AFL Cairns - 2012 Season

You forget pagan I am good friends with Lukas, I know Lukas very well. Maybe why he had very little to do with the club was he didn't enjoy the club?

At Hawks he has been to nearly every function I can remember, he is running the training atm and is now on the committee. Couldn't ask anymore out of him. ;)

Sounds wonderful ;)

We have a great core of players and the youth are really exciting. Love the look of young hanlon! Nothing better than a young ranga coming into the seniors to lift the energies!

You are so full of shit your eyes are brown.

The kid has been there a few times with skiba and looks very good and i would know as i see him a fair bit with my young fella is also in the squad.
The kid moved away months ago. Your young fella is in the senior squad? I am sure he would appreciate you coming on here and sledging his mates. :thumbsu:

Unlike you, i support my club
You have a funny way of doing it by coming on an internet forum and anonymously talking down hard working players that have committed.

Go down to Watsons with a shirt that says paganspaddock on it and lets see how many friends you have vs how many people ask you to shut the hell up on bigfooty.

The kid moved away months ago. Your young fella is in the senior squad? I am sure he would appreciate you coming on here and sledging his mates. :thumbsu:

You have a funny way of doing it by coming on an internet forum and anonymously talking down hard working players that have committed.

Go down to Watsons with a shirt that says paganspaddock on it and lets see how many friends you have vs how many people ask you to shut the hell up on bigfooty.

No he is in the 18's squad!

I will wear my shirt if you don the shirt that says 'give it away as your keeping someone much more worthy out of spot'. Hard working and committed phhhhhffft don't use that so loosely as those mentioned talk a game but never helping the club on a Sunday when the juniors need a hand!

They have applied to join (Channel 7 local (Hic) news with Gary Young last night)

From what I understand from Darwin, if you are a member of the Thunder's squad, you are not allowed to play for your club. Maybe wrong, can someone else enlighten
After the Thunders first season most of the squad where stopped from playing for their local teams, some where allowed to play but they where the fringe players who hadn't played much during the season. I assume the same still applies and that now none would play in the local comp. Anyone know any different.....

They have applied to join (Channel 7 local (Hic) news with Gary Young last night)

From what I understand from Darwin, if you are a member of the Thunder's squad, you are not allowed to play for your club. Maybe wrong, can someone else enlighten

players who represent Thunder less than 10 times in NEAFL and Foxtel Cup matches can play a full season of NTFL matches from 2012-13 onwards

Regular Thunder players can still play 10 games with their NTFL clubs plus finals

Player managment rules for under 21's will determaine how many games they can play in the ntfl season if they play in the neafl

I think the old rule was you could play 6 or 7 plus finals for your ntfl club

A former coach who got all the chocolates for his club last year and than was axed. Obvious one I would have thought.

Are you still in Cairns Paul?

Griffiths left Cairns ages ago. I could have coached Hawks last year and they would have won. They played for each other and for the memory of their mate.

Hawks don't have a coach at the moment, but don't be surprised if a dark horse turns up and takes over.;)

Griffiths left Cairns ages ago. I could have coached Hawks last year and they would have won. They played for each other and for the memory of their mate.

Hawks don't have a coach at the moment, but don't be surprised if a dark horse turns up and takes over.;)

So no credit to the premiership coach Flintstone? Well he was the best coach I've ever been involved with and many of our young players at Hawks will tell you he often went above and beyond for them. Yes he would tell you what for if he thought it was warranted and maybe a bit hard in areas but you find me a perfect coach and I'll find you a myth.

I've read here for a good 6 months now and have had a good laugh at times. I never knew how serious our little comp was up here!

players who represent Thunder less than 10 times in NEAFL and Foxtel Cup matches can play a full season of NTFL matches from 2012-13 onwards

Regular Thunder players can still play 10 games with their NTFL clubs plus finals

Player managment rules for under 21's will determaine how many games they can play in the ntfl season if they play in the neafl

I think the old rule was you could play 6 or 7 plus finals for your ntfl club

The difference between Darwin and cairns is that we play in the regular season while Darwin plays in the off season. So thunder players can play a certain amount of games outside of thunders season. Here players will not be able to play in a local teams unless dropped from the cairns team as the season is the same. So you won't see the gun players playing in the local comp.

Yeah thats true and a very good point, I was just answering the other guys question

So what the point of recruiting a reasonably good player only for the League to take him for their team or will they have a choice :confused:.

###I can see them coming up here under the guise of playing for a local club, but really wanting to crack it for a NEAFL game.

So then the club that transferred them up here,
for one was held to ransom (again) and will be out of pocket if they are selected to play in the NEAFL ,because I bet the league won't be able to compensate the clubs, they won't have the money too, they will be looking to make a good go at this and I don't blame them.

My way of thinking is you try to play at the highest standard that you can and this is a stepping stone to be noticed by the major clubs down south so as to further your football career.:thumbsu:

Productive thoughts only on this please, lets have a proper debate
(not taking the pisser or abuse)

So what the point of recruiting a reasonably good player only for the League to take him for their team or will they have a choice :confused:.

###I can see them coming up here under the guise of playing for a local club, but really wanting to crack it for a NEAFL game.

So then the club that transferred them up here,
for one was held to ransom (again) and will be out of pocket if they are selected to play in the NEAFL ,because I bet the league won't be able to compensate the clubs, they won't have the money too, they will be looking to make a good go at this and I don't blame them.

My way of thinking is you try to play at the highest standard that you can and this is a stepping stone to be noticed by the major clubs down south so as to further your football career.:thumbsu:

Productive thoughts only on this please, lets have a proper debate
(not taking the pisser or abuse)

Spot on Tamba. Why would clubs recruit players just to have them taken away. Maybe if the player is in a coaching role then they can be off limits to the raid. Saying that, each club will have about 6 assistant coaches. The only good thing i can see from it all is that it would give young guys a crack at senior footy when normally they might not have got the chance.

Initially I think that you would find that the bulk of the squad would come from the Cairns league but as time progressed you would find that the club would be like any other club and recruit their own players with these players possibly being allocated to local clubs similar to what happens with AFL clubs. With the team playing in the NEAFL you would find guys wanting to showcase their talents on a much bigger stage therefore there would be players looking to come here and lessening the drain on the local clubs. There will be some that come to play for local clubs and may catch the eye and progress up but eventually there would be a balance achieved although this may take a couple of years......

Ok fine, but then doesn't this destroys our league in the beginning for a short time while getting this off the ground.

This will bleed sides like Saints, Hawks & Douglas who manage to get good players more so than the other clubs. players will not be able to play two game on one day
one here & say one in the NT, will they be restricted to local or NEAFL :confused:

a lot too sort out , massive big step, this will give the sides up here greater exposure to football.
I honestly hope this works, maybe I can be two eyed
South Cairns / Cairns NEAFL

Club Name -----Cairns ???????? Tropics, Power, Storm ??????

It would end up improving the cairns comp. at the moment the armitages and the Charlie dixons come down to Brisbane to get seen. With a cairns neafl team those young guys will gravitate to cairns. Also most neafl clubs rely on recruits from down south as well as locals. A cairns neafl club will be constantly chasing blokes from all over the country and a lot of those guys after having a couple of years in the neafl and then filter down to the cairns comp.

Major issue I could see is that unlike Brisbane / Gold Coast, Cairns is basically a small country town whose ability to employ blokes is damn hard in this current climate. Not sure there are a stack of blokes who play for the Thunder that aren't Territorians in the first place. Cairns is a completely different kettle of fish. Historically has struggled to maintain national teams ie NBL side.
Any idea who is going to finance it? With the AFL's latest P/L report they might be reluctant to spend too many $$ on trying to establish a foothold in a region they already have a pretty good presence in?

Major issue I could see is that unlike Brisbane / Gold Coast, Cairns is basically a small country town whose ability to employ blokes is damn hard in this current climate. Not sure there are a stack of blokes who play for the Thunder that aren't Territorians in the first place. Cairns is a completely different kettle of fish. Historically has struggled to maintain national teams ie NBL side.
Any idea who is going to finance it? With the AFL's latest P/L report they might be reluctant to spend too many $$ on trying to establish a foothold in a region they already have a pretty good presence in?

My Stethoscope
has heard a murmer ------;)

they want the big boys (The AFL---Andrew's Mob)to pay for travel :eek:

My Stethoscope
has heard a murmer ------;)

they want the big boys (The AFL---Andrew's Mob)to pay for travel :eek:

Why shouldn't they? They're the ones pushing for it be done, regardless if it's in Cairns or Townsville. The travel costs alone to GC is at least $200 round trip. If the CAFL had to pay for that then local footy would be in a worse state once again.

Bottom line is the best players will get gigs, the first year just like NTFL it will be mostly NTFL players. They'll be using Cazalys so less and less chance for clubs to get to play on a great oval. They'll be taking our loyal sponsors, why sponsor locally if your name can be on TV?

If they want this to happen, they need to pull some loose change out of their billion dollar pockets.

Except of course they have just had a $23 million loss - reckon its no chance of getting off the ground. GWS / Gold Coast - 2 largest population growth areas in Australia, Cairns, going backwards currently at a rate of knots due to various national and international circumstances.

You could get big Clive to fund it - if you wanted a guarantee it would fail.

How many of the regions promising juniors have left over the last 3 years to go and play in Brisbane or even further south due to better footy, I reckon roughly 30 blokes. From Saints alone we have had over 5 and that is without upcoming juniors. Having a NEAFL side in Cairns gives these boys a chance to stay around so a huge recruiting drive is not necessary. Maybe they will top it up a bit but the whole idea of a Cairns team is to promote the local youth instead of sending them south. How good would it see all the local 18 - 22 aged boys running out together. It will bring a better competition to the area, blokes come up and play here and align with a local club. If they like it, they stay.

I am sure the AFL would fund the majority of it, but professionals in the area would be keen to be involved. Physio's, trainers, water boys and property stewards thrive on volunteering their time for this stuff.

The expense is where Tommy Big Guns has said, in the travel. Is there both a seniors and reserve grade? The travel for both would be the killer, 50+ people have to fly out of Cairns every 2nd week would hurt someones pocket, it is a pity we are so isolated. I would love to see it go ahead, clubs should be thrilled if one of their own makes the side.

I think only Manunda would be the only losers, Cazaly's would no longer be their home.

Did see the kid Carter training but think he has spent the off season with Tommy snacking on whole cows and drinking litres of full cream milk. He looks heavy. Carters parents are his downfall. You would think being 19/19 the kid would have stopped breast feeding! Good on hawks for moving him on i say and glad he isnt here at tiger land!

Hawks no coach! Perhaps Ellich will do it but surely covering his mortage repayments is enough payment, yes yes yes, the news has reached the tiger den, thats what it costs to have him!

Finally we have numbers, the tigers will roar in 2012 but and i say BUT, we wont be counting our chickens too early. When i see the older group and fringe players like Leigh and Chris Jorg, Jevat Ali, Sam Davis, Maynard Sam and so forth running around in the 2's i will be confident we are on the right path and would be not carrying players anymore. Our youth are the future and leadership is about making the hard calls and hearing Kane speak after xmas, some heart to hearts will take place informing the older group to step aside!

Carn the tigers!

Knock it off Pagans Paddock, you would want to have a few league medals around your neck. Digging into a 19 year is poor form, really poor form. Stick to gossip going on in the league.

Kid has done no wrong at the Saints, trains hard and expects nothing. For his sake I hope the boy goes well. He would have only left both clubs for his own reasons, same as 500 blokes have left Hawks and Tigers before him. Ellich, Martin, Seymour, Allick, Lane, Miller - why don't you have a crack at all of them as well? Worry about yourself ********.

Knock it off Pagans Paddock, you would want to have a few league medals around your neck. Digging into a 19 year is poor form, really poor form. Stick to gossip going on in the league.

Kid has done no wrong at the Saints, trains hard and expects nothing. For his sake I hope the boy goes well. He would have only left both clubs for his own reasons, same as 500 blokes have left Hawks and Tigers before him. Ellich, Martin, Seymour, Allick, Lane, Miller - why don't you have a crack at all of them as well? Worry about yourself ********.

Wow, bit of an out burst. After that way Alex has left the Hawks I have no issue with the jabs given to him to be honest.

Yea but you are a ******* as well. How exactly did he leave the club that doesn't even have a coach to deserve this?

Go back to dreaming about cupcakes and leave the kid who is better at footy at 19 than you will ever be alone.

Yea but you are a ******* as well. How exactly did he leave the club that doesn't even have a coach to deserve this?

Go back to dreaming about cupcakes and leave the kid who is better at footy at 19 than you will ever be alone.

Okay alias, I keep forgetting you're 6'6" 95kg who is an all star gun recognised across Australia at an elite level.

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season