Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - Fashion Icon

Two picks, Drury and the Sheezle, both will get opportunity next year,
Sheezle has a massive tank and skills, he could easily play that Nick Daicos role well, that run up and back, give and go with a lethal boot.
Play a guy who observers have talked up as the smartest junior forward they've ever seen.... Off half back and on a wing. Oh yeah, it's big brain time

Expectations too high? Paul Curtis couldn't really have done much more as a rookie stay at home forward in the worst team.....hell if we were a junior country footy team, his mum would have brought gloves out at quarter time to stop the frost bite how rarely the ball would have been down his end. Stevo won the rising star award, as an outside goal kicking type going into a team challenging for silverware. Reckon Curtis could have had similar output in a top 4 team! Powell was good for a skinny kid in his first season. I think when we select contested mid types, the reality is it just takes time for them to adjust to playing against the bigger bodies.
Powell was well on his way then got injured (kinda my point) and then had the second year blues.

Curtis probably would have had a "burst out of the blocks" type of season if he wasn't playing small forward in the worst team in the comp. Yes he couldn't have done much more.

So many rookies over the years (including inside mids) are just incredibly good from the onset.

Next line is more important to comprehension
that run up and back, give and go with a lethal boot.
He's got **** all leg speed. There won't be much giving and going. Station him on a half forward flank, and he can be both a crumber and a target. We've been crying out for a guy who can be the link between the midfield and the deepest forwards, and I think he's the man for it

Every one of our draftees seems to be a slow burn. Half of them don't even play much the first couple of years because they are injured. We are due for one or two to burst out of the blocks.
Only first rounders we’ve had in the last decade that have sort of hit the ground running are Simpkin , Curtis and McDonald

Nick Daicos copped an absolute bath from Gwelfie. Nick Daicos took majority of collingwoods kick ins and ran around without an opponent for most of the year. Nick Daicos is nothing short of a sheep dog that has a neat kick. Piss weak and will never EVER win it in the middle on his own terms. EVER.

Do not compare Wardy with that sheep dog.
Nick Daicos… as scared as Spicer in the contest.

Been thinking about where he fits next year. Most players need to have a couple of strings to their bow these days. I think we all agree his body won't be ready to partake in CBAs at the top level very often next year.

With his combination of speed, competitiveness and tackling I think he'd make a really nice lockdown defender on smalls during the early part of his career while he builds the tank and the bulk.

Been thinking about where he fits next year. Most players need to have a couple of strings to their bow these days. I think we all agree his body won't be ready to partake in CBAs at the top level very often next year.

With his combination of speed, competitiveness and tackling I think he'd make a really nice lockdown defender on smalls during the early part of his career while he builds the tank and the bulk.
Barring injury, it would be good to play him in the scoobs from his inception. Thats where young mids should start. If we go in fit, we are blessed with options that I havent seen for some time. Positions on the line, its a massive positive for us

Would rather he plays a whole season as a mid in the 2’s then one game as a lockdown defender.

Well, probably not.

I also can't see the point of playing an inside mid as a lockdown defender. The VFL route seems far more appropriate.
agreed on the latter and that Warlord shouldn't ever be a lockdown defender, but i reckon i've already heard clarko say that he wants players to be able to play multiple positions at least 5 times since he's been here already. with his pace and manic defensive edge, i could see him being a really effective pressure forward as that secondary role

Everyone has to be able to play multiple roles these days.
People say this but most of the good sides rotate 4 mids at the coalface and all of them get significant game time in that position.

Sure, a bloke who chops out as the 5th or 6th mid for a few centre bounces needs some versatility, but you don't drive your Ferraris on the cobblestones.

As a pure inside mid he's going to take time. Especially with his injury history. Number 1 goal is to build fitness and stay healthy followed by developing his bountiful talent in the ressies so when he debuts he'll be ready.

Powell was well on his way then got injured (kinda my point) and then had the second year blues.

Curtis probably would have had a "burst out of the blocks" type of season if he wasn't playing small forward in the worst team in the comp. Yes he couldn't have done much more.

So many rookies over the years (including inside mids) are just incredibly good from the onset.
looked pretty decent debut season to me given we was only selected about 6 rounds in!

Your role players have to be able to play multiple positions. Those who are genuinely elite in their chosen position (Cunnington, LDU, McKay ect) don’t need to have the flexibility to play elsewhere.

You don’t recruit an elite explosive ball winner to then play him in the back pocket.

Let him build up his game time in the two’s as a centre square mid. He’ll have no worries forcing his way into the side in due time.

Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - Fashion Icon