Ablett doesn't rate until he gets the No.1 tag *MB thread*

Re: Ablett doesn't rate until he gets the No.1 tag

It's a valid point.

We no longer waste Brad Sewell on the bloke who runs from one back flank to the other picking up cheap stats.

Ablett's a good player, but he doesn't hurt teams with his stats. Just gets a lot of handballs across half back, typically in batches of two or three.

Great goal from a great team play? Whats your point?

Why the fcuk do you find it necessary to bag Ablett....he is a geniune superstar who has achieved nearly everything there is to achieve in football and all with the weight of expectation of his fathers name. You could poke holes in many aspects of his game as he, like every other player is far from perfect, but what you get is fairly substantial package that is deservedly being ranked up there with some of the greats....and he is only 25!!!

Should we just go around finding small youtube clips of Luke Hodge ****ing up straight forward kicks? Or Cyril Rioli being caught and slung to the ground whilst trying to avoid too many tackles? or Franklin attempting to use the other side of his body???? Of course not, they are gun players who crowds love to go see and appreciate the gifts they have in footy....get a life mate

fishpodge,what does that prove ?
Shirley may've been on the bench or may've been out of shot

Normally you'd put a man on him until Shirley gets back? I've never seen so much space awarded to Dane Swan.

Here's another.

[youtube]b4KzsarSUgI[/youtube]

So... how exactly does Ablett go about getting this tagger on him? Or should he just stand close by to the oppisition's tagger all day?

What more could you possibly want him to do?

Who's No.5 for Adelaide? It certainly isn't Robert Shirley.

[youtube]ftWa91fSLx0[/youtube]

A few words form Nathan Buckley:

GARY Ablett junior is the best player in the competition. To be able to make that statement without the word "arguably" attached speaks volumes.

Seasons come and go and invariably a revolving handful of players receive the "arguably" tag, but that's not how it is at the moment. Often these discussions are driven by short-term performances from a player that are above the norm, and we are quick to heap praise on great young talents and even quicker to condemn. Ablett, though, has done it on his merits.

Normally you'd put a man on him until Shirley gets back? I've never seen so much space awarded to Dane Swan.

i've also never seen dane swan do half the things ablett does. he isn't kicking goals like the two you posted. how come youre able to see through ablett but the professional players and coaches who actually made it to the AFL rate him so highly? maybe you should nominate for the draft next year?

I suppose you're not interested in the time Garry Lyon and Grant Thomas mentioned that he doesn't get any 'work put into him' ?

A lot of players would be the best in the competition if they didn't get much of a tag.

And I've already mentioned in my OP that he is the best midfielder in the competition the last 3 years running.

So your point is thoroughly invalid.

From a proud and paid up Hawk supporter since 85, I can not understand anyone who claims Ablett is not rated. 40 possessions, 15 possessions. You can not rate a player by possessions. If Ablett only gets 20-25 touches when heavily tagged by the opponents best then I reckon they are worth 40 touches from any other player playing in 2010. 20 quality is game changing. I don't rate Ablett with Harvey, Voss, Hird, Buckley but nor do I Judd. They have played awesome footy for a few years but the above mentioned did it for over a decade.

Why are you posting awesome clips of Ablett demonstrating his all round game against good opposition? You are just highlighting how ****ing good he is.....i just don't see the validity in your criticism....have you got penis envy or something?

Ablett gets tagged, go to a live game and see it if you don't believe it. The majority of the time he gets the heavy tags or hits (just ask Sammy Mitchell on that one) and sometimes he shakes those tags to play a 1/4 of gametime in the forward pocket - pretty stock standard move. Sometimes opposition try to exploit him by playing loose - they mainly fail, sometimes teams play him with a very hard tag (i.e. Robert Shirley, Robert Crowley, Steven Baker) the mainly fail or get suspended - who cares, the guy is pretty ****ing shit hot, as per you tube clips you just posted

I suppose you're not interested in the time Garry Lyon and Grant Thomas mentioned that he doesn't get any 'work put into him' ?

You mean you take notice of the 'Cruise Captain' and 'Cornflakes' ?
crackup.gif

i've also never seen dane swan do half the things ablett does. he isn't kicking goals like the two you posted. how come youre able to see through ablett but the professional players and coaches who actually made it to the AFL rate him so highly? maybe you should nominate for the draft next year?

I rate Ablett highly as well. And the professinoal coaches and players have also mentioned the point in my OP. He doesn't get much of a tag.

If you can prove otherwise . . . I'd love to see it.

It's a valid point.

We no longer waste Brad Sewell on the bloke who runs from one back flank to the other picking up cheap stats.

Ablett's a good player, but he doesn't hurt teams with his stats. Just gets a lot of handballs across half back, typically in batches of two or three.

Haha, more like Brad Sewell isn't good enough. The rest of your post reeks of bitterness.

Here's Jake Niall's opinion:

Last weekend, Richmond used two opponents on Ablett. Jake King picked him up when Ablett was "resting" forward, and the much uglier task of manning him in the middle fell to Nathan Foley, who struggled to keep up and didn't really exploit Ablett defensively either.

The Tigers did, however, curb the influence of Joel Selwood via their best tagger, Daniel Jackson, who doesn't have the physical gifts, ie, the speed or agility, to play on Ablett.

Richmond lost the Ablett duel, but by putting the clamps on Selwood managed to break even in the clearances. This could well become the trade-off that rival clubs accept - that if you cannot control Ablett, it's better to put your premier tagger on either Selwood or Jimmy Bartel, and play a more attacking midfielder on Ablett junior. If you can't stop him, don't waste your best negator.

This Richmond part is where you might be going wrong podgey. Coaches have worked out during the last couple of seasons that it's too hard to tage him. Try and stop Bartel or Selwood instead. That, and their best tagger, Jackson, just isn't good enough.

My one question of you is this - if Ablett is the undoubted best midfielder in the comp, why is he not tagged harder? Why is 'not a lot of work' put into him?

Answer me that. WHY

Hodgepodge doesn't get much attention from his parents, so he does it on the internet, don't ignore him though, he'll start cutting himself.

You mean you take notice of the 'Cruise Captain' and 'Cornflakes' ?
crackup.gif

I assume this has something to do with the Footy Show, which I don't often watch . . .

Garry Lyon certainly carries a lot of credibility and I believe he now coaches at a junior level.

The fact that these comments are being openly made in the media certainly highlights the fact that he doesn't get the No.1 tag.

And again, even Geelong supporters agree.

Why are you posting awesome clips of Ablett demonstrating his all round game against good opposition? You are just highlighting how ****ing good he is.....i just don't see the validity in your criticism....have you got penis envy or something?

I picked three clips of a game to prove a point.

A poster claimed that Robert Shirley tagged him exclusively. Yet I picked 3 random clips and he was nowhere to be seen.

If this was about Joel Selwood, you might have a topic. He is someone who has struggled in the past with breaking the very best taggers.

That is really what should worry the competition, what is going to happen when Selwood improves 10% and also becomes untaggable?

Anyone who doesn’t think Geelong are overwhelming Premiership favourites for next year really must be having a laugh.

I assume this has something to do with the Footy Show, which I don't often watch . . .

Garry Lyon certainly carries a lot of credibility and I believe he now coaches at a junior level.

Nothing to do with TFS,which I haven't seen for a decade.It's more in common with what some of your players get up to in the off season.

Big deal he coaches 10 yo kids.Lot's of dads do.

Ablett copped a hard tag for all of 07 and 08, and at least half of his games this year he got the number one tagger. Guess what, he still dominated.

Big deal he coaches 10 yo kids.Lot's of dads do.

No, I think he's an AFL accredited coach at the AIS now.

In a media world that fawns over its superstars and won't even acknowledge the reduced capacity of Chris Judd, comments like these make their mark.

And did I mention how Geelong supporters agree?

Ablett doesn't rate until he gets the No.1 tag *MB thread*