Multiplat AFL 23: Launch Thread (Xbox release date TBC)

STATE OF PLAY:
  • The game is out for Steam and PlayStation. There have been issues with Xbox release and it is unclear when the game will be available.
  • Big Ant are aware that there are playability issues & bugs at present.
  • Content has been temporarily removed from the game to identify where the issues lie.
  • This content will be re-introduced via patches in the coming days.
  • Big Ant have released a summary of what is to be reintroduced, which can be seen below.

Issues & constructive criticism are best communicated to: support.bigant.com

Michaels Twitch video with QA from Ross(BigAntStudios) from 31:40

You're right, but there's something going on here.

Easy, spanked. Medium, close. Hard, a bit tougher than medium (imo).

It's frustrating that the issues are commercial in confidence. For example, if the devs can access the sliders they probably would have fine tuned a few things like make tackling a bit more effective, bumped up the disposal error rate of the AI and so on. 85% is elite standard and we're well over 90% for all AI players. So... does that mean sliders aren't a thing? Could that be ground zero for a lot of the issues?

Similarly Evo 2 had 'distance from player' aka manning up, presumably this is a variable too. It hasn't been touched, again suggesting that we shouldn't get our hopes up for modifying this ourselves anytime soon.

Hopefully one day Ross can give us a bit of a deep dive on the s**t show that was the launch and explain what parts of the code were smashed, why it was so hard to restore from a backup etc. I don't think he has to throw anyone under a bus to do this, nor is it required. It would just be a really interesting story that will no doubt increase our appreciation for the types of things that can go wrong inside the code.

Yeah I think they're two different things though. Difficulties don't work as expected for sure. But the post I replied to was referring to different teams on the same difficulty, and I see it as more pro than con that some games you get smashed, some you do the smashing as some are close on the same difficulty level. Then hopefully you can start working on how to turn around performance in management mode vs the teams you struggle against whether via selection, tactics or list management. That would be a fun game.

Most AFL games to date the only recruitment that made any difference was either players with speed or a dominant ruckman. The rest didn't matter, every game would play the same way. And I'm a bit worried that the dominant ruckman is gonna be too important again but we'll see with future patches.

Yeah I think they're two different things though. Difficulties don't work as expected for sure. But the post I replied to was referring to different teams on the same difficulty, and I see it as more pro than con that some games you get smashed, some you do the smashing as some are close on the same difficulty level. Then hopefully you can start working on how to turn around performance in management mode vs the teams you struggle against whether via selection, tactics or list management. That would be a fun game.

Most AFL games to date the only recruitment that made any difference was either players with speed or a dominant ruckman. The rest didn't matter, every game would play the same way. And I'm a bit worried that the dominant ruckman is gonna be too important again but we'll see with future patches.
I could get on board with that for sure. I think the game definitely has the core there where they could program teams to play tactics that works to their strengths and this would add massive replayability to the game for sure that would be fun as hell trying new tactics and planning how you want to play based on the team your coming up against.

Edit: I actually put that in my latest feedback on their support site. That hopefully they introduce some randomness into the ruck contests IE something like higher rating makes it easier to time but doesn't guarantee winning each hit out and for AI to expand the range of timing AI gets to allow for it to be a better contest.

I could get on board with that for sure. I think the game definitely has the core there where they could program teams to play tactics that works to their strengths and this would add massive replayability to the game for sure that would be fun as hell trying new tactics and planning how you want to play based on the team your coming up against.

Yep for sure. Would love to constantly be reassessing tactics and team composition not for shits and giggles but to genuinely try and win games of footy.

5th crash of the day during the same pre season match in Manager Mode.

If BigAnt are checking this forum can you PLEASE fix the crashing issues on PS5. I’ve already mentioned my displeasure with sprint speeds/acceleration and player turning circles but if I can’t even get through games what’s the use of fixing gameplay.View attachment 1683611

Stop playing manager mode it is completely broken and at least 2 months away

Had a new bug tonight. Made some changes in the interchange menu. Then a player I benched took a mark in front of goal and got removed froim the field. The ball went back as if an invisible player was taking a set shot and then the game just sat there with the clock ticking way beyong 30 seconds. But I couldn't do anything. So I figured I'd wait the 3 mins for the half to end. But nothing happened. I just had to exit the match.

I'll find my previous bug reports on Big Ant Support Soon and refresh the list to reflect recent changes.

Marking is still certainly broken.

Here's some footage of my player standing clear on the mark, then the Melbourne player jostles with him to the right, punches the air despite what looks like a clear mark, only for the ball to react as if it was punched clear.

Hopefully this is something they continue to work.

It's better-ish, it's not always an AI win now, but it definitely still needs work.

c994eb070f007f5388469220deb71bf4.jpg
fdabf31718ff6b66f428031d4a59c668.jpg
6306c38609d271806e152333492bd320.jpg

Had a crack at making a few Tassie devil jumpers! Think it looks alright

Had an epic game on hard vs Geelong. Was up against it for most of the contest, always behind playing catch up. I finally caught up in the final quater, was pushing hard in the final seconds, couldn't nail a mark for a potential match winning shot at goal.

** Has anyone else won a push in the back free kick ? EVERY single time I've won won since last night, I stand up and play on automatically, get tackled and then give away a free kick of my own. Frustrating but oh well another quirk of the game :p

Had to laugh, I actually had a human burst of speed just like the AI, went from the back end of the center square to my foward 50 in 1 second it was pretty cool!!!

My handpasses don't always go to the intended target, bit annoying that I want to go to my left (or my right) and the handball is straight in front (or even behind me lol).

One cool quirk that I liked, AI vs AI games the quarters go automatically, so no need to hit a button to start the next quarter, good stuff!

How else would I feel like I’m accomplishing anything with the game then?
Quick play gives me zero satisfaction unless I was playing against a friend.

Maybe the game shouldn’t have been released so unpolished? 🤷🏻‍♂️

I know mate, i agree, its pretty shit all i can do is play online quick play lol

Hopefully one day Ross can give us a bit of a deep dive on the s**t show that was the launch and explain what parts of the code were smashed, why it was so hard to restore from a backup etc. I don't think he has to throw anyone under a bus to do this, nor is it required. It would just be a really interesting story that will no doubt increase our appreciation for the types of things that can go wrong inside the code.
Hope you don’t mind if I share some thoughts. It appears that within the day zero/one patch, which was a sizable 25GB in size, there was a small piece of faulty code that was unintentionally included. As a result, it led to various consequences, impacting the program's interaction with the rest of the codebase.

Here are some of the possible consequences that can occur:

• Functionality issues: The faulty code can trigger errors or unexpected behavior in the program, resulting in crashes, incorrect outputs, or features not functioning as intended or being unavailable. Consequently, the overall functionality of the package is disrupted.
  • Cascading effects: Even a small error in one part of the code can propagate to other sections or components of the software. This chain reaction can introduce additional bugs or failures in different parts of the program, affecting seemingly unrelated areas of the package.
  • Performance degradation: Faulty code can have a negative impact on the package's performance. It may introduce inefficiencies like memory leaks or excessive resource usage, leading to slower execution times or increased system requirements. Such issues could be the root cause of the crashes experienced.
Fixing faulty code can range from quickly correcting a simple typo or syntax error to addressing more complex issues through thorough debugging, code analysis, and potentially modifying multiple parts of the codebase. In this context, it seems that the team responsible for the patches is likely breaking down the intended patch into smaller, tested parts before re-releasing them as the daily patches received.

The process of fixing the code typically involves identifying the root cause of the problem, making necessary changes, and testing the code to ensure the resolution of the issue without introducing new problems. For instance, the congestion introduced in the previous patch could have been one of the problems they are addressing

Must admit the game has improved a lot and I didn’t have a crash tonight. Just looking forward to the AI balancing a bit more feel there CHF are overpowered in the marking contest. Wouldn’t mind tackling sharpening up a little bit.

Also set shots for the user to be harder as well, wind meter etc.

Rosco can we get the ability to side select in season mode so nuffies like me can go through the season chopping and changing throughout the qtrs please please.

Beside that elite improvement hope more to come

Have to say there is a nice feeling when you get a response to the bug report, saying they’ve been able to reproduce it and will get the dev team to work on it.

It’s good, and I’m ok with to help make the game better!
Had the same nice feeling when I submitted a ticket to Ba regarding a mechanic they could add and got a response this afternoon saying it was a good idea and they will raise it with the devs.

I disagree. How many times in real AFL does spoiling = run onto the spoil. I think this has been an issue in previous AFL games making spoiling OP. Though maybe there is a better balance here.

I think more pertinently if the AI was improved then it wouldn't be an issue.
Yeah you make a good point actually.

I know mate, i agree, its pretty s**t all i can do is play online quick play lol

I’m at least glad they’re fixing stuff but the modes that can give us long term fun are so broken. 10th crash today? Maybe more, it’s hard to tell now haha

Think I’m gonna call it a night

Another amusing teleportation bug.

Nothing like a close 1-point lead in the final quarter, only for your backman to teleport 15m to the ball and toepoke through a rushed behind.

Ump pays DELIBERATE BEHIND and I lose by a goal in the end.

Marking is still certainly broken.

Here's some footage of my player standing clear on the mark, then the Melbourne player jostles with him to the right, punches the air despite what looks like a clear mark, only for the ball to react as if it was punched clear.

Hopefully this is something they continue to work.

It's better-ish, it's not always an AI win now, but it definitely still needs work.

Dropped mark because the ai put pressure on with an attempted spoil?