• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

AFL Canberra Part 2

Has anyone noticed that since Aaron Bruce was delisted by the Swans, that two senior players (Fosdike and Kennelly) have announced their retirement? Surely, Bruce has a case to have his nose out of joint about this. Had these two announcements happened prior to the rookie draft, perhaps he would have got another year??

And the other Irish rookie (Cooney) is not coming back either, so I agree iktm, I think Mr. Bruce would be royally pi$$ed off.

kev i seriously doubt billy left because he wasnt enjoying his time at ainslie, id have to think that he just simply wanted to go to a place that had a better footy culture. think about it, had it been purely the club at fault and he wanted to still play in canberra he would be. seems at the moment eastlake are able to match AFC dollar for dollar in player payments and billy wouldve been welcomed with open arms and wallets. your also forgetting that he will probably never play 100 senior games for any one club because he moves around so much, so really AFC arent in a unique position when it comes to clubs that he has played for in that he has left after a couple of years. im not having a shot at him there either, just stating a fact.

FFF, you are missing a vital point - if Billy went to Qybn or E/lake they would pay the maximum transfer fee + have to pay him his market rate in AFL Canb. Lavi do not have to pay a transfer fee ( O+M classed as level below AFL Canberra) so it is a bargain basement pick up for them which came through some old friendships in that area that Billy had. Im sure your point about a passionate football culture came into it aswell - not denying that.
Lets be real if AFC played their cards right they would have held on to him but there is or was something that Billy didnt like about AFC ?????????:confused:

And the other Irish rookie (Cooney) is not coming back either, so I agree iktm, I think Mr. Bruce would be royally pi$$ed off.

If he was royally pissed off wouldn't he do something about t and go and play in a better league? running around with eastlake isn't going to help the kid get a game in the big time. if the kid had a fair dinkum footy ambition he would be playing in Melb, Adelaide against better opposition.

I was just talking about billys motivation for leaving... i doubt getting less money would be one of those? As for the transfer fee they come into play when players come from any state league so it wouldnt be an unusual position for them to be in to have to fork out big dollars in transfer fees as well. youd have to think to that eastlake could have passed on gibson for neely had he wanted to go to another canberra club, yes gibson was AFL listed but they already have rogers, cooper etc who have shown this year and in years gone by that they can both play at either end of the ground. I would have thought that a midfield containing both clarke and neely would be more benficial.

strayed off the intended path a bit but i just think that had he wanted to still play in the ACT he would be, itd certainly be alot easier as i think i heard lavi say he was still living in the ACT

i wanted to see if anyone had any news regarding how clubs are travelling at the moment? I think ainslie started training again this week - a bit later than other clubs - but there hasn't been much news otherwise.

can anyone offer any REAL advice about who has picked up who... if your not fair dinkum dont worry about replying, but just thought it might be good to see whats going on in AFL canberra considering its only 8 weeks till the start of the year.

again - please only reply if you've got accurate info, cause i dont want to start the usual crap that goes on here...

If he was royally pissed off wouldn't he do something about t and go and play in a better league? running around with eastlake isn't going to help the kid get a game in the big time. if the kid had a fair dinkum footy ambition he would be playing in Melb, Adelaide against better opposition.

Kinda have to agree with you Wonky:eek: if that is his ambition??

Not that Canberra is a poor standard but the other leagues mentioned are definately more under the microscope than ours. Im sure he had his reasons and this might suggest he isn't as annoyed as previously posted:rolleyes:

i wanted to see if anyone had any news regarding how clubs are travelling at the moment? I think ainslie started training again this week - a bit later than other clubs - but there hasn't been much news otherwise.

can anyone offer any REAL advice about who has picked up who... if your not fair dinkum dont worry about replying, but just thought it might be good to see whats going on in AFL canberra considering its only 8 weeks till the start of the year.

again - please only reply if you've got accurate info, cause i dont want to start the usual crap that goes on here...

Not sure who has picked up who bluey but if your after, as you say "REAL" advise then a sure fire way would be to jump on each clubs website.

Surely and hopefully these are up to speed to inform the public what is going on at their football club re recruiting..:rolleyes:

FFF, you are missing a vital point - if Billy went to Qybn or E/lake they would pay the maximum transfer fee + have to pay him his market rate in AFL Canb. Lavi do not have to pay a transfer fee ( O+M classed as level below AFL Canberra) so it is a bargain basement pick up for them which came through some old friendships in that area that Billy had. Im sure your point about a passionate football culture came into it aswell - not denying that.
Lets be real if AFC played their cards right they would have held on to him but there is or was something that Billy didnt like about AFC ?????????:confused:[/QUOTE

From an insiders point of view Ainslie did the right thing by not chasing Billy after the 2008 season and Billy did the right thing by not contacting Ainslie after the season had finished..
To Billy's credit he is a great player and is good at what he does (getting 40+ poss) on most games, but the bloke just didn't fit into the Ainslie culture. He was voted Captain because 50% of the team were recruits and felt obliged to vote for him.
Billy has played alot of footy and played at alot of different levels of footy but the guy is just simply un-coachable, in Billy's head he new everything there was about footy and wasn't willing to learn new things or
alter his playing style which would have benefited the team therefore he didnt make a good leader in such a young group of players.
Billy Neely is better off without the Ainslie Football Club and the Ainslie Football Club is better off without Billy Neely...

Clearly he wanted to keep playing at the highest level, thats why he continued to train with the Swans after being delisted, in the hope of getting re rookied (if that is the correct term?) He didnt, and decided to go home which is probably fair enough. Since he made that decision, at least two guys have retired! My point was that he wouldnt have had to make a decision on which comp to go to, he would probably have been retained!!

Hey Utility 07, I had the pleasure of playing in a premiership with Billy when he first got into First Grade at Qbn as a teenager. He was always a very intense and driven young man who liked his own space. But to say he is un-coachable is a little harsh. I haven't had anything to do with him for nearly a decade and maybe he has changed since I knew him but as captain at Qbn back in the late 90s I always found him coachable. It just depended on how and when you approached him. I was never an on-baller of his standing (in fact lets just leave it as "I was never an on-baller") but I recall a particular night at training when I gave him a tip about something an on-baller should do and he carried it into his game and was still doing it when I saw him play TV games in Adelaide. Maybe there were issues at Ainslie about him not fitting in but to say he was un-coachable might be going too far. I'm happy to be corrected if you are speaking as a coach from Ainslie!

Hey Bluey, probably not the kind of news you are looking for but I can tell you there have been three losses from the Div 1 umpiring panel - Damian Hill (left town), Kevin Tingey (retired) and Ewen McDonald (retired). Training starts next Thursday so I can let you know what gains have been made if you are really interested???

Anyone considering any form of umpiring (goal, boundary or the real stuff as field umpire)should come along to Manuka Oval for the first hit out on Thursday 5 Feb at 6.00pm. Remember, there's always another way to get to the AFL if your football ability won't get you there.

Hey Utility 07, I had the pleasure of playing in a premiership with Billy when he first got into First Grade at Qbn as a teenager. He was always a very intense and driven young man who liked his own space. But to say he is un-coachable is a little harsh. I haven't had anything to do with him for nearly a decade and maybe he has changed since I knew him but as captain at Qbn back in the late 90s I always found him coachable. It just depended on how and when you approached him. I was never an on-baller of his standing (in fact lets just leave it as "I was never an on-baller") but I recall a particular night at training when I gave him a tip about something an on-baller should do and he carried it into his game and was still doing it when I saw him play TV games in Adelaide. Maybe there were issues at Ainslie about him not fitting in but to say he was un-coachable might be going too far. I'm happy to be corrected if you are speaking as a coach from Ainslie!

I agree with MG's points here on un coachability.
Also, if club is going to offer big salaries then they need to learn how to massage and manage egos of those on the big salaries.
Perhaps the coaching staff at AFC needed to not label Billy as ' high maintenance' as the excuse to let him go and look at how they coached him.
Utility07's comments which sound to be from an internal point of view at Ainslie totally contradict Big Unit 101's :confused: One minute Billy loves AFC and it was hard to leave the next he is uncoachable and they are better off with out him?? Who will step up to rack up the 35 + possies which no doubt helped AFC into fiinals contention last year
Who are the recruits ? Billy fed alot of the runners at AFC last year in games i saw against Belco which set up their wins.:thumbsdown:

Lets be real if AFC played their cards right they would have held on to him but there is or was something that Billy didnt like about AFC ?????????:confused:[/QUOTE

From an insiders point of view Ainslie did the right thing by not chasing Billy after the 2008 season and Billy did the right thing by not contacting Ainslie after the season had finished..
To Billy's credit he is a great player and is good at what he does (getting 40+ poss) on most games, but the bloke just didn't fit into the Ainslie culture. He was voted Captain because 50% of the team were recruits and felt obliged to vote for him.
Billy has played alot of footy and played at alot of different levels of footy but the guy is just simply un-coachable, in Billy's head he new everything there was about footy and wasn't willing to learn new things or
alter his playing style which would have benefited the team therefore he didnt make a good leader in such a young group of players.
Billy Neely is better off without the Ainslie Football Club and the Ainslie Football Club is better off without Billy Neely...

Hi Utility07,

your comments make more sense than some of your AFC mates;)

can you elaborate on what exactly you mean though by not fitting into AFC culture??

He trained hard, played hard, led from the front with his actions and from what i hear totally professional in his prep and recovery - what do you guys want for $50K ???:confused:

Its obvious maybe being surrounded by over paid 'prima donnas' wasnt Billy's cup of tea either. Ive heard several players at AFC all believe that they let a premiership slip in 08 and were the best side in comp and had Belco's measure ? Let it slip alright - got tipped out in the first semi.:(

Sorry AFC boys - have to be in it..... first - to win it!!!:eek:

I would be interested to hear about QBN, Belco, Tuggeranong- no one seems to mention anything about recruits from these clubs, but everyone on here is quick to gossip about Ainslie and Eastlake recruits.

One thing is for certain he wouldn't have gone "on the cheap"!

And the only year he enjoyed at Ainslie was the year just gone - FACT!

A lot cheaper than you might think ABH...my sources at Lavy tell me he wouldn't even make the top 5 (highest paid) at AFC anymore...

I also heard he will be training at Qbn during the season? do you know if this is true?

Should make for an interesting practice match when Lavy plays Ainslie at the end of Feb...

A lot cheaper than you might think ABH...my sources at Lavy tell me he wouldn't even make the top 5 (highest paid) at AFC anymore...

I also heard he will be training at Qbn during the season? do you know if this is true?

Should make for an interesting practice match when Lavy plays Ainslie at the end of Feb...

Are the 10 free flights apart of the deal Cabbster?? :rolleyes:

Haven't heard about him training at Qbn, couldn't for the life of me see why as they were in talks about him coming across, but I'm not in the loop out there as much these days since I have retired from my roles out their.

Practice match wont be that eventfull you wouldn't think because its just a trial and Billy can handle himself pretty well;)

Any idea of clubs inter and intra club practise match plans?

Do they start at the end of this month?

Are the 10 free flights apart of the deal Cabbster?? :rolleyes:

Haven't heard about him training at Qbn, couldn't for the life of me see why as they were in talks about him coming across, but I'm not in the loop out there as much these days since I have retired from my roles out their.

Practice match wont be that eventfull you wouldn't think because its just a trial and Billy can handle himself pretty well;)

Yeah good point ABH, I guess that all adds to the total payment...

Just a thought...purely hypothetical..I wonder if Billy does end up training with Qbn whether the 3 parties (Qbn, Lavy & Billy) came to an arrangement whereby he spends a season or so at Lavy....gets his OM stint out of the way and heads back to Qbn in 2010 where Qbn would have to pay little to nothing for him by way of transfer fees???...just a thought...good on them if they have...

Yeah good point ABH, I guess that all adds to the total payment...

Just a thought...purely hypothetical..I wonder if Billy does end up training with Qbn whether the 3 parties (Qbn, Lavy & Billy) came to an arrangement whereby he spends a season or so at Lavy....gets his OM stint out of the way and heads back to Qbn in 2010 where Qbn would have to pay little to nothing for him by way of transfer fees???...just a thought...good on them if they have...

I dont think that'd be the case. If he came back next year to AFL Canberra to a club other than ainslie, there'd still be a hefty transfer fee payable to ainslie. I think it goes down by 25% each year a player is away for a maximum of 4 years (obviously).

Thought it time to tidy up some of the general banter that has been going on around David Wark & Eastlake "Star" recruit Gibson.

Someone described David Wark as "shopping" players around Canberra. My mail is that DW is assisting players who are interested in our competition. Even though he has left the ACT he can't speak highly enough of our standard and of our set up over here and any player who is remotely interested in coming to Canberra, David informs clubs of players who might relocate. The player and the clubs do the negotiating. DW's only role is to get the ball rolling.

Someone asked if Gibson spoke to Queanbeyan - The answer is no as DW understands the position the club is in.

Gibson did receive a bigger offer to play elsewhere in Canberra but Eastlake & in particular Clarke impressed the most that his decision was an easy one. The Eastlake FC also were able to secure him employment at ACTEW which also went along way to obtaining his services.

Thought it should be known that while DW is no longer here, he is still promoting what we all on here already know. That Canberra footy is a very good standard that many underestimate. If David is able to get a better standard of player to our competition by informing clubs of players that may be keen to come over, then I applaud him for that. After all he is doing something for free that all clubs pay a person to do....and that can't harm our comp now can it.:thumbsu:

Thought it time to tidy up some of the general banter that has been going on around David Wark & Eastlake "Star" recruit Gibson.

Someone described David Wark as "shopping" players around Canberra. My mail is that DW is assisting players who are interested in our competition. Even though he has left the ACT he can't speak highly enough of our standard and of our set up over here and any player who is remotely interested in coming to Canberra, David informs clubs of players who might relocate. The player and the clubs do the negotiating. DW's only role is to get the ball rolling.

Someone asked if Gibson spoke to Queanbeyan - The answer is no as DW understands the position the club is in.

Gibson did receive a bigger offer to play elsewhere in Canberra but Eastlake & in particular Clarke impressed the most that his decision was an easy one. The Eastlake FC also were able to secure him employment at ACTEW which also went along way to obtaining his services.

Thought it should be known that while DW is no longer here, he is still promoting what we all on here already know. That Canberra footy is a very good standard that many underestimate. If David is able to get a better standard of player to our competition by informing clubs of players that may be keen to come over, then I applaud him for that. After all he is doing something for free that all clubs pay a person to do....and that can't harm our comp now can it.:thumbsu:

A couple of points of note:
1) What is the position that Queanbeyan find themselves in? please enlighten.
2) you must have talked to wark recently. you were pretty quick to slag the administration last year now your embracing the old leader? seems a bit of a flip flop.
3) Not sure if Belconnen offer was even in the ball park with eastlake so imagine what the other (ainslie) offer was. Can you enlighten your previous notation that an Ainslie official called him "intoxicated" and asked a particular question. you obviously know more here.
4) i would imagine that would put a few ainslie players noses out of joint. i couldn't imagine that Gibsons, ex norwood team mate like Ryan Lewis would like Gibson to be offered more then him to play at Ainslie. i still cant beleive with that connection they couldn't put pen to paper. maybe a thumbs down for the Chris Rourke who must now be looking over his shoulder at Bourke who is waiting in the wings incase Rouke has another brain snap.