AFL 2006 Talk

mini_me316 said:
FH could the next game feature individual tactics telling the player to run with the ball or go up forward or play as the loose man in defence or something like that because I've noticed with Troy Simmonds as my ruckman he doesn't get too many possesions unlike real life so I was wondering maybe if there could be something for maybe a select amount of players in the match to have individual tactics.
Also the forwards could run up the ground or the backman could run off half back to get possesions.

Yeah I'm looking into player tactics at the mo. Starting with player attitude which refers to how close/far away they stand their man when he hasn't got the ball. I'm also looking at the ability to assign extra roles like spare man in defence, running back etc to individual players in your side. This should a) see more contested or uncontested footy depending on what you set and b) added depth to the tactics to allow them to influence the game more

Don't know what happened to a hard mode that was actually hard- the first season I was dominating from about halfway through on medium, Lynch won the brownlow by about 20 votes and kicked 180 goals for the year including 16 and 21 respectively in the PF and GF (5 minute quarters). Not a problem, I'll bump it up to hard next year- same thing, no need to bother with interchanges or anything like that, just belt the ball forward from the ruck, kick it to FF and goal :eek:

Still winning by 100+ pretty much every game, Lynch kicking 10+ on an average day- I fired the game up again today after not playing for a while, NAB Cup against the Kangas, down 3.2 to 0.1 at quarter time and finished up winning by 91 points (Lynch kicked 16 in the last three quarters).

brad352 said:
Don't know what happened to a hard mode that was actually hard- the first season I was dominating from about halfway through on medium, Lynch won the brownlow by about 20 votes and kicked 180 goals for the year including 16 and 21 respectively in the PF and GF (5 minute quarters). Not a problem, I'll bump it up to hard next year- same thing, no need to bother with interchanges or anything like that, just belt the ball forward from the ruck, kick it to FF and goal :eek:

Still winning by 100+ pretty much every game, Lynch kicking 10+ on an average day- I fired the game up again today after not playing for a while, NAB Cup against the Kangas, down 3.2 to 0.1 at quarter time and finished up winning by 91 points (Lynch kicked 16 in the last three quarters).

I reckon the answer to this is through a catch-up logic. You can have it on/off but I'm wondering what else can be done when I get complaints that the game is too hard or too easy. The thing is that catch-up needs to be smart and not contain superhuman AI controlled players. Will think about it. Got any ideas?

Fiery Hawk said:
I reckon the answer to this is through a catch-up logic. You can have it on/off but I'm wondering what else can be done when I get complaints that the game is too hard or too easy. The thing is that catch-up needs to be smart and not contain superhuman AI controlled players. Will think about it. Got any ideas?

No catch up logic just make it harder.

Have like 5 difficulties for a wider spread as some will find hard to difficult.

I have a few suggestions etc but to put them in one post would kill all you dial-up users.

Atmosphere, any of you who have played the american sport titles know it really feels like a game, in NHL especially when it's a tight contest the commentators mention it and you really feel like the game could go either way, or sometimes it can be a real grind of a game and it feels that way, it's hard to describe but i would suggest having a look at all the major american sport titles and implement things relevant to AFL. The easiest place to get ideas is from the best isn't it.

I am slowly building up Kennedy and Murphy. Both on 73 at the moment and my ambition is too boost em up to 85 by the end of season 07. During the trade week i offloaded Whitnall, Walker and Mclaren for Hodge, Mitchell, Johnstone, Jacobs and Motlop. I also picked up Symes, Raines and Scott stevens in the Draft.:thumbsu:

Power21 said:
Have like 5 difficulties for a wider spread as some will find hard to difficult.

And don't call them easy, normal and hard.
Make it Rookie, Reserve, Senior, Veteren.
Something like that so you know what grade of footy you play.

brad352 said:
I'll bump it up to hard next year- same thing, no need to bother with interchanges or anything like that, just belt the ball forward from the ruck, kick it to FF and goal .

And if you want to make the game harder make the rucking system harder.
A catch-up system might be good as long as it isn't too hard or easy to catch-up or loose a match from it.

I agree that the terminology for difficulty levels should reflect the subject matter - that's a gimme for 2007.

Not sure about the need for 6 difficulty levels if we provide a catch-up logic that can be tweaked by the User for their own needs. Essentially you'll be setting the difficulty level yourselves.

Increased atmosphere is a must and is up there on the priority list. I have all the american sports titles here at work so we are well aware of the need to improve in that area.

Fiery Hawk said:
I agree that the terminology for difficulty levels should reflect the subject matter - that's a gimme for 2007.

Not sure about the need for 6 difficulty levels if we provide a catch-up logic that can be tweaked by the User for their own needs. Essentially you'll be setting the difficulty level yourselves.

FH the catch up system should not be like the NBA Jam crap that made the entire game except the last minute pointless... catchup should be based on tactics such as dropping men behind play, playing tighter, and holding onto the ball a little longer to reduce scorelines.. I would hate to see a situation where you get a few goals ahead and then it just becomes impossible to beat the opposition because they are in catchup mode....

This needs to worked out very carefully because if it becomes unfair it wont be worth playing...

Everyone knows the old coaches saying that when an opposition kicks a couple of goals on you - you man up one-on-one and play tight accountable footy..

Yeah it's going to be a smart tactical approach from the opposition that will see them get back into the game. They may not show it on the scoreboard but in general play they'll adopt a better tactical approach. Like you said, it's back to the basics of manning up, supporting your team mates and applying pressure on the man with the ball.

Power21 said:
I have a few suggestions etc but to put them in one post would kill all you dial-up users.

Head over to here:
http://z14.invisionfree.com/AFL_Gaming_Ground/index.php?act=idx

There's three sections for posting suggestions for 2007. One for Bugs in 06, one for some fine-tuning aspects, and one for cool new additions.
Split each topic up so people can discuss the pros and cons of it.
Then the dial-up users can really take their time on it!!!! hehehe

There's heaps of posts up already. Have a look through...see if you like them or not....

Waite_30 said:
I am slowly building up Kennedy and Murphy. Both on 73 at the moment and my ambition is too boost em up to 85 by the end of season 07. During the trade week i offloaded Whitnall, Walker and Mclaren for Hodge, Mitchell, Johnstone, Jacobs and Motlop. I also picked up Symes, Raines and Scott stevens in the Draft.:thumbsu:

Ok thats why the game sucks.

This is for fiery hawk.......was wondering bout something to do with the clock to make it more realistic and more interesting....having the clock not stop at stoppages and stuff like when u go to the footy....so we could have 26 min quarters etc.........or have the proper time until 5 mins then revert to the normal clock that has the whole quarter mins.....understand wat i mean

Got the game today. And its the been best afl game ive played.

The only real problem is goalkicking on the run when you have to aim at the goal in the bottom thing.
Sometimes you have to wait alot until it gets there and by the time you do that you get tackled

The Roofseal said:
This is for fiery hawk.......was wondering bout something to do with the clock to make it more realistic and more interesting....having the clock not stop at stoppages and stuff like when u go to the footy....so we could have 26 min quarters etc.........or have the proper time until 5 mins then revert to the normal clock that has the whole quarter mins.....understand wat i mean
Yeah, they used to have the option for that. I'd like to see and hear the "5 Minute Warning" Thing as well.... That'd get you really excited in a close game!

BlackMamba said:
Yeah, they used to have the option for that. I'd like to see and hear the "5 Minute Warning" Thing as well.... That'd get you really excited in a close game!

yeah i agree... 2 minute , 5 minutes, 10 minutes etc should all count to ~30 mins just at different speeds.

All this talk about the game being to easy....I reckon I represent the normal population who work full time, play sport themselves and only get to play for a couple of hours every few days. Well actually maybe Im pretty crap at computer games, I finished the 2006 season on normal and finished 13th, and I just lost the NAB Cup grandfinal when Ashely Hansen was kicking for goal after the siren to win the game and didn't make the distance from 55m.

I think youll find most people dont find the game that easy, only the nerds with nothing better to do.

ALSO WHEN I STARTED THE 2007 SEASON ON CAREER MODE IT HAS THE SAME FIXTURES AS 2006. THAT IS ****E.

Cricket444 said:
All this talk about the game being to easy....I reckon I represent the normal population who work full time, play sport themselves and only get to play for a couple of hours every few days.
Hey that's me too! :thumbsu:

I've just started my first season on career mode with the Blues. Went through the Wiz Cup on Easy and won pretty comfortably.. was confident enough to move onto "Normal" to start the season proper..

I'm two games in. Got smashed by the Dees in round 1, and threatened the Dockers in round 2 before going down by about 4 goals. Really enjoying it though when I get a chance to play! :)

As Cricket444 said too, I don't have time to play it enough to be a superstar at it but I'm finding "Normal" difficulty a real challenge!

Yeah i played it again last night, after taking a break for a few days.... lost the skill i had built up in the process. I was belted by St Kilda (playing career mode on normal difficulty). I went further in the finals this time, managing a semi final appearance before the saints did me in.

I like the retirements, a few nights ago i did sim my way through the season i was on, just to get to the retirement stage so i could see who may/who may not retire. After a few tries Everitt, Crawford and Smith retired freeing up some room in the salary cap - but leaving a dent in the Ruck + midfield. Anyway when i was prepared to make some changes to sure up my list for season 2009, i found that on the attempt where i did progress to the 2009 season... Crawford & Everitt weren't on the retired players list and i still have them in the team :).

Whilst the game has lost its shine... i'm going to play it at least until i can be able to say i've
1) Won the preseason cup
2) Finished on top of the ladder
3) Won the premiership
4) Won back to back premierships.

Then i might officially give the game a rest i'm like this with other sports games aswell, like with Madden i won't stop playing until i've won the superbowl a few times.

AFL 2006 Talk