AFL Canberra Div 3, div 4 (Canb Dist) Part 2

Sorry to back-track to an ancient post, but DJ, to answer your question about 2CA, I have absolutely no idea what you're on about! So no, I wasn't the disgruntled person you're talking about! :confused: But while we're on the topic, I'll be making my radio debut on Friday 20 March on 2CC. I'll be doing a light-hearted weekly segment every Friday at 4:50pm, chatting to Mike Welsh about the AFL and local Aussie Rules. I'll probably only last one week, so the three or four listeners who tune in better make the most of it!
you will be fine mate, just try not say ummm like i used to, i didnt know i was saying it but was picked up on it pretty quick, dont think we get 2cc at yass. I know it wasnt you just stiring you heywood. good luck with it

Ainslie and Tuggers play a praccy match Sunday at 2...

Ainslie have a few boys who have moved over from SA who look alright, as well as a couple of young blokes who have looked the goods over preseason.

Interesting to see what team Tuggers field, with their apparently massive numbers...

Back page of the yass paper,ROOS MEET TO TALK FUTURE. playing numbers have dwindled somewhat over the off-season.The roos are calling on a commitment from semi interested players.

The mail is the roos are gonksi,and no dj that dosn't make me happy.

Woden and Harman had a good hitout in the heat and then the rain yesterday. The game was played in the right spirit and both sides would have benefitted from the hitout.

If the Hogs can get their full strength team on the paddock and the ex-Qbn guys commit, they will be hard to beat.

The Blues have picked up a couple of injuries and will be hoping the guys are right for round 1 in a fortnight

Juggernauts had a reasonable win against Bathurst Bushrangers yesterday on the small oval at Gordon (thanks to Sportsground Hire for no goalposts on large oval or unlocking changerooms) which was pretty congested but made for some pretty intense play.

hey guys,

Just moved over to Canberra from Adelaide. Looking for someone to give me a quick rundown on how footy works over here. A league and a district comp?

Played alot of footy and looking to get into a team somewhere down my way (tugg)

If anyone has a spare minute let me no the best way to find a club and what sort of comp i will be able to get into

cheers
Gazzman

despite the Ferret trying to throw shite from his lofty position on the royal throne of high society breeding, Murrumbidgee Juggernauts are a family club who live up to our motto of "Enjoy Your Football".

Happy to hear from you on president@murrumbidgeefc.com or come down to training and make up your own mind.

Boof, you are alive!

Looking at clearances you have picked up anyone who was any good out of last years Tuggies threes in Crofty and Mick. Are you blokes confident of a good year?

ps - (My high society breeding - ten pound poms are the epitomy of Canberra High Society!)

Back page of the yass paper,ROOS MEET TO TALK FUTURE. playing numbers have dwindled somewhat over the off-season.The roos are calling on a commitment from semi interested players.

The mail is the roos are gonksi,and no dj that dosn't make me happy.
Thanks for that juicy, now i dont need to buy the local rag. numbers are not great but once cricket is done they will rise as always and it may be the case that a newly retired player who had umpiring asperations may play again if needed. the roos might be culled a bit at the moment but not extinct. we still are the reigning premiers after all.
speaking of gonski or gonksi as you put it, i thought you had gonski

Ainslie went down to Tuggers today after being up by a kick at 3/4 time... Good hit out. Tuggers played a big bloke who is apparently from Sandringham VFL...

This is the first piece of info on any Tugg. teams on either of the AFL canberra threads. I do find it hard to believe that a player that has played VFL (either 1s or 2s) is playing for Tuggeranong 3s. Can't wait to see how good their 1s are if this is the case:D

From clearances on the AFL Canberra site, Sean Ellis and Chris Murch are back in town and back at the Hawks

Grayson Stopp has left ANU for the Hawks, and they have picked up a number of players from Marist including Will Schafron who was very good in the 18's GF last year.

I have noticed Gungahlin has been quiet. I know TD has left Woden and headed out that way to play with his good mate Ports, but any other recruiting has been very quiet this year... Ports, House - can you shed any light?

This is the first piece of info on any Tugg. teams on either of the AFL canberra threads. I do find it hard to believe that a player that has played VFL (either 1s or 2s) is playing for Tuggeranong 3s. Can't wait to see how good their 1s are if this is the case:D

I'm not sure what the deal is, but I'd say he must of missed a run with the ones or something and was doing a makeup session so to speak.

Game got called with bout 5 mins to go as one of our blokes came down heavily from a marking contest and had to be taken off in the ambo. Hopefully he's alright cos he was looking pretty good for a bloke who hadn't played for a couple years. Apparently played Belco 1's when he was 16...

Benny Mac who's come over from Yass was pretty good also across half back. Good to see Jake Smith back with us as well after having a couple training runs with the Jets at earlier in the year...

Looking at sporting pulse Eastlake have had a good injection of numbers. Are they offering up something special to go play there :p

Generally looks like a decent recruitment by almost all teams across the off season.

From clearances on the AFL Canberra site, Sean Ellis and Chris Murch are back in town and back at the Hawks

Grayson Stopp has left ANU for the Hawks, and they have picked up a number of players from Marist including Will Schafron who was very good in the 18's GF last year.

I have noticed Gungahlin has been quiet. I know TD has left Woden and headed out that way to play with his good mate Ports, but any other recruiting has been very quiet this year... Ports, House - can you shed any light?

House? He never gets on here does he? Not too many changes in Jetsville this year Growler, fairly similar list to last year I'd reckon.

Just heard a rumour that Southcab has been dumped as coach of Yass. C'mon Yass boys, what's doin'? You've all been super-quiet of late.

Just noticed DJ Ando has copped a Red Card!! Hilarious!!! What's going on there? Bit harsh perhaps? Watch out Juicy, you might be next!

House? He never gets on here does he? Not too many changes in Jetsville this year Growler, fairly similar list to last year I'd reckon.

Just heard a rumour that Southcab has been dumped as coach of Yass. C'mon Yass boys, what's doin'? You've all been super-quiet of late.

Perhaps they have installed dj as coach,what with all he,s so called contacts.:D:D
Premiership one year sacked the next.(works for me:thumbsu:)

Perhaps they have installed dj as coach,what with all he,s so called contacts.:D:D
Premiership one year sacked the next.(works for me:thumbsu:)
Hey there juicy lemon, i was told last night that he resigned. Not sure about the details, so ill leave it at that. Also the yass roos will definently be playing this year after a very positive meeting on wednesday :thumbsu:

Looking forward to it Heywood. I think the guys on here should set you a challenge each week of a word that you must incorporate into your gig. Lets see if you can get the word "juicyfruit" into your ramblings this arvo:thumbsu:

2old, I'll give it a crack, but I have a feeling they have pretty strict censorship guidelines over there.

Just found out I'm on a bit earlier now - 4:40pm.

It seems a couple of posters here are very quickly (if not always accurately) informed of the goings on at Yass even though they claim no Yass interests:confused:. Its nice to rate such close attention and the need for spies just adds to the spice.;)
There is NO truth to the rumour that Southcab was sacked.:( As the Saint has said the Roos will be there in 2009 :thumbsu:(in some form or other) despite a definite fall in player numbers. It is going to be tough year on several fronts with the construction of new facilities at O'Connor Park causing even more hardship this season for the Roos and visiting teams with respect to amenities. Please bear with us on this as the timing was completely out of our hands. We can look forward to much better next year.
Bring on the footy. I'll see you there (even though I won't know who you are:)).

It seems a couple of posters here are very quickly (if not always accurately) informed of the goings on at Yass even though they claim no Yass interests:confused:. Its nice to rate such close attention and the need for spies just adds to the spice.;)
There is NO truth to the rumour that Southcab was sacked.:( As the Saint has said the Roos will be there in 2009 :thumbsu:(in some form or other) despite a definite fall in player numbers. It is going to be tough year on several fronts with the construction of new facilities at O'Connor Park causing even more hardship this season for the Roos and visiting teams with respect to amenities. Please bear with us on this as the timing was completely out of our hands. We can look forward to much better next year.
Bring on the footy. I'll see you there (even though I won't know who you are:)).

Hi Guys, I was talking to a friend of mine who is up to date with the latest happenings at yass, I watched the grand final last year and was impressed with what i saw. I have coached in victoria and know all about the politics that happen in clubs. from what i hear the coach left for the best interest of the club, certain things happened which made it hard for him to stay. I dont know him personally but my friend has the utmost respect for him as a person and a coach, and he has been with the club since it started and got the ultimate prize last year. He said how hard it was for lemon head as he called him to walk away from friends and supporters but has done it for the club not him. It is a rewarding experience coaching any club but also has a lot of baggage come with it, lots of ppl always jump on a coach when things are going wrong but rarely appreciate the efforts involved. I hope Yass regroup under the new coach and survive despite losing players , we must all work hard for a club/town to survive in any league.
Good luck guys. ps is that tall guy with no hair playing again, he looked great in grand final , awsome leap. dont know his name because their was no footy record at gf. what is the go with that

So, anyone feel like organising a CD's tipping comp, or doing ladder predictions?

This weekend sees the season kick off for a number of clubs, with Harman vs Gungahlin double header, ADFA vs Woden double header and I believe ANU are playing Eastlake (?) in a double header, all games brought forward from the Queens Birthday long weekend...