Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

I refuse to feel sorry for the club until Nisbett is out the door.

There will be no major shake up until that happens.

This is fair

There needs to be a reset and that can’t happen in any substantial sense until he moves on

Others can then be judged on what they do without his fingerprints over every decision

I’ve said it before (I think) but one thing Simpson should be given credit for is he’s taking a giant s**t sandwich on behalf of the club through all this

He’s partly culpable for where we are but he’s far from the only one responsible but he’s the one fronting up to the media every week defending the club and the players
Nisbett's not making any statement or bearing some of the brunt shows how totally and utterly out of touch with the supporters the guy is.
He's coming across as gutless in the extreme.

I’ve said it before (I think) but one thing Simpson should be given credit for is he’s taking a giant s**t sandwich on behalf of the club through all this

He’s partly culpable for where we are but he’s far from the only one responsible but he’s the one fronting up to the media every week defending the club and the players

And paid handsomely to do so. I don't think we expected the player availability to force us off a cliff quite this big, this fast, but I do believe Simmo was retained to cop the heat a rookie coach wouldn't be able to deal with.

Imagine trying to implement new plans, training, structures, education, while copping a barrage of accusations and pointed questions by a fired up local media in a footy mad state. How Adam Simpson came into the club is the same way he should be replaced. At least set his successor up for that success.

Not so sure about that.
Rotham started alright and went backwards.
O’Neill showed glimpses but hasn’t improved.
Waterman has had 7 seasons and never really gotten too much better
Petrol the same
It’s been ages since we’ve developed a later pick into good player

Maybe they’ve just never been good enough but I’ve seen glimpses of afl players in all of them but they never seem to put it together for periods of time and develop into solid b22 players.

Our development coaches are Brennan, Horsley and Nicoski. None really inspire me with confidence. They were all relatively new out of football when they joined the Eagles. Brennan coached a colts team I think but still a big jump up to AFL. Maybe we need someone who actually has had some good results in developing young afl talent.

We don’t want to be halting the next generation of players development in Hough, Bazzo, Ginbey and Co

We (or clubs in general) don't develop later picks into good players. They develop themselves. Clubs just provide the structure and environment. Obviously it's easier for player to play in a winning side, and you have the luxury of easing them in (but that's more circumstance than development).

And with Rotham - game plan didn't suit him. Not so much development, but coachinh.
O'Neill - I think they should have just given him an extended run at some stage over the last 2 seasons. For whatever reason, they didn't do it. You could maybe argue that's part of development, but he's the only player in that boat.

You’re not counting the couple of softball Ryan Daniels interviews that Fitzpatrick has done?

And paid handsomely to do so. I don't think we expected the player availability to force us off a cliff quite this big, this fast, but I do believe Simmo was retained to cop the heat a rookie coach wouldn't be able to deal with.

Imagine trying to implement new plans, training, structures, education, while copping a barrage of accusations and pointed questions by a fired up local media in a footy mad state. How Adam Simpson came into the club is the same way he should be replaced. At least set his successor up for that success.

100% agree.

In fact from several comments from Simo it came across that he was here to stay for the tough rebuild years but inferred he wouldn't be here when we would be contending again.

Almost as if he was admitting he's in a crap situation and is here to manage that. Not the next flag window.

That’s why he is paid what he is, surely you don’t think the list manager, assistant coaches etc should be doing his job for him? Tough job this coaching, if you get the credit when you succeed you have to take the responsibility when it goes shit. I will give Simmo that, he is copping it as he should but staying firm in his beliefs.
It s very clear only his contract is saving him, I have not an ounce of doubt if that stupid contract was not in place he would be gone and I reckon most at the club want him gone.
They just can’t do it because of the money.

This is fair

There needs to be a reset and that can’t happen in any substantial sense until he moves on

Others can then be judged on what they do without his fingerprints over every decision
I'm all for drop kicking him out the door.

But I'd love to know how much he is involved in day to day things and is he inteferring in Simmos duties.

That’s why he is paid what he is, surely you don’t think the list manager, assistant coaches etc should be doing his job for him? Tough job this coaching, if you get the credit when you succeed you have to take the responsibility when it goes s**t. I will give Simmo that, he is copping it as he should but staying firm in his beliefs.
It s very clear only his contract is saving him, I have not an ounce of doubt if that stupid contract was not in place he would be gone and I reckon most at the club want him gone.
They just can’t do it because of the money.

Could be a fair bit of self interest in that. Buys more breathing room...

This is fair

I refuse to feel sorry for the club until Nisbett is out the door.

There will be no major shake up until that happens.

FEF8B6F4-8E79-4144-BE32-164B8015C782.jpeg

Nisbett's not making any statement or bearing some of the brunt shows how totally and utterly out of touch with the supporters the guy is.
He's coming across as gutless in the extreme.
I read it as his ticket has been stamped and he has been told. It doesnt appear taht he accepts, but my gut feel is that the board is on to him.

What i hear from my family member who works at The West/Channel 7 and is friends with people like Duffield is that Nisbett and Simpson are still telling the Board that everything will right itself once we go back to a normal run with injuries. They are kind of putting a weighting of 90% on the injuries (i.e. injuries are 90% of the explanation for where we are and everything else is a collective 10%). And the Board are still buying it at this stage. They think they just have to batten down the hatches and get through this period until injuries revert to the mean and even if we won't be anywhere near the top 8 we will be competitive again and the 100 point beltings will be a thing of the past. I think they are totally delusional. Injuries account for 20% of the problem IMO. Our list being crap even if no injuries is 50% of the problem. It is not like we have Oliver, Petracca and Bontempelli waiting on the sidelines ready to come back in. There are no superstars on the injury list. We will just be replacing one plodder with another plodder.

You can kind of see the external evidence of this in the fact they are still refusing an external review and refusing to ask for a PP. Also in the interview Wyatt did the other day where whenever he had brief moments where he stopped reading the script and trotting out the cliches/buzzwords that the club's media department have told them to trot out (i.e. we are hurting too, this is totally unacceptable etc), when he was in an unguarded/unscripted moment where he just said what was in his head rather than what was on the script what did his mind come back around to and what he he choose talk about - injuries. What does Simpson keep trying to bring everything back to in every media engagement he has - injuries. He can't stop talking about the injury list. They really think injuries explains all of it. I really think that we even if we stuck with all of them were still sitting on 1 win for the season in Round 15 2024 he current crew would still be refusing a review and have some external factor that they would be blaming everything on. The capacity of the human mind for delusion and denial is pretty breathtaking when you see it action.

What i hear from my family member who works at The West/Channel 7 and is friends with people like Duffield is that Nisbett and Simpson are still telling the Board that everything will right itself once we go back to a normal run with injuries. They are kind of putting a weighting of 90% on the injuries (i.e. injuries are 90% of the explanation for where we are and everything else is a collective 10%). And the Board are still buying it at this stage. They think they just have to batten down the hatches and get through this period until injuries revert to the mean and even if we won't be anywhere near the top 8 we will be competitive again and the 100 point beltings will be a thing of the past. I think they are totally delusional. Injuries account for 20% of the problem IMO. Our list being crap even if no injuries is 50% of the problem. It is not like we have Oliver, Petracca and Bontempelli waiting on the sidelines ready to come back in. There are no superstars on the injury list. We will just be replacing one plodder with another plodder.

You can kind of see the external evidence of this in the fact they are still refusing an external review and refusing to ask for a PP. Also in the interview Wyatt did the other day where whenever he had brief moments where he stopped reading the script and trotting out the cliches/buzzwords that the club's media department have told them to trot out (i.e. we are hurting too, this is totally unacceptable etc), when he was in an unguarded/unscripted moment where he just said what was in his head rather than what was on the script what did his mind come back around to and what he he choose talk about - injuries. What does Simpson keep trying to bring everything back to in every media engagement he has - injuries. He can't stop talking about the injury list. They really think injuries explains all of it. I really think that we even if we stuck with all of them were still sitting on 1 win for the season in Round 15 2024 he current crew would still be refusing a review and have some external factor that they would be blaming everything on. The capacity of the human mind for delusion and denial is pretty breathtaking when you see it action.
West/7 and Duffield- not quite reliable I suspect. Some will have their own groupthink and agenda. But who knows?

It seems like because Nisbett only has one more year in his contract and because a payout to Nisbett will not attract any luxury tax from the AFL and because seasoned CEO talent is going to be easier to find than senior coaching talent that Nisbett is likely to get sacked before Simpson. Plus you have somebody from the club leaking to the likes of Duffield and they are saying that Nisbett is in the firing line. I mean Duffield puts out an article saying that the S&C department is in the firing line and two days later the S&C guy gets sacked. Somebody within the club clearly tipped him off to that and the same person at the same time is saying Nisbett is more under the gun than Simpson.

I mean, when you can't choose an AFL level team for 2 seasons, it's somewhat fair to lay the majority of the blame at injuries, no?

I'm not suggesting we'd be off the bottom of the ladder with a fit list either, by any means, but if you're a builder and someone else has broken all your tools, you've probably got every right to feel aggrieved when people suggest it's directly your fault, when Davo was the one who broke them and was given a job by your boss(Nisbett).

Now, despite what certain people on here think, I have no vested interest in whether Simmo coaches long term, or leaves tomorrow but he has repeatedly stated that they are rebuilding and will soon have the youngest list in the AFL, so I'm unsure of where you family member has gotten the idea that Simmo thinks all will be right when the cavalry comes back. He's given quite the opposite opinion in every press conference since this shemozzle began.

I think they are totally delusional.
I'm not bothered about our current predicament. I'm not bothered that Simmo hasn't been sacked yet. What bothers me is I think he's delusional.

Half way through 2020 you could see the players had given up executing the game plan. A top tier coach would have seen this and taken action. Dropped players, traded players, changed game plan etc. By the time he worked out the game plan was no longer viable, our list was rooted (no fault of Simmo). Then the injuries came and masked our real level. Then came last weekend where it's become clear the senior players still don't want to contest the hard ball (even though the game plan has changed).

So if we get all our players back, we're still bottom 4. Bottom 4 comes with occasional 100pt hidings. That's okay. But what worries me is we have senior players who are mentally cooked. That's not going to be ideal when we have tons of young talent coming through the door.

Even though the buck stops with Simmo, he can take the view that the senior players have let him down. If he's still coach in 2024, he needs to send a clear message and wield the stick in the form of trading and delisting some senior players. Send the message to the rest of them that he is the big dog and will not tolerate mediocrity. I don't care about climbing the ladder next year, but I do care about who is leading our young draftees.

It seems like because Nisbett only has one more year in his contract and because a payout to Nisbett will not attract any luxury tax from the AFL and because seasoned CEO talent is going to be easier to find than senior coaching talent that Nisbett is likely to get sacked before Simpson. Plus you have somebody from the club leaking to the likes of Duffield and they are saying that Nisbett is in the firing line. I mean Duffield puts out an article saying that the S&C department is in the firing line and two days later the S&C guy gets sacked. Somebody within the club clearly tipped him off to that and the same person at the same time is saying Nisbett is more under the gun than Simpson.
RoJo gone full Judas.

On face value its not entirely wrong in the short term, the first 3 games of the year are evidence of that.

But the last 2 years is just giving an insight as to what will be heading our way once all these injured senior players are gone for good. So getting it underway asap would be in the best interests of the club.

Doesn’t feel like many at the club share the same thoughts. They’re continuously holding onto some sort of misguided hope that we’ll get these 30+ yo perennially injured players back on the park for 1-2 seasons, to finish 8-14th before they hang up the boots and we’re back to where we are now. Don’t have to look any further than the midseason draft as recent evidence of that.

The board needs to act now because we’ll just waste another 2-3 years before starting this same process again.