• Inside Midfielder

Votes: 89 41.8%
  • Forward Pocket

Votes: 124 58.2%

There is an interesting thread on the main board rating the top ten from last years draft. Interestingly many people on their have Ziebell in the 8-10 region which I find baffling. Obviously we North people are a little biased when it comes to Jack but it seems many people see him as just a "hard nut".

Does this surprise you? Do you think we're going to be laughing in a few years when people realize the bargain we got picking up Jack at pick 9?

Nah, doesn't surprise me bfb. Out of sight, out of mind! People would be pumping up their own as well.

They'll see the true worth of Jay-Z next season, with his fitness intact, a competitive midfield around him, and a further preseason under his belt.

Plus, that board's loaded with nuffies!

it surprises me that you read that thread and came to this conclusion

i read the same thread and most people rate ziebell much higher than where we got him

it surprises me that you read that thread and came to this conclusion

i read the same thread and most people rate ziebell much higher than where we got him

really? I found a few people in the first few pages who had him around the top but for every one of those there were 2 that had him 7-10. In the second half of the thread most had him around 5-8. I even saw one melb supporter who had Yarran and that Adelaide bloke who hasn't played above ziebell

I think you'll find that the reason he wasn't in most
top 3's is because he is injured therefore hard to rate. We know what we got though;)

I think you'll find that the reason he wasn't in most
top 3's is because he is injured therefore hard to rate. We know what we got though;)

Exactly mate.
How Carlton were foolish enough to pick the interstate born and lazy Yarran in front of a local, born leader in Ziebell baffles me and probably their fans.
Garlett, who they got in the rookie draft is showing far more.
He just seems to slip under the radar, because he probably lacks some of the raw athletic qualities that your Yarrans have.
Lets not forget, he is bottom age and has barely done a pre-season. A good couple of pre-seasons and this kid could truly be anything.
On what has been seen so far as a genuine AFL prospect, he would be top 5 comfortably.
If Liam Anthony hasnt been rated in any of their top 10 lists aswell, they have no cred.

It was just rating the first ten players taken in the draft in order of preference. From Watts through to Davis.

How on earth could Ziebell be rated 8 on that list?!

Davis hasnt even played i dont think, Yarran has been rubbish, Watts has shown nothing, Vickery has been ok I guess, Natanui had one good game. Steven Hill has played every game and looks a player, but Ziebell had more influence in the games he played.

Ziebell would be ahead of all those blokes easily.

The list would be for mine:

1) Rich
2) Hurley
3) Ziebell
4) Hill
5) Hartlett
6) Natanui
7) Vickery
8) Watts
9) Yarran
10) Davis

Falkroo sent this through to me and asked me to post it up here. It show's Jack's Dad Gary grabbing a player from Henty by the throat when he was playing for Burrumbuttock in 1999. It's not hard to see where Jack gets his mongrel from!

3852818314_52ec46809c.jpg

There's certainly fight in the old dog........not surprising when compared to this:

200372901-003.jpg

There's a striking resemblance.

I reckon if Jack sooked on the field as a youngster, or didn't go in for the pill hard enough, his old man would've given him the old favourite "HTFU!" :thumbsu:

I was talking to a guy the other day about jack ziebell and how tough he was .I follwed jack through the state carnivals and he always impressed me how hard he was at it .He was my favorite player . This guy told me about his old man said was as tough and as hard as they come . He said he wasnt anywhere near as good a player as jack is but just a "hard bastard"

Re: 19. Jack Ziebell

i still cant believe that tribute missed the best part

when wellsy is running in that was after ziebell did an awesome 3rd man up in the ruck and wellsy roved it

hello everyone i was wondering what your favourite jack ziebell memory is for me its when he smashed marc murphy that time and marc murphy was crying for a free kick or maybe it was that time he smashed cooney but cooney didnt cry for a free kick though he took it like a man

As soon as I saw Ziebell smash Murphy, I pretty much jizzed in my pants.

As soon as I saw Ziebell kick that Hird-like goal in the same match, I pretty much jizzed in my pants.

As soon as I saw Ziebell's game against Port, in particular the first half, I pretty much jizzed in my pants.

They were my top three Jack moments in 2009. :thumbsu:

His first touch in a North jumper, which was a head-first dive at a contested footy that won him a free kick against Carlton.

A misty, water-coloured thread.

Never forget rocking up to the pre-season Intra to see him pointing and barking out directions to other (more seasoned) players. It wasn't toolish, just the work of a kid who knows footy.

How does fairdinkum put it, again ? Oh yeah....

:thumbsu:

A misty, water-coloured thread.

Never forget rocking up to the pre-season Intra to see him pointing and barking out directions to other (more seasoned) players. It wasn't toolish, just the work of a kid who knows footy.

How does fairdinkum put it, again ? Oh yeah....

Absolutely forgot about this.

His voice was the loudest out of all the players that day IMO; had to look twice when I realised it was Jack doing all the talking.

Along with Tarrant's galloping laps and Azza's third quarter, that was the highlight of the day. :thumbsu:

ya know i dont wanna sound like a dick and keep harping on about this but i cant believe snrubs missed out the best part in that tribute clip :thumbsdown:

His first touch in a North jumper, which was a head-first dive at a contested footy that won him a free kick against Carlton.

Followed quickly by a mark on the wing where, running full pace with a man on his arse, he slowed just a little to draw contact and then extended to take the grab out in front of his face, leaving the defender absolutely no chance of getting the ball. The contact can't quite be seen in the tribute video but from where I was sitting that mark reeked of absolute class.

Gentlemen, we have a natural on our hands.

What sort of thread is this?

It sounds like you're all paying tribute to a player retiring.

I know he's injured, but I didn't realise it was this bad.

It's what we do when when our season is officially over. I thought you'd understand. ;)