Multiplat AFL 23: Launch Thread (Xbox release date TBC)

STATE OF PLAY:
  • The game is out for Steam and PlayStation. There have been issues with Xbox release and it is unclear when the game will be available.
  • Big Ant are aware that there are playability issues & bugs at present.
  • Content has been temporarily removed from the game to identify where the issues lie.
  • This content will be re-introduced via patches in the coming days.
  • Big Ant have released a summary of what is to be reintroduced, which can be seen below.

Issues & constructive criticism are best communicated to: support.bigant.com

Michaels Twitch video with QA from Ross(BigAntStudios) from 31:40

BigAntStudios Hey Ross, understand you are under pressure now so I won't hold you up too much.
I have two questions, will the game have sliders, and I noticed that players have a specie rating but no specie button.... I'm assuming species will be automatic depending on the situation? Cheers.

On VOG-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yes

Patch notes from my experience so far:

Positives:
  • handballs work and are now viable to use
  • opposition actually tries to tackle you
  • fewer bugs
  • more congested footy

Needs fixing still:
  • interchange still isn’t avaliable to be automated
  • stats still aren’t here at the breaks
  • marking is still way too easy
  • the AI still haven’t learnt you’re allowed to spoil the ball
  • goal kicking from set shots and running is still too easy, guaranteed goals when the ball is inside 50
  • the AI don’t miss shots either
  • The AI also doesn’t sprint for some reason
Speccys?

Reckon some might need to go touch grass.

We all know it hasn't been a great day for BA, but they are a bunch of humans, and I hate to think the stress some of the devs are under to fix this stuff as they crunch away.

and the weird speed glitch and teleporting almost to pick up the ball needs to be fixed as well. Aswell is prior to picking up the ball attempting to turn and go for it yourself it feels like your player is running into a brick wall then teleportation occurs

Hahaha holy duck this game is a broken mess
First game was fun now I can just sprint end to end and not be tackled
Hand balling is horrific I’ve crashed 3 times in 25 minutes
15000 fans at the mcg to watch pies & cats
Is the latest patch big ant tweeted about out already?
If so this is a joke hahaha
If you're playing on Steam, yes it has.
If on PS, no it has not. Go do anything else until later.

My little lad was pretty keen to come home from school and play it with me - I just had to tell him I couldn't afford the game and we'll wait until next week just to save him from this.

For what it's worth, once I finally managed to get a full game together (my Hawthorn vs Crows play now game at Tio Stadium crashed a total of 11 times), I do see the potential. I'm sure the patches over the next few days will help - as much as I want state leagues/in game stats etc. the fundamentals are most important in these next few days. Guess it'll just be a bunch of play now matches to learn the controls/preferred cameras etc. and then I'll jump into management mode once we've got a fully patched version. Just praying the game is salvageable and we're on the up.

Feel for the team - today has got to hurt them just as much or more than us - nobody wants to release a broken game and be dragged through the coals. We've been burnt before, this hurts, but at least it's being addressed. Gotta ride the bumps with a grin and look ahead to what will hopefully be a top notch game in the next few weeks. Hopefully everyone has a milo and we can all calm down.

Did impartial streamer Mitch Robinson really give the game an 8/10?

this may have been fixed but on ps5 it feels like you cannot run at the ball carrier like once again the invisible wall of protection comes into play

Yeah - we found and fixed that bug today - if you create a custom stadium without a fence then it puts the interchange in the middle of the ground. (It was coded to attach the benches to the fence, didn't contemplate not having one.)
Yes guys it's our fault for making a stadium without a fence, what idiot would choose to make a stadium without a fence , you RUINED the game

No wonder there were no play sessions.
Spitting facts old mate.

No play sessions, no gameplay trailer.

Fake delays because game clearly not ready April 13th or whenever it was.

Alarming stuff. Lying to the consumer and then treating them like dirt, to then come out and release a pile of garbage for $100.

Never seen anything like it. Wonder if the patches actually correct how much of a mess this currently is.

People think otherwise because Redfall being released directly contradicts this.

As bad as Redfall is there are few if any game breaking bugs, it's just a severely underdone (and extremely underwhelming) game where as plenty of people are reporting crashes and various other game-breaking bugs for AFL 23.

Although we will likely never know the real answer it doesn't take a genius to work out that something has clearly gone wrong in the approval process with Microsoft and it is likely to do with the base game and or patch failing a QA test. The same thing occurred with the first few patches for Cricket 22 with Microsoft initially rejecting BA's patch submissions and therefore having the PS version several patches ahead of Xbox in the first month or so after release.

Reckon some might need to go touch grass.

We all know it hasn't been a great day for BA, but they are a bunch of humans, and I hate to think the stress some of the devs are under to fix this stuff as they crunch away.
I wiped out a whole server at work today because I was playing this and not paying attention. Impacted 3500 users. I feel that

once all this is fixed here's a cool feature i thought to add possibly rotating midfield line-ups similar to the second ruck and kick outs where you can assign more people to rotate through the midfield

I wiped out a whole server at work today because I was playing this and not paying attention. Impacted 3500 users. I feel that
Ouchie.