Administration - The AFL v NRL *Moderator Approved* - Rules in OP

Seems like the NRL are about to do the same as the AFL did 5 years ago with a bucket load of money, no doubt targeting AFL areas.

The most interesting thing for me will be the media's response. Will it see the NRL as attacking AFL area's as it did with the AFL in Western Sydney and the Gold Coast?

It is more than possible that with touch football numbers included, that the NRL or ARL will be the biggest sporting league in Australia, but then again RL has a great track record of shooting itself in the foot, it's fans are amongst the biggest whingers IMO, and many RL fans carry a huge chip on their shoulder regarding AF and the AFL, so who knows.

At the end of the day the biggest problem facing RL in this country is going to be their inability to get Australian kids of Anglo/Irish/European extraction to play, the NRL is becoming a enclave of big polynesian athletes, and that does not look like stopping any time soon, just a guess ( from memory) but the NRL may be at around 40/50 % Polynesians, maybe more.

Even if fees are cheaper, the game promoted more etc, no parents want to see little/medium or even big Johnny steamrolled by a huge Polynesian kids twice his height and weight, ..... from my observations that is precisely what a lot of the game of RL consists of.

Whilst that does not appear to have hurt leagues like the NFL ( with African/Americans) RL is traditionally much more structured along traditional volunteer run grass roots lines, unlike America where schools run American Football.

But i have no doubt that Perth is on the radar, but i would be suprised if at the end of the day it succeeds more than a few years.

Brisbane 2 and NZ 2 would also be on the radar.

Seems like the NRL are about to do the same as the AFL did 5 years ago with a bucket load of money, no doubt targeting AFL areas.

The most interesting thing for me will be the media's response. Will it see the NRL as attacking AFL area's as it did with the AFL in Western Sydney and the Gold Coast?

Dont think it will scare the AFL that much its only $50 million a year and that wont go far.They would need to spend more than that every year on Adelaide and Perth teams to make them successfull.

When or if the RL clubs ever get 800,000 members then it could be a cause for concern but not right now.

Australian Football is still way out in front on almost all KPIs and I would think soccer in Sydney would be the biggest threat to RL and even RU is starting to pick off some of the star RL players which must effect the appeal of the game..

The club finances comparison is apple and oranges really.

I know that a good chunk of that $75 Million from Collingwood is gaming revenue. When they analyse NRL clubs, they generally do not take into consideration revenue from the associated leagues clubs.

Speaking for my club (Canberra), one of the smallest teams in the comp, we take in about $50 million p.a and that's not including money from others investments such as property. We've now also got another $80 million property development project lined up and awaiting approval in the city centre.

Canterbury-Bankstown takes in about $100 million p.a on top of the $25 odd million from football operations.

The Penrith Panthers Group are the biggest of all, taking in about $150 million p.a.
they are far from apple and oranges
They will make an assault on Perth, no doubt about it.
the crowds & ratings are pretty bad for perth well, as pubs & clubs not allowed to have poke machines. poker machines 80 percent of the bills of an NRL club

If they were about to spend 200 million in Adelaide and Perth it would be the same, but no.

They desperately need to shore up NSW and QLD ATM, at grass roots level the RL playing stocks are not that great, at either senior or junior level, touch football/rugby is a different matter, it is very popular, and i would imagine that the powers that be, use it to build interest in the NRL and hope to get players to cross to the real game.

But as i suggested in my earlier post, that is going to be very difficult, the real attraction of RL for most people is the physicility and brutality of the sport, i just cannot see a whole new demo picking it up, that demo is already playing it.

At the end of the day the biggest problem facing RL in this country is going to be their inability to get Australian kids of Anglo/Irish/European extraction to play, the NRL is becoming a enclave of big polynesian athletes, and that does not look like stopping any time soon, just a guess ( from memory) but the NRL may be at around 40/50 % Polynesians, maybe more.
Its 37%

page 18
http://e-brochures.com.au/nrl/annualreport2013/

Interesting is the player numbers in football states

State -Players - Teams - Clubs
Vic - 2,860 - 140 - 24
SA - 1036 - 32 - 13
WA - 3260 - 136 -25
Tas - 140 - 5 - 5
NT - 2112 - 102 - 15

Not going to bother disputing those figures, and if correct, that puts WA in the frame, however the vast majority of RL players in Perth tend to be Kiwis ( polynesian kiwis) , rather than Eastern Staters, and they go where the work is rather than settle in one spot. (my observation)

Any growth at senior or junior level in WA is primarily based on Kiwi immigration IMO, and once again RL is probably going to struggle to move out of the polynesian demo.

Add to that 11% which are indigenous (i.e. roughly the same as the AFL) and that is almost 50% of the comp.

FWIU indigenous % has been going down for a number of years.

And FWI also understand if the Toyota ( ?) cup ( under 20's) is added in Polynesian % is up around 50%

I stand corrected on both points.

This article is by Roy Masters, so TBH i have my doubts on its veracity, buit anyways .....

http://www.smh.com.au/news/lhqnews/broy-mastersb/2009/04/23/1240079798304.html

The percentage of indigenous players in the premiership has fallen from 21 per cent in the 1990s to 11 per cent today

they are far from apple and oranges

the crowds & ratings are pretty bad for perth well, as pubs & clubs not allowed to have poke machines. poker machines 80 percent of the bills of an NRL club

How many AFL clubs break even on footy ops, without pokies they'd close the doors big time. True too of most NRL clubs, not all methinks.

very true, but the poke venues also cost money to run & clubs pay extra taxes on the winnings. but if they wern't making money from them they wouldn't have them.what makes Collingwood & hawthorn the most cashed up clubs in vic is they have by far the most about of pokes. Most AFL clubs release financial reports every year, nearly all NRL clubs don't but i have found the the one for the Canberra raiders from 2012 of their 26,064,929 revenue a total 18,637,576 came from gaming operations, the rest was from football operations.
many AFL clubs are still generating 35, 40 million at least from sponsorship, membership & gate receipts, the NRL clubs generate stuff all money, poor crowds & membership & sponsorship
if you hunt round on google the NRL clubs have leagues clubs with reports, the leagues clubs are rather cashed up, but the NRL rugby club is the face & name of the leagues club

The WC Pirates Academy team who were recently in NSW.

1012553_662430113819953_1035920653_n.jpg

Shock horror a heap of white kids.

Oh my god, more white kids playing Rugby league. Chasing the Kiwi kid too. Well, I think he's a Kiwi.

558659_590887820974183_1815992082_n.jpg

Goodness me, is that team almost chock full of white guys really the 2013 Premiers?

1175751_582534608476171_495481020_n.jpg

Even at U12s there seems like a good mix of different kids.

1208540_581038361959129_50900739_n.jpg

The 2013 SG Ball Squad

waReds_sgBall_rnd3_v_magpies_teamPhoto_s800.jpg

Looks to me like plenty of white kids play the game too. Unless of course the vast amount of them must be all "Kiwis ( polynesian kiwis)" as fabulousphil claims.

Add to that 11% which are indigenous (i.e. roughly the same as the AFL) and that is almost 50% of the comp.

Not only is the indigenous % going down, but NSW and QLD have between them about 65% of Australias indigenous population.

For EX in 2006 NSW had 149k of people who identified themselves as indigenous, QLD had 146k, by Comparison WA had 78k, SA 26k, NT 66k and VIC 30k.

Hopefully RL's loss will be AF's gain.

The WC Pirates Academy team who were recently in NSW.

1012553_662430113819953_1035920653_n.jpg

Shock horror a heap of white kids.

Oh my god, more white kids playing Rugby league. Chasing the Kiwi kid too. Well, I think he's a Kiwi.

558659_590887820974183_1815992082_n.jpg

Goodness me, is that team almost chock full of white guys really the 2013 Premiers?

1175751_582534608476171_495481020_n.jpg

Even at U12s there seems like a good mix of different kids.

1208540_581038361959129_50900739_n.jpg

The 2013 SG Ball Squad

waReds_sgBall_rnd3_v_magpies_teamPhoto_s800.jpg

Looks to me like plenty of white kids play the game too. Unless of course the vast amount of them must be all "Kiwis ( polynesian kiwis)" as fabulousphil claims.

Thats my experience in Perth, if you have a different one, and you obviously do !, then thats great.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Western-Australia-Maori-Rugby-League/115659975190335

Maori play Rugby league in WA. :eek: I hope they mix in nice with all those white guys that play too.[/quote]

Yep, just like the Joondalup Premiership team under 14's.

2661367_1_O.jpg

My point is valid, whether you want to acknowledge it or not, RL in Perth is polynesian centric, and whilst that is great for all the Polynesians, and good luck to them, i am betting for one reason or another, that it is going to be very hard to attract demos outside of that, particuarly the very huge demographic that does not look kindly of their kids being steamrolled/trackled by bigger kids.

Social media reach

AFL facebook likes - 579,815
aussie rules - 29k
international aussie rules - 37
collingwood - 255k
west coast - 154k
hawthorn - 153k
carlton - 159k
swans - 137k
gws - 34k
richmond - 128k
fremantle - 109k
afl victoria -2k
afl south australia - 0
All Australian team -1k

NRL - 644,467
rugby league - 635k
international rugby league - 76k
brisbane - 331k
storm - 267k
warriors 195k
rabbitohs - 194k
eels - 175k
bulldogs - 150k
gold coast titans - 132k
nsw blues - 304k
maroons 483k
Australian Kangaroos - 145k

Yep, just like the Joondalup Premiership team under 14's.

2661367_1_O.jpg

My point is valid, whether you want to acknowledge it or not, RL in Perth is polynesian centric, and whilst that is great for all the Polynesians, and good luck to them, i am betting for one reason or another, that it is going to be very hard to attract demos outside of that, particuarly the very huge demographic that does not look kindly of their kids being steamrolled/trackled by bigger kids.

Yet the pics I posted showed a clear demographic of white kids playing the game which kind of makes your point that, "the vast majority of RL players in Perth tend to be Kiwis ( polynesian kiwis)" wrong.

Your right mate, i live here in Perth, i travel around the city and ever expanding burbs daily in my job, but yet what i see and hear with my own eyes and ears are wrong.

You are not actually answering any questions or points i have raised, but you post some pics and call me wrong.

Nice work from a mod :)

Social media reach

AFL facebook likes - 579,815
aussie rules - 29k
international aussie rules - 37
collingwood - 255k
west coast - 154k
hawthorn - 153k
carlton - 159k
swans - 137k
gws - 34k
richmond - 128k
fremantle - 109k
afl victoria -2k
afl south australia - 0
All Australian team -1k

NRL - 644,467
rugby league - 635k
international rugby league - 76k
brisbane - 331k
storm - 267k
warriors 195k
rabbitohs - 194k
eels - 175k
bulldogs - 150k
gold coast titans - 132k
nsw blues - 304k
maroons 483k
Australian Kangaroos - 145k

Great barometer, thanks for sharing :), up their with membership and attendance.

Your right mate, i live here in Perth, i travel around the city and ever expanding burbs daily in my job, but yet what i see and hear with my own eyes and ears are wrong.

You are not actually answering any questions or points i have raised, but you post some pics and call me wrong.

Nice work from a mod :)

Well, it was better than you repeatedly telling us it was fact without any proof at all. At least I gave something which dispels your theory.