AFL Canberra

Cheers SC:thumbsu:.
Hopefully we can make it 3 GF's in 3 years with two wins. Will not be easy but as you know, sitting in the box is a great roller coaster of emotions... especially during the finals series. Win or lose; I am getting too old for this shit!:eek:
Im hearing you mate all the best sunday,will be cheering you on.
Go get em tigers.:thumbsu:

David Warks resignation is a huge loss for AFL Canberra. He will be extremely hard to replace. His return to Adelaide at the end of September leaves a large hole in the administration of the League. All the best to one of the gentlemen of football.

Couldn't agree more old mate, he has managed (despite the sniping and cheap shots) to help make this league the best country league in the land once again. Yes, it does take great footballers and coaches to achieve this but without the administrative leadership, it counts for naught!
As stated in a separate forum; good luck in your endeavors David and thanks for taking the reigns and steering for a while when no one else wanted to or was qualified to.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Who's next???:eek: Rusty, are you up for the challenge mate???;)

See the position has been extensively advertised.Anybody know if russell apllied the last time when david got the job.What about chook ABH he could easily fill the position.

Chook could do the job with his eyes closed! in fact he did the job for a few years in the 80's. Chook is one of the very best admistrators running around, although I doubt he would be interested, he loves his Tigers too much.

It will be interesting who applies for and gets the position. I dont think it pays very well for the expectations of the job. At least Warke brought experience from beyond Canberra, which is useful. Sound as if he has fallen into a good position at Flinders Uni- good luck to him.

See the position has been extensively advertised.Anybody know if russell apllied the last time when david got the job.What about chook ABH he could easily fill the position.

Congrats toodogs abh enjoy the week.How good was the footy standard yesterday? starting with the juniors and while on the juniors is it any wonder that ainslie are becoming a force again to see rourke do the the running for the kids speacks volumes for his attitude towards the club.Just remember criss 1 message then get off :D .The demons had there chances in both grades but qbn and the swans accuarcy at goal is what cost them in the end.Where will coops go now?.Good luck to all tonight .:thumbsu:

This is the week that you play and support AFL Canberra for....Grand Final week!! So who will take home the prize in each grade.

Will the Magpies continue their dominance over The Swans this season to bring home their 4th Premiership and make club favourite Steve Maher a true club legend?? Or will The Swans win their 4th flag on the trot??

Will the Magpies Reserves finally break the "choker" tag, the "Kournakova" tag and win the flag that has eluded them the previous 2 seasons or will the Tigers make it back to back premierships and salvage some Tiger pride??

Will Marist U/18's continue to produce premiership winning juniors or will Ainslie come out and win a flag to complete the rebuilding year for the Tricolours??

Who will win the Mulrooney???
Big Footy favourite G. Underwood will certainly be noticed with his in and under approach and with that head of hair. he has to be noticed by the men in orange (or will they get the brothers mixed up on occasions??) No, umpires never get it wrong..do they??
Will Big Footy's second favourite Billy Neely win it for Ainslie?? He already has 2 Canberra Premierships, several B&F's and is a proven vote getter. He racks up many stats every week with his hard running and always uses the ball to advantage.
Will AFL retired Ben Mathews go out on a personal high by taking the Medal. His silky skills and use of the ball is certain to come under the attention of the umpires. In Swans best 3 most weeks.
Will the winner come from the following - N. Clarke, J. Bennet, C. Illet, Healy or Daniher??

1ST Grade Alot depends here on the top up players and for mine i thought the top players yesterday preformed well belco deserve to be favorites but for me ill take the swans in another nail bitter.

2nd Grade belconnen do have the runs on the board but if the tigers are able to sustain the early pressure and kick as true as yesterday it does become a real contest.The head seys belco but the heart seys the tigs so its the tigers for me coming from behind in the last quater.

18teens I think the tricoulor juniors have been building into this and i thought they were super all around the ground yesterday not giving belco a sniff.If griffen can provide as much ball as he did yesterday then ainslie will be far to good so its ainslie 4 me in a game thats over early.

Who Will It Be??

1st Grade Grand Final
Belconnen
Swans

2nd Grade Grand Final
Belconnen
Queanbeyan

U/18's Grand Final
Marist
Ainslie

Make your selections:rolleyes:

Belconnen by plenty in the seniors.
Queanbeyan in the magoos.
Ainslie in the 18's.

Good luck to all

Belco in the seniors
Belco in the 2nds
Marist in the U18's

Do they have a round-by-round break-up of the Mulrooney Medal count?

Would be interesting to compare games where a player(s) have clearly dominated (i.e. Armstrong 10 V Belco, etc) and see what they poll (or do not poll :eek::confused:) for those games.

RE yesterday's seniors game, not sure what Eastlake were doing in the last 10 minutes. They had so much more possession but seemed a little gun-shy to get it in long or quick seeing that they were only less than a goal behind. You never know what those clowns in orange are going to see. Pity about there early misses on goal as they were clearly the better team on the day.

Kicking 1.5 in the first quarter hurt them, no doubt about it.

As for the final 10 mins, I think they were too concerned with securing the goal rather then risking just drawing even in the final few minutes.. can't fault them for the unselfish play but roy could've nailed that kick from the pocket rather than passing off to sydney

Kicking 1.5 in the first quarter hurt them, no doubt about it.

As for the final 10 mins, I think they were too concerned with securing the goal rather then risking just drawing even in the final few minutes.. can't fault them for the unselfish play but roy could've nailed that kick from the pocket rather than passing off to sydney

Totally agree
Thought with his skill he may have had a ping - good discipline to look in the corridor but option/kick was poor.

First things first:

Belconnen, Queanbeyan, Ainslie, G. Underwood, and Steve Mahar for Coach.

For your personal viewing pleasure I have just posted Round 18 Demons v Hawks (Seniors and Reserves).

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

On another note, occasionally I get feedback from other flickr users (not Big Footy Folk) that my photos have no context, and appear to be just a bunch of blokes flying around. My response is that to the players in the photos there is plenty of context. They remember the moment, what came before and what came after. That's what it's all about for me, and the people here on Big Footy seem to get that too. I enjoy very much providing these pictures for players and friends and family of the local comp. Thank you for looking at my images. Feel free to buy me beer sometime .... :D

Cheers

:thumbsu:
First things first:

Belconnen, Queanbeyan, Ainslie, G. Underwood, and Steve Mahar for Coach.

For your personal viewing pleasure I have just posted Round 18 Demons v Hawks (Seniors and Reserves).

www.flickr.com/photos/red3photography :thumbsu:

On another note, occasionally I get feedback from other flickr users (not Big Footy Folk) that my photos have no context, and appear to be just a bunch of blokes flying around. My response is that to the players in the photos there is plenty of context. They remember the moment, what came before and what came after. That's what it's all about for me, and the people here on Big Footy seem to get that too. I enjoy very much providing these pictures for players and friends and family of the local comp. Thank you for looking at my images. Feel free to buy me beer sometime .... :D

Cheers

Hey FootyFotographer,
Saw you on Sunday - keep up the good work.:thumbsu: Looking forward to seeing the pics from the prelims. Are you doing the Mulrooney tonight as well?

:thumbsu:

Hey FootyFotographer,
Saw you on Sunday - keep up the good work.:thumbsu: Looking forward to seeing the pics from the prelims. Are you doing the Mulrooney tonight as well?

Thanks for the feedback! :)

I'll be there; just finished ironing my shirt. Actually it was about this time last year that I last ironed a shirt....

Are there any nervous "Kournakovas" out there?? They would have to be RED HOT favourites to take out the Magoo's flag and I'm sure they believe they deserve it. Clearly the best performed side all year and were awesome in the 2nd Semi against Eastlake.

10 minutes into yesterday's game they would have been cheering with Eastlake up 28 points to nil. I'm sure they would love to have played the team they pumped by 100+ again. But now the doubts must be in the minds after Qbn's turn around. True Tiger spirit when against the odds came through with their best win since their victory at Jamieson Oval earlier in the year.

Tigers have an impressive finals record over the last 3 seasons with 1 defeat in its last 7 finals.

While Belconnen in the same period have won 1 final in 5.

To add even more pressure to Belconnen is the fact that they have only played 1 competitve match since round 17. Not ideal preperation for any side coming into the biggest game of the year and for some the biggest of their football career...

Belconnens Reserves have had the best group of players for 3 seasons now.....So

May the best team win:thumbsu: