Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first

so dermie got his comeuppance from boomer harvey and now adam goodes and john longmire. dermie seems to overextrapolate his theories, especially when it involves Hawthorn. He is a flog and in danger of being the neil harvey of the afl

Reckless act. No intent to hurt but just stupid. Simple as that. He should stop doing it and it was worse than Nat Fyfes kick that he got rubbed out for.

Goodes has a history of this, and I'm not sure how he can get off without sanction from the MRP time and again. One week for the Surjan incident is complete b*llshit. He will never get called out by the main media personalities either, they are too busy trying to please the AFL all the time.
Fantastic footballer, but it's not like this is the first time he has done something reckless to keep his own body out of harm's way. Can't see why he would stop either, considering he gets away with it.

That it was a lot less clumsy and dangerous than swinging a boot at the ball with someone over it. See, answering questions directly isn't hard. Go back and give it a try.

Pose a question worth answering and i'll have a crack at it.

If that is genuinely your opinion, then you're not worth discussing this with as you are seriously deluded, i'm out.

What about keeping your feet putting your head down and trying to pick it up with your hands? Would that be to hard?
By then he was behind Gibson, so he could have put his head down, but it wouldnt have helped, as he wouldnt reach the ball. He could have waited and tackled Gibson, but I suspect he was still in, `how do I get the ball first, despite being behind mode.`.

Goodes has a history of this, and I'm not sure how he can get off without sanction from the MRP time and again. One week for the Surjan incident is complete b*llshit. He will never get called out by the main media personalities either, they are too busy trying to please the AFL all the time.
Given both Surjan and Goodes both dropped and slid at the ball (Surjan studs up, Goodes knees forward), and that the entire incident took place at sprinting pace over the course of about a second, what exactly would you have done differently? Not a generic action like 'tackle' or 'bump', but exact steps to attack the ball without getting your legs slid into or hitting Surjan high.

I played amateurs mate, what level is not the point. I can't believe as an ex player you think what he did was OK? Ask your ex player mates what they think?

See ball. Push ball forward & away from contest to team mates advantage. Doesn't nearly kicking a blokes head off ring a bell with you mate. This stuff wasn't an issue when I played. Game is different now. Don't forget Goodes has been playing now since about 1997. Plenty rule changes have been implemented. He is a big man playing like a small man.

Dermie is barracking rather than commentating here.

Just saw it for the first time, looked to me like he was trying to kick the ball.

I was expecting something much worse after Dermie's whinge.

He was trying to kick the ball, only problem was he kicked Gibbo instead. I don't think anyone has said the guy went in there trying to maim Gibbo, it was just a careless act that potentially could have done a lot more harm. Gibbo was in quite a bit of discomfort after it and had to leave the field.

I think there are plenty of smarter ways to attack the ball without throwing your leg at it while your opponent is over it. He could have kept his feet and attacked the ball or bumped Gibbo but he chose not to put his head over it and throw his foot at it. If it was a one off incident then nothing would be made of it. I think Dermie's point was Goodes has history with this kind of thing and chooses to not put his head over the pill when at times he probably should. I agree with him on this and at the same time still think Goodes is a gun and a fair player. Probably just one thing he could do a little better.

Mainly basing my opinion on the "fallout" from the incident the following week where Gary Rohan had his leg broken.

I'm not sure what relevance that holds in regards to what I posted, but if you're saying that my opinion on Goodes is void because of what a North Melbourne player did in a game, then that is ridiculous.
Or are you saying that it should not have even been a free kick to Surjan because the umpires (who probably weren't the same as those in the Rohan incident) should have seen into the future and realised that something unfortunate was going to happen to a Sydney player, therefore Goodes should not be penalised for his recklessness? I'm confused.

Lol... a grade amateurs shit football.... ok what ever you think.

Are you thick mate? Read what people are saying... It was a dog act, not saying he is a dog bloke. Calm down FFS

So as a bloke who played a lot you recon what he did was OK?

And what you say are fine specials at my club include high court judges, current primer of WA, many CEOs, mostly professionals, 2 ex players are the the West Coast executive.

The reason I said most posters onthis thread haven't played footy is because posters who think what Goodes did was OK..... And no players I know think it was.

Mate also I think you have an anger problem, I hope you don't get to wound up and take it out on the wife or kids or cat..... Take a deep breath bloke.

I sponsor such clubs. You think judges can't be drunks?

You make too many assumptions about people.

I'm not sure what relevance that holds in regards to what I posted, but if you're saying that my opinion on Goodes is void because of what a North Melbourne player did in a game, then that is ridiculous. Or are you saying that it should not have even been a free kick to Surjan because the umpires (who probably weren't the same as those in the Rohan incident) should have seen into the future and realised that something unfortunate was going to happen to a Sydney player, therefore Goodes should not be penalised for his recklessness? I'm confused.

I think it's fairly obvious that I wasn't suggesting that, it would be nonsensical. I understand that is how your mind works, though.

The MRP / tribunal decided on Goodes and Thomas. I don't think they change from one week to the next, but if they were randomly selected from passing pedestrians, it would explain their results. All I would like is some consistency. The two incidents were in consecutive weeks in the same competition. Accepting that breaking a leg is fair play (which I assume you do), bumping a thigh is not worth a free kick. Alternatively, if Goodes bumping Surjan deserved a week, Thomas deserved a penalty for his carelessness in line with the impact.

Adam Goodes lacks courage in the contested situations when he goes in feet first