A Trip Down Memory Lane...

• Thread starter ScouseCat
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

S

ScouseCat

I thought I'd drop in and ask you guys what your earliest memories are of supporting the West Coast Eagles??

I am not an Eagles fan, I support the team you guys beat twice to win your 2 flags in the early 1990's. (we wont mention those games shall we!) ;)

Anyway, I thought it would be interesting to look back....

Who were your favourite players?? What was the first Eagles game you went to see?? Does anyone remember your first jumper, you know... the one that was basically yellow with a little bit of blue?? What was the best Eagles game you been to and also the worst??

I can tell you the first time I saw the Eagles LIVE was the 1991 Preliminary Final at Arctic Park. (Waverley) What a freezing cold day it was, rain, hail, a freezing cold breeze and unfortunately for us Cat fans, the Eagles won by 15 points after Geelong made a spirited comeback which got us to within a kick after being about 5 goals behind for most of the day.

My original favourite was Peter Matera- I'll always say that there was no better footballer. There were some that were as good but none better than imo.
My first game, which was also my favourite was a Tiges vs Eagles match at the G in about 1998
My worst game was blueys 200th! Totally embarressing!

My earliest memory of supporting the Eagles was when Sumich kicked a point to draw Collingwood in the finals back in 1990.

My favourite game will always be the 1992 flag. I wish I was older back then so I could have appreciated it more.

I remember the yellow dominated days, when Glendinning was the man at CHF who would mark the ball no matter who was pushing up against him. It seems like a different club these days, but it's still my club all the same

My earliest memory is pretty hazy. We had just lost a really important game...I think it was the 91 GF and my mum had made plans to go out after the game. I was 10 and was absolutely gutted, I was so annoyed we lost that I wouldnt move off the couch. I was a very stubborn kid so when we lost, that was it. It took my mum about an hour to get me out of the house. Very hazy memory but's that my earliest memory.

My favourite player was Chris Lewis...just an excitement machine.

Originally posted by carlyp
My original favourite was Peter Matera- I'll always say that there was no better footballer. There were some that were as good but none better than imo.

Most Geelong supporters will remember the goals Peter Matera kicked in the 1992 Grand Final to beat us, along with the battles he used to have with Peter Riccardi. I reckon Riccardi won on points, but Matera won the battles when it mattered most.

Favourite player back in the early days - Laurie Keene.
Favourite player of all time - Roo.
1st game I went to see - 1987 Rd. 21
1st jumper - The original yellow peril.

First game i remember was against Geelong in 90 or 91 @ Subi. One of many great contests to come :)

Favourite player from time gone by - Chris Mainwaring

The flags were the highlight but as ozzult said above, i wish i was older, that way i couldve appreciated them more

A flag in the next few years would be perfect :)

My first favorite player for the Eagles was Dwayne Lamb, because a neighbour worked with him and presented me with a West Coast poster signed by him :)

First game I saw the Eagles play was vs North at the WACA on a friday night in either 88 or 89, I dont recall which.

What I do recall is we lost, and one woman screaming out "DACK HIM KEENE!" as Laurie Keene attempted to tackle a Roos player.

Originally posted by ozzult
My earliest memory of supporting the Eagles was when Sumich kicked a point to draw Collingwood in the finals back in 1990.

I remember sitting at my local footy club watching this on TV. I had just finished playing a game of junior footy and got to watch the last 10 minutes. Great stuff.

First ever memory of the Eagles was listening to the Eagles come back from the dead in Round 1 1987 on the radio.

First game I ever saw was Eagles v Collingwood in round 10 or so of that year from the old concrete terraces next to the three tier stand where they built the first part of the newer stands. Suppose I was about 14 then. We whipped them evil Pies by 57 points (I did have to look up the margin!).

Memories

I attended the first ever game - Round 1 v Richmond 1987 and stood behind the goals at the Perth end.
Best memory - Being at the MCG when we won the 1992 Grand Final.
Lowlight- Being at Waverley when we lost the 1991 Grand Final.
Favourite Player - I seem to have a liking for fullforwards!! Ross Glendinning ( I bought my son a number 4 jumper) which he then wore as Peter Sumich when Rosco retired:) . Now Willo is amongst my favourites (his East Perth connection helps).
Best ever Eagle: In my opinion - Peter Matera.
My "new" favourite: Chicky

Best memory. Round one 1987, I had a seat second row from the front in the members area. I was 23 and enjoyed a drink.

Greatest game. First final win over Melbourne. Never forget the faces of the demon players when they walked off at half time shellshocked.

I am sure they thought they would have to just turn up and they would win.

Greatest player. Lewis, Mainwaring and Jak.
Worst Player. Stevan Jackson.

My first ever Eagles game (live) was watching the Eagles play Essendon on a freezing Friday night at the WACA in 1987. The two memories that really stood out for me was the fat woman next to us covered in badges with Essendon players on them (Mantis?) and my wondering what the hell a "Sportsplay" was.

My favourite player of all time remains Tony Evans, and my current favourite is Adam HuntAAA. The best game I have ever been to was our 1992 final against Hawthorn, and the worst I have attended would have to be our home game against Port in 2001, which was absolutely miserable. Although the game against Melbourne at the end of 2000 has added poignancy, due to Bluey's sendoff and the air of unreal frivolity as we were being murdered.

Worst player is tough - there have been plenty of players who came in, did nothing and disappeared. For all-round ordinariness, week after bloody week, it's hard to go past Troy Ugle - but for his one brief shining moment as the hero of the big comeback against St Kilda in 1990.

Originally posted by carneagles
For all-round ordinariness, week after bloody week, it's hard to go past Troy Ugle - but for his one brief shining moment as the hero of the big comeback against St Kilda in 1990.

I was at that game. I was out on the middle at half time helping coach the women's state side.

To have 6 goals kicked on you in the Backpocket, then move to the forward line and kick 6 is fantastic. Ugle dug us in and then brought us back from the dead.

Welcome to the fold scouse_cat, glad to see you've seen the light and now follow a better side;)

My earliest memory is out camping listening to the Eagles take on somebody(cant remember who) over Easter. i dont remember who we played or if we won, but my Dad and i were camping, listening to the radio as we couldnt dare miss a game. Apart from that my first watching TV memory is watching the video of the 92 Grand Final once we got home from that blasted wedding i got dragged along to:(

Originally posted by eagleskickass
Welcome to the fold scouse_cat, glad to see you've seen the light and now follow a better side;)

Now now, enough of that mate. ;)

Apart from that my first watching TV memory is watching the video of the 92 Grand Final once we got home from that blasted wedding i got dragged along to:(

I was at the 1992 Grand Final, and when we got 29 points in front in the second term, I thought we could finally win a flag. However, in the last 5 minutes of the second quarter, our lead was cut to 2 goals and I remember at half time, my Dad looked at me, I looked at my Dad and said, "we're gone".

Originally posted by noodle
I remember sitting at my local footy club watching this on TV. I had just finished playing a game of junior footy and got to watch the last 10 minutes. Great stuff.

I missed that game because I was at a karate grading. Two of my mates came down afterwards and relayed the news. That was around the peak of the West Coast - Collingwood rivalry at he time too.

Though I have the vaguest of memories of round 1, 1987, I think the first game I attended at Subi may have been as late as 1990, and was either v Carlton or v Hawthorn. At that stage, we only bought tickets for the big matches (and my folks are from NSW, so it was only my interest in Aussie Rules that got things moving...)

What:D im just congratulating you on seeing the light:)

Gonna have to change that sig if u truly wanna follow WCE properly;)

LOL - Navy blue and white colours suit me much better mate. ;)

First memory: Rd 1 1987 vs Richmond. I remember myDad listening to it on the radio and telling me they came back to win.

First Game: same season, friday night @ the WACA v Carlton. We beat them in a boilover as Carlton were a top side back then. Watching footy at night was a huge experience for a young fella and to beat Carlton with all their stars was fantastic.

Best Game: I went to both finals games at the WACA also in 1994. The first was a surprisingly tight affair v Colllingwobbles. The atmosphere was incredible as the crowd gave the boys everything. The umpiring was shocking too (Bluey went to rush a behind, just missed, went out of bounds and got called for deliberate). I remember the much fabled incident with Woosha letting off steam at Mick McGuane at the siren. Also Tony Shaw's tears.
The Melbourne game was a complete machine like performance. I remember it was the week after Garry Lyon kicked 10(?) goals v Footscray and he was held to about 2. I remember Hynes and Turnball were awesome in the ruck and we kicked a ton of points but still won easily. After that game i KNEW we had the flag stitched up.

Fave Player: Lewie. Just a champion. Never rushed, always smiling, always brilliant

A Trip Down Memory Lane...