• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season

Braybon has been getting better with every game this year. He doesn't rack up huge stats or kick bags but his presence at contests, use of his frame and no doubt will be up there in the clubs goal assists this year. The 2 coaches are working really well together and im sure anyone close to the club will agree that there is no doubt over his spot in the side. If any team can shut down Walsh,Braybon and Gill on the same day good luck with that, it might be the way to knock Saints off. Walsh didn't play last week, Gill was metres from his opponent all day long and Braybon wasn't beaten in the air at all, so 2 of the 3 fired and had Saints biggest win of the season.

The tigers will take Braybon, I reckon we are just a little bit short at the moment.

I will reserve my opinion until after this weekends clash. The saints have been ruthless against opposition sides while the Tigers are doing no wrong. Saints deserve to be favourites for this game and the premiership. If the Tigers play good honest footy for 4 quarters I reckon we are a chance, but going from all reports we will need the Saints to be off their game a bit. We should see some good footy.

Watsons - Where's Meuller? How long until Lukas is right?

Skip Gribbon has obviously had enough... He has put in a clearance to return to SA.

There isn't a club in the competition that wouldn't take Braybon and have him playing ruck/key forward.

As for interleague, just add Powell, Tennick, Richter and Liddy to the Saints lineup? Has a coach been appointed?

Something has to be said soon about Nic Brabyons position in the Saints side.

Date/Time Opposition G BST Sat 31/Mar Manunda Hawks 1 0 Mon 9/Apr North Cairns 1 0 Sat 14/Apr Port Douglas 1 0 Sun 22/Apr Cairns City Lions 0 0 Sat 5/May Centrals Trinity Beach 0 0 Sat 12/May Manunda Hawks 0 0 Sat 19/May South Cairns 3 0
These stats show that from a team averaging over 170 points per game (roughly 25-26 goals), as a key forward he is averaging less than a goal per game and before his 3 goal performance in their biggest win of the year on the weekend he had 3 goals from 6 games.

It cant be easy for him to get in front of the group and coach them how to play when the output he has produced is far from the lofty standards that they expect down there.

He is also yet to feature in the best and the games that I have witnessed he hasn't got near it. It would have been interesting to hear some of the thoughts at the 20 year reunion a few weeks back as to what some of the clubs best ever players thought about the 114kg coach plodding around the field not having any impact.

Some might say who cares? They win every game by 20 goals, what difference does it make?

Admittedly probably not much, but as the season wear's on and teams start to close the gap on the Saints (which they will) it could place them in a pretty interesting situation come the last few rounds or finals especially if there are some well performed forwards running around in the early game.

It also has the potential for a young 17-20 year old kid who is a 'fringe' player for the Saints this year but could be a key to the future to shut up shop and move on because he thinks he deserves a spot in the side over the coach.

Not much has been posted in here of late and thought it would be some food for thought.

Whatch Ya Talkin about :confused:

Braybon smashed us in the weekends game, I said that on the day as well to Saints Pres, & a few others

Whatch Ya Talkin about :confused:

Braybon smashed us in the weekends game, I said that on the day as well to Saints Pres, & a few others

The umpires after the game were also talking about how they thought early on he was dominating up forward...

For interleague Liddy, Richter, Tennick, Smith, Braico, Powell, Alick, Matthews, Martin (if he is fit), Bradbury, ... who else from teams other than Saints players should make the side??? Souths on Saturday's performance clearly had no one that you would say is in the best 22 in the league..

Will be interesting to see if Tavener or Downes will make it... Tavener got 14 kicked on him by Walsh and still got named 5th best and Downes got 10 kicked on him by Gill and got 4th best :s .... quite amazing in my eyes that a key back gets that many goals kicked on them and are still in the best players...

Okay, I am prepared to eat humble pie, but not quite yet!

Obviously if he is getting plaudits from members of the opposing clubs, he is doing something right, maybe I was a bit harsh on my assessment but we won't really know until the end of the year if that is true or not. I will be the first to admit if I am wrong!

Some interesting points were made though, the Saints boys seemed to answer it like they have answered it before and it made good conversation about FOOTY which is a good thing..

Everyone at Saints is on the same page and knows what an important role the big fella plays while it's others getting the plaudits. Considering he didn't train on Tuesday or Thursday because of a cold, he certainly put his stamp on the game early. It's good to have footy banter.

Lewis from Lions into your list too, DRK.

I reckon you should always find spots for at least 4-5 guys under 21 for the squad for their development. Perhaps one spot for each team to nominate one guy, at least in the training squad for development of younger players. It's not great to pick only the older, experienced guys.

I think Gascoyne could still warrant a game, his record is good, he just had a bad day on Saturday, being thrown all over the place cos he was getting cobwebs at full forward.

The umpires after the game were also talking about how they thought early on he was dominating up forward...

For interleague Liddy, Richter, Tennick, Smith, Braico, Powell, Alick, Matthews, Martin (if he is fit), Bradbury, ... who else from teams other than Saints players should make the side??? Souths on Saturday's performance clearly had no one that you would say is in the best 22 in the league..

Will be interesting to see if Tavener or Downes will make it... Tavener got 14 kicked on him by Walsh and still got named 5th best and Downes got 10 kicked on him by Gill and got 4th best :s .... quite amazing in my eyes that a key back gets that many goals kicked on them and are still in the best players...

The train on squad was announced in the Record last weekend , Souths had 3-4 named in the side

The squad is:

Dwayne Bosen (North Cairns), Nathan Bradbury (Manunda Hawks), Kurt Bradshaw (Port Douglas), Greg Braico (Cairns City Lions), Nicholas Braybon (Cairns Saints), Kurt Cadman (Port Douglas), Gene Clement (Centrals Trinity Beach), Thomas Clough (North Cairns), Allan Cooper (Cairns City Lions), Adam Couch (Cairns Saints), Rohan Couch (Cairns Saints), Matthew Cunningham (Centrals Trinity Beach), Steven Davies (North Cairns), William English (South Cairns), Ryan Etherington (South Cairns), Ryan Flint (Manunda Hawks), Nicholas Gill (Cairns Saints), Skip Gribbon (Port Douglas), Benjamin Hallas (Cairns Saints), Sam Harkin (Cairns Saints), Jayden Kynuna (Cairns City Lions), Daniel Lewis (Cairns City Lions), Rex Liddy (North Cairns), Daniel Liriges (Cairns Saints), Daniel Lock (South Cairns), Alexander Macqueen (Cairns Saints), Michael Markham (South Cairns), Ryan Matthews (Centrals Trinity Beach), Adam Mueller (North Cairns), Brenton Powell (Cairns Saints), Luke Powell (Manunda Hawks), Kane Richter (North Cairns), Damien Roe (Manunda Hawks), Jarrod Searle (Cairns Saints), Julius Smith (Port Douglas), Paul Taverner (Cairns City Lions), Brendan Tennick (North Cairns), Matthew Walsh (Cairns Saints), Dylan Wearmouth (Port Douglas), Matthew White (Cairns City Lions)

The squad is:

Dwayne Bosen (North Cairns), Nathan Bradbury (Manunda Hawks), Kurt Bradshaw (Port Douglas), Greg Braico (Cairns City Lions), Nicholas Braybon (Cairns Saints), Kurt Cadman (Port Douglas), Gene Clement (Centrals Trinity Beach), Thomas Clough (North Cairns), Allan Cooper (Cairns City Lions), Adam Couch (Cairns Saints), Rohan Couch (Cairns Saints), Matthew Cunningham (Centrals Trinity Beach), Steven Davies (North Cairns), William English (South Cairns), Ryan Etherington (South Cairns), Ryan Flint (Manunda Hawks), Nicholas Gill (Cairns Saints), Skip Gribbon (Port Douglas), Benjamin Hallas (Cairns Saints), Sam Harkin (Cairns Saints), Jayden Kynuna (Cairns City Lions), Daniel Lewis (Cairns City Lions), Rex Liddy (North Cairns), Daniel Liriges (Cairns Saints), Daniel Lock (South Cairns), Alexander Macqueen (Cairns Saints), Michael Markham (South Cairns), Ryan Matthews (Centrals Trinity Beach), Adam Mueller (North Cairns), Brenton Powell (Cairns Saints), Luke Powell (Manunda Hawks), Kane Richter (North Cairns), Damien Roe (Manunda Hawks), Jarrod Searle (Cairns Saints), Julius Smith (Port Douglas), Paul Taverner (Cairns City Lions), Brendan Tennick (North Cairns), Matthew Walsh (Cairns Saints), Dylan Wearmouth (Port Douglas), Matthew White (Cairns City Lions)

Some interesting names. Braybon obviously good enough to make the interleague team. Gribbon must be out after submitting his clearance, Hallas after his appearance on the Footy Show.

I hope all those names from the bottom sides who I've never heard of are young guys: Cadman, Clement, Cooper, Lock, Smith, Wearmouth, White. Are they all defenders?

Is this after those unavailable have omitted themselves? The first name of missing out that springs to mind would be Ricky Allan.

Have they just picked the best players from each side or have selectors gone for positions?

Players that I reckon are stiff from clubs other than Saints would be Allick (Hawks), Gasgoyne (Souths). I am sure there are more.

From the Saints the following have just as much reason as their teammates to be in the squad - the Philpot's, Ricky Allen, Hislop, Jarvie, Dixon and O'Toole.

I know it is a topic every year but what is everyones thoughts on blokes being suspended for not playing unless they have a medical reason? I don't agree with it, no player should be forced to play just because they are a better footballer. It should be for those who want to play.

There's no way they could suspend anyone, that would just be an idle threat to try to convince people.

I'm sure Gascoyne was asked, so he must have come up with a reason not to play.

Perhaps some of those Saints players were asked and didn't want to as well, Grimey. One of those Saints you named stands out from the others, it would be embarrassing for the league to put out a pumpkin like that.

Some interesting names. Braybon obviously good enough to make the interleague team. Gribbon must be out after submitting his clearance, Hallas after his appearance on the Footy Show.

I hope all those names from the bottom sides who I've never heard of are young guys: Cadman, Clement, Cooper, Lock, Smith, Wearmouth, White. Are they all defenders?

Is this after those unavailable have omitted themselves? The first name of missing out that springs to mind would be Ricky Allan.

Played Souths 2003 winning GF, 196 gamer, Played NEAFL Belconnen last 3 years, past season leading goal kicker AFL Cairns, Previous All Cairns Rep player x 3. what else:rolleyes:

Is it just me or does it seem that saints FC are the only team in the Cairns League, seriously how about we stop pulling off the one team and start a conversation on some of the other 6 teams in the league.
Maybe someone from each team mention a few things about some young guys coming through, u16's, u18's who are starting to get a consistant senior game, the ones to watch, they are going to be our future, not the guys that saints have emptied their coffers to make sure of another Grand Final appearance, really who cares! their great, they have a bunch of good players, but the league is bigger then these guys. Their heads must be ready to explode when they read this forum each week. Only my opionion, shoot away saint lovers!

We keep asking about them and nobody responds.

No other team has really done much this year except for Norths and they're keeping quiet, trying to sneak under the radar in a 7 team competition.:cool:

Port and Centrals don't have any supporters who can use a computer. Hawks are still staring at last year's trophy and Lions were looking at Hawks who were looking at the trophy.

Lions and Norths are the only teams with any great up-side this year. Although Souths are doing a little better.

There's more than a few people who take this forum too seriously as if what's said on here might influence games or players. Considering that there's about 20 people who actually read it, I think any influence is horribly overstated.

If something said on here spurs somebody on to playing better, you'd have to question their previous motivation strategies (i.e. why weren't they trying before us anonymous fat keyboard heroes mentioned them?)

Khama... The Cutters have a few young blokes going around, and not uncommon to see all of them in the senior 22 at the one time. Phillips, Etherington, Cole, Argoon, Marino, Phelps, Brayshaw, Canning (1st gamer last sat) all still playing junior footy, add to the mix a couple of lads 20 thereabouts and you see where we are at 40 - 50% future. One could understand why were not rated, why we got flogged last saturday, having said that we have won a few and are not far from reaching last years win tally. Some soul searching this week and hopefully a home ground win to get the Cutters fans roaring again.:)

Fair call Saint. I think can't best karma may have an unhealthy infatuation with the Saints.
This forum covers most sides in its discussions fairly well considering what saint pointed out. As saints are smashing all before them this season, they are the subject on most of our keyboards. Was the same with Hawks, Port and Saints last year.
Would be good if there was a Port rep on here though.

Love the 'chopper' reference saint.

They don't have the internet in Port Douglas yet.

Poiderr, To me it seems Souths are behind where Norths were a couple of years ago. They don't have the quality imports to show the leadership yet, but they're going about developing their many talented young guys. It will get to the stage where they need people like Richter and Tennick lifting and setting the standard, otherwise those young guys will stop improving. It seems they've tried to import some experience in the last couple of years, but haven't quite been successful enough in doing so.

In 3 years time when the Saints first juniors become seniors, they'll have been training with the Saints seniors for 3 years. They have a high standard to reach at training and are doing a ripping job of meeting it. Then hopefully Saints will have their own home grown talent to spruik

Most Saints talk is brought up by non Saints people on here. The fact that there are a few Saints people voicing their opinion on the subjects makes it look like its all about Saints. I think Hawks and Souths both have a great up side with quite a few good young players running around.Like Saint said Souths just need a couple of quality recruits to guide the young players for a couple of seasons and i think they can be back challenging again.

Slow work week thanks to all the drizzle, as you may have guessed due to my incessant posting this week. If it dries up, I can get back to work and shut up.

Based on the players named in the squad, i've put together a potential team list for the interleague game.

B: Matthews, Taverner, English
HB: Cunningham, Mueller, Richter
C: Hallas, Tennick, A Couch
HF: Harkin, Gill, Lewis
FF: Liddy, Walsh, Macqueen

Foll: Powell, Powell, Bradbury

Inter from: Searle, Braybon, Markham, Bosen, Clough, R Couch, Liriges, Roe

The midfielders i've named around the place on flanks would probably spend a lot of time in the middle. Probably be best that Tennick and Richter were in together and Powell/Bradbury and Liriges/Powell are in at the same time. Even Cunningham/Matthews in there as well as a rotation.

There's no way all three rucks will be available or want to play big patches, so put 3 of them in.

Pretty bloody good forward line, though might be a bit tall, would've loved Ricky Allan to put in there.

Nobody from Port got a gig, none of them stand out to me, but I've only seen them once and in the wet.

Another wet day, another post. Tipping Time and there are 3 games which could genuinely go either way for a change. The wet conditions will make things even more interesting!

Souths v Port.

Could be the battle for 4th spot. Souths were thumped last week by Saints, but so were Port in the wet. Souths have a mix of heavier bodies in the middle with some young outside runners. Port tend to have too many of the latter category. Port's coach will need to strap on the boots for them to have a decent chance. But in the longest drive in the game on a miserable, wet day, I'm tipping Souths by 4 goals at their home ground.

Lions v Centrals.

With the influx of Islanders, the Lions have added a strength and I reckon these guys will be difficult to contain in the wet if they can get their hands on it. Centrals have a handful of big bodies who will thrive in wet conditions, but severely lack depth, while it seems Lions have plenty on the track. I'm going to tip the Lions again, to get the monkey off the back. Go Lions.

Norths v Saints.

To be honest, I would have preferred to see this game in dry conditions. I always think the wet gives an increased home ground advantage. Both sides have been preparing for this game, even though the result will likely have little impact on shaping the makeup of finals (they'll both finish top 2 and face each other in the first week at Cazalys). There's still a bit to play for for Norths who will consider themselves the hunter and a win will confirm to them that the Saints can be beaten. I'm tipping the Saints, with their older(heavier), more numerous midfielders, Tennick and Richter will really need the guys around them to stand up if they're to win. Hopefully the rain tomorrow isn't as bad as today. Been a lazy week with all this rain.

In the reserves, I'm tipping all the opposite, so Port, Centrals and Norths (by a point in a real slog).

Souths to get up over the Crocs
Lions in a tight one over the Bulldogs
Saints to get up over a determined Norths in a tight one

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season