See this is what I don't get. That is a shocker of an accusation for people to make. That the MRP, charged with keeping our great game clean and fair, would bow to commercial pressure in one of their decisions? That is basically alleging that the AFL is rotten to the core. Are people quite certain they want to allege that? If so, are they prepared to back it with real evidence?Some people are saying he got away with "it" because he is a "protected species" which in a way I agree with because he's a high profile player who plays for a team where they need high profile players to bring in the crowd because they have to compete with the NRL. There aren't many players who would get away with what he did.
You need to look up "hypocrisy" in the dictionary. Nobody condones the dangerous play from Franklin, but his transgressions do not mean we must remain silent when Goodes habitually chops the legs of Hawthorn players and nearly breaks their legs.The hypocrisy is damning from this team.
I would say Buddy went as close to breaking Ottens' neck as Craig Bolton went to breaking Nick Riewoldt's neck, or any other opponent he tunneled in a marking contest. Not just Craig Bolton either. For a while there under Paul Roos, the entire Sydney defence were tunneling their opponents in marking contests. Dangerous play. Liable to cause broken necks, concussions and other injuries.Only a week before Buddy nearly broke a bloke's neck in one incident
Absolute twaddle.Buddy crudely flung out his arm in another incident that resembled many other times he has been brought up by the MRP.
This is probably the only accurate thing in your whole post.Nobody is perfect. Goodes is not perfect. But he is not a thug like Dermie was.
You need to look up "hypocrisy" in the dictionary.
We're not hypocrites.
Please tell me how Goodes can be regarded as a fair player if he's going around chopping the legs out from under his opponents, or kneeing them when he arrives late into a contest?
You are an absolute disgrace of a troll arnt you. The worst form of hypocritical fool that Bigfooty can throw up.Goodes is not thug like Dermie was, but he is not perfect. He lacks the "gladiatorial courage" of someone like Jude Bolton or Luke Hodge.. i.e. players who stick their heads over the ball instead of sticking their knees into their opponent.
Goodes is not thug like Dermie was, but he is not perfect. He lacks the "gladiatorial courage" of someone like Jude Bolton or Luke Hodge.. i.e. players who stick their heads over the ball instead of sticking their knees into their opponent.
To give you an idea of Hodge's "gladiatorial courage"Yep he was found lacking in gladiatorial courage in last years GF when he played through that that 6 week knee injury to have a key part in the win.
People, and especially Dermott, saying he lacks courage is an absolute joke and reeks of sour grapes imo
You are an absolute disgrace of a troll arnt you. The worst form of hypocritical fool that Bigfooty can throw up.
"Gladiatorial courage" ??? like Luke Hodge ?
The HBF'er that decided to blatantly trip Nigel Lappin at the Gabba in his first game back from his second knee reconstruction.
One of the most blatantly gutless acts we've seen, on a player totally vulnerable to it.
Dog act of the worst kind.
Real gladiatorial "courage" that was. Lappin out for month or more in his first game back because some tosser decides it'd be good to trip him....caught on camera but of course he gets off due to the technicality that it didnt qualify as enough force. These days his head would be rolling off the chopping block.
" Gladiatorial courage like Luke Hodge"....you hypocritical tryhards love your myths dont you. Happy to try to sully a 300 game champion of the game over absolutely NOTHING...yet like to sponsor a myth that dog hawthorn snipers like Hodge are some sort of benchmarks of "gladiatorial courage". Based on one final we're supposed to conveniently forget what he actually is most remembered for, and swallow the MYTH that he's somehow "courageous"...courage my arse.
Next time leave Jude Bolton out of the same sentence as that tripping sniper Hodge.
Even the ex hawthorn snipers like to perpetuate their own myths or pretend to be something they never were.
"Gladiatorial Courage" ??....yeah your hero captain. Pick the bloke first game back from a reco and stick a leg straight out in front of him.
You cant even win a game without searching for something to whinge about can you. Sorry arse hypocrites.
Notice not one Sydney fan even complained or so much as brought up that newby Derryea leaving the ground to elbow McGlynn in the head after he'd kicked it. Far worse than anything Kelly copped on Goddard this week..and 10 times anything you bunch of hypocrites think Goodes MIGHT have done wrong.
Go sook on bay 13 where you belong
you're trying too hard imoTedeski,
Just on the definition of hypocrisy, this post from Bollox is another really good example. You won't find a better example actually. For someone who feels so strongly that we must not criticise football's sacred cows, how can he reconcile the total character assassination he has made of Luke Hodge? Breathtaking hypocrisy. He also accused me of a being a "troll" and told me to piss off to Bay 13, but his entire post should be preserved in the Big Footy Hall of Fame as a monument to Trolling. It's an amazing achievement. Like a work of art. Perfect in its construction and simplicity.
Hopefully the mods leave it up because I really believe it adds to discussion on a few different levels. It's a much more interesting post too than the boring, repetitive crap from other Swans fans over the last 5 pages
We can see from this post, the lengths the Swans fans will go to defend Goodes and maintain the Cone of Silence that seems to exist around him. Every other player in league footy is open to question over their ability, character, courage and integrity. We debate them on a daily basis here on Big Footy. But for some reason, Adam Goodes has become like a god. Not like a god. It's as though he is God himself. The merest hint of any flaws in his make-up and his devotees wish to stone-to-death the infidels who sully his name.
You've also provided a good example of the type of dangerous play that we should be trying to stamp out and the damage it can cause. You've mentioned an incident from years ago where Hodge may have injured a rival player and caused him to miss matches. I can't remember the exact specifics. Your memory of it is better than mine. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think Hodge may have thrown out the leg and caught Lappin. Not so much an instance of acting out of self-preservation and cowardice, but a poor instinctive choice to stop Lappin from breaking away. Thankfully, it was the first and last time in Hodge's career that he committed such an act. I imagine, as a player, you would hate to be known for such deeds.
You don't like me describing Luke Hodge as a gladiator? Fine. We'll use Jordan Lewis instead. Obviously not in the same class as Sydney's Supreme being, Adam the Good. Just a soldier. But like Hodgey, Jordan Lewis is another player who is reknowned for sticking his head over the ball when the situation demands. And like Hodgey, he is another player who played in last year's Grand Final under immense duress and required immediate surgery in the days that followed.
No worriesyou're trying too hard imo
you're trying too hard imo
No worries
No need to quote the entire post for that pointless remark though, don't you think?
Yep it was pretty easy.
Counting the new found Swans fans is a lot harder.
I remember the Swans playing Hawthorn at the MCG a number of years back. I'm guessing around 2008/9.Well he does have a point. You just dribble on and on and on....and on...and on. The more you type the more you must convince yourself of your own drivel.
I'd prefer not to of course...but plenty of us also remember Hodgey off a HBF many moons ago...racking up uncontested disposals, ducking his head when he heard footsteps, unfit after too many qtr pounders, staggering in to man the mark pointing directions and telling teammates to go chase his man, coz he was too buggered and getting flogged...
...and of course blatantly tripping one of the games great midfielders the moment he got back from a reco.
You see we dont all wear your hawthorn goggles nor have the selective memory you do. Nor were we brought up with bedtime stories of that mystical hawthorn fantasy land u live in, where gladiators like "Dermie" and "Hodgey" did combat and were always so "courageous" with their head over the ball....compared say with those far more gutless 300 game dual premiership, dual brownlow medal winning champion "squibbs" from other clubs
Too much spare time mate. Get a Joh or take up a hobby in between games.Tedeski,
Just on the definition of hypocrisy, this post from Bollox is another really good example. You won't find a better example actually. For someone who feels so strongly that we must not criticise football's sacred cows, how can he reconcile the total character assassination he has made of Luke Hodge? Breathtaking hypocrisy. He also accused me of a being a "troll" and told me to piss off to Bay 13, but his entire post should be preserved in the Big Footy Hall of Fame as a monument to Trolling.
Hopefully the mods leave it up because it's a much more interesting post too than the boring, repetitive crap from other Swans fans over the last 5 pages
We can see from this post, the lengths the Swans fans will go to defend Goodes and maintain the Cone of Silence that seems to exist around him. Every other player in league footy is open to question over their ability, character, courage and integrity. We debate them on a daily basis here on Big Footy. But for some reason, Adam Goodes has become like a god. Not like a god. It's as though he is God himself. The merest hint of any flaws in his make-up and his devotees wish to stone-to-death the infidels who sully his name.
You've also provided a good example of the type of dangerous play that we should be trying to stamp out and the damage it can cause. You've mentioned an incident from years ago where Hodge may have injured a rival player and caused him to miss matches. I can't remember the exact specifics. Your memory of it is better than mine. So Hodgey may have thrown out the leg and caught Lappin. Not so much an instance of acting out of self-preservation and cowardice, but a poor instinctive choice to stop Lappin from breaking away. Thankfully, it was the first and last time in Hodge's career that he committed such an act. I imagine, as a player, you would hate to be known for such deeds.
You don't like me describing Luke Hodge as a gladiator? Fine. We'll use Jordan Lewis instead. Obviously not in the same class as Sydney's Supreme being, Adam the Good. Just a soldier. But like Hodgey, Jordan Lewis is another player who is reknowned for sticking his head over the ball when the situation demands. And like Hodgey, he is another player who played in last year's Grand Final under immense duress and required immediate surgery in the days that followed.
Could this be any less relevant?I remember the Swans playing Hawthorn at the MCG a number of years back. I'm guessing around 2008/9.
A Swans player was laying over the ball (I think it was Ryan O'Keefe). A Hawthorn player slid in legs first straight into the open and vulnerable Swans player's body. No intention for the ball whatsoever.
It was a weak and gutless act. I still remember it to this day. I guess because I had the very same thing done to me on the football field once when I played.
But that was in the Hawks' "unsociable" football days, where anything went for them apparently.
Oh, and the Hawthorn player involved was that bastion of fair play Campbell Brown.
It really is a bit rich to see some Hawthorn supporters getting all high and mighty these days. What a pack of squealing hypocrites.
Well, the justifications made by a few familiar names for the hit below in light of their comments about Goodes make for amusing reading.Could this be any less relevant?
Because Campbell Brown did something similar 5 years ago you think it is wrong to point out that Goodes has done something similar?
Hypocrisy seems to have been discussed in this thread, therefore pointing it out it is relevant.Could this be any less relevant?
Because Campbell Brown did something similar 5 years ago you think it is wrong to point out that Goodes has done something similar?
How does that even make sense? Sliding into packs with your feet is wrong, whether its a hawthorn player or not.
Yeah, thanks for that. Thats the one.Well, the justifications made by a few familiar names for the hit below in light of their comments about Goodes make for amusing reading.
That's the thanks I get for teaching you the meaning of the word "hypocrisy" ?Too much spare time mate. Get a Joh or take up a hobby in between games.
Please tell me how Goodes can be regarded as a fair player if he's going around chopping the legs out from under his opponents, or kneeing them when he arrives late into a contest?
The only irony here is didn't Brown suffer an injury because of this and spend time on the sidelines as a result?Well, the justifications made by a few familiar names for the hit below in light of their comments about Goodes make for amusing reading.
So, as you've all conspicuously failed to point out one single aspect in which the MRP got the Goodes decision wrong, we've now moved on to the alleged hypocrisy of Swans fans? Time to change the thread title, coz you were getting nowhere with the old one anyway.Tedeski,
Just on the definition of hypocrisy, this post from Bollox is another really good example. You won't find a better example actually. For someone who feels so strongly that we must not criticise football's sacred cows, how can he reconcile the total character assassination he has made of Luke Hodge? Breathtaking hypocrisy. He also accused me of a being a "troll" and told me to piss off to Bay 13, but his entire post should be preserved in the Big Footy Hall of Fame as a monument to Trolling.
Hopefully the mods leave it up because it's a much more interesting post too than the boring, repetitive crap from other Swans fans over the last 5 pages
You've also provided a good example of the type of dangerous play that we should be trying to stamp out and the damage it can cause. You've mentioned an incident from years ago where Hodge may have injured a rival player and caused him to miss matches. I can't remember the exact specifics. Your memory of it is better than mine. So Hodgey may have thrown out the leg and caught Lappin. Not so much an instance of acting out of self-preservation and cowardice, but a poor instinctive choice to stop Lappin from breaking away. Thankfully, it was the first and last time in Hodge's career that he committed such an act. I imagine, as a player, you would hate to be known for such deeds.
What was your question again? Some garbage aboutb why do I still follow the footy if it's so corrupt and the AFL bend over backwards looking after the the Swans? Was that it?So, as you've all conspicuously failed to point out one single aspect in which the MRP got the Goodes decision wrong, we've now moved on to the alleged hypocrisy of Swans fans? Time to change the thread title, coz you were getting nowhere with the old one anyway.
Anything else to add to the topic? Any fresh information come to light?
OK, so let's just accept that the MRP know their job, and Brereton should apologise for his unsubstantiated slur on one of the game's greats.