Rumour Adam Cooney

Cooney will be 28 next year. Too old and too expensive. Think beyond 2015 I say. Need long term mids to replace our guns. Pointless adding another 'old fella' to join our retirement list.

The rumour is Cooney wants to become a Hawk. That means he won't be expensive, he will take a paycut

People who say his knee is shot... Are you trolling or not all there? He still roosts the ball from 50 & still burst away from the contest, even if we have to manage his knee it's fine, we can still win with the stars we already have.

a suspect body, yes, what has he done the last 3 yrs at least ?

We can get him for cheap, because the Rumour is Adam Cooney wants to become a Hawk.

What have you expected him to do in the last Three years? He's won a Brownlow in his career, injuried his knee, & has just about found some good form lately. Would be amazing to see him do a burst from the middle after a Sewell hard-ball get & Mitchell quick handball.... He did a burst like that two weeks ago, but not with Sewell & Mitchell

Blockbuster AFL Trade Ideas - Adam Cooney and Daniel Cross to Hawthorn

The Hawks can add some depth and experience while the Bulldogs can get some younger players or picks as they try to rebuild their list. They have traded before, and the Hawks and Bulldogs can trade again as they occupy different spots on the ladder and have different priorities to address.

To Hawthorn - Adam Cooney, Daniel Cross
To Western Bulldogs - Xavier Ellis, Luke Lowden, Derek Wanganeen
Cooney would be someone to add outside run and possibly some goals, and if his minutes or games need to be managed due to his knee the Hawks would be able to do that. At the Bulldogs he needs to play big minutes every week for them to have a chance to win games, at Hawthorn they are going to win games with the stars they already have and are getting Cooney to improve their September chances.
Cross arrives as Mitchell insurance, ready to add handballs to the team if Hawthorn have a midfielder out. Cross could be rejuvenated by a trade to a contending team and even if the Hawks don't need him he could be a valuable player in the VFL who would teach their young onballers how to play.
Xavier Ellis would seem like someone who needs a fresh start. He was a high pick and did play in the premiership team so there is talent there. The Bulldogs could use some more height so Luke Lowden might be another Hawk that can go in the trade, or maybe Grimley is someone to consider. Derek Wanganeen might be a player to add some more run to the Bulldogs, he does play well in the VFL but Hawthorn don't need him. Him and Dahlhaus up forward, and as outside midfielders, it could be a good combination.
Something that might be another option is a draft pick, although the Bulldogs may want to remember what Sydney did as they traded for players from other teams who were still young but more ready than the players a draft pick would get. The Hawks have other young players that the Bulldogs could look at too, like Hallahan.
The teams know that they can get a deal done that helps all involved, as veteran Lake wasn't going to win with the Bulldogs so sending him to Hawthorn were he filled a need made sense, and maybe the Bulldogs can get some assets from Hawthorn to build with while the Hawks can add more veteran players to try to win it all.
http://www.allfooty.info/2013/07/blockbuster-afl-trade-ideas-adam-cooney.html

Blockbuster AFL Trade Ideas - Adam Cooney and Daniel Cross to Hawthorn

The Hawks can add some depth and experience while the Bulldogs can get some younger players or picks as they try to rebuild their list. They have traded before, and the Hawks and Bulldogs can trade again as they occupy different spots on the ladder and have different priorities to address.

To Hawthorn - Adam Cooney, Daniel Cross
To Western Bulldogs - Xavier Ellis, Luke Lowden, Derek Wanganeen
Cooney would be someone to add outside run and possibly some goals, and if his minutes or games need to be managed due to his knee the Hawks would be able to do that. At the Bulldogs he needs to play big minutes every week for them to have a chance to win games, at Hawthorn they are going to win games with the stars they already have and are getting Cooney to improve their September chances.
Cross arrives as Mitchell insurance, ready to add handballs to the team if Hawthorn have a midfielder out. Cross could be rejuvenated by a trade to a contending team and even if the Hawks don't need him he could be a valuable player in the VFL who would teach their young onballers how to play.
Xavier Ellis would seem like someone who needs a fresh start. He was a high pick and did play in the premiership team so there is talent there. The Bulldogs could use some more height so Luke Lowden might be another Hawk that can go in the trade, or maybe Grimley is someone to consider. Derek Wanganeen might be a player to add some more run to the Bulldogs, he does play well in the VFL but Hawthorn don't need him. Him and Dahlhaus up forward, and as outside midfielders, it could be a good combination.
Something that might be another option is a draft pick, although the Bulldogs may want to remember what Sydney did as they traded for players from other teams who were still young but more ready than the players a draft pick would get. The Hawks have other young players that the Bulldogs could look at too, like Hallahan.
The teams know that they can get a deal done that helps all involved, as veteran Lake wasn't going to win with the Bulldogs so sending him to Hawthorn were he filled a need made sense, and maybe the Bulldogs can get some assets from Hawthorn to build with while the Hawks can add more veteran players to try to win it all.
http://www.allfooty.info/2013/07/blockbuster-afl-trade-ideas-adam-cooney.html

Its already been posted......and the more I look at it the more i feel sick.

I'm not sure why you have such a fetish of filling our team with 28 to 30 year olds.

Its already been posted......and the more I look at it the more i feel sick.

I'm not sure why you have such a fetish of filling our team with 28 to 30 year olds.

Did I say get Joel MacDonald? Nope... Cooney is a quality player turning 28 year old.

If we win the flag this year I'd rather see us do a mini-rebuild like Geelong did because we are short on quality young guns compared with a lot of other clubs, especially in the middle of the ground. It's been a long time since we've had the luxury of low draft picks to spend on promising kids.

Not saying I'm against going after Cooney but only as part of a last-ditch effort to get another flag out of our current midfield group, which has really showed signs of aeging this year. Hopefully things go our way this year and we won't need to resort to that.

Look, the reality is he is one of our greats.... 5 time Peter Crimmins; Premiership Captain and Brownlow Medalist**- we are all seeing figures of $1.2 Mill being thrown around for Buddy but I doubt that Sam has ever earned anywhere near that.

All I want to see is him be fairly rewarded.
Premiership captain, 4 b&f's well respected and a coach in waiting. Add to that the 600-700 he's been on for the last 6-7 years and id say he's done pretty well put of this footy caper.

Buddy brings in massive exposure/revenue so he's worth the extra bucks. Ostensibly unfair but just a reality.

Coney is a restricted free agent so we do not need to trade unless the Dogs matched our offer. Therefore while taking up salary cap space it would not require us giving up draft picks and obviously they could still be used on young players.

Whether or not we have salary cap space is a different matter. However some of our highest paid players such as Hodge Mitchell and Sewell are/will be veterans excluding part of their salary from our total cap. We will also probably trade or delist some older players who are playing at Box Hill rather than in the seniors. Most importantly is of course Buddy's decision.

Cooney is having a good year in 2013 and providing his knee problems can be managed he would be a positive inclusion.
However there is always a risk as evidenced by the Dogs reluctance to offer a longer contract.

As usual, the truth lies somewhere in the middle...

He's no spring chicken, but he isn't exactly an old-timer either with 3 or 4 years left in him I'd think.

He hasn't played good footy for a while, that is until this year where he is playing some pretty good footy.

His knee is shot, except for when it clearly isn't....if the Dogs can manage it, then so can we.

He may cost too much, but he could just as easily decide to take a pay cut. Unless you're his best mate or missus, don't bother trying to convince me of what motivates certain players to play footy.

He wouldn't add much to our ageing midfiled, but he can burst out of there and kick a goal or two per game, as well as being just about as versatile in his playing position as a Hodge or Burgoyne.

Look, I'll make it clear that I'd prefer an Adams type as well, but geez if it were about preferences then I'd easily take the young bald magician currently residing on the Coast running around our midfield before any other...but it's not about that, it's about availability and circumstance.

Adams and Cooney may both be available when the time comes, but as circumstance would have it I see Adams as the type of player who would have a plethora of options to think about at the end of this season, given his age, financial position (whatever that may be) and offers from other clubs among other factors. A player like Cooney fits the Burgoyne/Lake mold of player. He may not have as many options come season's end and his priorities may largely differ given his age and financial position...who really knows?

Anyway, over the last few years we've managed to get some fairly well-established players from other clubs like Gibson, Hale, Burgoyne, Lake and Gunston, so it wouldn't surprise me in the least if we get another this year. I'm not against the Cooney move, if the price is right.

Did I say get Joel MacDonald? Nope... Cooney is a quality player turning 28 year old.

I never said that you said Joel Mcdonald, Cooney has a bung knee which now limits his ability through the midfield. its not going to get better its only going to get worse...hes on the verge of 28 and hasn't played anything that resembled the form of his 2008 year. Our midfield is already old, your answer is to top it off with another older player one that has a degenerative knee issue that's on the verge of veteran status. In saying that our salary cap isn't too crash hot atm, so basically we can't offer him a salary that the Western Bulldogs couldnt match.

The trend of bigfooty over-valuing draft picks/untried players and ignoring the short-term continues.

If we could get an A-grader like a Cooney/Dal Santo or even Sylvia that could give us 2-3 good seasons whilst out window is wide open, why not if it's only going to cost us draft picks? (if we finish 1-2 this season our draft picks are all going to be speculative anyway).

Would rather us win 2 flags in the next 5 years and then do a proper rebuild, rather than no flags and be thereabouts lacking the class to get it done.

A bit off the subject of Cooney but while on the subject of Free Agency/Trade, would anyone be interested in getting James Frawley to the Hawks?

The trend of bigfooty over-valuing draft picks/untried players and ignoring the short-term continues.

If we could get an A-grader like a Cooney/Dal Santo or even Sylvia that could give us 2-3 good seasons whilst out window is wide open, why not if it's only going to cost us draft picks? (if we finish 1-2 this season our draft picks are all going to be speculative anyway).

Would rather us win 2 flags in the next 5 years and then do a proper rebuild, rather than no flags and be thereabouts lacking the class to get it done.
Agree
Don't want to end up a Western Bulldogs or St Kilda
I reckon a lot of teams will think this way
We just need to chase the right player