AFL Canberra Season 2015

I would say as bad as it is most forfeits that occur will happen at Yass. Teams such as Googong with stretched resources will find it hard being separated from their 3rds (against Coota) and both being away from Canberra. Hopefully they can build some more numbers and we see all teams play each week

Sadly I think your rite

Ainslie over Bay by 70 in 3s and a bit more in 4s. Other results? Looks a tough day for Belco at Molonglo...

Ainslie the team to beat in Div 3 from what I've seen. ANU looked ok on Saturday but Woden weren't much chop...They'll struggle to make the finals based on that performance.

A mate from ANU reckons Woden had quite a few out? I certainly thought both teams would be pushing for finals...

Anyone know how ADFA are looking? Bit hard to get a read on from just results...

A mate from ANU reckons Woden had quite a few out? I certainly thought both teams would be pushing for finals...

Anyone know how ADFA are looking? Bit hard to get a read on from just results...

In that case then Woden will still be a threat...Not sure how many they might have been missing but it must have been plenty for that result to occur. Haven't seen the country sides play yet...Any big ins / outs??

Bateman's Bay look like a solid unit...Do you know if they were missing many at Ainslie? I note that Green didn't play he's won back to back league medals hasn't he (albeit across a couple grades...) They'd be hard to beat at home...

In that case then Woden will still be a threat...Not sure how many they might have been missing but it must have been plenty for that result to occur. Haven't seen the country sides play yet...Any big ins / outs??

Bateman's Bay look like a solid unit...Do you know if they were missing many at Ainslie? I note that Green didn't play he's won back to back league medals hasn't he (albeit across a couple grades...) They'd be hard to beat at home...

Yeah that Greene didn't play, think maybe they got a few blokes from Gungahlin or something? They initially requested 16 a side in 4s but were able to get to 21 by gameday... Reckon they'll be hard to beat at home for sure, their offensive run and handball is pretty slick when it gets going.

Looks like ADFA are away on training/movements this weekend, games will be rescheduled.

Seems odd that we're only notified of it 3 days before, would be a forfeit for any other side...

Yeah that Greene didn't play, think maybe they got a few blokes from Gungahlin or something? They initially requested 16 a side in 4s but were able to get to 21 by gameday... Reckon they'll be hard to beat at home for sure, their offensive run and handball is pretty slick when it gets going.

Looks like ADFA are away on training/movements this weekend, games will be rescheduled.

Seems odd that we're only notified of it 3 days before, would be a forfeit for any other side...

Really? That's pretty ordinary by them...surely they know of this stuff weeks if not months in advance?? So Ainslie will have only played 2 games through 5 rounds? Should be fresh!!

Might have been super secret surprise training or something, I'm not sure. Bit frustrating when as you mention, we haven't played a lot of footy yet this year, particularly in the 3s.

10 odd players out from what I hear.

Frog Shit!! They were missing 4 from their premiership side. The ones missing don't make a team. What they are missing is their coach!! He held that club together. Davo was great 4 woden. They're rooted without him to keep them sane.

Firstly I'll be straight up with who I am, I'm Woden team manager (very occasional player, you might've seen me out there wearing the goggles), some people on here seem to keep their cards close to their chest about who they are affiliated with.

I went back to the team sheet from the GF and there were 12 changes, you probably only noticed 4 as they were four of our top 6 players. Davo is still around Woden just can't commit the time needed to be coach anymore. I don't think it was the coach that kept Woden sane, it was winning, something we need to work on is keeping our cool when things aren't going our way, but I think that could be said about most clubs right up to ALF level (Rance as an example).

Firstly I'll be straight up with who I am, I'm Woden team manager (very occasional player, you might've seen me out there wearing the goggles), some people on here seem to keep their cards close to their chest about who they are affiliated with.

I went back to the team sheet from the GF and there were 12 changes, you probably only noticed 4 as they were four of our top 6 players. Davo is still around Woden just can't commit the time needed to be coach anymore. I don't think it was the coach that kept Woden sane, it was winning, something we need to work on is keeping our cool when things aren't going our way, but I think that could be said about most clubs right up to ALF level (Rance as an example).

Good Stuff mate! The comp is better with a strong Woden unit!

Ouch, nicely done with the facts Hally

Hi guys, has been a while now I'm not playing. Hope everyone is well and still enjoying the footy. To Nov or anyone else involved in the Swans, as a long time combatant and admirer of the way they go about their footy, would love to see the team of the decade posted here once it is announced. Hope it is a good night. Skip.

Thanks Skip, Was a great night.. For anyone interested here is the team. Was 2004-2013 had to have played 25 games for the club.

B: Scott Fleming Derek Haine Ian Wood
HB: Sam Halder Phil Champion Brad Armstrong
C: Dale Cummins(vc) Mick Dawson Brad Chilko
HF: Steve Dawson Andrew Mewburn Heath Russell
F: David Waters Heath Hogan Pete Jensen
Foll: Todd Brazier Steve Armstrong(c) Rob Treloar
Int: Ben Conway Simon Treloar Bill Gray Simon Hunt
Emg: Grant Haigh Adam Wilson Mitch Chapman

Coach: Heath Russell
Asst Coach: Pete Jensen

President: Gavin Halder
Team manager: Bob Stephens

Thanks Skip, Was a great night.. For anyone interested here is the team. Was 2004-2013 had to have played 25 games for the club.

Well done Nov on making what would have been a tough side to select and make

Hey Motley
I see Ainslie haven't lost a game in any grade in the men's comp , from rising stars all the way through to the fours .Impressive start :thumbsu:

Cheers SC, looking good at the moment. Club as a whole going nicely, the move out of the NEAFL seems to have had a pretty positive outcome across the board. I guess when we're not losing 5 or so every week to Gungahlin, it filters back down to us in the 3s and 4s. Numbers are pretty strong, so hopefully we can stay relatively injury free as a club and make a good fist of it this year.

Also congrats on notching up your first win of many in the next division. Hope Motley's got his team ready for this week.

AFL Canberra Season 2015