AFL Canberra

Evening lads.

I'm interested in joining a team up here next year and want to get some info.

I haven't watched any games since I've got here at the start of the year, but I gather there is the AFL Canberra which has Sydney, Ainslie, Quanbeyan etc. and they have seniors, ressies and thirds.

I also noticed that there is a 1st division and 2nd division. What's the deal with this league. Is it any good?

FWIW, I'm just looking for a bit of kick on a Saturday, so I was thinking of starting with 2nd division and seeing what happens.

Any info/advice would be lovely.

Cheers.

Evening lads.

I'm interested in joining a team up here next year and want to get some info.

I haven't watched any games since I've got here at the start of the year, but I gather there is the AFL Canberra which has Sydney, Ainslie, Quanbeyan etc. and they have seniors, ressies and thirds.

I also noticed that there is a 1st division and 2nd division. What's the deal with this league. Is it any good?

FWIW, I'm just looking for a bit of kick on a Saturday, so I was thinking of starting with 2nd division and seeing what happens.

Any info/advice would be lovely.

Cheers.

Spot on Bradley.

Pretty much there are two competitions which both come under the umbrella of AFL Canberra. The Premier Comp has Ainslie, Belco, Tuggeranong, Eastlake, Weston Creek (or whatever they are calling themselves this year) and the Filth from across the border. All sides have seniors, reserves and U18's.

The other competition is more of a district comp. Lower fitness, lower standards, more blokes just looking for a kick. Two divisions of this comp - 1st division is a reasonable standard at the top end - Gungahlin, Belconnen and ANU will probably fight it out this year. Second comp is not terrible standard but a good place to start if you're getting back into it. Sides like Gungahlin, ANU, Belconnen and Harman all have sides in both divisions which run like a Seniors/Reserves list.

It all depends on what side of town you're on as to where you want to play really. Although we're a good bunch out at Belconnen and will probably be giving both flags a shot again this year. You have to be able to drink though!

Brad

Unless you live in Belco, you would not want to play for them ;)

My tip is to play for an independent club, where its not about the Seniors (Belco/Eastlake) - Woden, Murrumbidgee, ANU are all independent. The club spirit in these places mean you will meet 20 of your closest You'll enjoy your footy more... Harman seem ok if you end up living in Struggletown

Find your level - want to play with pros, go to a senior club. Want a bit of fun in footy - go District!

Cheers lads.

I live in Belconnen, so I'll probably have a run with them to start of with.

Do they have a bad reputation or are just hated for a bit of fun?

Happy to have you down Brad. We start pre-season on the 29th of January. That's for the District's boys anyway. Seniors have already started!

Kippax at 6 is the go I reckon. And relax - most of us take it pretty easy. We're out there for a kick with the boys and a beer down the club after the game. None of us are really pushing for higher duties!

They must be throwing a quid around. Heard yesterday over Christmas lunch that they had signed at least 4 players from Box Hill in the VFL.

They're definitely on the big spend over that way - a Tuggers player was offered some huge bucks to go and play there this year, as well as a massive sign on fee!

F*cking Ainslie - i hate the pricks!

They're definitely on the big spend over that way - a Tuggers player was offered some huge bucks to go and play there this year, as well as a massive sign on fee!

F*cking Ainslie - i hate the pricks!

What do you really think Terrytuggboat?!?!

I am guessing the player in question was one of the younger brigade ie Cleaver, Overs, McCabe??

The only players i can think of at hawks who would get offered big bucks would be jay kickett, peter walsh or jake myles.

Jay kickett would not leave the hawks no matter what

From all reports i hear Peter Walsh most probably wont play next year

Jake Myles is moving to QLD to play in the QFL

With all the other players moving interstate (Cruttenden, Fernie to perth....Ellis, Murch to QLD) and lack of recruits as well as the massive debt they are apparently in i would say they are a shoe in for the spoon!!!

Hey Guys, Happy New Year to you all....

Got some HOT goss for you -

So you Belco boys think everything is rosie in the northern suburbs??

Fact - Gobbers left to play for Ainslie due to a certain forward doing an "Ebo":thumbsdown: with his missus. Thats right, a team mate of Gobbers has broken the unwritten rule so he decided to leave the club. Could be an intereseting clash when the "Dick of the North" is up for grabs as they may well stand each other!!

Wonder if the club knew this? because if they did they should have kicked the guilty player to the curb as Qbn did with Ebert!:thumbsdown:

Hey Guys, Happy New Year to you all....

Got some HOT goss for you -

So you Belco boys think everything is rosie in the northern suburbs??

Fact - Gobbers left to play for Ainslie due to a certain forward doing an "Ebo":thumbsdown: with his missus. Thats right, a team mate of Gobbers has broken the unwritten rule so he decided to leave the club. Could be an intereseting clash when the "Dick of the North" is up for grabs as they may well stand each other!!

Wonder if the club knew this? because if they did they should have kicked the guilty player to the curb as Qbn did with Ebert!:thumbsdown:

????????????????????????????? Give us a clue ABH. Belco really didnt have a F/F to mention !!!!

Cant wait until all the "pubic"servants" get back to work so there is a bit of chat on this site ! Its definately boring at the moment.

Tuggers in trouble - big meeting tomorrow night. Hope they survive their money problems. They deserve too with heaps of raw talent and fantastic club culture. Ainslie should try buying that culture instead of their players !!!

Bout time those Northern suburb pricks released some details on their new players - Apparently they have signed at least ten new quality players and are still talking to 20 others. Shrek has his men out and about all over Aust. With a full time coach I suppose that should be expected.

can anyone tell me anything about wetern creek football club is a guy called gorman coaching if so what is he like. i am from victoria and have had a few phone calls from them what is the standard like also

It depends - which league are you from? AFL Canberra is a strong standard. Weston Creek not so much, but they are trying to build a culture by getting quality blokes in. If you are of a standard and are willing to get in on the ground floor you could be onto a winner. A lot of work to come over the next two years but. That young fellah (WCL?) could probably set you more on the path about what the club is about though.

Who is the wife chopper Nieso? I'm sure it's not just a vicious rumour spread from over the MD side of the border is it?

And I've heard tonight that a fair few of the ex-Ainslie boys who pissed ff to the Jets (most of who were depth, which every club needs) are keen to head back now Misseur Lawless has left. Anyone from Ainslie confirm?

Hey ABH, perhaps you havnt responded to this cause ya still pissed from Summernuts. You were blind as ! Yeah you were seen. Obvioulsy to much CUB.

Not sure what planet your on but I work for Jack Daniels my friend. Nothing but top shelf here and if your refering to Friday night then yes I did have a few Gentlemen Jacks!!:thumbsu:

Retired players enjoy a drink to!!

Standard is very good all except for the Creek who havent won a game in 3-4 years. If you enjoy getting spanked by big scores then head to the Creek.

Not sure what planet your on but I work for Jack Daniels my friend. Nothing but top shelf here and if your refering to Friday night then yes I did have a few Gentlemen Jacks!!:thumbsu:

Retired players enjoy a drink to!!

Indeed they do ABH and you my friend would be one of the best !

Heard you made a visit to Mooseheads that evening and enjoyed a few more with another victorious Reserve grade premiership player.

This time last year the Tigers had to widen the door to fit his large frame through after a trip overseas.

This year, the door remains as wide so as to fit his head through after his best on ground grand final day display ! :cool:

The standard is good. Have a go with them Chappy. Nothing better than being with a club on the rise and who may win their first game in a number of years. They have hung in and deserve some success soon ! :)

Its your club FIM so why dont you do some investigative work?? Maybe you should get Luke Jeffrey to help??

ABH it is all bullshit, i am very close with LJ and i know the situation, its obviously all been blown out of proportion.

gobbers didnt even play for us last year anyway so if anyone was even thinking about expelling someone, they wouldnt do it because of a FORMER player

ABH it is all bullshit, i am very close with LJ and i know the situation, its obviously all been blown out of proportion.

Gobbers missus was either pounded or not pounded by a now former team mate...end of discussion.
Sources tell me it happened and its a bloody good source!!

Cant wait for the "Dicks of the North" clash.....We may even see Gobbers finally throw one!

Happy New Year all.
Good to be back in the saddle.
All quiet on all fronts, no news no gossip.
hhhhhhmmmmmmm sounds like things have not changed in this place.
All anyone wants to do is get into ABH and live in the land of ifs and maybes. Belco signed 10 and talking to 20 others, who you kidding.
Get on board Weston Creek mate, they need all the help they can get and they will :p win a game or two this year.
Tigers still roaring.

Gobbers missus was either pounded or not pounded by a now former team mate...end of discussion.
Sources tell me it happened and its a bloody good source!!

Cant wait for the "Dicks of the North" clash.....We may even see Gobbers finally throw one!

gobbers has thrown one before! but yes it will be an interesting game!