A toast to Fraser Gehrig

Stats Man

Jan 14, 2008
Forward pocket
what a character this guy was. he played ff and fb for two clubs, kicked bags of goals and brought something unique to the game. i think he is one of the most underrated players of the past two decades easily!!

does anyone know what hes up to now he' s retired? is he still playing footy somewhere? a great character in league footy.:thumbsu::footy:

Is he related to Lou Gehrig the famous US baseballer?

I didn't like him much at the Eagles. Had a few injuries, was played out of his true position, played in an up and downside, and just couldn't find consistency. No one really cut him a break (self included).

But when the G-Train was unleashed he was in my good books. Big, angry, wore a mullet, ate pussies for breakfast.

OP is wise.

The G-Train was beast, what with his mullet and his benchpress record, his 100 goal season, his amusing antics with various full backs. Truly one of my favourite Saints players ever and I truly wish he was born a few years later so he could've been around in the 2009 season, he would've been so handy and taken a Grand Final by the scruff of the neck such was his passion.

I'll always remember him giving his jumper to the little girl in the St.Kilda cheersquad after his last game. The look of happiness on that girl's face was wonderful. Great footballer who also seems like a quality bloke.

I have no doubt the West Coast crowds determined his path to the Saints, he got booed a heap in his last season with us. I think he was good overhead and could break lines with an easy get but this man's second efforts were literally non existent.

He would contest fully at a marking contest but once the ball hit the ground he just pulled up as if his work was done. Yes I booed him in the end.

Two people I would pay a lot of money to see, Plugger and Gehrig.
Fraser could bench press a semi-trailer

277176_123872827632895_600140887_n.jpg

Caused me to experience an extraordinary range of emotions as a player.

Was a bit of throwback footballer, both in looks and style- if he had played 20 years ago, I reckon he would have been talked about in the same vein as Plugger or whoever else.

Sadly, the days of players with that sense of being a bit of a character are beginning to fade away.

I lived next door to Frazer in Subiaco and me and a mate use to crack up laughing when we would see him wearing his black moccasins in Perth. We would say G'day and would get a G'day boys back. Much maligned player for WCE, only because he never reached his full potential for our club for whatever reason.

A toast to Fraser Gehrig