AFL 360

To be fair to Robbo, he was the only journo that asked a remotely probing question at the release of the Switkowski report press conference. A question that wasn't answered at the time and which remains unanswered to this day (as far as I'm aware). What happened to Dr Reid's letter?

Yep, Robbo has been pretty impartial in this whole thing, remember how he cracked the shits for a good 5 minutes after the Herald Sun got the consent forms and Essendon denied the use of a banned substance?

I think a lot of people (including Chewy) have just got confirmation bias when it comes to Robbo and Essendon. They know he's an Essendon supporter so only take note of anything that confirms to them that he is biased, where in reality he is pretty damn impartial.

If anyone has missed watching 360 over the past couple of weeks, here's a quick summary

Gerard: Good evening. I'm Gerard Whateley and he's Mark Robinson

Robbo: "Evening"... Great word, Gerard.... Evening... Mmmmmm [stares dreamily into space]

Gerard: Who was your hero on the weekend?

Robbo: My hero was Nathan Buckley. People are coming for Collingwood. They're sticking the boot in. But Nathan Buckley is putting his stamp on this team. Forget about the results. They've got some great kids. Dwyer... Elliott... Seedsman.... Keefe... Well, he's injured right now, but he'll be back.... There's a kid in the VFL, I forget his name, but wait until you see him. Exciting times ahead for the Magpies. What about you, Gerard? Who was your hero?

Gerard: My hero was Harry Taylor. He was imperious on the weekend. Impregnable. Indefatigable. It was an authoritive display. Is he the best swingman in the game? Do you think he has gone past Buddy as the most valuable free agent on the market?

Robbo: Do you think he'll leave Geelong?

Gerard: Oh, no... Definitely not. The first item on tonight's agenda is the Match Review Panel's inconsistency in relation to the James Kelly suspension a few week's ago. We saw again on the weekend a few more bumps which went unpunished. If someone upstairs will just roll the video.... Okay... Slow it down.... Look at that! Shocking! How does he get off scott free?

Robbo: It's outrageous! I'm really annoyed by this. It really gives me the shits. Can I say that? Well it does....

Gerard: if you freeze-frame all of these bumps, they're all exactly the same... the mind boggles... Anyway, the next item on our agenda is today's release of Ziggy Switkowski's report on the Essendon controversy. It paints a none-too-flattering portrait of their internal processes. Quite damning, I would suggest.

Robbo: Yeah... Nah.... Look, I'll admit I've been an Essendon fan for a long time and James Hird is close friend of mine. People need to take a deep breath. We all do. Everyone knows that James Hird is man of outstanding character and principles and he would never do anything untoward. I believe him when he says he knew nothing about this. Do you?

Gerard: ummmm...

Robbo: I think we all need to wait until ASADA's report comes out and then I'm quite confident this will be resolved and Hird and Essendon will be cleared. Jobe Watson is a great player. Best captain in the AFL. Have I told you that I've watched him grow up since he was little boy? It's been a privilege. We're all so proud of him.

Gerard: Okay... we move now to a less-positive story, but one that must be examined. Melbourne's woes. In particular, Mark Neeld's exit strategy.

Robbo: Do you think he's gone, huh?

Gerard: No question. It's just a matter of when.

Robbo: Did I tell you he's a friend of mine? Great guy, Neeldy. A real straight shooter. I've got a lot of time for him...

[Another 30 minutes of bullshit]

[Fade out]

Funny but harsh. 360 is the best AFL show and is worth the foxtel subscription alone

Last night was the worst I can remember for a single issue derailing the entire show, a solid 30 minutes of the Eddie and Harry O Show..could have been done in 10. Wednesday is usually my favourite episode because I love the shit that King and Maclure come up with but even they were relegated to bit part players..

Kingy and Maclure must have been on for 5 minutes max!!

If anyone has missed watching 360 over the past couple of weeks, here's a quick summary

Gerard: Good evening. I'm Gerard Whateley and he's Mark Robinson

Robbo: "Evening"... Great word, Gerard.... Evening... Mmmmmm [stares dreamily into space]

Gerard: Who was your hero on the weekend?

Robbo: My hero was Nathan Buckley. People are coming for Collingwood. They're sticking the boot in. But Nathan Buckley is putting his stamp on this team. Forget about the results. They've got some great kids. Dwyer... Elliott... Seedsman.... Keefe... Well, he's injured right now, but he'll be back.... There's a kid in the VFL, I forget his name, but wait until you see him. Exciting times ahead for the Magpies. What about you, Gerard? Who was your hero?

Gerard: My hero was Harry Taylor. He was imperious on the weekend. Impregnable. Indefatigable. It was an authoritive display. Is he the best swingman in the game? Do you think he has gone past Buddy as the most valuable free agent on the market?

Robbo: Do you think he'll leave Geelong?

Gerard: Oh, no... Definitely not. The first item on tonight's agenda is the Match Review Panel's inconsistency in relation to the James Kelly suspension a few week's ago. We saw again on the weekend a few more bumps which went unpunished. If someone upstairs will just roll the video.... Okay... Slow it down.... Look at that! Shocking! How does he get off scott free?

Robbo: It's outrageous! I'm really annoyed by this. It really gives me the shits. Can I say that? Well it does....

Gerard: if you freeze-frame all of these bumps, they're all exactly the same... the mind boggles... Anyway, the next item on our agenda is today's release of Ziggy Switkowski's report on the Essendon controversy. It paints a none-too-flattering portrait of their internal processes. Quite damning, I would suggest.

Robbo: Yeah... Nah.... Look, I'll admit I've been an Essendon fan for a long time and James Hird is close friend of mine. People need to take a deep breath. We all do. Everyone knows that James Hird is man of outstanding character and principles and he would never do anything untoward. I believe him when he says he knew nothing about this. Do you?

Gerard: ummmm...

Robbo: I think we all need to wait until ASADA's report comes out and then I'm quite confident this will be resolved and Hird and Essendon will be cleared. Jobe Watson is a great player. Best captain in the AFL. Have I told you that I've watched him grow up since he was little boy? It's been a privilege. We're all so proud of him.

Gerard: Okay... we move now to a less-positive story, but one that must be examined. Melbourne's woes. In particular, Mark Neeld's exit strategy.

Robbo: Do you think he's gone, huh?

Gerard: No question. It's just a matter of when.

Robbo: Did I tell you he's a friend of mine? Great guy, Neeldy. A real straight shooter. I've got a lot of time for him...

[Another 30 minutes of bullshit]

[Fade out]

As a Hawthorn supporter, I bet you've just been saving that one up for a rainy day, you get to have a crack at Essendon and Geelong.

Wow, good for you.

I thought it was an absolute train wreck last night. None of them were able to concisely get their points across for some reason.

Watching Harry O'Brien on camera with a microphone is like watching Jayson Daniels with a Sherrin running inside 50.

I thought Wednesday's episode was the worst in the year and a half that it's been a nightly show.

After the tweeting of earlier in the day, I thought O'Brien went overboard in defending McGuire, and he went WAY overboard in getting on his soapbox about refugee policy.

I actually agree with most of what he says about refugee policy, so I can't begin to imagine how frustrating it must've been for people that don't agree with him.

But despite my agreement, it's not the time or the place - you're a footy player on a footy show. If you want to soapbox about your feelings on government policy, become a politician and take it to mainstream news.

The biggest disappointment of the whole affair (as it relates to 360) was how long McGuire was given to trot out the same crap that, contrary to what a lot of commentators have said, was not accepting responsibility without reservation. He was still defensive and was still at pains to say it was a slip of the tongue.

No mate, you're the biggest one of the most experienced media personalities in Melbourne - you don't get to excuse yourself by claiming "slip of the tongue".

I have to agree with what Francis Leach said on Offsiders this morning. It was disgraceful that he still appeared on the Friday night match. I thought his appearance demonstrated a lack of reflection and contrition.

The biggest disappointment of the whole affair (as it relates to 360) was how long McGuire was given to trot out the same crap that, contrary to what a lot of commentators have said, was not accepting responsibility without reservation. He was still defensive and was still at pains to say it was a slip of the tongue.

No mate, you're the biggest one of the most experienced media personalities in Melbourne - you don't get to excuse yourself by claiming "slip of the tongue".

Well now we know what the excuse will be when the next Collingwood supporter racially abuses an Indigenous player. And, for all its talk about zero tolerance, won't be in a position to deal with it.

Is it just me is AFL 360 so over dramatic in the way they present things....like those packages with the darker colors, slow motions, shocking images (always picking the most dramatic footage).

It is almost laughable.......

You just get the feeling the dork does them...the dork on the left..

I continually come to this thread just to read this sentence!! i just find it so damn funny!! :)

Could only watch half of last nights 360, at least Kingy wasn't wearing the ridiculous red checked shirt.

The show just isn't the same without Gerard and Robbo, as you say it lacks chemistry, the straight man and the people's man neither Huddo nor David King have that same common touch as Robbo.

I reckon Huddo interrupts too much and talks over the co-host. Gerard has a quaint way of letting Robbo go off on a rambling sermon and then saying "o...kay" (let's move on!) or telling Robbo that he agrees with him or has a point of difference.

The Odd Couple promo is spot on, I reckon 360 is "must watch" - an after-hours Wedneday edition with Robbo and Sellars would be gold!

Yep, Robbo has been pretty impartial in this whole thing, remember how he cracked the shits for a good 5 minutes after the Herald Sun got the consent forms and Essendon denied the use of a banned substance?

I think a lot of people (including Chewy) have just got confirmation bias when it comes to Robbo and Essendon. They know he's an Essendon supporter so only take note of anything that confirms to them that he is biased, where in reality he is pretty damn impartial.

We don't criticise him for bias.
We criticise him for total and abject stupidity!

But it's not fair to criticise the mentally challenged ...

If you criticise the abject stupidity of journalists we'll be here for a while given that not one of them is worth a pinch of shit, couldn't write a match report to save themselves and only worried about the next player sex or drug scandal and which coach they can sack. Robbo certainly not alone in the world of sports media.

We don't criticise him for bias.
We criticise him for total and abject stupidity!

But it's not fair to criticise the mentally challenged ...

I think Robbo is definitely smart, he's much better though when he has plenty of time to sit down and present an argument. He's not suited to provide his argument right off the cuff and explaining it perfectly.

AFL 360