term "on the market" means on auction day.

No thanks.

I must be in the minority but I can't stand Cameron.
Just because you can’t stand him then the club has no choice to ignore him . Sorry .. you must have a lot of pull at the club ..

Firstly - I love the NBA. Who do I support? No one. Teams are just the colours of their uniforms. The best part about footy is feeling you're apart of something and watching those kids you recruit develop into men. Our best player of the previous 3 years has a bad year? Bye!

Secondly - "he's 27 and we won't win anything in three years so might as well trade him for what we can get" Yeah you know who said the same thing? Griffin in 2015. And it was said about Jack Reiwoldt too in 2016. You don't know what's around the corner, especially in three years time.

Thirdly - well he should have taken 3x750. Oh please. That was a lowball offer and we all know it. At the start of this year he was the best forward in the comp, or least in the top 3. They all command seven figures. Now, I don't know at what point we pulled that, early May or late August.

If we land a great trade for him then fine I can live with it. But I just can't see any scenario where that happens.
It's safe to say we won't be winning a premiership in the next few years. Wooden spoons maybe..

I think brown is a bit full of himself . As far as I’m concerned he can piss off . Not that anyone would care for what I have to say . $750k And he says no 😳 he’ll get stooged elsewhere. Thanks Ben now seeya .

QLD has to be the clubs objective imo.

Brisbane's picks aren't fantastic, but that could work in our favour. They have 2 first rounders (Theirs and Ports) and we have plenty of list spaces to fill.

GC obviously has a bunch of young Victorians we could trade him for.
QLD, despite every "expert" saying that QLD conditions don't suit Brown's game?

I think brown is a bit full of himself . As far as I’m concerned he can piss off . Not that anyone would care for what I have to say . $750k And he says no 😳 he’ll get stooged elsewhere. Thanks Ben now seeya .

Nah he's not, he's a very decent guy.

Best forward in the competition? He's never been in that conversation, and his numbers are inflated playing at North where he has the ball kicked towards him virtually every time we go inside 50. Any half decent player would have kicked 60 goals. Overrated, one dimensional, lacks physicality and more suited as a 2nd tall, or even 3rd lol. Definitely should have taken the 750, and i'm glad we're not burdened by that contract now that we begin a rebuild.

Past #50: Ben Brown - Traded to Melbourne with 2020 #28 + 2021 R4 for 2020 #26 #33 + 2021 R4(Bris) - 130 gms / 287 gls - thanks Ben