Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first

LT was cleared of any wrong doing, so, according to many of your fellow posters it was all ok.
he was suspended for 3 weeks, but got overturned
the rule was new then, if he did that this year, with the rohan outcome he would have been ssupended for 5 weeks or so

Many sydney fans have said that he has to change his technique/method

Could have done some serious damage to taylor hunt and rioli

Thread has been a cracker.

36 pages proving swans supporters are now the most precious group of supporters on Bigfooty.

Nah, it's not that great. Some of it makes no sense. (No offence intended, Suma)

The new sliding/leg rule is irrelevant to the Goodes vs Gibson incident. That new rule concerns players who dive or slide in on an opponent like Goodes did to Rioli in the Grand Final.

Last Saturday, Goodes tripped Gibson. Tripping an opponent has always been an infringement - a reportable offence if they use their leg because it can cause injuries. Gibson is out this week because of an ankle injury.

Driving your foot or knee into an opponent when you arrive late to a contest is also against the rules, but Suma Magic would've needed to activate the idiot filter and actually read the thread to know this had also been discussed, so it's understandable he missed that.

Which leaves this:

This is probably the main reason why you like his post so much. Swans fans are understandably prickly when aspects of Goodesy's courage are called into question. It was probably a mistake in some ways for Dermie to touch this raw nerve because it muddies the waters and leads to derailment of sensible discussion.

Like many others, Dermie acknowledged Goodes is a champion, praised his courage and said he thought there was no malice behind Goodesy's actions. The problem is that Goodes has a bad habit which needs to be addressed and must be penalised by umpires and MRP.

There are many aspects to courage. All AFL footballers display courage just to get out there and play, even the "softest" players. Players show courage when they go in and get the ball. They show courage when they put their body on the line, be it a collision, a front-on tackle, flying for a mark, or just standing under a high ball.

There is the courage to play through pain and injury. There's the courage to keep running in the last quarter when the brain is screaming for the body to quit. There's the courage to step up and be the man to lead their team to victory when the game is on the line and a hero is required.

Goodes ticks most of these boxes. However, there has been some question marks over his courage when it comes to getting hit. He is hardly alone in this respect. All players have moments of trepidation, even a psycho such as Glen Archer admited to being fearful on occasion. So it's probably unfair to single Goodes out for this.

In his early days, Goodes avoided collisions and he was branded as soft by many critics. It's hard to change perceptions, especially for running link player who plays "first receiver" in the mould of someone like Craig Bradley (albeit a 194cm version who can take a mark and do some ruckwork). To his credit, Goodes has worked hard to overcome his deficiencies and he has become a harder footballer, no question about it.

I just think where this "knees and feet first" stuff is concerned, we're all just using different terms for the same thing. You might say it's instinctive - Roosy reckons it's his muscle memory - Brereton described it as "lacking gladiator-like courage" and not wanting to put your head at risk - I would describe it as a self-preservation streak. It all adds up to the same thing. If Goodes doesn't want to risk his head, he needs to then back off a little. He can't keep leading with his legs.

Let's imagine I was that guy who was down on the fence and abused the shit out of Goodes for tripping Gibson and injuring his ankle. We all know Goodesy is a gentleman who turns the other cheek to his critics, but let's just say he was to take offence and confront me. I have no qualms in admitting that if he was to get in my face, grab my shirt and threaten to box my ears, I would probably take a big dump in my pants.

Courage is a relative thing.

You really do need to get over this infatuation with Goodes thing.

Why don't you just walk away from the screen for a couple hours. Do something else. Perhaps watch the replay of the GF. It may help you find the definition of courageous. It's what Goodes & his team mates did on a day when it mattered most no matter how many people gave them no chance or how hurt they were.
There are other forms of courage shown on the footy field as well. Like having a shot for goal rather than passing it off to a less experienced team mate (Gunston) instead of showing courage in the most important match of the year. Buddy lacked courage that day. Watch it!

Gibson is being rested (GWS) to give Spangher a game....................his ankle is fine................that comes from a reliable source.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-13/brereton-launches-scathing-attack-on-goodes

It's a good read, despite the inflammatory headline.

Basically, Brereton acknowledges that Goodes is a champion player and a champion bloke. He says Goodes has shown enormous courage in the past to play with injuries, but he lacks the "gladiatorial-type courage" of risking his head in the contests. Reckons he's prone to going in feet first.

Brereton contends this play is dangerous, liable to cause injury to opponents and in this instance, Josh Gibson was lucky not to be seriously hurt by Goodesy's feet-first ploy.

It's interesting the AFL changed the rules and the umps now penalise courageous players such as Luke Hodge, who risk their head, dive on the ball and win possession. Yet no free kick was given to Josh Gibson, who was about to take possession and had his legs unceremoniously kicked out from under him.

Brereton argues that Goodes was lucky not to be suspended by the MRP - that Goodes also has prior form for going into contests feet first and (accidentally) kicking & kneeing opponents.

Apparently Gibson was furious at Goodes' actions and perplexed at the inaction from the umpires.

Dermie rightfully points out that Goodes has been shown a fair amount of leniency in the past.

No doubt, people will bag Brereton for his forthright comments, just as they bagged Leigh Matthews for labelling Goodes a "protected species" a couple of years ago.

I think it's good we have some people working in the media who aren't afraid to speak out against current day players on footy-related matters. There are far too many gormless sheep working in the media who are scared to ruffle feathers. Too many people who are scared of upsetting the big knobs like Andy Demetriou.

The Swans wlll probably use this ammunition for the next time we meet, but the real issue here is why does Adam Goodes get a free pass from the AFL to go around kicking and kneeing his opponents (incidentally) all because he too scared to put his head over the ball?

Goodes is great at running hard to receive a possession and he is built like an ox, but for such a revered player, why is he so afraid of crashing in head first and winning the hard ball? Why does he always go in with his feet first?

Goodes vs Gibson @ 2:00 minute mark of this clip ^^

EDIT: Messenger sounds off on the Podcast

dermie is spot on

You really do need to get over this infatuation with Goodes thing.
On the contrary, you need to get over your infatuation with Goodes and realise nobody is above criticism.

Why don't you just walk away from the screen for a couple hours. Do something else.
Why post shit like that to someone else on a message board? Why don't you "get away from your screen" if you don't want to discuss the issue? You don't know me. I hadn't been staring at my screen for hours, you silly sausage.

Perhaps watch the replay of the GF. It may help you find the definition of courageous. It's what Goodes & his team mates did on a day when it mattered most no matter how many people gave them no chance or how hurt they were.
I've watched replays of the Grand Final a few times, again last Saturday. Good game. Disappointing for Hawthorn, sure, but they had a crack. I can't fault their effort. Players hurting from both teams, but the Swans and Hawks gave it everything they had. Wrong of people to imply otherwise or say the Hawks choked.

It was a game of fine margins where a few of the breaks didn't go Hawthorn's way, but that's footy. Sydney seized their chances better than Hawthorn, not just goal-scoring chances, but their players seized the key moments better than their Hawk counterparts. They were better than us in some important contests. I never begrudged Sydney victory, nor am I offended and bleeding.

I reckon it's bullshit to say people gave the Swans "no chance". That was just Sydney people using the opinion of d1ckheads in the media to pump themselves up. Hawthorn were more wary of the Swans last year than any other team. Both teams fought a titanic duel for top spot at the SCG just four weeks earlier - a game that could've gone either way, just like the Grand Final.

So I mostly ignore the rhetoric from Swans fans about how "Hawk fans think they stole Hawthorn's premiership cup". This is way for Swans fans to sprinkle cinnamon on the icing of their premiership cake. Hawk fans were disappointed to see their team blow a golden opportunity, but they acknowledged Sydney deserved it.

There are other forms of courage shown on the footy field as well. Like having a shot for goal rather than passing it off to a less experienced team mate (Gunston) instead of showing courage in the most important match of the year. Buddy lacked courage that day. Watch it!
I agree with you, that's another form of courage - to have the balls to take the shot at goal. Kind of laughable to accuse Buddy of this. Has there ever been a player in AFL history more willing to have a shot at goal than Buddy? I've lost count of the number of times he has kicked crunch goals in the last quarter.

I think people were way too critical of him for a his misses and for passing the ball to Gunstan. That's just the same old Buddy knockers finally getting their chance to say "See, I told you so!" There was a strong, swirling, tricky breeze that gave all players problems kicking towards the Punt Rd End.

I think Franklin made the correct decision to pass the ball Gunstan. His choice was either to attempt a kick from outside 50m into a tricky wind, or pass the ball off to Hawthorn's most accurate set-shot kick who was standing all on his own just 25m from goal. It's a no brainer. Had Buddy elected to burn Gunstan, take the shot himself and missed, his knockers would've said "Selfish Buddy"

Sometimes you can't win...

Gibson is being rested (GWS) to give Spangher a game....................his ankle is fine................that comes from a reliable source.

No, that's untrue.

Alastair Clarkson confirmed today that Josh Gibson received an ankle injury from the Goodes trip

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-17/youre-asking-foolish-questions
Clarkson confirmed Gibson sustained the injury in an incident involving Swans star Adam Goodes, for which Goodes was cleared of sliding by the Match Review Panel.

Clarkson said the injury wasn't severe.

"We'll just make sure he gets it right this week and hopefully gets back into it next week,"

Not severe, he said, but don't try and claim Gibson's ankle is "fine".

Tossers on here can brand us Hawk fans as "squealers", but something I've always admired about the club is they don't squeal and complain. You'll notice they haven't in this instance either. Gibson is out with an injured ankle, but the club hasn't made a song and dance about it.

Dermie has quite rightly given Goodes a serve. Much better than all gutless squibs in the media who haven't said a word about it. It makes all the criticism of Buddy & MRP the previous week very hollow. Playing favourites, as usual.

You know it's a pity this was started by a Hawthorn supporter because I feel like this topic has some merit, I don't think anyone in this thread can really know what Goodes was thinking and they're just coming at it from what angle they see fit because of their own bias. What I do find disappointing though is some Swans fans completely dismissing it because Goodes is a Swans player.
However at the same time I feel like some Hawthorn fans are being presumptuous and off topic and I don't understand why moderators haven't done something about the constant trolling by 2 or 3 posters.
Regarding the incident itself when I looked at it it seemed a little strange, but it doesn't look like the kind of incident that was intended to cause serious damage and I don't think that's what he intended. If he was actually suspended for that for a week I could understand why but some people acting as though it's had purposely intended to end this guy's career is just ridiculous.
I don't recognise courage as just an inside midfielder type, and with a team made up of players like Bolton & O'Keefe he just doesn't need to do that. However if a game was on the line and he had to go for a contest I think that he would and to me that makes him courageous.

You know it's a pity this was started by a Hawthorn supporter because I feel like this topic has some merit, I don't think anyone in this thread can really know what Goodes was thinking and they're just coming at it from what angle they see fit because of their own bias. What I do find disappointing though is some Swans fans completely dismissing it because Goodes is a Swans player.
However at the same time I feel like some Hawthorn fans are being presumptuous and off topic and I don't understand why moderators haven't done something about the constant trolling by 2 or 3 posters.
Regarding the incident itself when I looked at it it seemed a little strange, but it doesn't look like the kind of incident that was intended to cause serious damage and I don't think that's what he intended. If he was actually suspended for that for a week I could understand why but some people acting as though it's had purposely intended to end this guy's career is just ridiculous.
I don't recognise courage as just an inside midfielder type, and with a team made up of players like Bolton & O'Keefe he just doesn't need to do that. However if a game was on the line and he had to go for a contest I think that he would and to me that makes him courageous.
Excellent post.

Oh do you two ever shut up? Seriously it's off topic rubbish.
Agreed, it's rubbish. The thread is/was full of off-topic rubbish.
Odd how I get shit-canned for biting back at people who have a crack at me first, but anyway...

You know it's a pity this was started by a Hawthorn supporter because I feel like this topic has some merit, I don't think anyone in this thread can really know what Goodes was thinking and they're just coming at it from what angle they see fit because of their own bias.
True. My own bias is that I was livid about the Goodes slide on Rioli and even more pissed off about the Gibson trip. And not even free kick!!!

What I do find disappointing though is some Swans fans completely dismissing it because Goodes is a Swans player.
I think the most disappointing thing about it is that it's left to Dermott Brereton to criticise Bambi and draw attention to his dangerous play, which leaves Dermie wide open for all the fools to get stuck into him for being biased and a hypocrite, etc etc

I think most people silently agree with Brereton. It was probably a mistake for him to mention "gladiator-like courage", but at least this created a bit of a controversy, which brought it to more people's attention than had he been more measured with his comments.

I also think it's disappointing the AFL and umpires have gone fairly soft on Goodes over the years for this type of crap.

I'm sure if you went back and read through the entire thread, you'd find most of the trolling and off-topic deflections and insults were coming from a dozen or so Swans fans. God knows how many of their posts were removed my the mods.

I've tried to stick to the issues, for the most part. Not always easy when you have Swans trolls who refuse to stick to the topic, but hurl insults and arrows, or try to bait Hawk fans with crap about the 2012 flag.

It's not just the one incident though. It's the pattern. It's repeat incidents.

Goodes kneed Surjan. He nearly destroyed Rioli in the Grand Final. He was also cited for an incident during the pre-season. Last weekend, he tripped Gibson who now misses a game with an ankle injury. Four incidents in the past 18 matches. Many more going back further than that.

I think Brereton put it best when he described Goodes as a great champion of the game, but he remarked that it's default method he uses which is dangerous and that would be a shame if he was to seriously injure another player and be remembered for that.

And yes, Brereton should know about these things. He is well-qualified to speak on tainted legacies. He had a fantastic career. One of the great CHFs who played in 5 premierships, but people mostly remember him for stomping on Tallis' head, laying out Van der Haar, belting Dany Frawley and racially vilifying Nicky Winmar. People talk about this shit more often than Dermie kicking 8 goals in the 1985 Grand Final.

Fair enough, I think Dermie was trying to find a reason why Goodes would go in feet first. I think he is closer to the mark than Roosy's muscle-memory theory. "Lacking courage" is probably not the right word. Self-preservation is a better term, I think.

Oh come mate your real intent was to discredit him and then hype up your player. Pathetic.

Again chewy people will remember goodes as the champion who played with a PCL during the GF and stared and they will remember the hawks as massive chokers. You better hope for your own sanity that your team wins the flag this year..becasue anything else is a complete and utter failure that will be immortalised forever in the annuls of history.

Huh? We lost a GF. That's not a complete and utter failure. We aren't even flag favourites this year (at least not in my mind, Geelong is clearly that).

Melbourne is a complete and utter failure that will be immortalised forever in the annals of history.

Stop taking a moral high road.

I called you out for your pathetic attempt to have a go at Goodes. Thats what it was, nothing more nothing less. That was your intended purpose..and then you get on your moral high horse.

How about my other posts? So do you consider cheap shot merchants, wacking blokes behind play, stepping on an 18 year olds head with force and blatant racism every weekend the actions of a courageous player?

Go on, get all moral about that chewy.

To be fair, in Dermie's day whacking blokes behind play was part of the game - i.e whack and be whacked - so not seen as lacking courage. Different standards and can't apply todays game standards to it. Which we are seeing with what is happening with the bump.

I spose we cannot quote roosys support of goodes of course

Of course not as roos is at bigfooty bay level when it comes to commentating about swans players. His commentary is excreable listening...

Aside from the obvious hypocrisy from the countless Hawthorn supporters who defended Buddy last week, I'd like to get a few opinions on this incident from the grand final.

Nearbreak_zpsb936d753.png

Clearly going for the legs instead of the ball, and it's only Jetta's rubber bones that saved him from a Rohan-esque fate.

I can't seem to find any threads on this matter. Strange, that.

Sliding not yet a rule as of 2012 GF. Still shouldn't be a rule. KB and his bunch of floggy floggy flog fools.

Goodes lines up Cyril from 15m away and slides straight in at his legs, feet/knees first

No free kick - no report - another player nearly serilously hurt

How the AFL keeps letting him get away with this crap is an utter disgrace.

4287486-3x2-700x467.jpg

Again, sliding in 2012 GF not a rule.

Agreed, it's rubbish. The thread is/was full of off-topic rubbish.
Odd how I get shit-canned for biting back at people who have a crack at me first, but anyway...

True. My own bias is that I was livid about the Goodes slide on Rioli and even more pissed off about the Gibson trip. And not even free kick!!!

I think the most disappointing thing about it is that it's left to Dermott Brereton to criticise Bambi and draw attention to his dangerous play, which leaves Dermie wide open for all the fools to get stuck into him for being biased and a hypocrite, etc etc

I think most people silently agree with Brereton. It was probably a mistake for him to mention "gladiator-like courage", but at least this created a bit of a controversy, which brought it to more people's attention than had he been more measured with his comments.

I also think it's disappointing the AFL and umpires have gone fairly soft on Goodes over the years for this type of crap.

I'm sure if you went back and read through the entire thread, you'd find most of the trolling and off-topic deflections and insults were coming from a dozen or so Swans fans. God knows how many of their posts were removed my the mods.

I've tried to stick to the issues, for the most part. Not always easy when you have Swans trolls who refuse to stick to the topic, but hurl insults and arrows, or try to bait Hawk fans with crap about the 2012 flag.

It's not just the one incident though. It's the pattern. It's repeat incidents.

Goodes kneed Surjan. He nearly destroyed Rioli in the Grand Final. He was also cited for an incident during the pre-season. Last weekend, he tripped Gibson who now misses a game with an ankle injury. Four incidents in the past 18 matches. Many more going back further than that.

I think Brereton put it best when he described Goodes as a great champion of the game, but he remarked that it's default method he uses which is dangerous and that would be a shame if he was to seriously injure another player and be remembered for that.

And yes, Brereton should know about these things. He is well-qualified to speak on tainted legacies. He had a fantastic career. One of the great CHFs who played in 5 premierships, but people mostly remember him for stomping on Tallis' head, laying out Van der Haar, belting Dany Frawley and racially vilifying Nicky Winmar. People talk about this shit more often than Dermie kicking 8 goals in the 1985 Grand Final.

Fair enough, I think Dermie was trying to find a reason why Goodes would go in feet first. I think he is closer to the mark than Roosy's muscle-memory theory. "Lacking courage" is probably not the right word. Self-preservation is a better term, I think.

I can't multi-quote or type much on iPhone but:
I don't disagree with a lot of the things you've said Chewy. In fact, knowing your posting history style and your dislike for the Swans and our posters, I would even say that is a good post.

I won't disagree that Goodes slides in tackles, he does sometimes, but it's not enough for it to warrant the outrage it has. Aside from the 3 incidents you've brought up, no others stick out, and three games is nothing in a 300+ career.
This incident didn't seem as overt as the others, and I'm not entirely sure what his motive was. However I will say that having watched him for a long time, he does often toe poke forward, with the intention of burning off players. Maybe that's what he was going for, I really don't know. As for the Surjan incident, he really didn't 'knee' Surjan. In fact the contact was so minimal, the official Fremantle report said that Surjan had grass abrasions. I know which GF incident you are talking about and I do remember watching the replay and thinking he was quite lucky to not get something for it. However I genuinely believe that Adam doesn't go in with the intention to cause long term damage, or any injury to the opposition. Yet I concede that what he does has potential for injury, just like a lot of plays you see now on the field. I do wish he would cut it out of his game, but the hysteria in this thread does not match up to his actions.

Another thing, Hawthorn posters can't come in here and plead innocence either. I read the first few pages, and aside from some rubbish by a few North fans, there was pretty obvious trolling by your supporters. Add that to a whole off season where some Sydney fans were ungracious winners, and some Hawthorn fans were sore losers, and you don't have a thread that's going to generate discussion. I don't care if I get banned for this, but the level of moderation seriously needs to be looked at in some threads.

I can't multi-quote or type much on iPhone but:
I don't disagree with a lot of the things you've said Chewy. In fact, knowing your posting history style and your dislike for the Swans and our posters, I would even say that is a good post.
Cheers

I won't disagree that Goodes slides in tackles, he does sometimes, but it's not enough for it to warrant the outrage it has. Aside from the 3 incidents you've brought up, no others stick out, and three games is nothing in a 300+ career.
No, there's been more than 3 over the years. It's an ingrained habit of Goodes that he has done many times.

Attention has never really been drawn to it because there wasn't a strict rule against sliding, it's been one of those self-regulated aspects of the game where players show a bit of respect towards each other (a bit like kneeing someone in the back as hard you can in a marking contest)

Sliding into the legs is one of those things that became more and more prevalent. Goodes vs Rioli wasn't even the worse one against Cyril last year. In an early season game, Mathew Stokes charged straight at him from 20m away and slid into him front-on. Luckily Cyril is an agile freak of nature, saw Stokes coming in the nick of time and launched himself upwards as Stoked collected him. A bee's dick away from a broken leg or ruptured ACL and I'm not exaggerating.

The AFL don't really want to change rules and piss everyone off, but eventually they had to say, "Righto, you f**kers... that's it. No more. Here's the new rule."

This incident didn't seem as overt as the others, and I'm not entirely sure what his motive was. However I will say that having watched him for a long time, he does often toe poke forward, with the intention of burning off players. Maybe that's what he was going for, I really don't know.
Maybe... I don't think so... He wasn't within reach of the ball when he stuck his foot out. If Gibson wasn't there and Goodes had done exactly the same, he would've come up a foot or so short with his toe-poke. Imagine that. That would've looked pretty silly. The most unco Brownlow medalist ever. :D

Maybe Goodes gpt caught in 2 minds as he aggressively attacked that contest - perhaps he was thinking "toepoke" but saw Gibbo was there first and he decided to go through with it anyway just to put some physical pressure on Gibson. Net result was a trip - not an intentional act... not a negligent act... probably reckless...

Yeah... That's what i think...

As for the Surjan incident, he really didn't 'knee' Surjan. In fact the contact was so minimal, the official Fremantle report said that Surjan had grass abrasions. I know which GF incident you are talking about and I do remember watching the replay and thinking he was quite lucky to not get something for it. However I genuinely believe that Adam doesn't go in with the intention to cause long term damage, or any injury to the opposition. Yet I concede that what he does has potential for injury, just like a lot of plays you see now on the field. I do wish he would cut it out of his game, but the hysteria in this thread does not match up to his actions.
A footballer is nothing without his legs. That's the reason for the "hysteria". I think much of the angst over high contact is unwarranted. Fair enough, protect the head, suspend the biff-merchants, but the level of carry-on about these things is over-the-top, IMO. Sliding into legs can cause season ending injuries - career ending injuries - so no, i don't think the level of "hysteria" has been enough for what Goodes does. Nobody has had their knee wrecked by him yet, but he is an accident waiting to happen.

I'm glad it's come to head this week and even though Longmire said "he doesn't care about what Dermie thinks of him", hopefully Goodesy will have more of a think about the manner in which he attacks the contest.

I don't care if I get banned for this, but the level of moderation seriously needs to be looked at in some threads.
I agree. The problem is Sydney fans think you're trolling just because you criticise their champion player for his dangerous play and question his courage in these contests. It's fine if they disagree, but I fail to see why the discussion can't be had without them getting personal and attacking other posters because of who they barrack for.

I also wonder about the way threads are monitored by the Mods. There seems to be nobody in charge who reads through any of it and keeps people in line. We seem to be posting on a message board that resorts to people dobbing each other in. Anytime someone gets stressed or offended over a post, they report it and one of the mods either deletes it or ignores them. It doesn't seem to matter about the context in which the post was made, or numerous other posts that preceded it which were far worse and weren't reported.

I am not 100% sure that Goodes was intending to hurt. A split second situation and the ball is in front of him. I just think he was trying to toe poke it.

But.

It was stupid, it was incredibly dangerous to Josh Gibson, and Gibbo had every right to be pissed off about it. Didn't even get a free kick.

I think this is a perfect explanation on the situation. There was no malice, no intent, i think but it was incredibly dangerous. I think he deserved a couple of weeks at least on the sideline, and gibson deserved a penalty on the night. Brereton had the right to comment saying he should get a suspension.

but comments like:

"But when it comes to putting his head over the ball and copping body on body, he chooses to go feet-first at other people's peril.

"There is a lot of courage in Adam Goodes. But the gladiatorial-type courage of copping one big to the head - Goodes goes feet-first."

An attack on the character of a player over one incident without malice or intent is a massive generalization and is wrong. Goodes has been suspended before over a similar incident, but again it is not common or with intent. I think it makes Brereton look like an idiot, and it actually calls in to question some of the valid points made.

In short:
- Goodes should have been suspended
- Gibson should have received a penalty
- Brereton is an idiot and should learn some respect to players. Unless he learns some respect he should shut the f#"& up.

but comments like:

"But when it comes to putting his head over the ball and copping body on body, he chooses to go feet-first at other people's peril.

"There is a lot of courage in Adam Goodes. But the gladiatorial-type courage of copping one big to the head - Goodes goes feet-first."

An attack on the character of a player over one incident without malice or intent is a massive generalization and is wrong. Goodes has been suspended before over a similar incident, but again it is not common or with intent. I think it makes Brereton look like an idiot, and it actually calls in to question some of the valid points made.

In short:
- Goodes should have been suspended
- Gibson should have received a penalty
- Brereton is an idiot and should learn some respect to players. Unless he learns some respect he should shut the f#"& up.

Brereton is an idiot, last week he carries on like a child about Goodes is a coward for going feet first and not having the courage to put his head over the ball.

This week he's complaining that the three Selwood brothers and Shuey get too many frees, all of these players in every game consistently bend over and put their heads over the ball and hence draw more free then players who don't have the courage to "take the hit".

So Dermie exactly which way do you want a player to play???

Brereton is and was an absolute goose last night after the game:thumbsdown:[/quote]

To be fair, in Dermie's day whacking blokes behind play was part of the game - i.e whack and be whacked - so not seen as lacking courage. Different standards and can't apply todays game standards to it. Which we are seeing with what is happening with the bump.
I don't give a rats when it was, when Derm played, whacking a bloke when he wasn't looking was probably looked at worse than it is now, very un Australian

Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first