Competitions AFC Board Draft Game 2019/20 Main Competition Thread - Now with Poll!

Should the draft extend beyond 30 rounds?

It’s not a bad way to go, I’ve got Tim Kelly and Bailey Smith within the last five or so rounds in the 2017 and 2018 drafts respectively

Hoping Ash can overtake Shaw quicker than anyone expects

Yeah agreed. Most of the time I think first year players go too early so was happy a decent one was still available

colin oriordan.jpg

Pick 485 - The Angry Leavers take Colin O'Riordan

Irish convert who played 12 games this year and is apparently one of the coaches favourites. Seems to be well settled in now and I think will surprise some people. Should play most games barring injury.

FAITH

Port are so much further than us in terms of list management and recruiting it's annoying
They really arent. Their list is way more unbalanced than ours with a number of rubbish players on significant contracts. What they did do was give younger players an extended run at the top level so long as those players were shorter than 5"10. That's hardly something to be envious of. With Pyke, Campo and Burton now gone and a new culture being built the constant selection of underperforming senior players or players who are just plain cooked should be a thing of the past with youth having a big impact, which is what most here have demanded for years. Port are a clown show.

Port are so much further than us in terms of list management and recruiting it's annoying
Yeah, no.

They've not been able to decide whether they were stocking up to challenge or they were rebuilding.

They new have a bunch of young mid sized forwards, and aging talls and mids. Their list makeup is all over the shop.

Yeah, no.

They've not been able to decide whether they were stocking up to challenge or they were rebuilding.

They new have a bunch of young mid sized forwards, and aging talls and mids. Their list makeup is all over the shop.

Yeah what was the point of recruiting Motlop, Rockliff and Watts only to shift gears a year later to trade out Wingard and Polec.

Bizarre strategy

And you know that how ?? That is the rhetoric pushed by the Port Adelaide football club, which is purely spin. Surely you're better than that and are capable of seeing past it.
mate, have you ever chatted to any of those 2 boys out and about town?
complete knobs.

i know Port are hated on here, but that was a great and ballsy list management decision, one our club wouldnt have done in a million years.

complete knobs.

i know Port are hated on here, but that was a great and ballsy list management decision, one our club wouldnt have done in a million years.
What, trade out players heading in to the peak of their career. For good reason.

As for going to speak to footy players I don't know at nightclubs in a football town, no I've never done it because I know the response I will likely get. I've hung with a few Lions players through a mate of mine, as well as a number of Broncos players. A lot of footy players have massive egos and will come across as complete flogs. Nothing new there. It's partly why they are so good at what they do. It's certainly not just something you can solely take aim at Wingard and Polec for. Which is why it's so easy to see past the obvious spin. Haven't you noticed their pattern of every incoming player being the greatest thing ever and the outgoing players being surplus to their needs or no good. It's desperation in an attempt to retain members.

What, trade out players heading in to the peak of their career. For good reason.

As for going to speak to footy players I don't know at nightclubs in a football town, no I've never done it because I know the response I will likely get. I've hung with a few Lions players through a mate of mine, as well as a number of Broncos players. A lot of footy players have massive egos and will come across as complete flogs. Nothing new there. It's partly why they are so good at what they do. It's certainly not just something you can solely take aim at Wingard and Polec for. Which is why it's so easy to see past the obvious spin. Haven't you noticed their pattern of every incoming player being the greatest thing ever and the outgoing players being surplus to their needs or no good. It's desperation in an attempt to retain members.

i respect your opinion, but disagree with it.
The kids they've brought in to the club the last 2 season are exceptional, scarificing polec,pittard and wingard is well worth it.

i respect your opinion, but disagree with it.
The kids they've brought in to the club the last 2 season are exceptional, scarificing polec,pittard and wingard is well worth it.
If you're just talking in isolation about the kids they've brought in, they've definitely performed well so far and look promising for the future. In years gone by they've also had plenty of players perform well in their formative years and then stagnate greatly. So it will be interesting to see whether these kids break that mold. As for whole of list management, I just don't see how you can think they are doing a good job. It's a list way out of balance, destined for nowhere and will take some time to fix imo.

i really like their list, but as i said hinkley and voss dont know what theyre doing with those players.

complete knobs.

Absolute rubbish.

Despite the fact that the club traded our Jenkins and Betts just this year - who were shocking for undermining and leaking to the media - Polec and Wingard were doing nothing damaging to the club and its success. They might be weird units, but they weren't disrupting the team.

They were two of their best five mature players, and they were traded out after Port had spent the previous few years trading the farm to get Dixon, Ryder, Rockliff, Watts and Motlop!

They got rid of them because they couldn't afford them. That's the only reason.

Competitions AFC Board Draft Game 2019/20 Main Competition Thread - Now with Poll!