Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - Fashion Icon

I think LDU gives it too much air, most of the time
Its a mixed bag of lollies with LDU.

affordable care act GIF

Think his issue is that he tries to stab kick ever kick about a metre off the ground - needs to give it a bit of air.
Get Boomer down there to help him out

I think LDU gives it too much air, most of the time

Wardlaw tries to kick the ball 35-40m low, hard and flat. It looks incredible when it works, but he can hit the ball high on his foot resulting in mis kicks or down right shanks.

LDU kind of pokes at the ball lots of power at impact but not a real good follow through especially when he is running close to full speed. Results in grubbers or real loopy kicks with too much height.

If Wardlaw can stop trying to over do it and improve his decision making he could become a genuinely elite kick.

LDU with his high ish ball drop is always going to be a bit inconsistent with his kicking.

His game against Collingwood this year was heroic stuff. It compared to anything that we've seen from Sheezel, and nobody else in recent years has done anything remotely similar in their first two years.

I don't think any young player on our list has the potential to carry our club onfield like George. When he is at his best, I think his pressure, contested work, and outside speed offer a completely different level of influence.

His game against Collingwood this year was heroic stuff. It compared to anything that we've seen from Sheezel, and nobody else in recent years has done anything remotely similar in their first two years.

I don't think any young player on our list has the potential to carry our club onfield like George. When he is at his best, I think his pressure, contested work, and outside speed offer a completely different level of influence.
Agreed. Not many 2nd year mids in the past 20 years has played a game like that.

That's despite missing large chunks of football in his 1st and 2nd year's via injury. If he gets the body right he will explode and be a genuine point of difference in an elite midfield, Zak Butters like.

Same thing was said this time last year.

I remember watching him play out at la Trobe and he was struggling to get the ball to hit his foot. Come the season starting he was fine.

Some quotes from the Collingwood game

“Sheesh Wardlaw is kicking some darts out there” - Gerard Healy

“You think of Wardlaw as a crash and bash type player but geez he is class by foot” - Jack reiwvoldt

I’m going to investigate this further

Reminiscent of complaining about Cunners time trials in the preseason.

I still cant believe we landed Luke Parker to lead our young cohort. pinching myself

Mate roos_fanatic08 was super keen on North picking him up before he was getting senior games at Sydney. I remember thinking, what is it about this bloke taken in (iirc) the third round that couldn’t get a game at Sydney that had him so sure he’ll be a gun.

Then he started playing senior footy and I had to dip my lid. Great call.

His response when told that people around the club were comparing FOS to the way he goes about things both onfield and off was hilarious 🤣

“Yeah ahhh I haven’t actually heard that once… from anyone.”

I reckon the interviewer was set up deliberately to get a reaction and Georgie took the bait lol.

Mate roos_fanatic08 was super keen on North picking him up before he was getting senior games at Sydney. I remember thinking, what is it about this bloke taken in (iirc) the third round that couldn’t get a game at Sydney that had him so sure he’ll be a gun.

Then he started playing senior footy and I had to dip my lid. Great call.
OI SO WAS I, I was all in on parker at the start of the season. Go find the receipts. They’re there

His response when told that people around the club were comparing FOS to the way he goes about things both onfield and off was hilarious 🤣

“Yeah ahhh I haven’t actually heard that once… from anyone.”

I reckon the interviewer was set up deliberately to get a reaction and Georgie took the bait lol.

Yeah that was hilarious

Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - Fashion Icon