AFL 2006 Talk

BlackMamba said:
Yep, thats what I do. Pretty much just tap kick so it chips to the guy in the middle. But you have to beware, because sometimes the opposition will change their kickout tactics to cut-off that chip, and they'll have a man marking the guy in the middle.
Otherwise I go to him, then quickly kick it to my CHF in the middle of the ground, and try to get the quick counter-attack while the forward line is open.

The AI is extremly good this year the same thing happens in my ruck hitouts I will constantly tap it towards my goal then they start to man up on my guy and eventually start knoking him over and getting the ball out of the middle and start kicking goals

And does anyone know what technology other games use to get the face on the players and why the eye toy technology couldn't be used, if it was already put into the game like that surely it wouldnt lag.

mini_me316 said:
And does anyone know what technology other games use to get the face on the players and why the eye toy technology couldn't be used, if it was already put into the game like that surely it wouldnt lag.
Well you can only load four EyeToy Cameos at the moment, so if five was the limit, thats why it doesn't lag at the moment. It'd be good to find out if they could use a different technology that does that....but in most other games there's less detail in other areas. (like the stadiums aren't as good as the ones in AFL, less crowd detail in other games, and there's less than 44 players on the field/pitch/court)

My team has turned the corner and i can now regularly smash any opponent on Medium difficulty :) I won 4 games in a row by 50 points or more, the first game was against Port Adelaide (easily going to win the wooden spoon this current season as they were 0 - 8 at the time). I booted 13 goals in the first quarter to their solidary point :D. Sadly i couldn't emulate the same score in the following quarters, but by the end of the game i was double the score that i was at the end of teh 1st quarter - 156, against their 21 :thumbsu:

I actually am thinking that the game has some "automatic AI points" - by this i mean that i've simulated some games and got the result. I'd reload from my last save point and play the game i just simmed..... only to lose by the same margin i lost by that i simmed the game on. I did this a few other times with a few other matches and again i either won or lost by the margin the simulated game said i either won or lost by. I found it interesting.

Going to have to trade up a storm at the end of the season, way over the salary cap :p I will have 1 or 2 retirements at the end of the year as a few are pushing their limits and are playing at 31-34.

melbournemartin said:
Okay with the development points and such...how do you get a player to have a special ability?

I got Bate up to 100 with kick distance yet he still doesn't have a long kick special ability...

you also need to max out strength and balance.

JOELY said:
Gameplay gameplay gameplay! forget the graphics, a long as it's smooth, it's fine. it's a mistake i see with so many sports games. each year so much work is done to make the graphics even better, but the playability stays too similar. I long for a great afl game, and there's potential with this series, just don't get caught up with the graphics trend. :thumbsu:

Trust me, the gameplay was the highest priority in 2006 and will continue to be so along with content.

oh okay thanks FH :)

Can you tell me what age it is when players start to decline with their skills?

I'm up to round 18 i think in first season and neitz is down from 88 to 86.

You know how Dennis will occasionally give a spiel as you're kicking in about the rule change "this year".
Wanted to know if he says it in subsequent seasons as well????

Also, love the intro's to the missions....even though everything above 'rookie' is killing me.
Am about 9 games into my bombers career, and so far it's reflecting quite well on 2006......West Coast flogged me by 120 pts......McDOugall (who??) kicked 18.8 :S

I just got the game a couple of days ago and while I can genuinely say it is a major improvement over last years game, several areas need to be fixed for next years game.
Please, please, please revert back to the sideline camera that was used for AFL Premiership Edition. I can't stand End Pan at all, and Sideline just becomes too hard when the camera does not switch to behind the player when a mark is taken. Also when kicking in from a behind, can you make it so the camera is permanetly centred behind the player it is incredibly hard to kick it on tight angles. Otherwise not too bad.

illnino said:
Could be why your getting bored with the game.........Go back to Normal or Easy Mode :thumbsu:
I actually ment 8 wins 0 losses...
that was on Normal and I still managed to win easily for my first attempt on Hard and havent played since then
Maybe me winning so easily was why I got bored of it
There were a lot of pros that can be taken out of the game but still I only found it good for a week or two, mostly due to little things that would've probably kept me playing for longer if they were included so I'm looking foward to AFL 2007

One thing for 2007, with player developement points can it be like Fight night and you physically choose a player to train and take them to the training track and kick for a bit to get full points or just get it done automatically at the cost of losing some points

One thing im dissapointed of is that once you start a new season, the main fixture from 2006 is carried over to the next season. Dissapointed they didn't mix up the fixtures.

Jeffers1984 said:
One thing im dissapointed of is that once you start a new season, the main fixture from 2006 is carried over to the next season. Dissapointed they didn't mix up the fixtures.

You must have been very unlucky/lucky with the random draw for the next season as I can tell you that the draw each season is indeed random.

FH, can you put up a list of what needs to be at 100 for each special ability eg. speccie, buckets, engine, motor etc. thanks mate. I'm at a great point in the game now where i don't reckon i'll get any better at it, and i'm going well on hard, pretty much even with the cpu with teams of the same abillity, however in my season my team is about 87 overall and about 500k over the salary cap, so i'm winning almost every game, but just lost a beauty to the saints.
Up by a goal at quarter time, then kicking with the wind they got 2 points in front at half time, then i kicked 6 goals to 0 in the 3rd term to lead by 35 at 3 quarter time. Then in the last quarter i made all my onballers and wingers tagging their forwards so i had a 12 man backline, Ebert kicked 3 goals from about 60 with the wind at his back and we lost by 3 points after they kicked 6.3 to 0.0 in the last quarter, i lost 8.5.53 to 8.2.50. Loving this game, the camera angles are a pain in the arse though when they change realy quickly

How are teams rated in the new one? On AFL 2004 and PE, it seems that I can play five or six seasons in a row and Port, Geelong and St Kilda are always in the bottom of the ladder. Do you guys at IR Gurus hate them or something?

Also, teams like Richmond and Hawthorn continually finish high up in the finals. Brisbane and Adelaide do too.

goDees22 said:
FH, can you put up a list of what needs to be at 100 for each special ability eg. speccie, buckets, engine, motor etc. thanks mate.

No worries...

Harasser - strength, agility
Buckets - agility, marking, strength
Speccie - jumping, marking, speed
Spearhead - accuracy, balance, kicking distance
Aggressor - strength, stamina, durability
Long kick - kicking distance, strength, balance
Motor - speed, agility, balance
Engine - stamina, durability
Evasion - agility, balance

If you win a Brownlow the following are boosted to 100 for a season - speed, strength, agility, stamina, accuracy, balance.

If you win the Coleman Medal the following are boosted to 100 for a season - accuracy, balance, kicking distance, durability, strength.

jorel6669 said:
How are teams rated in the new one? On AFL 2004 and PE, it seems that I can play five or six seasons in a row and Port, Geelong and St Kilda are always in the bottom of the ladder. Do you guys at IR Gurus hate them or something?

Also, teams like Richmond and Hawthorn continually finish high up in the finals. Brisbane and Adelaide do too.

Players are individually rated based on skill, age etc. When selecting teams the rating is based on the average score for every player on that team list.

In season/career mode the 22 players selected for a side make up the team rating for each round. So if you lose some experience it will show in your team rating. You're only as good as the team you put on the park.

Don't think there's any bias towards teams in AFL2006. The ratings were done early in the season once team lists were finalised. Like any year however some guys come on really quickly and others go backwards so there are some underrated and overrated players.

I'm a Hawks supporter but I have had nothing to do with Hawks side being good in previous versions. You'd need to take that up with the Designer from those games. When rating players for this years teams a lot of work was done to make them as accurate as possible. Hope all the hard work was worth it. :)

Innocent Bystander said:
I just got the game a couple of days ago and while I can genuinely say it is a major improvement over last years game, several areas need to be fixed for next years game.
Please, please, please revert back to the sideline camera that was used for AFL Premiership Edition. I can't stand End Pan at all, and Sideline just becomes too hard when the camera does not switch to behind the player when a mark is taken. Also when kicking in from a behind, can you make it so the camera is permanetly centred behind the player it is incredibly hard to kick it on tight angles. Otherwise not too bad.

Your prayers are answered. These will be definite inclusions for 2007. :thumbsu:

Jeffers1984 said:

I had this problem too, i was very dissapointed...

And Schulz's last name is called in the commentary as "Smith".

And it sh*ts me when I line up for goal, a player follows me within the five metre protection zone of the player in possession, and he smothers the ball as I kick for goal without having been called play-on.

Not sure if this has been mentioned.

I started Kennedy in the RFP. Later in the game Eddie Betts was moved to this position. And this made Betts a 195cm monster!

Apparently this happened in last years edition - I never noticed it.

FH could the next game feature individual tactics telling the player to run with the ball or go up forward or play as the loose man in defence or something like that because I've noticed with Troy Simmonds as my ruckman he doesn't get too many possesions unlike real life so I was wondering maybe if there could be something for maybe a select amount of players in the match to have individual tactics.
Also the forwards could run up the ground or the backman could run off half back to get possesions.

AFL 2006 Talk