AFL 2006 Talk

carltonfan43 said:
im having trouble with marking and kicking goals on the run. also dont know how to tap straight down 2 someone in the ruck. Anyone know
Ruck: X is tap, and I think it'll automatically go to the nearest rover. Press it when you marker reaches the middle of the green on that display tht pops up.
What part are you having trouble with in regards to the marking and kicking goals on the run?

i dont know when to press x when going for the mark. and when i have a shot for goal on the run i get tackled before i can get the ball between the goals

carltonfan43 said:
i dont know when to press x when going for the mark. and when i have a shot for goal on the run i get tackled before i can get the ball between the goals
Press X when the shrinking circle crosses the green circle. Or instead Press Circle to Punch.
I think you should use X to kick at goal on the run. You must direct it with the left analog stick, but atleast you won't have to wait for the goal-meter to get to the correct position. It'll take some practice.

I prefer the D-pad to the analogue stick aswell. I just don't feel comfortable with the analogue stick, my only other problem with the game is the button set up, I'm used to the old set up where square was tackle and so forth, so atm I play on easy and kill sides then move up to normal and I'm to slow with the buttons and I don't even put up a contest, but more hours of practice will end that problem. Apart from that very happy with the game.

Zizou said:
Are the player stats unaccessable during gameplay?....surely not....

Surely you can wait till Quater time, half time, 3 quater time and full time to see the stats?

Good to see at this stage that the problems all seem to be very minor.

i couldnt care less about who has the tackles, the game is great, the new system for the team line up is good

love the feature of tagging, you don't have to choose ur line up for the back half in any order really,

Llyod starting killing me so i actually triple teamed him, i had Gaspar, Deledio and P.Bowden tagging him, Patty was playing as a winger and Deledio was my center, they all ended up going down and essendon played dumb footy, they kept looking for llyod but pat and gas would make the spoil and lids would get the crumb and clear the defence.

The tactic also worked when i was playing my mate who was west coast, Judd and Cousins where smashing me in the first half so i had Polo and Hyde running with Cousins and Johnson with Judd. The flipside is that it leaves a free man or 2 for the other team but you pick the right players to do it against, the lower rated players don't hurt you as much

Tackles are an essential stat that tells you how aggressive your team is going. In AFL 99 I used the tackle stats so that I aimed to make a certain amount of tackles each game to keep my team strong and hard to beat.

I'll still be happy with 2006 until 2007 comes out.

Tackles in a game like this are overated, well the stats for them are anyway, there is that amount of attempts at tackles in this game that it doesnt matter how many you have or not.

You should be able to decided for youself if you are tackling a lot or not and you generally notice which guys for you are doing the tackling for me in most games, its Tuck, Tambling and Pettifer that are sticking the tackles.

Just had a close game on Normal Difficulty against the computer. The lead was swaying back and forth. I actually punched the air when I kicked a goal in the final quarter....Not many games make me do that unless I'm playing against a mate.

Zizou said:
I have also noticed that, players' clearances aren't calculated, it stays 0 all the time.

No, they are calculated....theres just not many of them....I normally end up with only 2 or 3.

IMPORTANT RUCK INFO!

You only need to push punch/tap at the right time and you do not hold any direction at all.....took me a while, but I figured out if you win the contest, it will automatically direct the punch/tap to a teammate. Different rucking tactics means hitting to different teammates. This is also for throw-ins.

Ive moved down to 5 min quaters as a) games take foreeevvver on 10 mins and b) scores get unreallistically high. 5 mins results in most realistic scores.

BTW, does anyone change the tactics on the fly (using the d-pad)??? I find it difficult as they are represented by pictures (for def 50, att 50, centrebounce etc) and colours (for attack, balance, defend) and so for now, I have to pause the game to change them untill I figure out which is which :confused:

Still an awesome game that will see my fingers busy for at least a few months.....hopefully more!

EDIT: One more thing - FH, How bloody hard is it to make a decent radar!:p
White dots = yep......but you cant see the black ones because of the green field. Also, 07 should have the option of making the radar larger. Well done again mate!

illnino said:
No, they are calculated....theres just not many of them....I normally end up with only 2 or 3.

Well i don't agree, i had Licuria having 3 clearances, and he had 0 on the stats at the end of the 3rd quarter.

Zizou said:
Well i don't agree, i had Licuria having 3 clearances, and he had 0 on the stats at the end of the 3rd quarter.

Well they do on my game......but what they count as a clearance and what really is a clearance are 2 different things....anyone else's game not calculating clearances?

Also, if you guys are still interested I can make an AFL games site/forum. Probably be through Invision. Ive made a few before and it's pretty easy. What ya reckon?

AFL 2006 Talk