Player Watch #7: Zane Duursma - out for 2024, undergoing shoulder surgery

They’re probably still stuck at the bottom of the freeway waiting for the new farken lights to change. Bumper to JetSki down here atm
The serenity. I've heard locals on the Peninsula refer to it as God's own country. Sure, if God was a petrol head cashed up bogan. (To be fair, they are the Summer holiday set, not the real locals)

Happy Ladies Man GIF by Piximpress

Had a couple of delays being chaired back to my BF beachside cabana Gifo. All good now.

Christmas Cheer appears to have been a tad overdone by some.
1735867530864.png

Do you think Charlie Cameron, Bobby Hill, or Jack Ginnivan had us on their wish list years ago?
Charlie Cameron moved from 2nd placed Adelaide to 18th placed Brisbane. Ginnivan moved to a flag winning side to 16th placed Hawthorn.

Regardless there are other small forwards and other ways to get them.

They’re probably still stuck at the bottom of the freeway waiting for the new farken lights to change. Bumper to JetSki down here atm

I drove back from Adelaide a few days ago and the Westgate roadworks delay added two hours to the trip. :grumpy old rant

Far out mate can't believe there were roadworks on the west gate between Christmas and New Year

enters witness protection

Far out mate can't believe there were roadworks on the west gate between Christmas and New Year

enters witness protection

The fact they were there was known prior. The disorganisation with traffic heading towards them was appalling.

Mate they cooked me the other day. A 40 min trip to the CBD took 2.5 hours as I got stuck on some random street in Yarraville, where they decided to do roadworks on the detour route. Lol.

The serenity. I've heard locals on the Peninsula refer to it as God's own country. Sure, if God was a petrol head cashed up bogan. (To be fair, they are the Summer holiday set, not the real locals)
Used to be known as Gods waiting room ..... because all the oldies retired down here

Some BF crew may have indulged in a bit too much Christmas ham and spent too much time with people that trigger them and are now taking it out on random, anonymous people on an Internet forum that’s primary purpose is to discuss NMFC.

A bit of displacement going on here.
Season 9 Episode 20 GIF by The Office
But you know, I could be .....
just kidding jk GIF
:winkv1:

Charlie Cameron moved from 2nd placed Adelaide to 18th placed Brisbane. Ginnivan moved to a flag winning side to 16th placed Hawthorn.

Regardless there are other small forwards and other ways to get them.
Both aren't great examples, Cameron wanted to move back closer to family in QLD & Ginnivan certainly didn't want to leave Collingwood but was pushed out due to some questionable behaviours.

It's one thing for these sort of guys to be available but it usually takes some luck on specific circumstances to get access to these players wanting to move to you as a bottom side.

Both aren't great examples, Cameron wanted to move back closer to family in QLD & Ginnivan certainly didn't want to leave Collingwood but was pushed out due to some questionable behaviours.

It's one thing for these sort of guys to be available but it usually takes some luck on specific circumstances to get access to these players wanting to move to you as a bottom side.
From about 2019 onwards, we have battled to overcome a reputation of a club environment that you wouldn't want to come to unless you had no other options. The AFLPA surveys players on matters pertaining to this and over the last 12 months, North Melbourne has improved dramatically and become a much more attractive work environment compared with 2 or 3 years ago. That information is made available to all players through the AFLPA, and so, ideally, that will aid recruiting, especially as we start winning games.

I didn't know about the QLD factor. Ginnivan being pushed out of Collingwood arguably helps us.

Given this tangential discussion about our decision to overlook Watson despite the importance of small forwards in the past two premiership teams, it's worth noting that the best small forward in those two teams was not drafted by that club. Charlie Cameron and Bobby Hill were both traded in. Perhaps rather than trying to capture lightning in a bottle at the draft, we should be ready to swoop the next time a Jack Ginnivan type becomes available.
Interesting.

The old 'trade in someone else's developed ruckman' model.

Except for really little people.

Interesting.

The old 'trade in someone else's developed ruckman' model.

Except for really little people.
The last three years have seen small forwards be really important parts of side but most of them do fit that model.

Apologies to who said it, but a poster pointed out Brisbane's success built from their talls and structure. Small forwards were very much the icing.

given that the peninsula pretty much runs from frankston to point nepean and probably even cape schanck thats a pretty big generalisation given the huge variance in geography and demographic.

Apologies to who said it, but a poster pointed out Brisbane's success built from their talls and structure. Small forwards were very much the icing.
Its simplistic but a reasonably accurate model to say small forwards are icing not cake but...

I also reckon forward pressure should be described as cake not icing.

Do you think Charlie Cameron, Bobby Hill, or Jack Ginnivan had us on their wish list years ago?
LOL. Just read @hilly’s post. At least the truth is staring him in the face. As for you. Continue to deflect, justify and defend the nonsensical. It is amusing. :stern look

given that the peninsula pretty much runs from frankston to point nepean and probably even cape schanck thats a pretty big generalisation given the huge variance in geography and demographic.

I'd say Mornington rather than Frankston (after all it is the Mornington Peninisula) but certainly there's variance. Somebody has to mow the lawns of the Portsea holiday homes.

Player Watch #7: Zane Duursma - out for 2024, undergoing shoulder surgery